DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed 08/25/2026.
Claims 37-39, 43-45, 48-49, 52-54, and 59 have been amended. Claims 37-40, 43-45, 48-50, 52-55, and 59 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 08/25/2026 have been entered and fully considered.
The claim amendments have raised some indefiniteness issues that are addressed in detail in the 35 USC 112 rejections below. In general, it is unclear, according to the present specification, how the generated indication (second limitation in the independent claims) comprises two or more indications.
Taking the above into consideration, with regards to the cited references, it is believed the Mysore reference meets the limitation. Namely, in Mysore, the QSI indication can address UE groups either by using M bits per group, or by using each bit in M to address a particular group of UEs (paragraphs 0052-0055).
With regards to argument related to the Hong reference, they are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37, 48, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. These claims have been amended to recite corresponding versions of the limitation “an indication comprising two or more paging overload indications for the respective two or more groups of terminal devices, a respective paging overload indication of the two or more paging overload indications indicating whether a paging overload occurs at the paging occasion for a respective group of the two or more groups of terminal devices…”. In accordance with the present specification only a single indication is generated. The teachings of the specification indicate that said indication can be a one bit indication or a three bit indication (paragraph 0061 of the printed publication). This is different to saying that “multiple indications” are generated. The specification teaches that a single indication can be used to address up to three groups of UEs using bit information. Thus, it is unclear what the two or more indications now claimed refer to. Proper clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-40, 45, 48-50, 52-55, and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0303236; hereinafter Sun) in view of Mysore et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0014718; hereinafter Mysore).
Regarding claim 37 Sun discloses an apparatus (fig. 16), comprising:
at least one processor (controller 1620); and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor (memory 1610), the memory storing instructions therein, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causing the apparatus to:
transmit, to a plurality of terminal devices, configuration information for configuring paging occasions for paging message monitoring in a discontinuous reception cycle (paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0077, 0086, 0091, 0102; wherein a base station transmits configuration information to a UE including paging occasions (PO) in a DRX cycle);
generate an indication comprising two or more paging overload indications for the respective two or more terminal devices, a respective paging overload indication of the two or more paging overload indications indicating whether a paging overload occurs at the paging occasion for a respective group of terminal devices, thereby indicating whether the terminal devices of the respective group may stop monitoring paging messages for one or more further paging occasions (paragraphs 0057, 0100; wherein the base station generates paging queue status indications which indicate whether overload occurs at a paging occasion for a respective subset of UEs – this indication being a pending paging indication [paragraphs 0104-0105] – and/or the queue status indications indicating whether no paging overload occurs at a paging occasion – this indication being a queue empty indication [paragraphs 0053, 0056-0057, 0100], wherein when no overload is determined, i.e. the UEs receive the queue empty indication, these UEs are notified that they can return to sleep mode [paragraphs 0057, 0075, 0099]); and
transmit the indication in downlink control information that schedules transmission of one or more paging messages during the paging occasion (paragraph 0100; the indication is transferred to the UE via DCI message).
Sun discloses a base station communicating with one or more UEs (paragraphs 0057, 0100). Sun fails to explicitly disclose, but Mysore in the same field of endeavor related to paging transmission, discloses wherein the configuration information comprises a number of groups of terminal devices at a paging occasion (paragraphs 0025; wherein UEs are configured with UE group information), and wherein the number of groups of terminal devices is two or more (paragraphs 0026; with the UE groups being five in the example embodiment); an indication generated for two or more groups of UEs (paragraph 0029, 0032, 0091-0092, 0094; a base station communicates a quick sleep indication (QSI) to a group of UEs, the QSI can be included in a DCI addressed to the group of UEs; the QSI indication can address UE groups either by using M bits per group, or by using each bit in M to address a particular group of UEs - paragraphs 0052-0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Mysore, in order to conserve energy (Mysore: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 38 Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 37, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: one or more parameters of the discontinuous reception cycle (paragraph 0062, DRX cycle parameters for paging), a number of paging frames in the discontinuous reception cycle, a number of paging occasions per paging frame (paragraph 0070; paging opportunities per frame as per figures 3A-3C), a number of paging occasions per terminal device, and an offset to determine a paging frame (paragraphs 0070-0071; paging offsets).
Regarding claim 39 Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 37, wherein generating the indication is performed according to a determination on whether a channel is available for the respective group during the paging occasions (paragraphs 0067-0073; LBT fail or success).
Regarding claim 40 Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 37, wherein the configuration information is transmitted in system information or via a radio resource control signaling (paragraph 0088; RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 45 Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 37, wherein the respective paging overload indication of the two or more paging overload indications is a 1-bit information element (paragraph 0100; using one bit; also taught by Mysore: using each bit in M to address a particular group of UEs - paragraphs 0052-0055).
Regarding claim 48 Sun discloses an apparatus (fig. 12), comprising:
at least one processor (processor 1220); and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor (memory 1210), the memory storing instructions therein (paragraph 0361), the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causing the apparatus to:
receive, from a network device, configuration information for configuring paging occasions for paging message monitoring in a discontinuous reception cycle (paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0077, 0086, 0091, 0102; wherein a base station transmits configuration information to a UE including paging occasions (PO) in a DRX cycle);
monitor paging messages during the paging occasions (paragraphs 0062, 0075; POs are used by UEs to monitor paging from a base station); and
receive an indication comprising two or more paging overload indications for the respective two or more terminal devices, a respective paging overload indication of the two or more paging overload indications indicating whether a paging overload occurs at the paging occasion for a respective group of terminal devices, thereby indicating whether the terminal devices of the respective group may stop monitoring paging messages for one or more further paging occasions (paragraphs 0057, 0100; wherein the base station generates paging queue status indications which indicate whether overload occurs at a paging occasion for a respective subset of UEs – this indication being a pending paging indication [paragraphs 0104-0105] – and/or the queue status indications indicating whether no paging overload occurs at a paging occasion – this indication being a queue empty indication [paragraphs 0053, 0056-0057, 0100], wherein when no overload is determined, i.e. the UEs receive the queue empty indication, these UEs are notified that they can return to sleep mode [paragraphs 0057, 0075, 0099]), wherein the indication is received in downlink control information that schedules transmission of one or more paging messages during the paging occasion and that is addressed to a plurality of terminal devices of the two or more terminal devices, including the apparatus (paragraph 0100; the indication is transferred to the UE via DCI message); and
in response to a paging overload indication for the one group of terminal devices to which the apparatus belongs indicating that a paging overload occurs at the paging occasion, stop monitoring paging messages for the one or more further paging occasions (the queue status indications indicating whether no paging overload occurs at a paging occasion – this indication being a queue empty indication [paragraphs 0053, 0056-0057, 0100], wherein when no overload is determined, i.e. the UEs receive the queue empty indication, these UEs are notified that they can return to sleep mode [paragraphs 0057, 0075, 0099]).
Sun discloses a base station communicating with one or more UEs (paragraphs 0057, 0100). Sun fails to explicitly disclose, but Mysore in the same field of endeavor related to paging transmission, discloses wherein the configuration information comprises a number of groups of terminal devices at a paging occasion (paragraphs 0025; wherein UEs are configured with UE group information), and wherein the number of groups of terminal devices is two or more (paragraphs 0026; with the UE groups being five in the example embodiment); an indication generated for two or more groups of UEs (paragraph 0029, 0032, 0091-0092, 0094; a base station communicates a quick sleep indication (QSI) to a group of UEs, the QSI can be included in a DCI addressed to the group of UEs; the QSI indication can address UE groups either by using M bits per group, or by using each bit in M to address a particular group of UEs - paragraphs 0052-0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Mysore, in order to conserve energy (Mysore: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 49 Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 48, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: one or more parameters of the discontinuous reception cycle (paragraph 0062, DRX cycle parameters for paging), a number of paging frames in the discontinuous reception cycle, a number of paging occasions per paging frame (paragraph 0070; paging opportunities per frame as per figures 3A-3C), a number of paging occasions per terminal device, and an offset to determine a paging frame (paragraphs 0070-0071; paging offsets).
Regarding claim 50 Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 48, wherein the configuration information is received in system information or via a radio resource control signaling (paragraph 0088; RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 52 Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 48, wherein the respective paging overload indication of the two or more paging overload indications is a 1-bit information element (paragraph 0100; using one bit; also taught by Mysore: using each bit in M to address a particular group of UEs - paragraphs 0052-0055).
Regarding claim 53 Sun discloses a method (fig. 7), comprising:
receiving, from a network device, configuration information for configuring paging occasions for paging message monitoring in a discontinuous reception cycle (paragraphs 0070, 0075, 0077, 0086, 0091, 0102; wherein a base station transmits configuration information to a UE including paging occasions (PO) in a DRX cycle);
monitoring paging messages during the paging occasions (paragraphs 0062, 0075; POs are used by UEs to monitor paging from a base station); and
receiving an indication comprising two or more paging overload indications for the respective two or more terminal devices, a respective paging overload indication of the two or more paging overload indications indicating whether a paging overload occurs at the paging occasion for a respective group of terminal devices, thereby indicating whether the terminal devices of the respective group may stop monitoring paging messages for one or more further paging occasions (paragraphs 0057, 0100; wherein the base station generates paging queue status indications which indicate whether overload occurs at a paging occasion for a respective subset of UEs – this indication being a pending paging indication [paragraphs 0104-0105] – and/or the queue status indications indicating whether no paging overload occurs at a paging occasion – this indication being a queue empty indication [paragraphs 0053, 0056-0057, 0100], wherein when no overload is determined, i.e. the UEs receive the queue empty indication, these UEs are notified that they can return to sleep mode [paragraphs 0057, 0075, 0099]), wherein the indication is received in downlink control information that schedules transmission of one or more paging messages during the paging occasion and that is addressed to a plurality of terminal devices of the two or more terminal devices, including the apparatus (paragraph 0100; the indication is transferred to the UE via DCI message); and
in response to a paging overload indication for the one group of terminal devices to which the apparatus belongs indicating that a paging overload occurs at the paging occasion, stop monitoring paging messages for the one or more further paging occasions (the queue status indications indicating whether no paging overload occurs at a paging occasion – this indication being a queue empty indication [paragraphs 0053, 0056-0057, 0100], wherein when no overload is determined, i.e. the UEs receive the queue empty indication, these UEs are notified that they can return to sleep mode [paragraphs 0057, 0075, 0099]).
Sun discloses a base station communicating with one or more UEs (paragraphs 0057, 0100). Sun fails to explicitly disclose, but Mysore in the same field of endeavor related to paging transmission, discloses wherein the configuration information comprises a number of groups of terminal devices at a paging occasion (paragraphs 0025; wherein UEs are configured with UE group information), and wherein the number of groups of terminal devices is two or more (paragraphs 0026; with the UE groups being five in the example embodiment); an indication generated for two or more groups of UEs (paragraph 0029, 0032, 0091-0092, 0094; a base station communicates a quick sleep indication (QSI) to a group of UEs, the QSI can be included in a DCI addressed to the group of UEs; the QSI indication can address UE groups either by using M bits per group, or by using each bit in M to address a particular group of UEs - paragraphs 0052-0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Mysore, in order to conserve energy (Mysore: paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 54 Sun discloses the method of claim 53, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: one or more parameters of the discontinuous reception cycle (paragraph 0062, DRX cycle parameters for paging), a number of paging frames in the discontinuous reception cycle, a number of paging occasions per paging frame (paragraph 0070; paging opportunities per frame as per figures 3A-3C), a number of paging occasions per terminal device, and an offset to determine a paging frame (paragraphs 0070-0071; paging offsets).
Regarding claim 55 Sun discloses the method of claim 53, wherein the configuration information is received in system information or via a radio resource control signaling (paragraph 0088; RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 59 the modified Sun discloses the method of claim 53, wherein the respective paging overload indication of the two or more paging overload indications is a 1-bit information element (paragraph 0100; using one bit; also taught by Mysore: using each bit in M to address a particular group of UEs - paragraphs 0052-0055).
Claim(s) 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Mysore and further in view of Murray et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0404617; hereinafter Murray).
Regarding claim 43 the modified Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 37. Sun does not explicitly disclose, but Murray in the same field of endeavor related to paging transmission, discloses wherein the apparatus is caused to generate the indication by: comparing a number of paging recorders in the one or more paging messages with a threshold number for the respective group (paragraph 0300; paging records compared to the limited number that can be included in a paging message); and in response to determining the number of paging recorders exceeds the threshold number, generating the respective paging overload indication indicating that a paging overload occurs at the paging occasion for the respective group (paragraphs 0292, 0300-0301, 0460-0464; wherein for the determined number of UEs that can read the paging message, the indicator is sent to either monitor or not). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Murray, in order to increase paging efficiency in 5G (Murray: paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 44 the modified Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 37. Sun does not explicitly disclose, but Murray in the same field of endeavor related to paging transmission, discloses wherein the apparatus is caused to generate the indication by: comparing a payload size of the one or more paging messages with a transport block size (TBS) of a downlink channel for the respective group (paragraphs 0375-0377, 0407, 0495-0503; wherein a paging message size is compared to available resources for POs); and in response to determining the payload size of the one or more paging messages exceeds the TBS, generating the respective paging overload indication indicating that a paging overload occurs at the paging occasion for the respective group (paragraphs 0375-0377, 0407, 0495-0503; the paging indication informs the UE to monitor occasions within the slots/mini-slots accordingly). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Murray, in order to increase paging efficiency in 5G (Murray: paragraph 0123).
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2020/0092846 to Deng et al. – that discloses beamformed paging. A transmission/reception point (TRP) may transmit a paging inquiry signal using beam sweeping in a paging inquiry (PI) block with a different time, frequency resource set and/or sequence configuration associated with the same paging occasion (PO), for example, to randomize and/or distribute WTRUs into different monitoring groups. A WTRU may transmit an uplink paging inquiry response indicating a downlink beam for a paging data transmission and/or a WTRU ID.
USPN 11,818,686 to Zhou et al. – which teaches a UE that may receive configuration parameters indicating monitoring occasions of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for receiving a first downlink control information (DCI). The first DCI may comprise: a paging early indication (PEI) indicating whether to monitor paging occasions for receiving a second DCI scheduling a paging message; and a tracking reference signal (TRS) availability indication indicating whether a TRS is available. In response to skipping monitoring the monitoring occasions for receiving the first DCI, the wireless device may: determine that the TRS is unavailable, and monitor the paging occasions. The wireless device may receive, via the paging occasions and using a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the TRS being unavailable, the second DCI scheduling the paging message.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466