DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 and 15-22 are presented for examination.
Claims 13 and 14 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavalcanti et al., (hereinafter Cavalcanti), U.S. Publication No. 2018/0184360, in view of Wu, U.S. Publication No. 2015/0018025.
As per claim 1, Cavalcanti discloses a method of managing a data communication node in a group comprising at least the node [fig. 15, paragraphs 0126, 0135, 0194, a method of managing a data communication node in a group comprising at least the node (a method for determining an operation mode of a computer device within a network; group/cluster of IoT devices communicate with each other)], the method comprising, at the node:
selecting, by the node, an operating mode among a plurality of operating modes configured on the node and comprising a representative mode [fig. 2, 8, paragraphs 0036, 0042, 0042, 0052, 0069, 0169, selecting, by the node, an operating mode among a plurality of operating modes configured on the node and comprising a representative mode (selection and/or assignment may be based on information associated with each of the devices; selection and/or assignment may be based on information associated with each of the devices 1006, such as a battery level of the devices 1006; devices 1006 may be separated/representative into one or more ranks 1014)]; and
when the node is operating in the representative mode, generating, by the node, representative node data and transmitting the representative node data to a group management unit [fig. 6, paragraphs 0043, 0068, 0069, 0073, 0078, 0080, 0081, 0099, 0101, 0104, when the node is operating in the representative mode, generating, by the node, representative node data and transmitting the representative node data to a group management unit (updated information received from querying the devices 1006 for information by the leader of the network 1000; the leader generating or updating the operation mode selection values based on the information obtained from the devices 2004)],
wherein the group comprises a second node, and the representative node data at least relate to the second node [fig. 1, 7, 8, paragraphs 0035, 0045, 0100, 0191, wherein the group comprises a second node, and the representative node data at least relate to the second node (the devices 1006 within the second rank 1014b; a selection and/or assignment that instructed the second portion 1010 to operate in the end point operation mode)], and
when the node is operating in the representative mode, upon detecting the occurrence of a representative change event, determining by the node, to switch to an operation mode different from the representative mode [fig. 4, 5, paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0051-0053, 0073, 0074, when the node is operating in the representative mode, upon detecting the occurrence of a representative change event, determining by the node, to switch to an operation mode different from the representative mode (selection and/or assignment of whether to operate in relay operation mode or end point operation mode may be based on one or more operation mode selection values; operation mode selection values may be generated by a leader of the network 1000 and transmitted, either directly or indirectly via relayed communication, to devices 1006)].
Cavalcanti discloses wherein the device may operate based on a selection and/or an assignment of the operation mode for the device (as indicated by the leader device). Cavalcanti does not explicitly disclose identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode.
However, Wu teaches identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0026, 0027, 0034-0036, identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode (selects the new relay node; sets the new relay network node 200b, 200c or 200d to work in the fully-functional operating mode, sets the network node 200a to act as an ordinary node, and also sets the network node 200a to work in the semi-functional operating mode)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Cavalcanti by identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode as taught by Wu because it would provide the Cavalcanti’s method with the enhanced capability of effectively reducing the power consumption of each network node [Wu, paragraphs 0008, 0040].
As per claim 2, Cavalcanti discloses the method according to of claim 1, wherein a remote management platform comprises the group management unit [paragraphs 0134-0136, wherein a remote management platform comprises the group management unit (enhanced by systems that offload data, extend communications to more remote devices; traffic control group 306)], and wherein transmitting the representative node data to the group management unit comprises:
transmitting the representative node data to the management platform via a second wireless communication network [fig. 1, 13-16, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0127, 0135, transmitting the representative node data to the management platform via a second wireless communication network (backend system 1002, access to data and devices within other networks; a number of internet-of-things (IoT) networks coupled through backbone links 202 to gateways 204)].
As per claim 3, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising,
when the node is operating in the representative mode and when the group comprises a second node, receiving data originating from the second node via a first wireless communication network formed by the nodes of the group, and generating the representative node data based on the received data [fig. 1, 16, paragraphs 0047, 0048, 0052, 0054, 0056, 0066, when the node is operating in the representative mode and when the group comprises a second node, receiving data originating from the second node via a first wireless communication network formed by the nodes of the group, and generating the representative node data based on the received data (leader may generate operation mode selection values based on the information received; devices 1006 that receive the transmission directly from the leader may, in turn, relay the operation mode selection values to the neighboring devices and/or the devices 1006 within the other ranks)].
As per claim 4, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
activating an operation in the representative mode upon receipt of a request to operate in the representative mode [paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0047, 0061, 0065, 0073, 0098, 0106, activating an operation in the representative mode upon receipt of a request to operate in the representative mode (device requesting connection to the network 1000 may determine a rank; leader may generate the updated operation mode selection values based on updated information received from querying the devices 1006 for information)].
As per claim 5, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of operating modes configured on the node further comprises a represented mode, the method further comprising:
activating an operation in the represented mode upon receipt of a message identifying another node of the group operating in the representative mode [paragraphs 0042, 0047, 0061, 0065, 0073, 0098, 0106, activating an operation in the represented mode upon receipt of a message identifying another node of the group operating in the representative mode (device requesting connection to the network 1000 may determine a rank; leader may generate the updated operation mode selection values based on updated information received from querying the devices 1006 for information)].
As per claim 6, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of operating modes configured on the node further comprises a represented mode, the method further comprising,
when the node is operating in the represented mode, generating represented node data, identifying another node of the group which is operating in the representative mode, and transmitting the represented node data to the identified node for transmission to the group management unit [fig. 1, 3, paragraphs 0037, 0054, 0057-0059, when the node is operating in the represented mode, generating represented node data, identifying another node of the group which is operating in the representative mode, and transmitting the represented node data to the identified node for transmission to the group management unit (obtain information from one or more of the other devices 1006 within the network and the device may transmit the consolidated information to the leader device; devices may relay the operation mode selection values to the neighboring devices and/or the devices 1006 within the other ranks)].
As per claim 7, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the other node in the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode comprises:
transmitting to at least one other node in the group a request to change the representative node [fig. 5, paragraphs 0074, 0076, 0086, 0099, transmitting to at least one other node in the group a request to change the representative node (leader may transmit the updated operation mode selection values to the devices 1006; the device may determine that the operation mode for the device 1006 is the other of the operation modes)].
As per claim 8, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying the other node according to a list of nodes of the group defining a sequence of nodes operating in the representative mode [fig. 1, 7-9, paragraphs 0043, 0048, 0054, 0084-0086, identifying the other node according to a list of nodes of the group defining a sequence of nodes operating in the representative mode (operation mode selection table 1900 with multiple operation modes; devices 1006 may be separated into one or more ranks 1014, wherein leader may generate different operation mode selection values for each of the ranks 1014 within the network 1000)].
As per claim 9, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the other node of the group comprises:
verifying that the other identified node can enter representative mode [paragraphs 0039-0042, 0104, 0109, verifying that the other identified node can enter representative mode (verifying eligibility of devices; the devices may operate in the relay operation mode at times and may operate in the end point operation mode at other times based on a selection and/or an assignment of the operation mode for the device)].
As per claim 10, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 7, wherein detecting the occurrence of the representative change event comprises:
receiving a message originating from the group management unit [paragraphs 0073, 0074, receiving a message originating from the group management unit (leader of the network 1000 may generate the updated operation mode selection values)].
As per claim 11, Cavalcanti discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the representative change event comprises one among a group comprising:
an expiration of a representative mode duration monitoring timer, a battery level relative to a predetermined battery level threshold, and a link quality level relative to a predetermined link quality threshold [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0036, 0056, 0069, 0081, 0179, an expiration of a representative mode duration monitoring timer, a battery level relative to a predetermined battery level threshold, and a link quality level relative to a predetermined link quality threshold (determined operation mode while within the network 1000, until changes occur within the network 1000 (such as addition or removal of devices 1006 within the network 1000, or termination of the network 1000), until a battery level of the device or other devices within the network 1000 drops below a threshold level)].
As per claim 12, Cavalcanti discloses a device for managing a data communication node in a group comprising at least the node [fig. 15, paragraphs 0126, 0135, 0194, a method of managing a data communication node in a group comprising at least the node (a method for determining an operation mode of a computer device within a network; group/cluster of IoT devices communicate with each other)], the device comprising:
a processor; a radio-frequency unit operatively coupled to the processor [fig. 12, paragraphs 0110-0114, a device comprising a processor; a radio-frequency unit operatively coupled to the processor (computer device 2200 that may employ the apparatuses and/or methods described herein; computer device 2200 may include a number of components, such as one or more processor(s) 2204 (one shown) and at least one communication chip 2206)], when the device performs, at the node:
selecting, by the device, an operating mode among a plurality of operating modes configured on the node and comprising a representative mode [fig. 2, 8, paragraphs 0036, 0042, 0042, 0052, 0069, 0169, selecting, by the device, an operating mode among a plurality of operating modes configured on the node and comprising a representative mode (selection and/or assignment may be based on information associated with each of the devices; selection and/or assignment may be based on information associated with each of the devices 1006, such as a battery level of the devices 1006; devices 1006 may be separated/representative into one or more ranks 1014)]; and
when the node is operating in the representative mode, generating, by the device, representative node data and transmitting the representative node data to a group management unit [fig. 6, paragraphs 0043, 0068, 0069, 0073, 0078, 0080, 0081, 0099, 0101, 0104, when the node is operating in the representative mode, generating, by the device, representative node data and transmitting the representative node data to a group management unit (updated information received from querying the devices 1006 for information by the leader of the network 1000; the leader generating or updating the operation mode selection values based on the information obtained from the devices 2004)],
wherein the group comprises a second node, and the representative node data at least relate to the second node [fig. 1, 7, 8, paragraphs 0035, 0045, 0100, 0191, wherein the group comprises a second node, and the representative node data at least relate to the second node (the devices 1006 within the second rank 1014b; a selection and/or assignment that instructed the second portion 1010 to operate in the end point operation mode)], and
when the node is operating in the representative mode, upon detecting the occurrence of a representative change event, determining by the node, to switch to an operation mode different from the representative mode [fig. 4, 5, paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0051-0053, 0073, 0074, when the node is operating in the representative mode, upon detecting the occurrence of a representative change event, determining by the node, to switch to an operation mode different from the representative mode (selection and/or assignment of whether to operate in relay operation mode or end point operation mode may be based on one or more operation mode selection values; operation mode selection values may be generated by a leader of the network 1000 and transmitted, either directly or indirectly via relayed communication, to devices 1006)].
Cavalcanti discloses wherein the device may operate based on a selection and/or an assignment of the operation mode for the device (as indicated by the leader device). Cavalcanti does not explicitly disclose identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode.
However, Wu teaches identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0026, 0027, 0034-0036, identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode (selects the new relay node; sets the new relay network node 200b, 200c or 200d to work in the fully-functional operating mode, sets the network node 200a to act as an ordinary node, and also sets the network node 200a to work in the semi-functional operating mode)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Cavalcanti by identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode as taught by Wu because it would provide the Cavalcanti’s device with the enhanced capability of effectively reducing the power consumption of each network node [Wu, paragraphs 0008, 0040].
As per claim 15, Cavalcanti discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a program able to be executed by a computer, comprising a dataset representing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions for, when the one or more programs are executed by a computer comprising a processing unit operationally coupled to memory means and to an input/output interface module [fig. 18, paragraphs 0170-0172, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a program able to be executed by a computer, comprising a dataset representing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions for, when the one or more programs are executed by a computer comprising a processing unit operationally coupled to memory means and to an input/output interface module (a non-transitory, machine readable medium 900 including code to direct a processor 902 to form group objects)], causing the computer to perform a method for managing a data communication node in a group comprising at least the node [fig. 15, paragraphs 0126, 0135, 0194, a method of managing a data communication node in a group comprising at least the node (a method for determining an operation mode of a computer device within a network; group/cluster of IoT devices communicate with each other)], the method comprising:
selecting, by the node, an operating mode among a plurality of operating modes configured on the node and comprising a representative mode [fig. 2, 8, paragraphs 0036, 0042, 0042, 0052, 0069, 0169, selecting, by the node, an operating mode among a plurality of operating modes configured on the node and comprising a representative mode (selection and/or assignment may be based on information associated with each of the devices; selection and/or assignment may be based on information associated with each of the devices 1006, such as a battery level of the devices 1006; devices 1006 may be separated/representative into one or more ranks 1014)]; and
when the node is operating in the representative mode, generating, by the node, representative node data and transmitting the representative node data to a group management unit [fig. 6, paragraphs 0043, 0068, 0069, 0073, 0078, 0080, 0081, 0099, 0101, 0104, when the node is operating in the representative mode, generating, by the node, representative node data and transmitting the representative node data to a group management unit (updated information received from querying the devices 1006 for information by the leader of the network 1000; the leader generating or updating the operation mode selection values based on the information obtained from the devices 2004)],
wherein the group comprises a second node, and the representative node data at least relate to the second node [fig. 1, 7, 8, paragraphs 0035, 0045, 0100, 0191, wherein the group comprises a second node, and the representative node data at least relate to the second node (the devices 1006 within the second rank 1014b; a selection and/or assignment that instructed the second portion 1010 to operate in the end point operation mode)], and
when the node is operating in the representative mode, upon detecting the occurrence of a representative change event, determining by the node, to switch to an operation mode different from the representative mode [fig. 4, 5, paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0051-0053, 0073, 0074, when the node is operating in the representative mode, upon detecting the occurrence of a representative change event, determining by the node, to switch to an operation mode different from the representative mode (selection and/or assignment of whether to operate in relay operation mode or end point operation mode may be based on one or more operation mode selection values; operation mode selection values may be generated by a leader of the network 1000 and transmitted, either directly or indirectly via relayed communication, to devices 1006)].
Cavalcanti discloses wherein the device may operate based on a selection and/or an assignment of the operation mode for the device (as indicated by the leader device). Cavalcanti does not explicitly disclose identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode.
However, Wu teaches identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0026, 0027, 0034-0036, identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode (selects the new relay node; sets the new relay network node 200b, 200c or 200d to work in the fully-functional operating mode, sets the network node 200a to act as an ordinary node, and also sets the network node 200a to work in the semi-functional operating mode)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Cavalcanti by identifying, by the node, another node of the group to succeed the node as a node operating in the representative mode as taught by Wu because it would provide the Cavalcanti’s medium with the enhanced capability of effectively reducing the power consumption of each network node [Wu, paragraphs 0008, 0040].
As per claim 16, Cavalcanti discloses the device of claim 12, wherein a remote management platform comprises the group management unit [paragraphs 0134-0136, wherein a remote management platform comprises the group management unit (enhanced by systems that offload data, extend communications to more remote devices; traffic control group 306)], and wherein transmitting the representative node data to the group management unit comprises:
transmitting the representative node data to the management platform via a second wireless communication network [fig. 1, 13-16, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0127, 0135, transmitting the representative node data to the management platform via a second wireless communication network (backend system 1002, access to data and devices within other networks; a number of internet-of-things (IoT) networks coupled through backbone links 202 to gateways 204)].
As per claim 17, Cavalcanti discloses the device of claim 12, further comprising,
when the node is operating in the representative mode and when the group comprises a second node, receiving data originating from the second node via a first wireless communication network formed by the nodes of the group, and generating the representative node data based on the received data [fig. 1, 16, paragraphs 0047, 0048, 0052, 0054, 0056, 0066, when the node is operating in the representative mode and when the group comprises a second node, receiving data originating from the second node via a first wireless communication network formed by the nodes of the group, and generating the representative node data based on the received data (leader may generate operation mode selection values based on the information received; devices 1006 that receive the transmission directly from the leader may, in turn, relay the operation mode selection values to the neighboring devices and/or the devices 1006 within the other ranks)].
As per claim 18, Cavalcanti discloses the device of claim 12, further comprising:
activating an operation in the representative mode upon receipt of a request to operate in the representative mode [paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0047, 0061, 0065, 0073, 0098, 0106, activating an operation in the representative mode upon receipt of a request to operate in the representative mode (device requesting connection to the network 1000 may determine a rank; leader may generate the updated operation mode selection values based on updated information received from querying the devices 1006 for information)].
As per claim 19, Cavalcanti discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of operating modes configured on the node further comprises a represented mode, and further comprising:
activating an operation in the represented mode upon receipt of a message identifying another node of the group operating in the representative mode [paragraphs 0042, 0047, 0061, 0065, 0073, 0098, 0106, activating an operation in the represented mode upon receipt of a message identifying another node of the group operating in the representative mode (device requesting connection to the network 1000 may determine a rank; leader may generate the updated operation mode selection values based on updated information received from querying the devices 1006 for information)].
As per claim 20, Cavalcanti discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein a remote management platform comprises the group management unit [paragraphs 0134-0136, wherein a remote management platform comprises the group management unit (enhanced by systems that offload data, extend communications to more remote devices; traffic control group 306)], and wherein transmitting the representative node data to the group management unit comprises:
transmitting the representative node data to the management platform via a second wireless communication network [fig. 1, 13-16, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0127, 0135, transmitting the representative node data to the management platform via a second wireless communication network (backend system 1002, access to data and devices within other networks; a number of internet-of-things (IoT) networks coupled through backbone links 202 to gateways 204)].
As per claim 21, Cavalcanti discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises,
when the node is operating in the representative mode and when the group comprises a second node, receiving data originating from the second node via a first wireless communication network formed by the nodes of the group, and generating the representative node data based on the received data [fig. 1, 16, paragraphs 0047, 0048, 0052, 0054, 0056, 0066, when the node is operating in the representative mode and when the group comprises a second node, receiving data originating from the second node via a first wireless communication network formed by the nodes of the group, and generating the representative node data based on the received data (leader may generate operation mode selection values based on the information received; devices 1006 that receive the transmission directly from the leader may, in turn, relay the operation mode selection values to the neighboring devices and/or the devices 1006 within the other ranks)].
As per claim 22, Cavalcanti discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises:
activating an operation in the representative mode upon receipt of a request to operate in the representative mode [paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0047, 0061, 0065, 0073, 0098, 0106, activating an operation in the representative mode upon receipt of a request to operate in the representative mode (device requesting connection to the network 1000 may determine a rank; leader may generate the updated operation mode selection values based on updated information received from querying the devices 1006 for information)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wirola et al., U.S. Publication No. 2010/0255781 discloses a service may be switched into one of at least two different modes.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469