Current Status of 17/417,712
Some of the rejections of record have been maintained below. New rejections due to amendments have been made below.
Claims 6, 8-9, 11-15, 17-19, 29-36, and 40 have been examined on the merits.
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/CN2019/127837 (filed 12/24/2019) and claims foreign priority to CN20191067929.0 (filed 7/26/2019) and claims foreign priority to CN201811581815.8 (filed 12/24/2018).
The instant claims find support from CN201811581815.8. The effective filing date is 12/24/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ claim amendments and Remarks of 03/27/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed or modified below is herein withdrawn.
In regard to the obviousness rejection, this rejection is withdrawn. Applicants have amended base claim 6. Applicants remarks with Examiner’s reply are summarized below:
ZHU does not disclose any specific solid pharmaceutical compositions.
The structures of Baricitinib and compounds of Formula II are distinct (HAN); the structural differences of these compounds result in different excipients would be chosen.
HAN teaches wetting agents as an optional component.
HAN teaches microcrystalline cellulose may act as binder, but does not require said binder.
DAVE teaches that lubricants (i.e. wetting agents) may decrease the drug dissolution rate; while, the instant composition demonstrates an unexpected increased in drug dissolution rate.
Applicants submit that the instant pharmaceutical composition has unexpected beneficial effects of solubility and stability.
Examiner has reviewed Examples 2, 4, and 5 from the instant specification. Compositions with a wetting agent have good dissolution results (e.g. cumulative dissolutions after 30 mins are > 90%); while, compositions without a wetting agent do not have good dissolution results (e.g. cumulative dissolutions after 30 mins are <70%) (tables 7 and 8).
The Inventor’s Declaration shows that Formula J (which contains Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate) has a better effect on improving the dissolution rate, compared to Tween 80 (Formulation K).
Examiner has reviewed the declaration. This was previously discussed in the Nonfinal rejection of 09/29/2025.
Applicants submit another declaration by Chen Li, which shows dissolution characterization tests for 5 and 20 mg tablets as disclosed in example 2 and dissolution characterization tests for formulations A-I from example 5, and dissolution characterization tests formulations J and K (closest prior art test).
Chen Li declares that the of formula J with sodium dodecyl sulfate (table 5, and paragraph 13 of the declaration of 03/27/2026) was superior to Tween 80. The Factor f2 method was used to show that formulations K and the formulations from example 2 were less than 50 (i.e. not similar). The unexpected results were shown to be statistically significant.
Applicants have not shown unexpected/surprising results for the full scope of claim 6. This leaves Applicants open to future 103s for Markush Search extension, see below.
In regard to the 1st- 4th nonstatutory double patenting rejection, this rejection is withdrawn. Base claim 6 is amended and HAN, DAVE, and SIGMA (for the reasons above) do not teach the amended claim 6.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the lubricant". There is no previous antecedent for lubricant. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 8-9, 11-15, 17-19, 29-36, and 40 are similarly rejected for not resolving the rationale under pinning this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- New due to Amendments
Claims 15, 17, 18, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 15, 17, 18, 35, and 36 recite the limitation that the lubricants of claim 6 are optional. However, claim 6 now requires these lubricants. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGI (US8513240B2) as evidenced by SIGMA ALDRICH (“Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate”, Sigma Aldrich, Accessed June 10, 2026) and Kariduraganavar (Kariduraganavar et al., “Polymer Synthesis and Processing”, Natural and Synthetic Biomedical Polymers, 2014) and in view of ZHU (WO 2017101777) and DAVE (Dave, “Overview of pharmaceutical excipients used in tablets and capsules”, October 24, 2008).
NAGI teaches that pharmaceutical composition containing micronized tanaproget, microcrystalline cellulose, croscarmellose sodium, sodium lauryl sulfate, povidone, and magnesium stearate (paragraph [0010], and table 3).
Sigma Aldrich is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Sodium dodecyl sulfate is also known by the name sodium lauryl sulfate (page 1).
Kariduraganavar is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) is commonly called polyvidone or povidone (page 13).
NAGI teaches 90.15 wt% of microcrystalline cellulose (within the range of the instant diluent), 6.00 wt% of croscarmellose sodium (within the range of the instant Disintegrant), 2.0 wt% of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (one of the instant wetting agents), 1.5 wt% of povidone (within the range of instant binder), and 0.25 wt% of Magnesium Stearate (within the range of the instant lubricant) (table 3).
NAGI teaches abouw 2% wt/wt Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (paragraph [0051]).
NAGI as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich and Kariduraganavar teaches the diluent, binder, wetting agent, disintegrant, and lubricant of base claim 6. This helps teach claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
NAGI also teaches a solid pharmaceutical (“oral dosage unit” and “tablets” in paragraph [0014]). NAGI teaches that compositions of the instant invention provide for a fast drug release (paragraph [0014]).
NAGI does not teach the compound of formula II from the instant claims.
ZHU teaches the compound
(reference claim 1 and claim 10). This teaches the compound of claim 6.
ZHU also teaches that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field).
DAVE teaches “Apart from the drug’s active ingredient, other essential components include diluents or fillers, binders, disintegrants, lubricants (i.e. wetting agents), coloring agents and preservatives. Diluents or fillers are inert ingredients that can significantly affect the chemical and physical properties of the final tablet thus affecting the biopharmaceutical profile.” (page 1).
The skilled artisan would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent, binder, wetting agent, lubricant and disintegrant to compound
(ZHU claim 1). The artisan would have been motivated by ZHU’s teachings that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field). The artisan would have expected to use a known pharmaceutical tablet such as NAGI’s in order to make a fast release tablet (paragraph [0014]).
The artisan would be motivated to experiment with the weight percentages of each component in the pharmaceutical composition of the instant claims. NAGI teaches a composition (table 3). The artisan would have been motivated to optimize the pharmacokinetics (DAVE page 1). See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the weight percentages of the components in the instant claims is critical. This teaches 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
Double Patenting- Due to amendments
Claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 10766901. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the compounds are the same.
Claim 13 (in view of claim 2) teaches the elected compound. US 10766901 does not teach a pharmaceutical composition, but is does teach the reference compounds use as JAK inhibitors and cancer treatments (background/summary of invention).
NAGI teaches that pharmaceutical composition containing micronized tanaproget, microcrystalline cellulose, croscarmellose sodium, sodium lauryl sulfate, povidone, and magnesium stearate (paragraph [0010], and table 3).
Sigma Aldrich is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Sodium dodecyl sulfate is also known by the name sodium lauryl sulfate (page 1).
Kariduraganavar is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) is commonly called polyvidone or povidone (page 13).
NAGI teaches 90.15 wt% of microcrystalline cellulose (within the range of the instant diluent), 6.00 wt% of croscarmellose sodium (within the range of the instant Disintegrant), 2.0 wt% of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (one of the instant wetting agents), 1.5 wt% of povidone (within the range of instant binder), and 0.25 wt% of Magnesium Stearate (within the range of the instant lubricant) (table 3).
NAGI teaches abouw 2% wt/wt Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (paragraph [0051]).
NAGI as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich and Kariduraganavar teaches the diluent, binder, wetting agent, disintegrant, and lubricant of base claim 6. This helps teach claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
NAGI also teaches a solid pharmaceutical (“oral dosage unit” and “tablets” in paragraph [0014]). NAGI teaches that compositions of the instant invention provide for a fast drug release (paragraph [0014]).
ZHU teaches the compound
(reference claim 1 and claim 10). This teaches the compound of claim 6.
ZHU also teaches that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field).
DAVE teaches “Apart from the drug’s active ingredient, other essential components include diluents or fillers, binders, disintegrants, lubricants (i.e. wetting agents), coloring agents and preservatives. Diluents or fillers are inert ingredients that can significantly affect the chemical and physical properties of the final tablet thus affecting the biopharmaceutical profile.” (page 1).
The skilled artisan would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent, binder, wetting agent and disintegrant and lubricant to compound
(reference claims 2 and 13). The artisan would have been motivated by ZHU’s teachings that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field). The artisan would have expected to use a known pharmaceutical tablet such as NAGI’s in order to make a fast release tablet (paragraph [0014]).
The artisan would be motivated to experiment with the weight percentages of each component in the pharmaceutical composition of the instant claims. NAGI teaches a composition (table 3). The artisan would have been motivated to optimize the pharmacokinetics (DAVE page 1). See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the weight percentages of the components in the instant claims is critical. This teaches 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
Claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. US 10561657. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the compounds are the same.
Claim 9 teaches the elected compound.
Claim 16 teaches a pharmaceutical composition including carriers or excipients.
NAGI teaches that pharmaceutical composition containing micronized tanaproget, microcrystalline cellulose, croscarmellose sodium, sodium lauryl sulfate, povidone, and magnesium stearate (paragraph [0010], and table 3).
Sigma Aldrich is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Sodium dodecyl sulfate is also known by the name sodium lauryl sulfate (page 1).
Kariduraganavar is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) is commonly called polyvidone or povidone (page 13).
NAGI teaches 90.15 wt% of microcrystalline cellulose (within the range of the instant diluent), 6.00 wt% of croscarmellose sodium (within the range of the instant Disintegrant), 2.0 wt% of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (one of the instant wetting agents), 1.5 wt% of povidone (within the range of instant binder), and 0.25 wt% of Magnesium Stearate (within the range of the instant lubricant) (table 3).
NAGI teaches abouw 2% wt/wt Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (paragraph [0051]).
NAGI as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich and Kariduraganavar teaches the diluent, binder, wetting agent, disintegrant, and lubricant of base claim 6. This helps teach claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
NAGI also teaches a solid pharmaceutical (“oral dosage unit” and “tablets” in paragraph [0014]). NAGI teaches that compositions of the instant invention provide for a fast drug release (paragraph [0014]).
ZHU teaches the compound
(reference claim 1 and claim 10). This teaches the compound of claim 6.
ZHU also teaches that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field).
DAVE teaches “Apart from the drug’s active ingredient, other essential components include diluents or fillers, binders, disintegrants, lubricants (i.e. wetting agents), coloring agents and preservatives. Diluents or fillers are inert ingredients that can significantly affect the chemical and physical properties of the final tablet thus affecting the biopharmaceutical profile.” (page 1).
The skilled artisan would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent, binder, wetting agent and disintegrant and lubricant to compound
(reference claims). The artisan would have been motivated by ZHU’s teachings that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field). The artisan would have expected to use a known pharmaceutical tablet such as NAGI’s in order to make a fast release tablet (paragraph [0014]).
The artisan would be motivated to experiment with the weight percentages of each component in the pharmaceutical composition of the instant claims. NAGI teaches a composition (table 3). The artisan would have been motivated to optimize the pharmacokinetics (DAVE page 1). See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the weight percentages of the components in the instant claims is critical. This teaches 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
Claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. PG Pub 20240285635. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the compounds are the same.
Claim 1 teaches a pharmaceutical composition including carriers or excipients (used in a method).
NAGI teaches that pharmaceutical composition containing micronized tanaproget, microcrystalline cellulose, croscarmellose sodium, sodium lauryl sulfate, povidone, and magnesium stearate (paragraph [0010], and table 3).
Sigma Aldrich is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Sodium dodecyl sulfate is also known by the name sodium lauryl sulfate (page 1).
Kariduraganavar is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) is commonly called polyvidone or povidone (page 13).
NAGI teaches 90.15 wt% of microcrystalline cellulose (within the range of the instant diluent), 6.00 wt% of croscarmellose sodium (within the range of the instant Disintegrant), 2.0 wt% of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (one of the instant wetting agents), 1.5 wt% of povidone (within the range of instant binder), and 0.25 wt% of Magnesium Stearate (within the range of the instant lubricant) (table 3).
NAGI teaches abouw 2% wt/wt Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (paragraph [0051]).
NAGI as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich and Kariduraganavar teaches the diluent, binder, wetting agent, disintegrant, and lubricant of base claim 6. This helps teach claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
NAGI also teaches a solid pharmaceutical (“oral dosage unit” and “tablets” in paragraph [0014]). NAGI teaches that compositions of the instant invention provide for a fast drug release (paragraph [0014]).
ZHU teaches the compound
(reference claim 1 and claim 10). This teaches the compound of claim 6.
ZHU also teaches that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field).
DAVE teaches “Apart from the drug’s active ingredient, other essential components include diluents or fillers, binders, disintegrants, lubricants (i.e. wetting agents), coloring agents and preservatives. Diluents or fillers are inert ingredients that can significantly affect the chemical and physical properties of the final tablet thus affecting the biopharmaceutical profile.” (page 1).
The skilled artisan would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent, binder, wetting agent and disintegrant and lubricant to compound
(reference claims). The artisan would have been motivated by ZHU’s teachings that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field). The artisan would have expected to use a known pharmaceutical tablet such as NAGI’s in order to make a fast release tablet (paragraph [0014]).
The artisan would be motivated to experiment with the weight percentages of each component in the pharmaceutical composition of the instant claims. NAGI teaches a composition (table 3). The artisan would have been motivated to optimize the pharmacokinetics (DAVE page 1). See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the weight percentages of the components in the instant claims is critical. This teaches 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
Claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 of U.S. application 19/538,573. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the compounds are the same.
Reference Claim 1 teaches a pharmaceutical composition (used in a method) containing the instant compound of formula II.
NAGI teaches that pharmaceutical composition containing micronized tanaproget, microcrystalline cellulose, croscarmellose sodium, sodium lauryl sulfate, povidone, and magnesium stearate (paragraph [0010], and table 3).
Sigma Aldrich is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Sodium dodecyl sulfate is also known by the name sodium lauryl sulfate (page 1).
Kariduraganavar is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) is commonly called polyvidone or povidone (page 13).
NAGI teaches 90.15 wt% of microcrystalline cellulose (within the range of the instant diluent), 6.00 wt% of croscarmellose sodium (within the range of the instant Disintegrant), 2.0 wt% of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (one of the instant wetting agents), 1.5 wt% of povidone (within the range of instant binder), and 0.25 wt% of Magnesium Stearate (within the range of the instant lubricant) (table 3).
NAGI teaches abouw 2% wt/wt Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (paragraph [0051]).
NAGI as evidenced by Sigma Aldrich and Kariduraganavar teaches the diluent, binder, wetting agent, disintegrant, and lubricant of base claim 6. This helps teach claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
NAGI also teaches a solid pharmaceutical (“oral dosage unit” and “tablets” in paragraph [0014]). NAGI teaches that compositions of the instant invention provide for a fast drug release (paragraph [0014]).
ZHU teaches the compound
(reference claim 1 and claim 10). This teaches the compound of claim 6.
ZHU also teaches that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field).
DAVE teaches “Apart from the drug’s active ingredient, other essential components include diluents or fillers, binders, disintegrants, lubricants (i.e. wetting agents), coloring agents and preservatives. Diluents or fillers are inert ingredients that can significantly affect the chemical and physical properties of the final tablet thus affecting the biopharmaceutical profile.” (page 1).
The skilled artisan would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent, binder, wetting agent and disintegrant and lubricant to compound
(reference claim 1). The artisan would have been motivated by ZHU’s teachings that this compound can be made into a pharmaceutical composition (technical field). The artisan would have expected to use a known pharmaceutical tablet such as NAGI’s in order to make a fast release tablet (paragraph [0014]).
The artisan would be motivated to experiment with the weight percentages of each component in the pharmaceutical composition of the instant claims. NAGI teaches a composition (table 3). The artisan would have been motivated to optimize the pharmacokinetics (DAVE page 1). See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the weight percentages of the components in the instant claims is critical. This teaches 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 30, 32, 34, and 40.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed as written.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625