DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/03/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 14, 17, and 32-33 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and claims 34-35 have been added. Thus, claims 1-11, 14-15, 17, and 30-35 are presently pending in this application, with claims 1-11 being withdrawn from consideration. The 112(f) interpretation is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s argument on p.7-8 of “Remarks” filed 04/03/2026 that Davis fails to disclose or teach wherein the transmission portion connects the proximal cavity and the distal cavity and wherein a diameter of the transmission portion is less than a diameter of the proximal cavity and a diameter of the distal cavity as required by claims 14 and 17, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant argues “the first end 240 [of Davis] comprises two distinct, concentrically arranged cavities”. This argument is not persuasive because the annotated proximal cavity of Davis shown below in Davis Drawing 1 is still a cavity located in the proximal end of the cap. There is no claim limitation restricting the cavity from containing additional structures such as the male tip 242 in Fig. 5D. Further, the transmission portion as annotated below does connect the distal cavity to at least a portion of the annotated proximal cavity as required by the claim, and thus the diameter of the transmission portion as annotated below is less than a diameter of the proximal cavity as annotated below.
Regarding the newly added claims 34-35, the examiner does not find the arguments on p.10 of “Remarks” filed on 04/03/2026 persuasive because the channel as annotated in Davis Drawing 2 below is configured to flow fluid through the cap from the inlet opening to the outlet opening. The claim does not require that the fluid has to flow through the entire inlet opening, and thus Davis discloses that the fluid flows through at least a portion of said inlet opening corresponding to the male tip 242.
Thus the rejection is maintained.
Examiner suggests amending claims 14 and 17 to disclose that the transmission portion connects an entirety of the proximal cavity and the distal cavity.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first connection element” in claim 17
Regarding the first connection element in claim 17, the specification is referenced for the corresponding structures. Paragraph 0037 discloses the connection features as threads, clips, snaps, plugs, fittings, and/or other connector structures known for connecting a cap to an external receiving member. Furthermore, paragraph 0063 further discloses the connection features as a snap, a hook, and/or a friction coupling. Examiner will be interpreting these connecting structures as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 17, and 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by over Davis et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20170014616 A1, “Davis”),
Regarding claim 14, Davis discloses (Claim 14) a cap (230 in Fig. 5A-5F) comprising:
a cylindrical section (body of 230) comprising a proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) and a distal end (250 in Fig. 5D);
a proximal cavity comprising an inlet opening positioned within the proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see annotated Davis drawing 1 below for proximal cavity and inlet opening – the proximal cavity is being interpreted as the entire cavity form by the collar 244 of the proximal end 240 with the inlet opening being the proximal opening of said entire cavity);
a distal cavity comprising an outlet opening positioned within the distal end (250 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for distal cavity and outlet opening);
a transmission portion positioned between the proximal cavity and the distal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above – the transmission portion is being interpreted as the portion having diameter D11), wherein the transmission portion connects the proximal cavity and distal cavity (see annotated Davis 1 drawing above);
a first threaded connection (internal threads of 244) positioned around an inner circumference of a walled section (244 in Fig. 5D) defining the proximal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for proximal cavity, Fig. 5D and para. 0059); and
a second threaded connection (252 in Fig. 5A) positioned around an outer circumference of the distal end (250) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see Fig. 5A and para. 0060 – the pair of partial thread lugs 252 are being interpreted as the second threaded connection as they form a threaded engagement), wherein the distal end (250) with the second threaded connection (252 in Fig. 5A) is configured for direct connection to an enteral line (see para. 0060 – the pair of partial thread lugs 252 engage directly with a male ENFIT tip of a syringe as seen in Fig. 2 indicating direct connection to an enteral line), wherein the second threaded connection (252 in Fig. 5A) is a connector according to ISO 80369-3 (see para. 0060 – the distal end 250 having the pair of partial thread lugs 252 is a female ISO 80369-3 format tip and is thus a connector according to ISO 80369-3), and wherein a diameter (D11 in Fig. 5D) of the transmission portion is less than a diameter of the proximal cavity and a diameter (D9 in Fig. 5D) of the distal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for cavities and para. 0061 – the diameter D11 of the transmission portion is smaller than both the diameter of the annotated proximal cavity and the diameter D9 of the distal cavity).
Regarding claim 17, Davis discloses (Claim 17) a cap (230 in Fig. 5A-5F) comprising:
a cylindrical section (body of 230) comprising a proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) and a distal end (250 in Fig. 5D);
a proximal cavity comprising an inlet opening positioned within the proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see annotated Davis drawing 1 below for proximal cavity and inlet opening – the proximal cavity is being interpreted as the entire cavity form by the collar 244 of the proximal end 240 with the inlet opening being the proximal opening of said entire cavity);
a distal cavity comprising an outlet opening positioned within the distal end (250 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for distal cavity and outlet opening);
a transmission portion positioned between the proximal cavity and the distal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above – the transmission portion is being interpreted as the portion having diameter D11), wherein the transmission portion connects the proximal cavity and distal cavity (see annotated Davis 1 drawing above);
a first connection element (internal threads of 244) positioned around an inner circumference of a walled section (244 in Fig. 5D) defining the proximal cavity (examiner notes the first connection element is being interpreted under 112(f) as a connection comprising features such as a snap, a hook, friction coupling, or equivalent structure, see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for proximal cavity, Fig. 5D and para. 0059 – the threads of wall section 244 are being interpreted as equivalent structures to a snap, hook, or friction coupling for connection); and
a second connection element (252 in Fig. 5A) positioned on the distal end (250) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see Fig. 5A and para. 0060 – the pair of partial thread lugs 252 are being interpreted as the second connection element as they form a threaded engagement), wherein the distal end (250) with the second connection element (252 in Fig. 5A) is configured for direct connection to an enteral line (see para. 0060 – the pair of partial thread lugs 252 engage directly with a male ENFIT tip of a syringe as seen in Fig. 2 indicating direct connection to an enteral line), and wherein the second connection element (252 in Fig. 5A) is a connector according to ISO 80369-3 (see para. 0060 – the distal end 250 having the pair of partial thread lugs 252 is a female ISO 80369-3 format tip and is thus a connector according to ISO 80369-3), and wherein a diameter (D11 in Fig. 5D) of the transmission portion is less than a diameter of the proximal cavity and a diameter (D9 in Fig. 5D) of the distal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for cavities and para. 0061 – the diameter D11 of the transmission portion is smaller than both the diameter of the annotated proximal cavity and the diameter D9 of the distal cavity).
Regarding claim 30, Davis discloses (Claim 30) the cap (230 in Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 14, wherein the proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) and the distal end (240 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230) define an axial direction extending between them (see Fig. 5D and para. 0060 – the axial direction is in the direction of the lengthwise axis X), and wherein the transmission portion is positioned between the proximal cavity and the distal cavity along the axial direction (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above).
Regarding claim 31, Davis discloses (Claim 31) the cap (230 in Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 17, wherein the proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) and the distal end (240 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230) define an axial direction extending between them (see Fig. 5D and para. 0060 – the axial direction is in the direction of the lengthwise axis X), and wherein the transmission portion is positioned between the proximal cavity and the distal cavity along the axial direction (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above).
Regarding claim 32, Davis discloses (Claim 32) the cap (Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 30, wherein the distal cavity terminates at the transmission portion (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above – the annotated distal cavity terminates at its proximal end at the transmission portion defined by diameter D11).
Regarding claim 33, Davis discloses (Claim 33) the cap (Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 31, wherein the distal cavity terminates at the transmission portion (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above – the annotated distal cavity terminates at its proximal end at the transmission portion defined by diameter D11).
Regarding claim 34, Davis discloses (Claim 34) the cap (see Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 14, wherein the proximal cavity, the transmission portion, and the distal cavity define a channel through the cap (see annotated Davis Drawing 2 below – the dotted line annotated below illustrates a channel through the cap), wherein the channel is configured to flow a nutritional composition through the cap from the inlet opening to the outlet opening (see annotated Davis Drawing 2 below and para. 0060 – the cap in Fig. 5A-5F is configured to allow fluid communication between the first end 240 and its inlet opening and the second end and its outlet opening and thus is capable of being
configured to flow a nutritional composition from the inlet to outlet opening).
Regarding claim 35, Davis discloses (Claim 35) the cap (see Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 17, wherein the proximal cavity, the transmission portion, and the distal cavity define a channel through the cap (see annotated Davis Drawing 2 above – the dotted line annotated below illustrates a channel through the cap), wherein the channel is configured to flow a nutritional composition through the cap from the inlet opening to the outlet opening (see annotated Davis Drawing 2 below and para. 0060 – the cap in Fig. 5A-5F is configured to allow fluid communication between the first end 240 and its inlet opening and the second end and its outlet opening and thus is capable of being configured to flow a nutritional composition from the inlet to outlet opening).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis in view of Salazar-Leal (U.S Patent No. 6929136 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Davis discloses the cap of claim 14, as discussed above. However, Davis fails to disclose (Claim 15) wherein the cap is manufactured from a material responsive to a parameter of a substance that contacts the cap.
Salazar-Leal discloses a cap for a beverage container; however, the cap would have been reasonably pertinent and one in the art would have consulted such art and applied its teaching when faced with solving the problem of caps for enteral feeding devices. Salazar-Leal teaches (Claim 15) wherein the cap is manufactured from a material responsive to a parameter of a substance that contacts the cap (see Col. 1, lines 43-53 – the cap of a beverage container is a plastic composition admixed with a thermochromic material that is visually altered when the cap is exposed to certain temperatures, see Col. 3, lines 10-15 – the color of the cap may change in response to the internal temperature of the contents of the container).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cap material taught by Davis to incorporate the thermochromic material of Salazar-Leal. The motivation for this modification is that Salazar-Leal teaches a monochromic cap for use in beverage containers as a means to visually sense the temperature of the contents and as an expression of creativity and higher attractive value from color-effect (see Col. 2, lines 36-43). Examiner notes visually sensing the temperature of enteral nutrients is an obvious advantageous modification and visual attraction would be an obvious advantage for medical caps used in pediatric populations.
Conclusion
/KAYLA M. TURKOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783