DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regard to the application filed on June 21, 2021 and in response to Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments/Remarks filed on April 24, 2026.
Status of Application
The amendment filed April 24, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 8-13, and 15-19 are currently pending in the application. Claim 19 is new; claims 8-13 and 15-17 are withdrawn; claims 6, 7, and 14 are canceled. Claims 1-5, 18, and 19 are hereby examined on the merits.
The previous 112(b) rejections of claims 1-5 and 18 have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salzman (“Supersmooth, Light-As-Air Hummus,” Pamela Salzman; June 2013) as evidenced by My Food Data (“Nutrition Facts for Cooked Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans)”; “Nutrition Facts for Sesame Butter (Tahini)”; “Nutrition Facts for Lemon juice, 100%, freshly squeezed”; Nutrition Facts for Raw Garlic (Fresh)”; My Food Data: Nutrition Facts Search Tool). All prior art references cited on PTO-892 dated Feb. 17, 2026.
Regarding claim 1, Salzman discloses a whipped hummus (i.e., aerated food product) (p. 7) which comprises 3 2/3 cups cooked chickpeas (p. 8 step 3), 1 cup tahini, ¼ cup lemon juice, 4 cloves garlic, 1.5 teaspoons sea salt, and 6.5 tablespoons water (p. 7).
When converted to grams and percent by weight, the recipe becomes:
Component
Recipe
Grams
Percent by weight (100% total)
Cooked chickpeas
3 2/3 cup
600 g (1 cup ~164 g; 1/3 cup ~55 g)
58.8 wt.%
Tahini
1 cup
240 g (1 cup ~240 g)
23.5 wt.%
Lemon juice
¼ cup
61 g (1 cup ~245 g)
5.97 wt.%
Garlic
4 cloves
12 g (1 clove ~3 g)
1.18 wt.%
Salt
1.5 teaspoons
12 g (1 tsp ~8g)
1.18 wt.%
Water
6.5 tablespoons
96 g (1 tbsp~14.8 g)
9.40 wt.%
Salzman teaches that the cooked chickpeas are blended to get a stiff paste, thereby teaching an edible plant paste that is not a dry particulate or powder composition and consists essentially of a vegetable which is crushed, ground, or homogenized and which has a pasty flowing consistency allowing its consumption with a fork.
Tahini is a paste made from ground sesame seeds. Thus, the tahini taught by Salzman is also an edible plant paste that is not a dry particulate or powder composition and consists essentially of a vegetable which is crushed, ground, or homogenized and which has a pasty flowing consistency allowing its consumption with a fork.
Therefore, the ground cooked chickpeas and tahini together as taught by Salzman is the edible plant paste as claimed.
The whipped hummus comprises 58.8 wt.% cooked chickpeas and 23.5 wt.% tahini as set forth in the table above. Thus, the whipped hummus (i.e., aerated food product) comprises 82.3 wt.% of the edible plant paste (combination of cooked chickpeas and tahini), which lies within the claimed range of 65-95 wt.%.
Salzman is silent as to the amount of fat, protein, and fiber in the whipped hummus.
However, as evidenced by My Food Data (pages 2 and 4-6), each component (excluding salt and water because they do not contain any amounts of fat, protein, and fiber) comprises the following amount of fat, protein, and fiber:
Component
Fat (weight)
Fat (weight percentage)
Protein (weight)
Protein (weight percentage)
Fiber (weight)
Fiber (weight percentage)
Cooked chickpeas
15.5 g
2.58%
53.2 g
8.87%
45.6 g
7.6%
Tahini
129 g
53.75%
40.8 g
17%
22.3 g
9.3%
Lemon juice
0.15 g
0.25%
0.21 g
0.34%
0.18 g
0.3%
Garlic
0.06 g
0.5%
0.76 g
6.33%
0.25 g
2.1%
Based on the amounts in the total composition (again excluding salt and water):
Component
Percent by weight
Percent fat (weight)
Percent protein (weight)
Percent fiber (weight)
Cooked chickpeas
58.8%
1.52%
5.21%
4.47%
Tahini
23.5%
12.63%
4%
2.18%
Lemon juice
5.97%
0.01%
0.02%
0.02%
Garlic
1.18%
0.01%
0.07%
0.02%
Total
14.2%
9.3%
6.7%
Therefore, the aerated food product comprises a protein content of 9.3 wt.% which lies within the claimed range of 3-10 wt.% and a fiber content of 6.7 wt.%, which does not lay within the claimed range, but is close. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05(I). The difference between the claimed range and that evidenced by My Food Data is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the final composition to have the same properties as a composition with the claimed amounts.
Where Salzman as evidenced by My Food Data teaches 14.2 wt.% fat, when recalculated as percent by volume, it becomes 13.6 vol%, which lies within the claimed range of 10-35 vol%.
Thus, Salzman as evidenced by My Food Data renders obvious the instant claim limitations.
Salzman is silent as to that the overrun of the aerated food product is 7-150% and that the aerated food product remains stable over 30 days at 4°C.
However, where the claimed and prior art products are substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01(I). Since the composition of Salzman is substantially identical to that of the claimed composition, the prior art product must necessarily possess the same properties and characteristics as the composition claimed. Therefore, the composition taught by Salzman is considered to possess the overrun and stability as claimed because the composition is substantially the same and thus must necessarily exhibit the same characteristics.
Regarding claim 2, Salzman teaches ground cooked chickpeas and tahini (ground sesame seeds) as the edible plant paste (p. 8 step 3), which is a vegetable paste.
Regarding claim 3, Salzman teaches the vegetable paste comprising ground cooked chickpeas (p. 8 step 3) – chickpeas are pulses; thus, the vegetable paste is a pulse paste.
Regarding claim 4, Salzman teaches a combination of ground cooked chickpeas and tahini as the vegetable paste (p. 8 step 3). Chickpeas are pulses and tahini is an oleaginous vegetable paste because tahini is made from ground sesame seeds which are oleaginous. Thus, the vegetable paste consists of a mixture of at least one pulse paste and at least one oleaginous vegetable paste.
Regarding claim 5, Salzman teaches that the aerated food product further comprises garlic, sea salt, (i.e., a spice aromatic herb, condiment, flower essence, and salt), and lemon juice (i.e., an edible acidic ingredient) (p. 7 ingredients).
Regarding claim 18, Salzman teaches that the aerated food product further comprises olive oil (i.e., an edible oil) (p. 7 ingredients).
Regarding claim 19, it is noted that the claim is directed to the product and not to the method of making the product. In this regard, the claim has been construed as a product by process limitation such that the claim is not limited to the manipulations of the steps but only the implied structure (see MPEP 2113). As such, the implied structure is an aerated food product.
Claims 1-5, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salzman (“Supersmooth, Light-As-Air Hummus,” Pamela Salzman; June 2013) as evidenced by My Food Data (“Nutrition Facts for Cooked Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans)”; “Nutrition Facts for Sesame Butter (Tahini)”; “Nutrition Facts for Lemon juice, 100%, freshly squeezed”; Nutrition Facts for Raw Garlic (Fresh)”; My Food Data: Nutrition Facts Search Tool), in view of Clavier et al. (WO 2017/067965), herein after referred to as Clavier. All prior art references cited on PTO-892 dated Feb. 17, 2026.
Regarding claim 1, Salzman discloses a whipped hummus (i.e., aerated food product) (p. 7) which comprises 3 2/3 cups cooked chickpeas (p. 8 step 3), 1 cup tahini, ¼ cup lemon juice, 4 cloves garlic, 1.5 teaspoons sea salt, and 6.5 tablespoons water (p. 7).
When converted to grams and percent by weight, the recipe becomes:
Component
Recipe
Grams
Percent by weight (100% total)
Cooked chickpeas
3 2/3 cup
600 g (1 cup ~164 g; 1/3 cup ~55 g)
58.8 wt.%
Tahini
1 cup
240 g (1 cup ~240 g)
23.5 wt.%
Lemon juice
¼ cup
61 g (1 cup ~245 g)
5.97 wt.%
Garlic
4 cloves
12 g (1 clove ~3 g)
1.18 wt.%
Salt
1.5 teaspoons
12 g (1 tsp ~8g)
1.18 wt.%
Water
6.5 tablespoons
96 g (1 tbsp~14.8 g)
9.40 wt.%
Salzman teaches that the cooked chickpeas are blended to get a stiff paste, thereby teaching an edible plant paste that is not a dry particulate or powder composition and consists essentially of a vegetable which is crushed, ground, or homogenized and which has a pasty flowing consistency allowing its consumption with a fork.
Tahini is a paste made from ground sesame seeds. Thus, the tahini taught by Salzman is also an edible plant paste that is not a dry particulate or powder composition and consists essentially of a vegetable which is crushed, ground, or homogenized and which has a pasty flowing consistency allowing its consumption with a fork.
Therefore, the ground cooked chickpeas and tahini together as taught by Salzman is the edible plant paste as claimed.
The whipped hummus comprises 58.8 wt.% cooked chickpeas and 23.5 wt.% tahini as set forth in the table above. Thus, the whipped hummus (i.e., aerated food product) comprises 82.3 wt.% of the edible plant paste (combination of cooked chickpeas and tahini), which lies within the claimed range of 65-95 wt.%.
Salzman is silent as to the amount of fat, protein, and fiber in the whipped hummus.
However, as evidenced by My Food Data (pages 2 and 4-6), each component (excluding salt and water because they do not contain any amounts of fat, protein, and fiber) comprises the following amount of fat, protein, and fiber:
Component
Fat (weight)
Fat (weight percentage)
Protein (weight)
Protein (weight percentage)
Fiber (weight)
Fiber (weight percentage)
Cooked chickpeas
15.5 g
2.58%
53.2 g
8.87%
45.6 g
7.6%
Tahini
129 g
53.75%
40.8 g
17%
22.3 g
9.3%
Lemon juice
0.15 g
0.25%
0.21 g
0.34%
0.18 g
0.3%
Garlic
0.06 g
0.5%
0.76 g
6.33%
0.25 g
2.1%
Based on the amounts in the total composition (again excluding salt and water):
Component
Percent by weight
Percent fat (weight)
Percent protein (weight)
Percent fiber (weight)
Cooked chickpeas
58.8%
1.52%
5.21%
4.47%
Tahini
23.5%
12.63%
4%
2.18%
Lemon juice
5.97%
0.01%
0.02%
0.02%
Garlic
1.18%
0.01%
0.07%
0.02%
Total
14.2%
9.3%
6.7%
Therefore, the aerated food product comprises a protein content of 9.3 wt.% which lies within the claimed range of 3-10 wt.% and a fiber content of 6.7 wt.%, which does not lay within the claimed range, but is close. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05(I). The difference between the claimed range and that evidenced by My Food Data is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the final composition to have the same properties as a composition with the claimed amounts.
Where Salzman as evidenced by My Food Data teaches 14.2 wt.% fat, when recalculated as percent by volume, it becomes 13.6 vol%, which lies within the claimed range of 10-35 vol%.
Thus, Salzman as evidenced by My Food Data renders obvious the instant claim limitations.
Salzman is silent as to that the aerated food product remains stable over 30 days at 4°C.
However, where the claimed and prior art products are substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01(I). Since the composition of Salzman is substantially identical to that of the claimed composition, the prior art product must necessarily possess the same properties and characteristics as the composition claimed. Therefore, the composition taught by Salzman is considered to possess the stability as claimed because the composition is substantially the same and thus must necessarily exhibit the same characteristics.
Salzman is silent as to that the overrun of the aerated food product has an overrun ranging from 7% to 150%.
Clavier, in the same field of invention, teaches a mixing apparatus and process for aerating food compositions with overruns of 20-300% (p. 11 lines 16-28; claims 1 and 13). This overrun overlaps with the claimed range of 7-150% and where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Therefore, as it was known in the art to produce aerated food products, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have produced an aerated food product with the overrun as claimed, as Clavier teaches that food products are known to be aerated and are known to have the overrun as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Salzman teaches ground cooked chickpeas and tahini (ground sesame seeds) as the edible plant paste (p. 8 step 3), which is a vegetable paste.
Regarding claim 3, Salzman teaches the vegetable paste comprising ground cooked chickpeas (p. 8 step 3) – chickpeas are pulses; thus, the vegetable paste is a pulse paste.
Regarding claim 4, Salzman teaches a combination of ground cooked chickpeas and tahini as the vegetable paste (p. 8 step 3). Chickpeas are pulses and tahini is an oleaginous vegetable paste because tahini is made from ground sesame seeds which are oleaginous. Thus, the vegetable paste consists of a mixture of at least one pulse paste and at least one oleaginous vegetable paste.
Regarding claim 5, Salzman teaches that the aerated food product further comprises garlic, sea salt, (i.e., a spice aromatic herb, condiment, flower essence, and salt), and lemon juice (i.e., an edible acidic ingredient) (p. 7 ingredients).
Regarding claim 18, Salzman teaches that the aerated food product further comprises olive oil (i.e., an edible oil) (p. 7 ingredients).
Regarding claim 19, it is noted that the claim is directed to the product and not to the method of making the product. In this regard, the claim has been construed as a product by process limitation such that the claim is not limited to the manipulations of the steps but only the implied structure (see MPEP 2113). As such, the implied structure is an aerated food product.
In any case, Clavier teaches that the rotation speed of the apparatus for aerating a food product is 50-1500 rpm (p. 11 lines 9-10), which encompasses the claimed range of 300-1000 rpm. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Clavier also teaches that the aerated food product is made by passing a stream of a food product (at a constant flow rate (p. 8 lines 12-13)) through the apparatus while injecting a gas (at specifications that ensure uniform distribution of gas (p. 7 line 29 to p. 8 line 3) into the food product stream while mixing (claim 13; p. 11 lines 1-23). Clavier does not teach specific flow rates of either the food product or the gas, as Clavier intends for the apparatus and its specifications to be adjusted depending on the product to be aerated and desired extent of aeration (p. 7 lines 19-21; p. 10 lines 28-30; p. 11 lines 8-9; p. 12 lines 23-24). Thus, these specifications are not particularly limited, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed ranges through no more than routine optimization, as varying these specific parameters would achieve recognized results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The prior art rejection has been amended in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims; however, the essential prior art rejection has been maintained by the Examiner for the following reasons.
Applicant argues that the volume-to-weight conversions of Salzman’s recipe ingredients rely on unsupported assumptions. Applicant also argues that 3 2/3 cups of cooked chickpeas is different than 3 2/3 cups of chickpea paste, and that the Office Action incorrectly treats the volumetric measurement of cooked chickpeas and the volume of chickpea paste (Remarks, p. 5-6).
This argument is not persuasive. The volume-to-weight conversions of each ingredient are a part of the nutrition facts in the My Food Data reference (cited on PTO-892 dated Feb. 17, 2026). On page 1, the serving size of cooked chickpeas is 1 cup, which is 164 g; p. 4, the serving size of tahini is 1 cup, which is 240 g; p. 5, the serving size of lemon juice is ¼ cup, which is 61 g; p. 6, the serving size of raw garlic is one clove, which is 3 g. However, it seems those volume/weight equivalents/conversions were not included in the printable pages of the My Food Data nutrition facts. Each website page for each ingredient has thus been additionally provided herewith, each showing the serving size in both volume and weight. The tahini did not have an option for a 1 cup serving size, so it shows 16 servings of 1 tablespoon (since there are 16 tablespoons in one cup). The data for the My Food Data nutrition facts is sourced from the USDA Food Data Central.
Regarding the additional argument, the calculations of the components are based on the weight (in grams) of each. Cooked chickpeas and chickpea paste made therefrom have the same mass and since the calculations are made from the mass, and not from the volume, the calculations were not done incorrectly with regard to the volume and weight of whole chickpeas and chickpea paste. The office action did not treat Salzman’s volumetric measurement of cooked chickpeas as the volume of chickpea paste, as the chickpea paste is made from the cooked chickpeas.
Applicant argues that the calculation method for the conversion of wt.% fat to vol.% fat should be disclosed (Remarks, p. 6).
This argument is not persuasive. Weight percent to volume percent is a well-known calculation and is simply the weight percent of the composition divided by the density of the composition. For this calculation, the density of general hummus was sourced from aqua-calc.com which sources its data from the USDA Food Data Central; this reference is attached herewith. Fat volume percentage of the total composition can also be calculated from calculating the fat volume percent of each individual component. However, it is not expected that the result of one method or the other would be drastically different, and given the wide range of the claimed overall fat volume percentage, it is also not expected that the other method would be outside of the claimed range. Furthermore, the majority of the fat in the composition comes from the tahini, which only has a density of 1.01 g/cm3, so it is expected that the fat volume percentage would not be significantly different from the fat weight percentage.
Applicant argues that the combination of Salzman and Clavier fails to teach the claimed overrun. Applicant argues that one wouldn’t modify Salzman with the industrial aerating apparatus of Clavier because it would render Salzman unsuitable for its intended purpose, which Applicant argues is making a quality hummus at home (Remarks, p. 6-7).
This argument is not persuasive. Clavier is used only to teach a suitable and desirable overrun, where Salzman is silent; the modification of Salzman is not that the composition is aerated through the apparatus of Clavier, but that one would of ordinary skill in the art would have sufficient motivation to produce a hummus with the overrun taught by Clavier. The purpose of Salzman is to make hummus, which would not be in any case rendered unsatisfactory in view of the teachings of Clavier.
Moreover, Applicant cites examples in the instant specification that hummus with overruns greater than 7% cannot be achieved with home kitchen whipping devices (such as a KitchenAid mixer), and that the hummus taught by Salzman could not achieve the claimed overrun. However, in these examples (of which there are only two), the temperature of the hummus is constant at 18°C and the overruns are 5.4% and 4%, which are only lower by 1.6 and 3 percentage points from the claimed lower limit of 7%. It is well known in the art that overrun is affected by the temperature of the product being aerated/whipped, and as such, it is reasonable to assume that a hummus whipped with a home kitchen device could achieve the claimed overrun if the temperature were changed.
Applicant argues that although the new claim 19 is a product-by-process claim, the limitation imparts distinct structural and/or functional characteristics to the claimed product, specifically with regard to the claimed overrun and stability. Applicant further argues that the claimed whipping conditions are critical to obtaining the claimed aerated food product (Remarks, p. 7-8).
This argument is not persuasive. The limitations in the product-by-process claim do not impart distinct structural and/or functional characteristics to the claimed product where the claimed composition has already been defined as, and limited to, being an aerated food product. The composition is already required to be aerated and to possess a certain overrun, how that is achieved via the manufacturing process steps is not expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics. Applicant argues that the overrun can only be achieved through these process steps, however, Applicant has not proven that to be true, since there are more factors that impact overrun that have not been tested or considered by Applicant.
In the absence of any further arguments with regard to the rejections of the additional dependent claims, the rejections of these dependent claims are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791