DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 2/17/2026.
The Examiner notes claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined; claim(s) 5-18 have been withdrawn due the Response to Election / Restriction filed on 7/23/2024; claim(s) 1 & 3 is/are currently amended; and all other claims are original or previously presented.
Please see the Response to Amendments and Response to Arguments sections below for more details.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-18 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species B, Fig 3a-3b corresponding to claims 5-18, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/23/2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1, 19, & 20: "drive unit." Wherein the instant application the drive unit is interpreted per the applicant's disclosure in pg5:¶2-¶3 to be an electric motor, in particular a stepper motor, or a pneumatic drive cylinder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1
The claim states "wherein the support pin is fixed to the coupling." The Applicant’s disclosure provides insufficient information for the support pin being fixed to the couple. There is no mention of any language that state the pin is fixed to the coupling. The pin can be secured, clamped, or held magnetically to the coupling but not fixed to the coupling. The Applicant cites ¶23 of the publication of their application, US 20220076987 A1, as supporting this amendment. However there is no mention of the support pin being fixed to the coupling in the paragraph or the surrounding ones.
Therefore, it appears that the claim contains subject matter for which the inventor did not have possession at the time the application was filed.
The dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
And/or
Claim(s) 3 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHO et al. (US 20190043744), hereinafter Cho.
Regarding claim 20. (See Status of Claims for each claims’ statuses) Cho discloses an apparatus comprising:
a pin lifting device [Fig 1A-1B & 4C, 104, support pins (110A-110D in Fig 1A-1B or 205 in Fig 4C), 125, 137-138, 200, 300, & 500 form a pin lifting device] configured to move and position a substrate [101] to be processed, in a process atmosphere region (P) [111] provided by a vacuum process chamber [Fig 1A-1B; 102],
the pin lifting device comprising:
a coupling [Fig 1A-1B; & Fig 4C; 125 has the lift pins coupled to and resting on it and is in the same manner as Figures 2a-2b and pg11:¶6 of the Applicant’s disclosure as the support pins in Figures 2a-2b are not fixed to the coupler but accommodated in the couple versus in Figures 3a-3b and pg16:¶5 where the support pin is locked in the coupling 59] designed to receive a support pin [Fig 1A-1B; ¶25; 125 receives and supports the support pins] adapted to contact and support the substrate [Fig 1A-1B], and
a drive unit [Fig 1A-1B; 138] which is designed and interacts with the coupling in such a way that the coupling is linearly adjustable along an adjustment axis (A) [Fig 1A-1B; ¶25] from
a lowered normal position, in particular for providing the support pin in a condition substantially free of action with respect to its intended effect, into an extended support position, in particular for providing the intended effect of receiving and/or providing the substrate by the support pin, and back again [Fig 1A-1B & 5; ¶25; the drive unit moves 137 & 104 which in turn move the support pins and therefore the substrate along an adjustment axis between a lowered position of the support pins where the substrate rests on 104 and is not supported by the support pins (Fig 1A) and
an extended support position, in particular for providing the intended effect of receiving and/or providing the substrate by the support pin, and back again, [Fig 1A-1B; in particular Fig 1B; ¶32; an elevated position of support pins where the substrate is supported on the support pins],
wherein the pin lifting device has at least one sensor unit [Abstract; 200, 300, & 500 are different monitoring devices (i.e. sensor units) for the pin lifting device], which is designed and arranged in such a way that, by means of the sensor unit, a force-dependent and/or an acceleration-dependent condition information can be generated with reference to at least a part of the pin lifting device [¶28, ¶39, & ¶50; the pin lifting device can have one or more of the different sensors disclosed (¶23), ¶39 discloses a sensor (305) that is an acceleration sensor that monitors the static and dynamic forces of acceleration, & ¶50 discloses toggle switches (505) that are activated by the force of the support pins holding the substrate and therefore provide force dependent condition information to at least a part of the pin lifting device].
wherein the sensor unit is arranged on: the drive unit, a coupling element which provides the cooperation of the drive unit with the coupling, or a housing of the pin lifting device [Fig 4C; 505 are arranged on 102 which houses the pin lifting device].
Regarding claim 3. Cho discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one of the following force sensors for generating the force-dependent condition information: a pressure sensor [¶50; 505 is a push-down switch which operates from the pressure pushing down the switch], a deformation-sensitive element, in particular a strain gauge, a piezo force transducer with a piezo ceramic element, an electrodynamic force transducer, a resistive force transducer, a vibration force transducer and/or a spring body force transducer.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McMillin et al. (US 20130059447), hereinafter McMillin.
Regarding claim 19. McMillin discloses an apparatus [Fig 2A] comprising:
a pin lifting device [Fig 2A; every component except 206 is part of the pin lifting device], configured to move and position a substrate [206] to be processed, in a process atmosphere region (P) provided by a vacuum process chamber [Abstract; ¶49], the pin lifting device comprising:
a coupling [240] designed to receive a support pin [228 & 230] adapted to contact and support the substrate [Fig 2A; the support pins contact and support the substrate], and
a drive unit [Fig 2A; 244, 246, & 248 form the drive unit] which is designed and interacts with the coupling in such a way that the coupling is linearly adjustable along an adjustment axis (A) [Fig 2A-2B; the drive unit interacts with 240 and moves it linearly] from:
a lowered normal position [Fig 2A], in particular for providing the support pin in a condition substantially free of action with respect to its intended effect [Fig 2A; the pins can be lowered to not engage or support W in the lowered normal position], into
an extended support position [Fig 2B], in particular for providing the intended effect of receiving and/or providing the substrate by the support pin, and back again [Fig 2A-2B; the pins are in the extended position receive and support W and can lower back down to the lowered normal position],
wherein the pin lifting device has at least one sensor unit, which is designed and arranged in such a way that, by means of the sensor unit, a force-dependent and/or acceleration-dependent condition information can be generated with reference to the coupling or the drive unit [Fig 2A-2B; ¶49-¶50, 242 & 250 are a detecting/sensor unit that includes a strain gauge (i.e. force-dependent sensor) that is in contact with the drive unit (i.e. 244, 246, & 248) and therefore generates force-dependent condition information with reference to the drive unit].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMillian in view of Tsujimoto et al. (US 20110132873), hereinafter Tsujimoto.
Regarding claim 1. (See Status of Claims for each claims’ statuses) McMillian discloses an apparatus comprising:
a pin lifting device [Fig 2A; every component except 206 is part of the pin lifting device] configured to move and position a substrate [206] to be processed, in a process atmosphere region (P) provided by a vacuum process chamber [Abstract; ¶49],
the pin lifting device comprising:
a coupling [240] designed to receive a support pin [228 & 230] adapted to contact and support the substrate [Fig 2A; the support pins contact and support the substrate], wherein the support pin is fixed to the coupling [Fig 2A; the pins (228) are fixed to the coupling (240)], and
a drive unit [Fig 2A; 244, 246, & 248 form the drive unit] which is designed and interacts with the coupling in such a way that the coupling is linearly adjustable along an adjustment axis (A) [Fig 2A-2B; the drive unit interacts with 240 and moves it linearly] from
a lowered normal position [Fig 2A], in particular for providing the support pin in a condition substantially free of action with respect to its intended effect [Fig 2A; the pins can be lowered to not engage or support W in the lowered normal position], into
an extended support position [Fig 2B], in particular for providing the intended effect of receiving and/or providing the substrate by the support pin, and back again [Fig 2A-2B; the pins are in the extended position receive and support W and can lower back down to the lowered normal position],
wherein the pin lifting device has at least one sensor unit, which is designed and arranged in such a way that, by means of the sensor unit,… condition information can be generated with reference to the coupling or the drive unit [Fig 2A-2B; ¶49-¶50, 242 & 250 are a detecting/sensor unit that includes a strain gauge (i.e. force-dependent sensor) that is in contact with the drive unit (i.e. 244, 246, & 248) and therefore generates force-dependent condition information with reference to the drive unit].
McMillian may not explicitly disclose an acceleration-dependent condition information
However Tsujimoto teaches a pin lifting device the pin lifting device has at least one sensor unit [Fig 6; ¶80; 360], which is designed and arranged in such a way that, by means of the sensor unit, an acceleration-dependent condition information can be generated with reference to at least a part of the pin lifting device [Fig 6; ¶17, ¶80, & ¶84-¶85; 360 detects a driving vibration of the motor which is an acceleration-dependent condition information].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pin lifting device as disclosed by McMillian to have a sensor that generates acceleration-dependent condition information as taught by Tsujimoto for the purpose of having an another sensor to detect the condition of the drive unit while moving the support pins from a lowered position to an extended position; thereby providing sensor data to determine how the support pins are moving in relation to the substrate to be lifted [Tsujimoto: ¶17, ¶80, & ¶84-¶85].
Regarding claim 2. McMillin as modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one of the following inertial sensors for generating the acceleration-dependent condition information: an acceleration sensor which detects accelerations along at least one axis aligned in a defined manner, and/or a rotation rate sensor which detects rotation speeds or rotation accelerations about at least one axis aligned in a defined manner [¶17, ¶80, & ¶84-¶85; a vibrations of a motor are measured with an accelerometer].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMillian in view of Tsujimoto further in view of Cho.
Regarding claim 4. McMillin as modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor unit is arranged on the support pin .
However Cho teaches a pin lifting device with multiple sensors [¶23] where a sensor unit is arranged on the support pin [Fig 3; 305 is an accelerometer arranged on the support pin].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pin lifting device as taught by McMillian as modified to have the sensor unit is arranged on the support pin as taught by Cho for the purpose of monitoring each of the support pins so that any fault or abnormal condition of a single support pin can be detected and the pin lift ceased to prevent damage to the substate [Cho: ¶40].
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Rejection
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 9-11, filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant claims that Cho does not teach newly amended claim 1.However it is newly rejected above under 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim 20 still rejected by Cho as it has not been amended with the “fixed” language that claim 1 has.
The Applicant claims that McMillian does not disclose a coupling and that the strain gauge under the insulator of McMillian does not provide any force-dependent condition information which relates to the dive unit.However the insulator is cited as the coupling as it couples the support pins and yoke to the drive unit. The Applicant’s coupling element includes an insulating element, see Applicant’s publication (US 20220076987) ¶96-¶98. Therefore the insulator of McMillian is also a coupling that couples the support pins to the drive unit.Further the strain gauge of McMillian measures forces resistant to the lifting of the wafer while the drive unit is operating, see ¶52 of McMillian. Further the stain gauge is placed directly against the drive unit as the lead screw (244) is part of the drive unit, see Fig 2A-2B. Therefore the force-dependent condition information provided by the strain gauge is in reference to the drive unit as the information is provided while it is operating.Therefore the rejection is maintained.
The arguments of claim 3 are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723