DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 10/29/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 14, 17, and 32-33 have been amended, claims 28-29 have been cancelled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-11, 14-15, 17, and 30-33 are presently pending in this application, with claims 1-11 being withdrawn from consideration. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 07/29/2025. The 112(f) interpretations have been updated to reflect the amended claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first connection element” in claim 17
Regarding the first connection element in claim 17, the specification is referenced for the corresponding structures. Paragraph 0037 discloses the connection features as threads, clips, snaps, plugs, fittings, and/or other connector structures known for connecting a cap to an external receiving member. Furthermore, paragraph 0063 further discloses the connection features as a snap, a hook, and/or a friction coupling. Examiner will be interpreting these connecting structures as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 17, and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by over Davis et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20170014616 A1, “Davis”),
Regarding claim 14, Davis discloses (Claim 14) a cap (230 in Fig. 5A-5F) comprising:
a cylindrical section (body of 230) comprising a proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) and a distal end (250 in Fig. 5D);
a proximal cavity comprising an inlet opening positioned within the proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see annotated Davis drawing 1 below for proximal cavity and inlet opening – the proximal cavity is being interpreted as the entire cavity form by the collar 244 of the proximal end 240 with the inlet opening being the proximal opening of said entire cavity);
a distal cavity comprising an outlet opening positioned within the distal end (250 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for distal cavity and outlet opening);
a transmission portion positioned between the proximal cavity and the distal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above – the transmission portion is being interpreted as the portion having diameter D11);
a first threaded connection (internal threads of 244) positioned around an inner circumference of a walled section (244 in Fig. 5D) defining the proximal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for proximal cavity, Fig. 5D and para. 0059); and
a second threaded connection (252 in Fig. 5A) positioned around an outer circumference of the distal end (250) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see Fig. 5A and para. 0060 – the pair of partial thread lugs 252 are being interpreted as the second threaded connection as they form a threaded engagement), wherein the distal end (250) with the second threaded connection (252 in Fig. 5A) is configured for direct connection to an enteral line (see para. 0060 – the pair of partial thread lugs 252 engage directly with a male ENFIT tip of a syringe as seen in Fig. 2 indicating direct connection to an enteral line), wherein the second threaded connection (252 in Fig. 5A) is a connector according to ISO 80369-3 (see para. 0060 – the distal end 250 having the pair of partial thread lugs 252 is a female ISO 80369-3 format tip and is thus a connector according to ISO 80369-3), and wherein a diameter (D11 in Fig. 5D) of the transmission portion is less than a diameter of the proximal cavity and a diameter (D9 in Fig. 5D) of the distal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for cavities and para. 0061 – the diameter D11 of the transmission portion is smaller than both the diameter of the annotated proximal cavity and the diameter D9 of the distal cavity).
Regarding claim 17, Davis discloses (Claim 17) a cap (230 in Fig. 5A-5F) comprising:
a cylindrical section (body of 230) comprising a proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) and a distal end (250 in Fig. 5D);
a proximal cavity comprising an inlet opening positioned within the proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see annotated Davis drawing 1 below for proximal cavity and inlet opening – the proximal cavity is being interpreted as the entire cavity form by the collar 244 of the proximal end 240 with the inlet opening being the proximal opening of said entire cavity);
a distal cavity comprising an outlet opening positioned within the distal end (250 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for distal cavity and outlet opening);
a transmission portion positioned between the proximal cavity and the distal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above – the transmission portion is being interpreted as the portion having diameter D11);
a first connection element (internal threads of 244) positioned around an inner circumference of a walled section (244 in Fig. 5D) defining the proximal cavity (examiner notes the first connection element is being interpreted under 112(f) as a connection comprising features such as a snap, a hook, friction coupling, or equivalent structure, see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for proximal cavity, Fig. 5D and para. 0059 – the threads of wall section 244 are being interpreted as equivalent structures to a snap, hook, or friction coupling for connection); and
a second connection element (252 in Fig. 5A) positioned on the distal end (250) of the cylindrical section (body of 230, see Fig. 5A and para. 0060 – the pair of partial thread lugs 252 are being interpreted as the second connection element as they form a threaded engagement), wherein the distal end (250) with the second connection element (252 in Fig. 5A) is configured for direct connection to an enteral line (see para. 0060 – the pair of partial thread lugs 252 engage directly with a male ENFIT tip of a syringe as seen in Fig. 2 indicating direct connection to an enteral line), and wherein the second connection element (252 in Fig. 5A) is a connector according to ISO 80369-3 (see para. 0060 – the distal end 250 having the pair of partial thread lugs 252 is a female ISO 80369-3 format tip and is thus a connector according to ISO 80369-3), and wherein a diameter (D11 in Fig. 5D) of the transmission portion is less than a diameter of the proximal cavity and a diameter (D9 in Fig. 5D) of the distal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above for cavities and para. 0061 – the diameter D11 of the transmission portion is smaller than both the diameter of the annotated proximal cavity and the diameter D9 of the distal cavity).
Regarding claim 30, Davis discloses (Claim 30) the cap (230 in Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 14, wherein the proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) and the distal end (240 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230) define an axial direction extending between them (see Fig. 5D and para. 0060 – the axial direction is in the direction of the lengthwise axis X), and wherein the transmission portion is positioned between the proximal cavity and the distal cavity along the axial direction (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above).
Regarding claim 31, Davis discloses (Claim 31) the cap (230 in Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 17, wherein the proximal end (240 in Fig. 5D) and the distal end (240 in Fig. 5D) of the cylindrical section (body of 230) define an axial direction extending between them (see Fig. 5D and para. 0060 – the axial direction is in the direction of the lengthwise axis X), and wherein the transmission portion is positioned between the proximal cavity and the distal cavity along the axial direction (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above).
Regarding claim 32, Davis discloses (Claim 32) the cap (Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 30, wherein the distal cavity terminates at the transmission portion (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above – the annotated distal cavity terminates at its proximal end at the transmission portion defined by diameter D11), and wherein the transmission portion provides a path into the proximal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above).
Regarding claim 33, Davis discloses (Claim 33) the cap (Fig. 5A-5F) of claim 31, wherein the distal cavity terminates at the transmission portion (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above – the annotated distal cavity terminates at its proximal end at the transmission portion defined by diameter D11), and wherein the transmission portion provides a path into the proximal cavity (see annotated Davis drawing 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis in view of Salazar-Leal (U.S Patent No. 6929136 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Davis discloses the cap of claim 14, as discussed above. However, Davis fails to disclose (Claim 15) wherein the cap is manufactured from a material responsive to a parameter of a substance that contacts the cap.
Salazar-Leal discloses a cap for a beverage container; however, the cap would have been reasonably pertinent and one in the art would have consulted such art and applied its teaching when faced with solving the problem of caps for enteral feeding devices. Salazar-Leal teaches (Claim 15) wherein the cap is manufactured from a material responsive to a parameter of a substance that contacts the cap (see Col. 1, lines 43-53 – the cap of a beverage container is a plastic composition admixed with a thermochromic material that is visually altered when the cap is exposed to certain temperatures, see Col. 3, lines 10-15 – the color of the cap may change in response to the internal temperature of the contents of the container).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cap material taught by Davis to incorporate the thermochromic material of Salazar-Leal. The motivation for this modification is that Salazar-Leal teaches a monochromic cap for use in beverage containers as a means to visually sense the temperature of the contents and as an expression of creativity and higher attractive value from color-effect (see Col. 2, lines 36-43). Examiner notes visually sensing the temperature of enteral nutrients is an obvious advantageous modification and visual attraction would be an obvious advantage for medical caps used in pediatric populations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.T./
Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/COURTNEY B FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783