Applicant’s arguments filed 8/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement have been considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 12/1/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16, 17, 23 and 27-30 of copending Application No. 18/299,317 (US 2023/0240287). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending invention allows for the surfactant to be selected from an alkylpolyglucoside and the amounts of alkylpolyglucoside and cosurfactant is preferably 1% or more based on the total weight of the composition. The liquid formulation limitation encompasses a suspension [0020]. Therefore, the claims are prima facie obvious in view of the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has agreed to file a terminal disclaimer at a later date if necessary. The rejection is maintained.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bean (WO 00/49873; published August 31, 2000) as evidenced by Bradai (Risk Assessment of Linear Alkylbenzene Sulfonate (LAS) Based on Molecular Biomarkers May 2014).
Applicant’s Invention
Applicant claims a liquid suspension comprising
30 wt.% of the composition water,
one or more electrolyte agrochemicals dissolved in the water in a total amount of 20 wt.% of the water,
a surfactant system comprising.
2-6 wt.% of the composition alkylpolyglucoside surfactant and
2-6 wt.% of the composition cosurfactant selected from Formula 9 to 14, and
one or more agrochemicals suspended in the water.
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
With respect to claims 1-6 and 8-12 of the instant application, Bean teach a storage-stable aqueous agrochemical concentrate formulation comprising a) an agrochemical electrolyte such as glyphosate, b) a water-insoluble agrochemical system such as diuron, C) and alkylglycoside and d) a co-surfactant that interacts with the alkylglycoside to form a structured aqueous system (abstract). The water-insoluble herbicides can include diuron, bensulfuron, chlorimuron, chlorsulfuron, methsulfuron, mesotrione, thifensulfuron and nicosulfuron (page 5, lines 1-5). The water-insoluble is prepared as a finely divided suspension prepared by milling the solid agrochemical in water (page 5, lines 8-13). The alkylglycoside includes alkylglucosides of formula I, wherein n is 1-3 and R5 is a branched or straight C4-C18 alkyl groups (page 6, lines 1-13).
The formulations further include a minor proportion of an ionic surfactant which increases the amount of structuring at high temperature and lowers the amount of alkylglycoside and co-surfactant needed to produces stable formulations (page 6, lines 14-21). The ionic surfactants (component e) include cationic, anionic and amphoteric surfactants including alkyl sulfates, alkyl sulphosuccinates, alkyl phosphates and alkylbenzene sulphonates and their derivatives having at least one long chain alkyl or alkenyl substituent (page 6, line22 through page 7, line 7). The electrolyte is preferably glyphosate in a concentration of greater than 120 g/L, preferably greater than 330 g/l (page 7, lines 13-22). The ionic surfactant is preferably 0 to 1 part by weight per 1 part by weight alkylglycoside (page 8, lines 5-9). The inventive formulations comprises 200 g/L (20% wt/vol.) glyphosate trimesium, 200 g/L diuron, 20 g/l Arquad 16-29 (component e), 98 g/l Agrimul PG2067 (alkylpolyglycoside where R5 is a mixture of octyl and decyl), 28 g/L octanol and water to 1 liter (page 10, lines 16-30; Example 2, page 11, lines 12-15). Additionally, a formulation comprising 350 g/L (35% wt/vol.) glyphosate trimesium, 100 g/L diuron, 10 g/l Arquad 16-29 (component e) and additional amount of component e) is added to progressively improve stability 20, 30 and 40 respectively), 35 g/l Agrimul PG2067 (alkylpolyglycoside where R5 is a mixture of octyl and decyl), 10 g/L octanol and water to 1 liter (Example 3 page 14, lines 5-17).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Bean et al. teach alkylbenzene sulphonates which encompass the class of Formula 9, alkyl sulphosuccinates which encompass the class of Formula 11 and other ionic surfactants which encompass Formulas 10 and 12-14.
Bradai teach linear alkylbenzene sulfonates have the formula below (page 6) which encompasses claimed Formula 9.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings Bean to form a liquid suspension comprising one or more agrochemicals which are suspended in water and a co-surfactant that is alkylbenzene sulfonate of formula 9 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Bean to form a suspension comprising an active ingredient and a co-surfactant that is selected from alkylbenzene sulfonate because Bean teach the water-insoluble herbicide is prepared as a finely divided suspension and the formulations further include a minor proportion of an ionic surfactant selected from alkylbenzene sulfonates to increase the amount of structuring at high temperature and lower the amount of alkylglycoside and other co-surfactant needed to produce a stable formulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Bean does not teach that every ionic surfactant listed would the produce the same results and Bean does not state that an alkylbenzene sulfonate will stabilize any of the compositions. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument because Bean teach storage-stable aqueous agrochemical concentrate formulation comprising a) an agrochemical electrolyte such as glyphosate, b) a water-insoluble agrochemical system such as diuron, c) and alkylglycoside and d) a co-surfactant that interacts with the alkylglycoside to form a structured aqueous system (abstract). The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. Bean teach that the formulations further include a minor proportion of an ionic surfactant which increases the amount of structuring at high temperature and lowers the amount of alkylglycoside and co-surfactant needed to produces stable formulations (page 6, lines 14-21). These ionic surfactants alkylbenzene sulphonates (page 6, line22 through page 7, line 7). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include alkylbenzene sulphonates into the alkylglycoside surfactant system to increase structuring at high temperature and lower the amount of alkylglycoside needed. Furthermore, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues that Bean is concerned with Arquad-16-29 which is cationic in all examples so the disclosure directs one of ordinary skill to use other co-surfactants d) which are preferably cationic surfactants rather than anionic alkybenzene sulfonate. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Bean teach that the formulations further include a minor proportion of an ionic surfactant which increases the amount of structuring at high temperature and lowers the amount of alkylglycoside and co-surfactant needed to produces stable formulations (page 6, lines 14-21). Since Bean teach that the ionic surfactants include alkylbenzene sulphonates and their derivatives having at least one long chain alkyl or alkenyl substituent (page 6, line22 through page 7, line 7) and Bradi teach alkylbenzene sulfonates have the same formula as Formula 9 the present claims are prima facie obvious. Additionally, Bean teach that the amount of ionic surfactant is preferably 0 to 1 part by weight per 1 part by weight alkylglycoside which is within the claimed range (page 8, lines 5-9).
Next, applicant argues that the formulations demonstrate unexpected results. The Examiner is not persuaded by this argument because the data is not presented in the form of a proper side by side comparison that is commensurate in scope with the claims. The data only supports specific examples wherein the active ingredients include 90.92% 10-34-0 fertilizer, 2.05% azoxystrobin, a surfactant system comprising a total amount of 2-3% APG (C8,10APG AL2575) + 2-3% surfactants (sodium dodecyl benzene sulphonate and sodium secondary alkyl sulphonate) and 5.76% water with excipients. No other electrolyte agrochemicals and suspended agrochemicals are tested. Therefore, the rejections have been maintained.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1617