DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 12, 2025 has been entered. Applicant' s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 56 – 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 56 recites the limitation "a base station" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For example, it is unclear if “a base station” is a different base station than what is being claimed in line 1, of claim 56. For examination purposes, “a base station”, as best understood is referring to the base station in line 1.
Claims 57 - 68 depend from claim 56 and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31, 38 – 39, 41, 52, and 54 – 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20180361585 A1) in view of Yokoyama (US 4926346 A) and in further view of Sedam (US 10610077 B2).
In re claim 31, Williams et al discloses a cleaning robot (Fig. 2: 100) comprising:
a body (214);
a moving mechanism (propulsion mechanism, 202), configured to support the body (214) and drive the cleaning robot (100) to move on a working surface (move around a service area, see [0044]) associated with a current region (service area, 140A);
a power module (drive mechanism, locomotion, Fig. 4: 412), configured to provide a driving force for the cleaning robot (100) to move and work (control drive mechanism, see [0068]);
a mopping module (mopping service module, Fig. 1: 102A) configured to be mounted on the body (damp-wet mopping system, Fig. 8: 800; utilized by robotic platform, see [0095]) and perform predetermined mopping work on the working surface (predetermined time and distance move across floor, see [0095]),
wherein the mopping module (102A) is configured to receive a current wiping member (absorbent material; see [0095]);
a control module (main processing, 106A), electrically connected to the power module (electrically connected to 412, see Fig. 4) and configured to control the power module (control drive mechanism, 412, see [0068]), to implement an automatic moving and an automatic working of the cleaning robot (100; execute software to plan and navigate, see [0068]);
a detection module (2D LIDAR system, 208 utilized for surface detection, see [0088]) configured to detect a region type (sensor-based detection of a transition between separately defined service areas 140A-B in a service plan, 128; see [0101]) of the current region (service area, 140 A),
the detection module (2D LIDAR system, 208 utilized for surface detection, see [0088]) is further configured to detect a region type of a next region to determine whether the region type of the next region is identical to the region type of the current region (sensor-based detection of a transition between separately defined service areas 140A-B in a service plan, 128; see [0101] therefore if it identifies that service areas/regions are different then it is capable of identifying the same service area/region as distinguishing features and tasks provides the function/purpose of a service area/region based on a service plan, 128 comprising specific instructions for operation of the robot in that service area, see [0109]), and
in response to determining that the region type of the next region is different from the region type of the current region, the control module (106A) is further configured to:
control the cleaning robot (100) to proceed to a base station (robot resource facility, 110) before entering a next region (the robot platform, 100 my automatically proceed to pre-designated location for exchanging the service modules, such as the robot resource facility in order to vacuum a rug service are, 140B to then wash a linoleum covered service area 140A which is the next region, see [0057]),
control the removal and interchangeable fashion for the individual service modules 102A-D (see [0094]), and
replace the current wiping member with a new wiping member at the base station (The robotic platform 100 may then automatically proceed to a pre-designated location for exchanging the service modules 102A-B, such as at the service robot resource facility, 110, see [0057] and when the robotic platform, 100 needs to switch between service modules 102A-D, it may do so automatically through the service module exchange facility, 114 (e.g., a mechanism for automatically switching between service modules) as it moves from a service area 140B to a service area 140A, see [0057]), the current wiping member and the new wiping member both being configured to perform a mopping working state (absorbent material; see [0095]; is capable of having a cleaning head/tool being of the same tool and performing the same work pending the service plan and the service modules stored for robotic platform, 100 to use, see [0057]).
Williams et al is silent about before the cleaning robot enters a next region, the robot comprising a lifting mechanism, configured to control lifting or lowering of the mopping module and a protrusion unit, configured to contact with the mopping module, to provide a downward action force to the mopping module, and control the lifting mechanism to lift the mopping module to a position in which the mopping module is unloaded, and cause the protrusion unit which is in contact with the mopping module at the position in which the mopping module is unloaded to provide the downward action force to the mopping module, so that the mopping module is separated from the body.
However, Yokoyama teaches a road image input system for vehicle control for processing, before the robot enters a next region (foregoing objects are attained by picking up the scene of a road ahead through use of a camera mounted on the vehicle and setting an image processing area of the image of the road scene to operate/travel of the vehicle, see Col. 2: Lines 53 - 68).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Williams et al. with the teachings of before the robot enters a next region as taught by Yokoyama because it provides the detection module the ability to anticipate the road ahead/flooring type of the vehicle/robot to plan its path or next operating steps appropriately for a change from its current road/flooring type for the purpose of travel or change of cleaning member of the vehicle/robot.
Lastly, Sedam teaches a surface maintenance machine with a quick eject cleaning tool assembly, a lifting mechanism (lift mechanism and suspension, Fig. 2: 152), configured to control lifting or lowering of the mopping module (allows the maintenance head assembly 130 to be raised and lowered, see Col. 6: Lines 6 – 21); a protrusion unit (bumper, Fig. 5: 174), configured to contact with the mopping module, to provide a downward action force to the mopping module (as seen in FIGS. 5 and 6, the eject button, 170 on the maintenance head assembly, 130 is axially aligned with the bumper 174, such that when the maintenance head assembly, 130 is raised upward from the transport position (shown in FIGS. 5 and 6) and into the tool eject position (shown in FIGS. 7 and 8), the eject button, 170 on the maintenance head assembly, 130 is pressed by the bumper 174, see Col. 9: Lines 46 - 57); and control the lifting mechanism to lift the mopping module to a position in which the mopping module is unloaded (lift mechanism and suspension, 152, allows the maintenance head assembly, 130 to be raised to a tool eject position, see Col. 7: Lines 10 – 23), and cause the protrusion unit which is in contact with the mopping module at the position in which the mopping module is unloaded to provide the downward action force to the mopping module, so that the mopping module is separated from the body (as seen in FIGS. 5 and 6, the eject button, 170 on the maintenance head assembly, 130 is axially aligned with the bumper 174, such that when the maintenance head assembly, 130 is raised upward from the transport position (shown in FIGS. 5 and 6) and into the tool eject position (shown in FIGS. 7 and 8), the eject button, 170 on the maintenance head assembly, 130 is pressed by the bumper 174, see Col. 9: Lines 46 – 57).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Williams et al with the teachings of a lifting mechanism and a protrusion unit that unloads and separates the mopping module from the body as taught by Sedam because it allows for quick and automatic/touch free detaching of the cleaning element and eliminating the inefficient/cumbersomeness of a manual detachment by a user (Sedam: Col. 6: 34 – 63).
In re claim 38, Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot according to claim 31,
wherein the mopping module (102A) is detachably mounted on the body (able to be removed from the body, 214; see [0060]).
In re claim 39, Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot according to claim 31,
wherein a classification manner of the region type of the current region and the region type of the next region is user-defined and/or preset (service area mapping, 142 may be generated by exploring the service area or generated by an external mapping facility and downloaded to the robotic platform, 100; see [0047]).
In re claim 41, Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot according to claim 31,
wherein the cleaning robot (100) further comprises
a navigation mechanism (navigation sensors, 104), configured to form a working region map of the cleaning robot (utilize a combination of digital map usage and real-time sensors, 104, to navigate through service areas, see [0049]), and
the detection module is configured to detect the region type of the next region based on the working region map (detection module, 208 has a service plan, 128 that has the defined service areas detected by the sensor-based detection, see [0101] may utilize maps for navigating though the service areas, 140A-B, see [0053]).
In re claim 52, Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot according to claim 31,
wherein the current wiping member is replaced with the new wiping member regardless of a degree of cleanliness of the current wiping member when the region type of the next region is different from the region of the current region (a location and sensor-based detection of a transition between separately defined service areas 140A-B; in a service plan it transitions from one service area to another which is determined from the service plan, 128 and determines tool change, see [0101] and can automatically replace without user assistance the service module, 102A that includes the absorbent material; see [0107]).
In re claim 54. Williams et al discloses a cleaning robot (100) comprising:
a body (214);
a moving mechanism (propulsion mechanism, 202), configured to support the body (214) and drive the cleaning robot (100) to move on a working surface (move around a service area, see [0044]) associated with a current region (service area, 140A);
a power module (drive mechanism, locomotion, Fig. 4: 412), configured to provide a driving force for the cleaning robot (100) to move and work (control drive mechanism, see [0068]);
a mopping module (mopping service module, Fig. 1: 102A) configured to be mounted on the body (damp-wet mopping system, Fig. 8: 800; utilized by robotic platform, see [0095]), perform predetermined mopping work on the working surface (predetermined time and distance move across floor, see [0095]), and receive a current wiping member (absorbent material; see [0095]);
a control module (main processing, 106A), electrically connected to the power module (electrically connected to 412, see Fig. 4) and configured to control the power module (control drive mechanism, 412, see [0068]), to implement an automatic moving and an automatic working of the cleaning robot (100; execute software to plan and navigate, see [0068]);
a detection module (2D LIDAR system, 208 utilized for surface detection, see [0088]) configured to detect a region type (sensor-based detection of a transition between separately defined service areas 140A-B in a service plan, 128; see [0101]) of the current region (service area, 140 A),
the detection module (2D LIDAR system, 208 utilized for surface detection, see [0088]) is further configured to detect a region type of a next region to determine whether the region type of the next region is identical to the region type of the current region (sensor-based detection of a transition between separately defined service areas 140A-B in a service plan, 128; see [0101] therefore if it identifies that service areas/regions are different then it is capable of identifying the same service area/region as distinguishing features and tasks provides the function/purpose of a service area/region based on a service plan, 128 comprising specific instructions for operation of the robot in that service area, see [0109]), and
in response to determining that the region type of the next region is different from the region type of the current region, the control module (106A) is further configured to:
control the cleaning robot (100) to proceed to a base station (a service robot resource facility, 110; the robotic platform, 100 may utilize a service robot resource facility, 110, such as at a ‘home’ location that provides resources, including service module material supply (e.g., consumable materials, cleaning heads), see [0056]) and replace the current wiping member with a new wiping member at the base station (The robotic platform 100 may then automatically proceed to a pre-designated location for exchanging the service modules 102A-B, such as at the service robot resource facility 110, see [0057] and when the robotic platform, 100 needs to switch between service modules 102A-D, it may do so automatically through the service module exchange facility, 114 (e.g., a mechanism for automatically switching between service modules),
the current wiping member and the new wiping member both being configured to perform a mopping working state (absorbent material; see [0095]; is capable of having a cleaning head/tool being of the same tool and performing the same work pending the service plan and the service modules stored for robotic platform, 100 to use, see [0057]).
Williams et al is silent about before the cleaning robot enters a next region.
However, Yokoyama teaches a road image input system for vehicle control for processing, before the robot enters a next region (foregoing objects are attained by picking up the scene of a road ahead through use of a camera mounted on the vehicle and setting an image processing area of the image of the road scene to operate/travel of the vehicle, see Col. 2: Lines 53 - 68).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Williams et al. with the teachings of before the robot enters a next region as taught by Yokoyama because it provides the detection module the ability to anticipate the road ahead/flooring type of the vehicle/robot to plan its path or next operating steps appropriately for a change from its current road/flooring type for the purpose of travel or change of cleaning member of the vehicle/robot.
In re claim 55. The cleaning robot according to claim 31,
wherein the region type of the current region is classified using an actual function and a purpose of use of a room corresponding to the current region (the detection module, 208 given the service plan, 128 utilizes a 2D base service area features, such as dimensions of the area, surface characteristics (eg. Rug and tile floor), objects permanently present in the area (e.g. furniture), objects transient through space, entrance and exit locations for servicing the area and 3D-based service area features such as, low clearance area, incline angles and locations, vertical transition locations, raised features all identify the function or purpose of the space or region or room, see [0047] and provides for a task area boundary, see [0053] in which detection of the next region that has the permanent object such as furniture and surfaces such as from tile to carpet classifies a region type in the separate service areas, 140 A-B all configured to control the robot and its tool/module change by user or automatically, see [0056]).
Claim(s) 56 - 58, and 63 - 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20180361585 A1) in view of Yokoyama (US 4926346 A).
In re claim 56. Williams et al discloses a cleaning robot system comprising:
a base station (service robot resource facility, 110) and
a cleaning robot (100),
wherein the cleaning robot (100) comprises:
a body (214);
a moving mechanism (propulsion mechanism, 202), configured to support the body (214) and drive the cleaning robot (100) to move on a working surface (move around a service area, see [0044]) associated with a current region (service area, 140A);
a power module (drive mechanism, locomotion, Fig. 4: 412), configured to provide a driving force for the cleaning robot (100) to move and work (control drive mechanism, see [0068]);
a mopping module (mopping service module, Fig. 1: 102A) configured to be mounted on the body (damp-wet mopping system, Fig. 8: 800; utilized by robotic platform, see [0095]), perform a predetermined mopping work on the working surface (predetermined time and distance move across floor, see [0095]), and receive a current wiping member (absorbent material; see [0095]);
a control module (main processing, 106A), electrically connected to the power module (electrically connected to 412, see Fig. 4) and configured to control the power module (control drive mechanism, 412, see [0068]), to implement an automatic moving and an automatic working of the cleaning robot (100; execute software to plan and navigate, see [0068]); and
a detection module (2D LIDAR system, 208 utilized for surface detection, see [0088]) configured to detect a region type of the current region (sensor-based detection of a transition between separately defined service areas 140A-B in a service plan, 128; see [0101]) of the current region (service area, 140 A), wherein:
the detection module (2D LIDAR system, 208 utilized for surface detection, see [0088]) is further configured to detect a region type of the next region to determine whether the region type of the next region is identical to the region type of the current region(sensor-based detection of a transition between separately defined service areas 140A-B in a service plan, 128; see [0101] therefore if it identifies that service areas/regions are different then it is capable of identifying the same service area/region as distinguishing features and tasks provides the function/purpose of a service area/region based on a service plan, 128 comprising specific instructions for operation of the robot in that service area, see [0109]) ;
in response to determining that the region type of the next region is different from the region type of the current region, the control module (106A) is further configured to control the cleaning robot (100) to proceed to a base station before entering the next region (the robot platform, 100 my automatically proceed to pre-designated location for exchanging the service modules, such as the robot resource facility, 110 in order to vacuum a rug service are, 140B to then wash a linoleum covered service area 140A which is the next region, see [0057]), and unload a current wiping member at the base station (a service robot resource facility 110, such as at a ‘home’ location that provides resources, including service module material supply (e.g., consumable materials, cleaning heads) and service module exchange 114 (see [0056]);
after the cleaning robot unloads the current wiping member (a service robot resource facility 110, such as at a ‘home’ location that provides resources, including service module material supply (e.g., consumable materials, cleaning heads) and service module exchange 114 (see [0056]), the base station is configured to recycle the current wiping member, and release a new wiping member (The robotic platform, 100 may then automatically proceed to a pre-designated location for exchanging the service modules 102A-B, such as at the service robot resource facility, 110 and the facility is then capable of recycling the current service module as the exchange takes place and the user monitors the automatic exchange of the service modules, and the like, see [0057]); and
the control module (main processing, 106A) is further configured to load the new wiping member to the cleaning robot after the base station releases the new wiping member (The robotic platform, 100 may then automatically proceed to a pre-designated location for exchanging the service modules 102A-B, such as at the service robot resource facility, 110 and the facility is then capable of loading the new service module as the exchange takes place and the user monitors the automatic exchange of the service modules, and the like, see [0057]);.
Williams et al is silent about before the cleaning robot enters a next region.
However, Yokoyama teaches a road image input system for vehicle control for processing, before the robot enters a next region (foregoing objects are attained by picking up the scene of a road ahead through use of a camera mounted on the vehicle and setting an image processing area of the image of the road scene to operate/travel of the vehicle, see Col. 2: Lines 53 - 68).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Williams et al. with the teachings of before the robot enters a next region as taught by Yokoyama because it provides the detection module the ability to anticipate the road ahead/flooring type of the vehicle/robot to plan its path or next operating steps appropriately for a change from its current road/flooring type for the purpose of travel or change of cleaning member of the vehicle/robot.
In re claim 57. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 56,
wherein the current wiping member and the new wiping member both being configured to perform a mopping working state (absorbent material; see [0095]; is capable of having a cleaning head/tool being of the same tool and performing the same work pending the service plan and the service modules stored for robotic platform, 100 to use, see [0057]).
In re claim 58. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 56,
wherein the region type of the current region is classified using an actual function and a purpose of use of a room corresponding to the current region (the detection module, 208 given the service plan, 128 utilizes a 2D base service area features, such as dimensions of the area, surface characteristics (eg. Rug and tile floor), objects permanently present in the area (e.g. furniture), objects transient through space, entrance and exit locations for servicing the area and 3D-based service area features such as, low clearance area, incline angles and locations, vertical transition locations, raised features all identify the function or purpose of the space or region or room, see [0047] and provides for a task area boundary, see [0053] in which detection of the next region that has the permanent object such as furniture and surfaces such as from tile to carpet classifies a region type in the separate service areas, 140 A-B all configured to control the robot and its tool/module change by user or automatically, see [0056]).
In re claim 63. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 56,
wherein the mopping module (mopping service module, 102A) is detachably mounted on the body (able to be removed from the body, 214; see [0060]).
In re claim 64. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 56,
wherein a classification manner of the region type of the current region and the region type of the next region is user- defined and/or preset (service area mapping, 142 may be generated by exploring the service area or generated by an external mapping facility and downloaded to the robotic platform, 100; see [0047]).
In re claim 65. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 56,
wherein the detection module (2D LIDAR system, 208 utilized for surface detection, see [0088]) comprises at least one of: visual sensor, a radar sensor, or an optical sensor (the 2D lidar is classified as an optical sensor based on ultrasonic or vision based detection, see [0088]) and the region type of the next region is determined according to a result detected by the detection module (sensor-based detection of a transition between separately defined service areas 140A-B in a service plan, 128; see [0101] therefore if it identifies that service areas/regions are different then it is capable of identifying the same service area/region as distinguishing features and tasks provides the function/purpose of a service area/region based on a service plan, 128 comprising specific instructions for operation of the robot in that service area, see [0109]).
In re claim 66. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 56,
wherein the cleaning robot further comprises a navigation mechanism (navigational and resource sensors, 104), configured to form a working region map of the cleaning robot (navigation through service areas 140A-B may utilize a combination of digital map usage (e.g., localization determined based on navigation through the mapped area) and real-time sensors (e.g., sensors 104 monitoring the robotic platform's surrounding environment, see [0049]), and
the detection module (2D LIDAR system, 208 utilized for surface detection, see [0088]) is configured to detect the region type of the next region based on the working region map (In accordance with exemplary and non-limiting embodiments, such 2D LIDAR systems may be utilized for localization, pose estimation, navigation, surface detection and is therefore capable of detecting based on the navigation and working region map, see [0088]).
In re claim 67. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 66,
wherein the navigation mechanism (navigational and resource sensors, 104), is configured to mark a current position in the working region map when the cleaning robot returns to the base station to replace the current wiping member, so that the cleaning robot returns to a marked position to work after replacing the current wiping member (For instance, the robotic platform, 100 may, during the cleaning of service area, 140B, encounter a special treatment area 144 (e.g., a detected stain on the floor, a user-marked or spot-treated area on a floor, a high level of soiling requiring special treatment). The robotic platform, 100 may sense the special treatment area (e.g., through surface sensing, imaging) or a user may input the location of the special treatment area, 144 for special attention. The robotic platform 100 may provide additional service to the special treatment area, 144 (e.g., apply more pressure to the cleaner, slow down the speed of the robotic platform to increase the amount of cleaner provided, go over the area a second time, and the like) at the time the robotic platform 100 first encounters it or at a later time (e.g., scheduling a return to the area, see [0054] and [0134].
In re claim 68. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 66,
wherein the cleaning robot (robotic platform, 100) is configured to send a signal of replacing the current wiping member to the base station when the cleaning robot returns to the base station to replace the current wiping member, or send a signal of returning for charging to the base station when the cleaning robot returns to the base station for charging (For functions where a user is required to be present, the robotic platform, 100 may wirelessly communicate with a user computing device 130 to notify the user (e.g., sending alarms and alerts to the user whenever needed to prompt the user to action, inform the user of a completed action, to change the replaceable service module, and the like). For automatic or semi-automatic functions, the robotic platform, 100 may return to the service robot resource facility, 110 and autonomously perform the function. For example, the robotic platform may return to the electric charging station, 116 when its batteries are low or at the end of a service day. The electric charging station, 116 may comprise a contactless charging facility that enables the robotic platform 100 to automatically charge its batteries while in proximity to the charging facility, see [0056]).
Claim(s) 59 - 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20180361585 A1) in view of Yokoyama (US 4926346 A) and in further view of Sedam (US 10610077 B2).
In re claim 59. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 56, having a mopping service module, see [0045].
Williams et al as modified is silent about wherein the mopping module comprises a mopping plate, the mopping plate being configured to detachably mount with the current wiping member or the new wiping member.
However, Sedam teaches a surface maintenance machine with a quick eject cleaning tool assembly, wherein the mopping module comprises a mopping plate (tool driver, Fig. 4: 142), the mopping plate being configured to detachably mount with the current wiping member or the new wiping member (tool driver is attached to maintenance tool, 136 and thus is capable of being detachably mounted with the maintenance tool, see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Williams et al with the teachings of a mopping plate as taught by Sedam because it provides a secure attachment point which allows for a more efficient cleaning process.
In re claim 60. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 56.
Williams et al as modified does not teach the robot further comprising a lifting mechanism, and the lifting mechanism is configured to adjust a height position of the mopping module relative to the working surface under a control of the control module.
However, Sedam teaches a surface maintenance machine with a quick eject cleaning tool assembly, comprising a lifting mechanism (lift mechanism and suspension, Fig. 2: 152), and the lifting mechanism is configured to adjust a height position of the mopping module relative to the working surface under a control of the control module (allows the maintenance head assembly 130 to be raised and lowered, see Col. 6: Lines 6 – 21).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Williams et al with the teachings of a lifting mechanism as taught by Sedam because it allows for quick and automatic/touch free detaching of the cleaning element and eliminating the inefficient/cumbersomeness of a manual detachment by a user (Sedam: Col. 6: 34 – 63).
In re claim 61. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot system according to claim 60,
wherein when the cleaning robot returns to the base station to replace the mopping module (control the removal and interchangeable fashion for the individual service modules 102A-D at the service robot resource facility, 110, see [0094]),
Williams et al as modified is silent about the lifting mechanism is configured to drive the mopping module to be lifted from a first position relative to the working surface to a second position.
However, Sedam teaches a surface maintenance machine with a quick eject cleaning tool assembly, wherein the lifting mechanism is configured to drive the mopping module to be lifted from a first position relative to the working surface to a second position (lift mechanism and suspension, 152, allows the maintenance head assembly, 130 to be raised from an operating position and to a tool eject position, see Col. 7: Lines 10 – 23).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Williams et al with the teachings of a lifting mechanism lifting from a first position relative to the working surface to a second position as taught by Sedam because it allows for quick and automatic/touch free detaching of the cleaning element and eliminating the inefficient/cumbersomeness of a manual detachment by a user (Sedam: Col. 6: 34 – 63).
In re claim 62. Williams et al as modified teaches the cleaning robot according to claim 60,
Williams et al as modified does not teach a protrusion unit, that is downwardly disposed on a top of the body, and the control module is further configured to control the lifting mechanism to lift the mopping module to a position in which the mopping module is unloaded, and cause the protrusion unit which is in contact with the mopping module at the position in which the mopping module is unloaded to provide a downward action force to the mopping module, so that the mopping module is separated from the body.
However, Sedam teaches a surface maintenance machine with a quick eject cleaning tool assembly, having a protrusion unit (bumper, Fig. 5: 174), that is downwardly disposed on a top of the body (see Fig. 5), and the control module is further configured to control the lifting mechanism to lift the mopping module to a position in which the mopping module is unloaded (lift mechanism and suspension, 152, allows the maintenance head assembly, 130 to be raised to a tool eject position, see Col. 7: Lines 10 – 23), and cause the protrusion unit which is in contact with the mopping module at the position in which the mopping module is unloaded to provide a downward action force to the mopping module, so that the mopping module is separated from the body (as seen in FIGS. 5 and 6, the eject button, 170 on the maintenance head assembly, 130 is axially aligned with the bumper 174, such that when the maintenance head assembly, 130 is raised upward from the transport position (shown in FIGS. 5 and 6) and into the tool eject position (shown in FIGS. 7 and 8), the eject button, 170 on the maintenance head assembly, 130 is pressed by the bumper 174, see Col. 9: Lines 46 – 57).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Williams et al with the teachings of a protrusion unit that unloads and separates the mopping module from the body as taught by Sedam because it allows for quick and automatic/touch free detaching of the cleaning element and eliminating the inefficient/cumbersomeness of a manual detachment by a user (Sedam: Col. 6: 34 – 63).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 12, 2025 have been fully considered.
In regards to the rejection under 35 USC 103 for amended claims 31;
Applicant argues that Williams does not teach or fairly suggest “a lifting mechanism and a protrusion unit, in that the lifting mechanism lift the mopping module to a position in which the mopping module is unloaded and the protrusion unit provides a downward action to separate the mopping module from the body”. The rejection has been modified and the reference Zhou has been removed, however upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Williams et al. (US 20180361585 A1) in view of Yokoyama (US 4926346 A) and in further view of Sedam (US 10610077 B2) and Sedam provides a lift mechanism and protrusion unit to lift and separate the cleaning module from the body of cleaning robot, see rejection of the same above.
Therefore, claim 31 as set forth are rejected and therefore regarding the dependent claims 38 – 39, 41 and 52 are not allowable over the art of record.
In regards to the rejection under 35 USC 103 for amended claim 54; applicant argues that Williams does not teach or fairly suggest “the current wiping member and the new wiping member both being configured to perform a mopping working state”. The rejection has been maintained in that Williams et al. (US 20180361585 A1) provides different service modules and depending on the plan for that service area it is capable of having the current and the new mopping module perform a mopping work by having the absorbent material be capable of being on the same tool and performing the same work pending the service plan and the service modules stored for robotic platform, 100 to use, see [0057], see rejection of the same above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fischer (US 4799282 A) teaches a pad holder release mechanism for floor treating machines and Johnson et al (US 20190191952 A1) teaches a robotic cleaner with sweeper and rotating dusting pads that performs lifting by the unitary assembly to releasably detach the brush chamber from the housing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SHARONDA T FELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723