DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 7-8, 10, and 15-17 are examined.
Claims 2-6, 9, and 11-14 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to the claims overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) and 103 rejections; therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, see the new 35 U.S.C. 112 (a), 112 (b), and 103 rejections below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed April 7, 2025 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1, last line: “a desired pattern” should read “the desired pattern” to recite to “print plan” in line 6
claim 1, line 15-16: “the combination of the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer” should read “a combination of the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer”
claim 10, line 3-4: “at least first second polymers” should read “at least first and second polymers” for clarity and based on the limitation “at least one of the first and second polymers” in line 7
claim 10, line 9-10 and last line: “the print plan” should read “the at least one or more print plans” for clarity in reciting to “one or more print plans” in line 2
claim 10, line 15-16: “the combination of the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer” should read “a combination of the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 7-8, and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 and 10 recite “a heat energy filter comprising two or more direct band pass filters”. The instant specification in ¶ [0030] recites “the disclosed filter may provide low pass, band pass or high pass function only where filtering is needed and specific to the print material for which activation of the IR agent is desired”. In ¶ [0037], “the disclosed wavelength filters may be optionally ‘stacked’ to provide increased variations of available wavelength filtering or to provide band pass filtering, and so on”. However, the instant disclosure does not disclose “direct band pass filters”. At best, the disclosure teaches band pass filters, but does not disclose direct band pass filters. Therefore, the limitation lacks written description to the original instant disclosure.
As claims 7-8 depend on claim 1, claims 7-8 are rejected for lack of written description.
As claims 15-17 depend on claim 10, claims 15-17 are rejected for lack of written description.
Claim 1, 7-8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the filter” in line 14. It is unclear if the limitation is reciting to “heat energy filter”, “direct band pass filters”, or “automatically adjustable filter”. For examination purposes the limitation will be interpreted as “the automatically adjustable filter”.
As claims 7-8 depend on claim 1, claims 7-8 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim 8 recites “the filter” in line 1. It is unclear if the limitation is reciting to “heat energy filter”, “direct band pass filters”, “automatically adjustable filter”, or “filter” in claim 1. For examination purposes the limitation will be interpreted as “the heat energy filter”.
Claim 15-17 recites “the filter”. It is unclear if the limitation is reciting to “heat energy filter”, “direct band pass filters”, or “filter rotated by manual means” in claim 10. For examination purposes the limitation will be interpreted as “the heat energy filter”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (WO 2017/131764 A1), in view of Akano (JP 10323906 A, an English translation was previously provided) and Rolland (US 20160137838 A1), alternatively, in further view of Rudisill et al., henceforth Rudisill (US 2019/0054689 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Barnes discloses an apparatus for printing an additive manufactured object (¶ [0017], [0031] - additive manufacturing apparatus 1, 301) comprising a first polymer and a second polymer (¶ [0016] – one or more successive layers of build material, which can be powder-based; ¶ [0034] – different powder characteristics), the apparatus comprising:
a print bed (¶ [0016]-[0017], [0031]-[0032] - a stage 319 and walls 321) having therein powder print material (¶ [0016]-[0017], [0031]-[0032] - stage 319 and 321 holds media 5)
a dispersing head (¶ [0017] - fusing agent distributor 3; ¶ [0038] – agent distributor 603) suitable to selectively disperse a heat-actuated agent (¶ [0038] – 603 includes two media wide agent printheads 603A, 603B and each printhead may be to dispense at least two different types of ink or agent) onto the powdered print material in a shape or to a depth according to a print plan (¶ [0001-0002] – computer control and software; would disperse in a shape or depth based on computer control and software, also interpreted as intended use, see below), configured to actuate at least one of the first and second polymers (¶ [0017] – fusing agent enhances energy absorption);
a broadband infrared energy source (¶ [0018], [0024] - irradiation structure 7, 107, 307 comprises irradiation source, which can irradiation infrared light) suitable to pass over the print bed 319, 321 so as to actuate the dispersed heat-actuated agent (¶ [0018], [0024] - 7, 107, 307 to irradiate electro-magnetic radiation onto the media; FIg. 4: irradiation source 309 is over the stage and walls 319, 321) to thus form a desired pattern of the print plan in the powdered print material (¶ [0001-0002] – computer control and software; would form a desired pattern/object based on computer control and software, also interpreted as intended use, see below),
a heat energy filter (¶ [0019], [0023]; Fig. 1, 3 - radiation filter 13, 113) comprising two or more (¶ [0019] - the filter 13 may encompass different filter assemblies or combinations of filters) band pass filters (¶ [0019] - the filter 13 may be a combination of a long pass and short pass filter) interfaced to the broadband energy source 7, 107, 307 (Fig. 1 depicts 13 interfaced with 7) … to provide filtering at different wavelengths (¶ [0019], [0023]; Fig. 1, 3 - radiation filter 13, 113 to filter a certain wavelength range of electro-magnetic radiation) in which the combination of the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer are sensitive to (¶ [0026] – media has fusing agent dispensed thereon and may have a high relative absorption rate in the wavelength range) so as to provide an actuation of the dispersed heat-actuated agent and associated first or second polymers (¶ [0035] – a first irradiation filter having first characteristics and can be replaced by a second irradiation filter having second characteristics that are different, which may be at least one of different wavelength transmissivity versus blocking characteristics; reasons for switching filter may include different desired fusion characteristics) to form the desired pattern of the print plan (¶ [0001-0002] – computer control and software; would form a desired pattern/object based on computer control and software, also interpreted as intended use, see below).
The limitation “a dispersing head suitable to selectively disperse a heat-actuated agent onto the powdered print material according to a print plan” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114 (II). The limitation is treated as intended use because a computer or controller configured to execute a print plan to perform the recited function is not claimed. See MPEP § 2114 (IV).
As Barnes discloses that fusing agent distributor dispenses ink or agent (¶ [0017], ¶ [0038]), the fusing agent distributor is capable of performing the intended use of “selectively disperse a heat-actuated agent onto the powdered print material according to a print plan.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the fusing agent distributor in Barnes is capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
The limitation “the filter … so as to provide an actuation of the dispersed heat-actuated agent and associated first or second polymers to form a desired pattern of the print plan” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II). The limitation is treated as intended use because a computer or controller configured to execute a print plan to perform the recited function is not claimed. See MPEP § 2114 (IV).
As Barnes discloses a first irradiation filter and a second irradiation filter can be switched for different desired fusion characteristics (¶ [0035]), the first and second irradiation filters are capable of performing the intended use of “provide an actuation of the dispersed heat-actuated agent and associated first or second polymers to form a desired pattern of the print plan.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the first and second filters in Barnes are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Barnes does not disclose an automatically adjustable filter rotatable about a center axis to positions associated with the dispensed heat actuated agent, wherein the filter is automatically adjusted based on the print plan or a manual pre-print entry.
Analogous art Akano discloses a stereolithography apparatus comprises a container 1 for containing a liquid ultraviolet curing resin 2 (¶ [0012]). A light irradiation means 5 is above the container 1 and uses a mercury lamp 6 as a light source (¶ [0013]). A filter 8 for selecting the wavelength of the lamp light is arranged below the optical fiber 7 near the tip 7a (¶ [0014]; Fig. 1). The filter selects a specific wavelength from light of various wavelengths emitted from the mercury lamp 6 (¶ [0014]). Operation of the stereolithographic apparatus is based on the modeling data designed on the CAD system (¶ [0017]).
Akano further discloses disclose an automatically adjustable filter rotatable about a center axis to positions (¶ [0016]; Fig. 3-4 – rotating disc 15 arranged near the optical fiber 7 and comprising filters 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d with different wavelength selection) associated with the dispensed heat actuated agent (¶ [0016]; Fig. 3-4 - each of the filters may be composed of a plurality of filters to select a wavelength), wherein the filter is automatically adjusted based on the print plan or a manual pre-print entry (¶ [0016]; Fig. 3-4 – a rotating shaft 16 automatically rotates 15). The ability of switching the filters 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d allows wavelengths to be easily selected without increasing the number of light sources with different wavelength regions (¶ [0016]).
Barnes and Akano disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the disc comprising a plurality of filters, where the filters are composed of a plurality of filters, and a rotation shaft for automatic switching of filters in Akano to the filter in Barnes because incorporation of the filters on the disc with a rotating shaft 16 allows for easy selection of different wavelengths and allows the molding accuracy and the lamination thickness to be appropriately adjusted, while shortening curing time (¶ [0016]).
The limitation “the filter is automatically adjusted based on the print plan or a manual pre-print entry” recites a manner of operating the device for an intended use. See MPEP § 2114 (II). The limitation is treated as intended use because a computer or controller configured to execute a print plan to perform the recited function is not claimed. See MPEP § 2114 (IV).
As Akano discloses a rotating disc comprising filters with different wavelength selection and a rotating shaft automatically rotates the disc (¶ [0016]), the disc comprising filters and the rotating shaft are capable of performing the intended use of “automatically adjusted based on the print plan or a manual pre-print entry.” The limitation does not add further structure to the claimed apparatus and thus because the disc comprising filters and the rotating shaft in Akano are capable of performing the intended use, it meets the limitations as claimed.
Modified Barnes does not disclose direct band pass filters.
Analogous art Rolland discloses a method of forming a three-dimensional object of polyurethane, polyurea, or copolymer thereof and comprises irradiating a build region with polymerizable liquid to form a solid blocked polymer scaffold (Abstract). The irradiation source can be a mercury lamp (¶ [0157]).
Rolland further discloses direct band pass filters (¶ [0208] – a band pass filter used with a mercury bulb light source). Certain optical characteristics of light may be selected to facilitate increased speed of fabrication (¶ [0208]).
Barnes and Rolland disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to additive manufacturing systems using irradiation to fuse. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied band pass filters in Rolland to the filter in modified Barnes so certain optical characteristics of light may be selected to facilitate increased speed of fabrication (¶ [0208]).
The limitations “an additive manufactured object comprising at least a first polymer and a second polymer”, “heat-actuated agent onto the powdered print material… configured to actuate at least one of the first and second polymers”, and “the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer are sensitive to so as to provide an actuation of the dispersed heat-actuated agent and associated first or second polymer” recite the material or article worked upon by the apparatus. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." Applicant is reminded material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims. See MPEP § 2115.
In arguendo, the limitations do not recite material or article worked upon by the apparatus, analogous art Rudisill is applied.
Analogous art Rudisill discloses a 3D printing system 200 including a build area platform 202 that receives the build material particles 206 (¶ [0017]). The 3D printing system 200 includes an inkjet applicator 214A (¶ [0020]). The layer of build material is exposed to electromagnetic radiation emitted from radiation source 244 (¶ [0024]).
Rudisill further discloses the 3D printing system 200 including an inkjet application 214, which may contain low tint fusing agent composition and may include at least one additional inkjet application 214B, which may contain a core fusing agent composition (¶ [0020]). Rudisill further discloses build material 206 are material particles and may be a polymeric build material and suitable build material particles include blends of any two or more polymers (¶ [0064]).
Barnes and Rudisill disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the build material comprising of two or more polymers and the low tint fusing agent and/or core fusing agent in Rudisill to the powder and fusing agents in modified Barnes because suitable build material particles include blends of any two or more polymers (¶ [0064]) and to enable the 3D part or layer form with low tint fusing agent to be white or slightly colored, and provide the parts containing the core fusing agent, a dark color in relation with the absorption of the colorant contained in it (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Barnes discloses the apparatus of claim 1. The limitation “the powdered print material comprises polyamides” recites the material or article worked upon by the claimed apparatus. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." See MPEP § 2115.
Furthermore, Rudisill discloses examples of suitable build material includes polyamides (¶ [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Barnes discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Modified Barnes further discloses the filter is cooled (Barnes ¶ [0022], [0036] – cooling mechanism 514 connected to the filter 13, 513).
Regarding claim 10, Barnes discloses an apparatus for printing an additive manufacturing (¶ [0017], [0031] - additive manufacturing apparatus 1, 301), comprising:
a print bed (¶ [0016]-[0017], [0031]-[0032] - a stage 319 and walls 321) having therein powder print material (¶ [0016]-[0017], [0031]-[0032] - stage 319 and 321 holds media 5) comprising at least first and second polymers (¶ [0016] – one or more successive layers of build material, which can be powder-based; ¶ [0034] – different powder characteristics),
a dispersing head (¶ [0017] - fusing agent distributor 3; ¶ [0038] – agent distributor 603) suitable to disperse a heat-actuated agent (¶ [0038] – 603 includes two media wide agent printheads 603A, 603B and each printhead may be to dispense at least two different types of ink or agent) onto the powdered print material in a shape or to a depth as executed by the one or more print plans (¶ [0001-0002] – computer control and software; would form a shape or depth based on computer control and software);
a broadband infrared energy source (¶ [0018], [0024] - irradiation structure 7, 107, 307 comprises irradiation source, which can irradiation infrared light) suitable to pass over the print bed 319, 321 so as to actuate the dispersed heat-actuated agent (¶ [0018], [0024] - 7, 107, 307 to irradiate electro-magnetic radiation onto the media; FIg. 4: irradiation source 309 is over the stage and walls 319, 321) to thus form a desired pattern of the print plan in the powdered print material (¶ [0001-0002] – computer control and software; would form a desired pattern/object based on computer control and software);
a heat energy filter (¶ [0019], [0023]; Fig. 1, 3 - radiation filter 13, 113) comprising two or more (¶ [0019] - the filter 13 may encompass different filter assemblies or combinations of filters) band pass filters (¶ [0019] - the filter 13 may be a combination of a long pass and short pass filter) interfaced to the broadband energy source 7, 107, 307 (Fig. 1 depicts 13 interfaced with 7) … provide filtering at different wavelengths (¶ [0019], [0023]; Fig. 1, 3 - radiation filter 13, 113 to filter a certain wavelength range of electro-magnetic radiation) in which the combination of the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer are sensitive to (¶ [0026] – media has fusing agent dispensed thereon and may have a high relative absorption rate in the wavelength range) so as to provide an actuation of the dispersed heat-actuated agent and associated first or second polymers to form a desired pattern of the print plan (¶ [0035] – a first irradiation filter having first characteristics and can be replaced by a second irradiation filter having second characteristics that are different, which may be at least one of different wavelength transmissivity versus blocking characteristics; reasons for switching filter may include different desired fusion characteristics)
Although Barnes does not explicitly disclose “a control system comprising one or more print plans” and “the dispersing heat disperse a heat-actuated agent … as executed by the one or more print plans” as a part of the apparatus, Barnes suggests a control system and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a control system or controller to control the components of the apparatus, including the stage, fusing agent distributor, and irradiation structure and source, to form a 3D object layer-by-layer and using fusing agent that when applied with an amount of energy causes the media to coalesce and solidify (¶ [0001]-[0002], [0016]). "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP § 2143 (I)(E). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have a control system or controller that controls the fusing agent distributor 3 according to a digital representation of a virtually sliced 3D object (print plan) (¶ [0001]-[0002]).
Furthermore, analogous art Akano discloses a stereolithography apparatus comprises a container 1 for containing a liquid ultraviolet curing resin 2 (¶ [0012]). A light irradiation means 5 is above the container 1 and uses a mercury lamp 6 as a light source (¶ [0013]). A filter 8 for selecting the wavelength of the lamp light is arranged below the optical fiber 7 near the tip 7a (¶ [0014]; Fig. 1). The filter selects a specific wavelength from light of various wavelengths emitted from the mercury lamp 6 (¶ [0014]). Operation of the stereolithographic apparatus is based on the modeling data designed on the CAD system (¶ [0017]).
Akano further discloses a control system (¶ [0017] – CAD system) comprising one or more print plans (¶ [0017] – operation of the stereolithographic apparatus is based on the modeling data). The modeling data designed on the CAD system is divided for each of the filters 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d (¶ [0017]) and selected based on CAD data (¶ [0019]).
Barnes and Akano disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied CAD system that uses modeling data in Akano to the apparatus and filter in Barnes to select a filter based on CAD data (¶ [0019]).
Barnes does not disclose a filter rotated by manual means about a center axis to rotational positions identified by markings associated with providing filtering.
Akano further discloses disclose a filter rotated by manual means about a center axis (¶ [0016] - a rotating shaft 16 manually rotates disc 15 arranged near the optical fiber 7 and comprising filters 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d) to rotational positions (¶ [0016]; Fig. 3-4 – rotating disc 15 arranged near the optical fiber 7 and comprising filters 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d with different wavelength selection) identified by markings (¶ [0018] - in another embodiment a disc 21 with pinholes 20a, 20b, 20c, and 20d of different sizes, different sizes are considered “markings”) associated with filtering (¶ [0016]; Fig. 3-4 - each of the filters may be composed of a plurality of filters to select a wavelength). The filters 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d are switched and set on the optical path and appropriately select different wavelengths, the molding accuracy and lamination thickness can be appropriately adjusted, while shortening curing time (¶ [0016]). The ability of switching the filters 8a, 8b, 8c, and 8d allows wavelengths to be easily selected without increasing the number of light sources with different wavelength regions (¶ [0016]).
Barnes and Akano disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the disc comprising a plurality of filters, where the filters are composed of a plurality of filters, and a rotation shaft for switching of filters in Akano to the filter in Barnes because incorporation of the filters on the disc with a rotating shaft 16 allows for easy selection of different wavelengths and allows the molding accuracy and the lamination thickness to be appropriately adjusted, while shortening curing time (¶ [0016]).
In arguendo the different sized pin holes do not meet the limitation “markings”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use markings, such as writing out the wavelength selection, at each of the locations on the disc to indicate which filter with a wavelength selection (Akano ¶ [0016]) is located at each position.
Modified Barnes does not disclose direct band pass filters.
Analogous art Rolland discloses a method of forming a three-dimensional object of polyurethane, polyurea, or copolymer thereof and comprises irradiating a build region with polymerizable liquid to form a solid blocked polymer scaffold (Abstract). The irradiation source can be a mercury lamp (¶ [0157]).
Rolland further discloses direct band pass filters (¶ [0208] – a band pass filter used with a mercury bulb light source). Certain optical characteristics of light may be selected to facilitate increased speed of fabrication (¶ [0208]).
Barnes and Rolland disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to additive manufacturing systems using irradiation to fuse. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied band pass filters in Rolland to the filter in modified Barnes so certain optical characteristics of light may be selected to facilitate increased speed of fabrication (¶ [0208]).
The limitations “powdered print material comprising at least first and second polymers”, “heat-actuated agent onto the powdered print material … configured to actuate at least one of the first and second polymers” and “the combination of the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer are sensitive to so as to provide an actuation of the dispersed heat-actuated agent” recite the material or article worked upon by the apparatus. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." Applicant is reminded material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims. See MPEP § 2115.
In arguendo, the limitations do not recite material or article worked upon by the apparatus, analogous art Rudisill is applied.
Analogous art Rudisill discloses a 3D printing system 200 including a build area platform 202 that receives the build material particles 206 (¶ [0017]). The 3D printing system 200 includes an inkjet applicator 214A (¶ [0020]). The layer of build material is exposed to electromagnetic radiation emitted from radiation source 244 (¶ [0024]).
Rudisill further discloses the 3D printing system 200 including an inkjet application 214, which may contain low tint fusing agent composition and may include at least one additional inkjet application 214B, which may contain a core fusing agent composition (¶ [0020]). Rudisill further discloses build material 206 are material particles and may be a polymeric build material and suitable build material particles include blends of any two or more polymers (¶ [0064]).
Barnes and Rudisill disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the build material comprising of two or more polymers and the low tint fusing agent and/or core fusing agent in Rudisill to the powder and fusing agents in modified Barnes because suitable build material particles include blends of any two or more polymers (¶ [0064]) and to enable the 3D part or layer form with low tint fusing agent to be white or slightly colored, and provide the parts containing the core fusing agent, a dark color in relation with the absorption of the colorant contained in it (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Barnes discloses the apparatus of claim 10. Modified Barnes discloses the filter is actively cooled (Barnes ¶ [0022], [0036] – cooling mechanism 514 connected to the filter 13, 513).
Regarding claim 16, modified Barnes discloses the apparatus of claim 10. modified Barnes discloses the filter being cooled comprises cooling the filter with one or more cooling fans (Barnes ¶ [0022], [0036] – cooling mechanism 514 connected to the filter 13, 513; ¶ [0036] – cooling mechanism 514 may include an air moving device such as a ventilator).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (WO 2017/131764 A1) in view of Akano (JP 10323906 A), and Rolland (US 20160137838 A1), alternatively in further view of Rudisill et al., henceforth Rudisill (US 2019/0054689 A1), as applied to claim 10, in view of Hory et al., henceforth Hory (US 6767499 B1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Barnes does not explicitly disclose the filter is insulated. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the filter insulated to inhibit the too much heating of the filter 13, whereby the filter’s temperature is maintained may in turn allow for a wider variety of suitable filters (Barnes ¶ [0022]).
Analogous art Hory discloses a device 20 for practicing a process of rapid prototyping by laser sintering of ceramic powder (c. 4, L 5-7). A window 78 is in line with a beam 32 and comprises filtering means 80 (c. 5, L 5-8). The filtering means 80 let pass the near infrared radiation of the laser toward working cylinder 38 (c. 5, L 5-8).
Hory further discloses the filter is insulated (c. 5, L 8 - the window is thermally insulated). The filtering means 80 comprises two superposed lenses 82, adapted to resist high temperature (c. 5, L 14-16).
Barnes and Hory disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the filtering means that is thermally insulated in Hory to the filter in modified Barnes to resist high temperature (Hory col 5, L 8, 14-16) and to inhibit the too much heating of the filter, whereby the filter’s temperature is maintained may in turn allow for a wider variety of suitable filters (Barnes ¶ [0022]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2025 and October 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not disclose the claimed invention as amended.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “powdered print material comprising at least first and second polymers”.
The limitation recites the material or article worked upon by the apparatus. Applicant is reminded material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims. See MPEP § 2115.
Rudisill discloses build material 206 are material particles and may be a polymeric build material and suitable build material particles include blends of any two or more polymers (¶ [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the build material comprising of two or more polymers and the low tint fusing agent and/or core fusing agent in Rudisill to the powder and fusing agents in modified Barnes because suitable build material particles include blends of any two or more polymers (¶ [0064]) and to enable the 3D part or layer form with low tint fusing agent to be white or slightly colored, and provide the parts containing the core fusing agent, a dark color in relation with the absorption of the colorant contained in it (¶ [0032]).
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “direct band pass filters”.
The argument is addressed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 and 10 above.
Furthermore, see the U.S.C. 112 (a) rejections regarding “direct band pass filter” above.
Applicant argues the cited prior art does not teach “filtering at different wavelengths in which the combination of the heat-actuated agent and the first or second polymer are sensitive to so as to provide an actuation of the dispersed heat-actuated agent and associated first or second polymer”.
The argument is addressed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 and 10 above.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754