Detailed Action
Claims 1 and 6-14 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1, 6-12, and 14, drawn to compounds of formulae (I) and (II)) and the species of B34 (also labelled B133 in the application) in the reply filed on 9/20/2024 is acknowledged.
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, Claims 1, 6-12, and 14 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
The elected compound, B34 (and B133), was searched and found to be free of the art. The search was expanded to compounds specifically listed in Claims 11-12 and 14.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11-12, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 reintroduces several comma-separated R and R1 groups without clearly striking out the groups which are to be replaced:
.
The groups to be replaced are not entirely struck through and appear to be repeat structures.
Claims 11-12 and 14 specify several compounds which are repeated with different labels; e.g., elected species B34 and B133, and B99 and B159.
=
=
The above examples of repeated structures are not exhaustive. It is applicant’s burden to seek out and strike from the claims all compounds which are depicted more than once.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 uses the variable “X” no less than three times to denote alternate groups in the structures of Formulae (I) and (II). First, X is used to define a member of the bicyclic core structure:
.
Second, X is used to define the following group of the R substituent:
.
Third, X is depicted as a ring member on the R1 ring substituent:
.
It is unclear whether the definitions of X are interchangeable and how the groups of the same variable, “X”, are structurally related given each instance describes separate groups within Formulae (I) and (II). Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 1 uses the variable “Q” to define two different ring members on distinct substituents. R1 can be
wherein
. Also, R2 can be
wherein Q in this instance is undefined. The metes and bounds of the variable “Q” are unclear because said variable is used to describe unrelated substituent groups R1 and R2 with potentially different definitions. Therefore variables X and Q have at least two sets of different metes and bounds. Claims 6-10 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddy (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Vol. 57, No. 3, 2014, pp. 578-599, cited in 9/20/2021 and 7/02/2024 IDS).
Reddy teaches Compound 7x (Abstract):
in which the following examined definitions of Formulae (I) and (II): A is H;
is CN; X and Y are each N; R is
; and R1 is
, wherein X (with respect to R1) is CH and R3 is Me.
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Temple (US8987267, published 3/24/2015).
Temple teaches Compound 12 (PDF Page 2, Figure 1):
in which the following examined definitions of Formulae (I) and (II): A is H;
is CN; X and Y are each N; R is
; and R1 is
, wherein X (with respect to R1) is CH and R3 is Me.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temple (US8987267, published 3/24/2015) in view of Burkhard (Angewandte Chemie International Edition 2010, 49, 3524-3527).
Temple teaches Compound 12 (PDF Page 2, Figure 1):
in which the following examined definitions of Formulae (I) and (II): A is H;
is CN; X and Y are each N; R is
; and R1 is
, wherein X (with respect to R1) is CH and R3 is Me. The compound is formulated with excipients and carriers into pharmaceutical compositions and exhibits CDK(4/6) inhibitory activity (Col 16, Lines 1-11; Col 27, Table 4). Temple teaches exemplary compounds wherein the 4-methylpiperazinyl group may vary (Col 22-33, Table 1, Compound 13):
.
Temple does not teach the modification of the 4-methylpiperazinyl group to a 2-methyl-2,6-diazaspiro[3.3]heptanyl group.
Burkhard teaches “In the process of lead optimization, various structural features are fine-tuned and physicochemical properties” are improved (Page 3524, Para 1). Spiro[3.3]heptanes are taught as isosteres of heterocycles in the process of structural fine-tuning (Page 3524, Figure 1):
.
Burkard specifically depicts 4-methylmorpholino and 2-methyl-2,6-diazaspiro[3.3]heptanyl as an isosteric pair (Page 3525, Table 1):
.
The spirocyclic group is not merely a substitute for 4-methylpiperazinyl but also offers several pharmacokinetic advantages. “Replacing a six-membered monocyclic unit in a drug candidate by a corresponding spiro[3.3]heptane analogue is worth implementing, as it may significantly improve relevant aspects of the pharmacokinetic profile by increasing the aqueous solubility and reducing both lipophilicity and metabolic degradation” (Page 3526, Para 1; Page 3526, Last Para).
One of skill in the art seeking to improve upon the pharmacokinetic profile of Compound 12 of Temple would replace the 4-methylmorpholino with 2-methyl-2,6-diazaspiro[3.3]heptanyl, motivated by the desire to form a more metabolically stable CDK inhibitor with improved pharmacokinetic properties. The modification would render
or
of Claims 11-12 and 14 obvious. The same artisan would expect the modified inhibitor to successfully inhibit CDK as Burkhard also teaches “inhibitory properties may be retained with refinement of pharmacokinetic and -dynamic properties and the overall efficacy may even be improved” (Page 3526, Para 2).
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/NOBLE E JARRELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699