DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The addition of claim 42 in the response filed on 07/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-42 remain pending in the application
Claims 1-21 are cancelled.
Claims 22-42 are examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 22-41 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,025,778 to Silverstein et al. (hereinafter “Silverstein”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 39-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The subject matter of the dependent claim in the claims submitted on 07/22/2026, could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record. With respect to claim 39 and 40, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious at the effective filing date of the invention: the feature of a working channel wall segment pivotally connected to the elongated shaft, the working channel wall segment being disposed between the longitudinal groove and the sleeve when the working channel wall segment is in a closed position (claim 39) and wherein the working channel wall segment is pivotally movable between the closed position, in which the working channel wall segment rests on the outer wall surface of the shaft wall and covers the groove opening, and an open position, in which the working channel wall segment is pivoted radially outwardly and away from the groove opening (claim40).
The prior art when considered in combination or individually does not teach the claimed invention as seen in claims 39-40, therefore the claimed invention was not obvious before the effective filing date. The combination would result in impermissible hindsight. An updated search was conducted and no prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention anticipates or renders obvious the disclosed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-38 and 41-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,025,778 to Silverstein et al. (hereinafter “Silverstein”).
Regarding claim 22, Silverstein discloses an endoscope comprising: an endoscope head (42) and an elongated shaft with a shaft wall (see elongated shaft in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1), the shaft wall defining an outer perimeter (Fig. 1) and a longitudinal groove with a groove opening along a length of the elongated shaft (see longitudinal groove in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1); a flexible tube at least partially contained in the longitudinal groove (Col. 4, lines 44-46- The biopsy channel 44 is a disposable tubing resting, in a channel); and a sleeve (52, Fig. 1) that encloses the outer perimeter of the elongated shaft so as to enclose the flexible tube between the elongated shaft and the sleeve (Col. 4, lines 53-64), the elongated shaft being at least partially hollow so as to form an inner wall surface that surrounds at least one longitudinal passage inside the elongated shaft (48, 46, Fig. 1), the elongated shaft also forming an outer wall surface (see elongated shaft in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1), the outer wall surface having a concave section that defines the longitudinal groove and the groove opening (see elongated shaft in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1), the flexible tube having a tube wall defining a working channel for passing a fluid and/or instrument through the elongated shaft to the endoscope head (Col. 4, lines 44-46- The biopsy channel 44 is a disposable tubing resting, in a channel).
Silverstein does not expressly teach the tube wall being deformable from an undeformed state, when the flexible tube is empty, to a deformed state, when the fluid and/or the instrument is passed through the working channel, the tube wall configured to project radially outwardly through the groove opening when the tube wall is in the deformed state.
However, Silverstein, in a separate embodiment, further discloses the tube wall being deformable from an undeformed state (see 54 in Fig. 22b), when the flexible tube is empty (Fig. 22b), to a deformed state (Fig. 22A), when the fluid and/or the instrument (124) is passed through the working channel (54), the tube wall configured to project radially outwardly through the groove opening when the tube wall is in the deformed state (54, Col. 11, lines 22-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Silverstein to utilize the tube wall, as taught by Silverstein. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of ensuring that the total diameter of the insertion tube remains small (Col. 11, lines 40-45 of Silverstein).
Regarding claim 23, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22, wherein: the flexible tube has a first cross-sectional profile (Fig. 1), and the longitudinal groove has a second cross-sectional profile, and the first cross-sectional profile of the flexible tube is enclosed within the second cross- sectional profile of the longitudinal groove when the flexible tube is in the undeformed state (Fig. 22B).
Regarding claim 24, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 23, wherein the second cross-sectional profile of the longitudinal groove is U-shaped (see longitudinal groove in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22, wherein, when the tube wall projects radially outwardly through the groove opening, the tube wall bears radially inwardly against the outer wall surface of the shaft wall, and bears radially outwardly against the sleeve ((54, Col. 11, lines 22-45, Fig. 22A).
Regarding claim 26, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 25, wherein the outer wall surface of the shaft wall remains fixed in position when the tube wall bears against the outer wall surface of the shaft wall (Fig. 22A, Fig. 22B).
Regarding claim 27, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 26, wherein the sleeve expands radially outwardly when the tube wall bears against the sleeve (54, Fig. 22A).
Regarding claim 28, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22, wherein the sleeve is in an unexpanded state when the flexible tube is empty (Fig. 22B).
Regarding claim 29, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 28, wherein the sleeve has a cross-sectional shape that is circular when the sleeve is in the unexpanded state (54, Fig. 22B).
Regarding claim 30, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 29, wherein the cross- sectional shape of the sleeve comprises a lobe when the tube wall bears against the sleeve (54, Fig. 22A).
Regarding claim 31, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22, wherein the shaft wall forms an arcuate wall section bordering the longitudinal groove (see elongated shaft in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 32, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 31, wherein the arcuate wall section separates the at least one longitudinal passage from the longitudinal groove (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 33, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 32, wherein the inner wall surface of the shaft wall conforms to a circle having a diameter (see shaft wall in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 34, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 33, wherein the arcuate wall section comprises a vertex, and the diameter of the circle passes through the vertex (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 35, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22, wherein the longitudinal groove extends parallel to the at least one longitudinal passage (see groove in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 36, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22, wherein the endoscope head comprises an imaging device having a lens (46) and one or more lamps (Col. 11, lines 5-7-multiple channels may be required for …extra light).
Regarding claim 37, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22, wherein the at least one longitudinal passage comprises a plurality of passages (48, 46).
Regarding claim 38, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22 wherein the at least one longitudinal passage is configured to carry at least one of: a data transmission line, a flushing fluid, or a Bowden cable (46).
Rgearding claim 41, Silverstein teaches the endoscope according to claim 22, further comprising a rolled circumferential wall layer between the elongated shaft and the sleeve (78, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 42, Silverstein discloses an endoscope comprising: an endoscope head (42) and an elongated shaft with a shaft wall (see elongated shaft in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1), the shaft wall defining an outer perimeter (Fig. 1) and a longitudinal groove with a groove opening along a length of the elongated shaft (see longitudinal groove in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1); a flexible tube at least partially contained in the longitudinal groove (Col. 4, lines 44-46- Silverstein teaches the biopsy channel 44 is a disposable tubing resting, in a channel); and a sleeve (52, Fig. 1) that encloses the outer perimeter of the elongated shaft so as to enclose the flexible tube between the elongated shaft and the sleeve(Col. 4, lines 53-64), the elongated shaft being at least partially hollow so as to form an inner wall surface that surrounds at least one longitudinal passage inside the elongated shaft(48, 46, Fig. 1), the elongated shaft also forming an outer wall surface (see elongated shaft in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1), the outer wall surface having a concave section that defines the longitudinal groove and the groove opening (see elongated shaft in examiner’s annotated Fig. 1), the flexible tube having a tube wall defining a working channel for passing a fluid and/or instrument through the elongated shaft to the endoscope head (Col. 4, lines 44-46- The biopsy channel 44 is a disposable tubing resting, in a channel).
Silverstein fails to expressly teach the tube wall being deformable from an undeformed state, when the flexible tube is empty, to a deformed state, when the fluid and/or the instrument is passed through the working channel, the tube wall configured to project radially outwardly through the groove opening when the tube wall is in the deformed state, the flexible tube being sealed from fluid communication with the at least one longitudinal passage inside the elongated shaft, and the flexible tube being sealed from fluid communication with an interior of the longitudinal groove.
However, in a separate embodiment, Silverstein further teaches the tube wall being deformable from an undeformed state (see 54 in Fig. 22b), when the flexible tube is empty (Fig. 22b), to a deformed state (Fig. 22A), when the fluid and/or the instrument (124) is passed through the working channel (54), the tube wall configured to project radially outwardly through the groove opening when the tube wall is in the deformed state (54, Col. 11, lines 22-45), the flexible tube being sealed from fluid communication with the at least one longitudinal passage inside the elongated shaft (54), and the flexible tube being sealed from fluid communication with an interior of the longitudinal groove (54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Silverstein to utilize the tube wall, as taught by Silverstein. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of ensuring that the total diameter of the insertion tube remains small (Col. 11, lines 40-45 of Silverstein).
Conclusion
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795