Response to Arguments
Applicants’ claim amendments and Remarks of 9/9/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed or modified below is herein withdrawn.
The 102 rejection is withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments and remarks that DMSO is not a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
The obviousness rejection is withdrawn. Applicants Remarks with Examiners Reply is summarized below:
Applicants submit that URAS does not motivate the artisan because it relates to a different disease space (AML vs. solid tumors).
Examiner has reviewed URAS again and agrees with applicant that URA does not specify that palbociclib and sunitinib has synergy.
Applicants also point out reasons for why it would not be obvious to assume successful effect of combination treatment of solid tumors with palbociclib and sunitinib based on treatment of AML cell lines on pages 12-13.
Examiner has reviewed these pages and finds them persuasive.
Applicants additionally point out how Korashy does not make the claimed combination obvious.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Clinical Trials (“Palbociclib and Sorafenib, Decitabine, or Dexamethasone in Treating Patients With Recurrent or Refractory Leukemia”, Clinical Trials ID: NCT03132454 Version 10, 08/15/2018) as evidenced by FDA ( “IBRANCE® (palbociclib) tablets, for oral use”, FDA, Reference ID: 4514390, initial approval 2015, Revised 2019).
Clinical Trials anticipates that in Cycle 2, a patient receives palbociclib (CDK4/6 inhibitor; administering IBRANCE) and sorafenib (mtRTKI) (Detailed description).
FDA is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that IBRANCE (the brand name for a medication containing palbociclib) contains the inactive ingredients including microcrystalline cellulose (page 14). These inactive ingredients are pharmaceutically acceptable excipients.
This anticipates claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 21-23 and 43, 44, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PEREZ (Perez et al., “Efficacy of CDK4 inhibition against sarcomas depends on their levels of CDK4 and p16ink4 mRNA”, Oncotarget, October 20, 2015), as evidenced by FDA ( “IBRANCE® (palbociclib) tablets, for oral use”, FDA, Reference ID: 4514390, initial approval 2015, Revised 2019) and in view of MAHMOOD (Mahmood et al., “Phase II Study of Sunitinib Malate, a Multi-Targeted Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor in Patients with Relapsed or Refractory Soft Tissue Sarcomas. Focus on 3 Prevalent Histologies: Leiomyosarcoma, Liposarcoma, and Malignant Fibrous Histiocytoma”, Int J Cancer, October 15, 2011).
PEREZ teaches that palbociclib (PD0332991), a highly selective inhibitor of CDK4/6, being used to treat sarcoma in vivo (abstract). This helps teach claim 1, 2, 4, 43, and 44 (i).
PEREZ teaches palbociclib is useful in treating Liposarcoma cell line (table 1). This helps teach claims 7 and 45.
PEREZ teaches the drug (Palbociclib, PD0332991), was obtained from Pfizer, freshly prepared and orally administered (In vivo treatments). PEREZ teaches the concentration used in human is 125mg/dose (In vivo treatments). This helps teach limitation (i) from claim 9 and 23.
FDA is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that the oral dosage of palbociclib contains the inactive ingredients including microcrystalline cellulose (page 14). These inactive ingredients are pharmaceutically acceptable excipients. This helps teach claim 21.
While PEREZ teaches Palbociclib, PEREZ does not teach Sunitinib.
MAHMOOD teaches that Sunitinib is useful for treating liposarcoma (table 3). This helps teach claim 1, 2, 4, 43, and 44 (i). This helps teach claims 7 and 45.
MAHMOOD teaches Patients received 50 mg of sunitinib malate orally once daily on days 1-28 of a planned 42-day cycle (study design). This helps teach limitation (i) from claim 9 and 23.
The artisan would have found it obvious to combine Palbociclib and sunitinib, which are known to have anti-liposarcoma properties (PEREZ abstract; MAHMOOD abstract). It is prima facie obvious to combine one anti- liposarcoma compound with another in order to form a composition to be used for the very same purpose (treating liposarcoma). In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06(I). This teaches 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 43, 44, and 45.
The artisan would have also found it obvious to administer a pharmaceutical composition containing a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Combining Palbociclib with sunitinib, the artisan would have at least kept the excipient (microcrystalline cellulose) from Pfizer’s palbociclib (FDA page 14). This teaches claims 21-23.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 2, 9, 21-23, and 43-45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/975,802 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the instant claims.
Reference claim 1 (treating ACC, which is a solid cancer, with palbociclib and sunitinib) anticipates instant claim 1 (treating solid cancer with palbociclib and sunitinib) and claim 4, and claim 43-45.
Ref. claim 2-5 anticipates instant claim 2.
Ref. claim 6 and 7 anticipates instant claim 9 (i) and 23.
Ref. claim 1 anticipates instant claim 21 and 22.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed as written.
/G.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625