Applicant's response to the previous Office action, dated January 7, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended claims 18-19, 22-24, and 27-30.
Claims 14, 18-19, and 21-36 are pending in the application. Claims 14 and 34 remain withdrawn from consideration, pursuant to the Restriction Requirement mailed July 11, 2024.
Claims 18-19, 21-33 and 35-36 are therefore under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated August 7, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 7, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the first Office action on the merits on November 13, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19, 21-23, 27-33 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiyala (US20180221503A1) as evidenced by Rescigno (Semin Immunol. 2015 Mar;27(2):119-24).
Applicant argues that Kadiyala does not teach every limitation of the claims as amended; specifically, Kadiyala does not teach the specific combination of features recited in the claims. Applicant asserts that a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to select a personalized neoantigenic construct as a payload for the phagocytosable particle, or a core with a largest dimension in the range of 0.5 micrometers to 2.5 micrometers. Applicant further argues that Kadiyala does not teach the additional steps of the claimed method. Applicant further argues that the claimed method produces unexpectantly superior results that could not have been predicted from the teachings of Kadiyala.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
Kadiyala teaches that the payload of the particle may be a tumor specific antigen such as a neoantigen (para. 0094 and 0164). As neoantigens are specific to each individualized cancer, this would therefore be a personalized neoantigenic construct.
Kadiyala further teaches that the above composition may be used to prime T cells isolated from the subject ex vivo (i.e., in vitro), and then reinfusued to the patient (para. 0413 and 0427). Kadiyala also teaches a combination of the above adoptive immumotherapy with the particle and the active immunotherapy of administering the claimed particle (para. 0413 and 0059).
With regards to Applicant's assertion that Kadiyala does not teach a core with a largest dimension in the range of 0.5 micrometers to 2.5 micrometers, Kadiyala further teaches that the nanoparticle may have a dimension of less than 1 micrometer (para. 0234). Applicant's claim 31 recites that the particle has a largest dimension in the range of 0.5 micrometers to 2.0 micrometers. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05.
It is also noted that Applicant's specification at page 40 teaches that dendritic cells are capable of phagocytosis of such particles.
Kadiyala further teaches that the nanoparticle may comprise a core of superparamagntic iron oxide (para. 0382). Kadiyala further teaches that the nanoparticle may comprise polystyrene (para. 0242). This is in express motivation to use such materials in assembling the claimed particle.
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). The prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed. In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). MPEP 2123(II).
There is no requirement that an "express, written motivation to combine must appear in prior art references before a finding of obviousness." Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 1276, 69 USPQ2d 1686, 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971). MPEP 2145(X)(A).
If there is an unexpected criticality in using the specifically claimed components of the invention, this must be demonstrated with evidence. Applicant has not met this standard. It is also noted that independent claim 18 does not rely on any particular tumor-specific antigen or core material.
Kadiyala also teaches that the above nanoparticle is useful in causing dendritic cells to enhance antigen presentation (para. 0423). This is the same result as what has occurred with Applicant's invention. As such, the results cannot be said to be unexpected.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiyala as applied to claims 18 and 23 above, and further in view of Shukla (J Immunol Methods. 2018 Sep:460:5 1-62, cited in IDS).
Applicant argues that Shukla does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Kadiyala. This is not persuasive, for reasons described supra.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-19, 21-33 and 35-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 51, 59-64, 69-71, and 73-76 of copending Application No. 18/999,139 in view of Kadiyala and Shukla.
Applicant argues that the disclosure of the '139 application does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Kadiyala. This is not persuasive, for reasons described supra.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644