DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Newly amended Claims 1-2, 6-7, 16-17, and 19-31 are pending in the application. All withdrawn claims are rejoined for examination on the merits. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome every objection and rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 1/16/2026.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 28, and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
All instances wherein “one or more” is followed by an inhibitor in the singular form must be pluralized; e.g., “Cyt-bc1:aa3 inhibitor” should instead read “Cyt-bc1:aa3 inhibitors”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson (WO9609294, previously cited) in view of Brown (Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry – Chapter 2, Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, 2012, pg. 15-29, previously cited).
Hudson teaches
4-[4-(4-Chlorophenoxy)anilino]quinazoline HCl on Page 14, in which the following definitions apply: X1 is N; R1, R2, R3, R4, and R5 are H; Q is as defined wherein one R8 is Cl rather than CF3 or OCF3 as claimed. The compound is a protein tyrosine kinase inhibitor included in pharmaceutical compositions (Abstract). Compositions include carriers (Page 19).
Hudson does not teach CF3 as an alternative embodiment to Cl.
Brown teaches CF3 is a halogen isostere:
(Page 23). The substitution is described as a classical bioisostere, achieved by “replacing a functional group with groups sharing similar physical or chemical properties and maintaining similar activity” (Page 15). One of skill in the art seeking to form a kinase inhibitor would find it obvious to substitute the Cl substituent with CF3 to arrive at the compound of Claim 16 and expect success in doing so because Brown teaches that the substitution is a known isosteric replacement and that “similar physical or chemical properties and…activity” are expected to result. Hudson teaches an inhibitor; therefore, the inhibitory activity and properties are expected to be retained.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2 and 16 are rejected. Claims 7, 28, and 31 are objected to. Claims 17, 22-27, and 29-30 are allowable.
Claims 6 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627