DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claims
Claim 2 has been cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-17 are pending, claims 9-17 are withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 3-8 are under current examination.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer (US20140193324A1, Published 07/10/2014; cited in the IDS filed 09/27/2022) in view of Turganbay et al. (Eurasian ChemTech Journal 14 (2012) 313-319) as evidenced by Young (US3799884A, Published 03/26/1974).
Applicant’s Invention
The applicant’s claims are drawn to a method of producing micronized sulphur, comprising the steps of: (a) preparing an emulsion of liquid sulphur in an aqueous dispersant solution comprising a surfactant in a concentration below 1.5% (wt.) and below its critical micelle concentration (CMC); and (b) solidifying the liquid sulphur droplets to produce a micronized sulphur suspension.
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claim 1, Iyer teaches a method for the production of micronized sulphur powder (page 1, paragraph [0011]). Iyer also teaches the method comprises heating solid sulphur stock to a temperature above a melting point of sulphur such that the sulphur stock melts and forms liquid sulphur; blending the liquid sulphur and dispersant solution together to produce an emulsified sulphur suspension (page 1, paragraph [0012]), wherein the dispersant solution is aqueous (page 6, claim 1). Iyer continues to teach in some embodiments a surfactant is effective for use as a dispersant agent (page 2, paragraph [0021]). Iyer also teaches it has been found that using Morwet™ D-425 (i.e., surfactant) at about 0.5 to 1.5 weight % with a water solvent produces a satisfactory dispersant solution (page 5, paragraph [0062]). Iyer further teaches the finely dispersed and molten sulphur droplets in that emulsification will solidify, forming micron sized solid sulphur particles (page 2, paragraph [0023]). Iyer also teaches sulphur particles wherein the process can be performed to select for particles of a certain average size, for example particles of about 100 microns, or in some embodiments particles of about 30 microns or smaller (paragraph 0054]). Iyer further teaches on cooling of the emulsified sulphur suspension in this fashion, the finely dispersed molten sulphur droplets in that emulsification will solidify, forming micron sized solid sulphur particles. The cooled sulphur emulsion at this point would be very stable as well and could be stored in this form before further processing (paragraph [0048]). As evidenced by Young, by adding the sulfur particles to an aqueous medium contained within the applicator storage vessel and pumping the resulting suspension in a closed circulation system through the pump of the applicator and back to the storage vessel, this comminutes the sulfur particles to the desired, finely subdivided state (column 2, lines 24-32); wherein the sulfur can be stored as the porous particulate sulfur and can be handled in either a dry state or as a suspension in water (column 2, lines 33-35). Young further teaches that it is preferred to incorporate a minor amount of a surfactant in the aqueous medium during, before, or after the comminution of the sulfur to stabilize the resulting suspension and reduce the frictional flow resistance of the suspension (column 2, lines 54-58). Therefore, a sulphur particle can be kept in suspension or used as a powder as the end product.
Regarding claim 3, Iyer teaches it will be understood that the ratio of dispersant agent used will be dependent upon the desired output of the process (e.g. desired average particle size) as well as the characteristics of the particular agent in question and that all such adjustments or modifications to the process are contemplated within the scope of the present invention (page 3, paragraph [0042]). Iyer also teaches it has been found that using Morwet™ D-425 (i.e., surfactant) at about 0.5 to 1.5 weight % with a water solvent produces a satisfactory dispersant solution (page 5, paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Iyer teaches in some embodiments a surfactant is effective for use as a dispersant agent, wherein Naphthalene Sulfonate (i.e., anionic surfactant) compounds such as in the trade product Morwet™ are used as a dispersant agent (page 2, paragraph [0021]) .
Regarding claim 6, Iyer teaches it has been found that using Morwet™ D-425 (i.e., surfactant) at about 0.5 to 1.5 weight % with a water solvent produces a satisfactory dispersant solution (page 5, paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Iyer teaches on cooling of the emulsified sulphur suspension in this fashion, the finely dispersed molten sulphur droplets in that emulsification will solidify, forming micron sized solid sulphur particles. The cooled sulphur emulsion at this point would be very stable as well and could be stored in this form before further processing with just mild mixing or agitation (page 5, paragraph [0048]).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Iyer does not teach a step of measuring the critical micelle concentration and the effect the critical micelle concentration has on particle size. However, this deficiency is cured by Turganbay et al.
In the analogous art of agriculture, Turganbay teaches Sulfur nanoparticles, which can be used in agriculture as a fungicide treatment (abstract). Turganbay also teaches since getting the stable dispersed system largely depends on the size of the dispersed phase, it is appropriate to study the effect of concentration of surfactants on the particle size of sulfur (Fig. 3). The experimental results showed that with the increase of the surfactant concentration there is an increase the size of the sulfur particles. At the critical micelle concentration, there is a minimum value of particle size (page 315, last paragraph). Turganbay teaches in Fig. 1, the influence of the critical micelle concentration of surfactant on the surface tension using a tensiometer (i.e., determining the CMC of a surfactant ) (beginning of page 315). The examiner points out that the instant specification in paragraph [0048] states that the CMC of a surfactant in solution may be quantified by empirically measuring surface tension.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the quantity of surfactant by measuring the CMC in the solution which would determine particle size in Iyer’s dispersant solution comprising a surfactant. Iyer teaches that the amount of dispersant agent (i.e., surfactant) depends upon factors, for example the desired average particle size, wherein the surfactant is Naphthalene Sulfonate. Naphthalene sulfone is also the same surfactant used in the instant specification. Iyer also teaches that using Morwet™ D-425 (i.e., surfactant) at about 0.5 to 1.5 weight % with a water solvent produces a satisfactory dispersant solution. This range of the surfactant taught by Iyer narrowly embraces the concentrations that are used in the instant application. One would have understood in view of Turganbay that an increase in surfactant concentration increase the size of sulfur particles and at the critical micelle concentration, there is a minimum value of particle size. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the quantity of surfactant by measuring the CMC in the solution which would determine particle size in Iyer’s dispersant solution comprising a surfactant because Turganbay teaches that there is a relationship between surfactant concentration, critical micelle concentration, and particle size and Iyer also teaches that the amount of surfactant is optimizable depending on factors like desired particle size.
With regards to the limitation wherein the mean or median particle size of micronized sulphur in the suspension does not substantially increase over 24 hours, 2, 3, or 4 days, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize this property as a result from the method steps. Iyer teaches that a surfactant is effective for use as a dispersant agent (page 2, paragraph [0021]). Iyer also teaches it has been found that using Morwet™ D-425 (i.e., surfactant) at about 0.5 to 1.5 weight % with a water solvent produces a satisfactory dispersant solution (page 5, paragraph [0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the mean or median particle size of micronized sulphur in the suspension to not substantially increase over 24 hours, 2, 3, or 4 days in Iyer’s micronized sulphur suspension because Iyer teaches doing the active steps to produce the micronized sulphur suspension with the claimed surfactant and with the claimed concentration of surfactant in an aqueous dispersant solution, therefore, this property is a result from the method steps.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer (US20140193324A1, Published 07/10/2014; cited in the IDS filed 09/27/2022) in view of Turganbay et al. (Eurasian ChemTech Journal 14 (2012) 313-319) in further view of Kijlstra et al (US 20110071228 A1, Published 03/24/2011) as evidenced by Young (US3799884A, Published 03/26/1974).
Applicant’s Invention
Iyer and Turganbay render obvious all the limitations of instant claim 1. Applicant’s claim 7 adds the limitation wherein the dispersant solution is made up with demineralized water.
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claim 7, Iyer teaches blending the liquid sulphur and dispersant solution together to produce an emulsified sulphur suspension (page 1, paragraph [0012]), wherein the dispersant solution is aqueous (page 6, claim 1).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Iyer and Turganbay do not teach wherein the dispersant solution is made up with demineralized water. However, this deficiency is cured by Kijlstra et al.
In the analogous art of emulsions in agriculture, Kijlstra teaches the invention contain an aqueous anionic polymer dispersion (page 2, paragraph [0026]). Kijlstra also teaches the polymer dispersion is in demineralized water (page 12, claim 6).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the dispersant solution be made up with demineralized water in Iyer’s dispersant solution. Iyer teaches the dispersant solution is aqueous (claim 1). One would have understood in view of Kijlstra that the demineralized water can be used in an aqueous dispersion. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a dispersant solution be made up with demineralized water in Iyer’s dispersant solution because in view of Kijlstra, demineralized water can be used as a source of water in the dispersion. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4-7 of Applicants remarks, Applicants argue that the CMC of a surfactant is not a “fixed value”, therefore, the value of the CMC needs to be determined empirically on a case-by-case basis and cannot be taken from the prior art. Applicants further argue that the claimed composition is not identical to the composition of Iyer because there is no suggestion in Iyer that the CMC is empirically determined. Lastly Applicants argue that the ultimate objective of Iyer is to produce the powdered product, therefore, Iyer is not attempting to solve the same problem to generate a suspension with long-term stability extending “24 hours, 2, 3, or 4 days”, as claimed.
These arguments are not persuasive. The Examiner reiterates that the prior art Iyer teaches the active method steps of the claimed invention such as preparing an emulsion of liquid sulphur in the aqueous dispersant solution and solidifying the liquid sulphur emulsion to produce the micronized sulphur suspension as recited in the rejection above, but does not specifically teach the step of determining the critical micelle concentration of a surfactant in an aqueous dispersant solution. Iyer teaches that a surfactant is effective for use as a dispersant agent (page 2, paragraph [0021]). Iyer also teaches it has been found that using Morwet™ D-425 (i.e., surfactant) at about 0.5 to 1.5 weight % with a water solvent produces a satisfactory dispersant solution (page 5, paragraph [0062]). With regards to Applicants arguments that the Iyer does not explicitly state the step of determining the critical micelle concentration of a surfactant, the Examiner points out that in this one case, the surfactant of Iyer would be inherently have a concentration below the CMC of the surfactant because Iyer teaches the same surfactant at the same concentrations as instantly claimed. Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an Applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971). Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) citing In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531, 173 USPQ 685 (1972). Absolute predictability is not a necessary prerequisite to a case of obviousness. Rather, a degree of predictability that one of ordinary skill would have found to be reasonable is sufficient. The Federal Circuit concluded that “[g]ood science and useful contributions do not necessarily result in patentability.” Id. at 1364, 83 USPQ2d at 1304. PharmaStem Therapeutics, Inc. v. Viacell, Inc., 491 F.3d 1342, 83 USPQ2d 1289 (Fed. Cir. 2007). The Examiner points out that Applicants have not shown that the critical micelle concentration of the surfactant in Iyer is not inherent but only arguing that one couldn’t know and must be determined. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
With regards to Applicants argument that the ultimate objective of Iyer is to produce the powdered product, therefore, Iyer is not attempting to solve the same problem to generate a suspension with long-term stability extending “24 hours, 2, 3, or 4 days”, as claimed, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
The Examiner points out that Iyer teaches the same claimed surfactant and the same concentration of the surfactant present in the aqueous dispersant solution, therefore, the micronized sulphur suspension of Iyer, wherein the average particle size does not increase over elongated periods of time is a property of Iyer’s suspension, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize this property as a result from the method steps because Iyer teaches doing the active steps to produce the micronized sulphur suspension.
On page 8 of Applicants arguments, Applicants argue that neither Turganbay nor Young disclose a stable suspension over elongated periods generated by applying surfactant below an empirically measured CMC, as none of the plots of Turganbay or Young provide data tracking particle size in an emulsion over time. Applicants further argue that there is no motivation to import the teachings of Turganbay into Iyer, as Iyer is not even attempting to provide stability using empirically measured CMC values.
The Examiner points out that Turganbay was relied on for the limitation of determining the critical micelle concentration of a surfactant in an aqueous dispersant solution. Turganbay teaches determining the CMC of a surfactant. One would have understood in view of Turganbay that an increase in surfactant concentration increase the size of sulfur particles and at the critical micelle concentration, there is a minimum value of particle size. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the quantity of surfactant by measuring the CMC in the solution which would determine particle size in Iyer’s dispersant solution comprising a surfactant because Turganbay teaches that there is a relationship between surfactant concentration, critical micelle concentration, and particle size and Iyer also teaches that the amount of surfactant is optimizable depending on factors like desired particle size.
The Examiner continues to point out that as Young was relied on to teach that by adding the sulfur particles to an aqueous medium contained within the applicator storage vessel and pumping the resulting suspension in a closed circulation system through the pump of the applicator and back to the storage vessel, this comminutes the sulfur particles to the desired, finely subdivided state (column 2, lines 24-32); wherein the sulfur can be stored as the porous particulate sulfur and can be handled in either a dry state or as a suspension in water (column 2, lines 33-35). Young further teaches that it is preferred to incorporate a minor amount of a surfactant in the aqueous medium during, before, or after the comminution of the sulfur to stabilize the resulting suspension and reduce the frictional flow resistance of the suspension (column 2, lines 54-58).
In response to Applicants argument that there is no motivation to import the teachings of Turganbay into Iyer, as Iyer is not even attempting to provide stability using empirically measured CMC values, the examiner refers Applicant to MPEP 2145(X)(A) which states: Applicants may also argue that the combination of two or more references is “hindsight” because “express” motivation to combine the references is lacking. However, there is no requirement that an “express, written motivation to combine must appear in prior art references before a finding of obviousness.” See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 1276, 69 USPQ2d 1686, 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP § 2141 and § 2143 for guidance regarding establishment of a prima facie case of obviousness. (Emphasis added.)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. US9278858B2 in view of Turganbay et al. (Eurasian ChemTech Journal 14 (2012) 313-319) as evidenced by as evidenced by Young (US3799884A, Published 03/26/1974).
The ‘858 patent embraces A method for the production of micronized sulphur particles, the method comprising: (a) producing an emulsion of liquid sulphur in an aqueous dispersant solution above a melting point of sulphur, wherein dispersant is present at between about 1 and about 100 parts per thousand of the dispersant solution; (b) cooling the sulphur emulsion to a temperature below the melting point of sulphur to solidify sulphur particles. The ‘858 patent also embraces wherein the dispersant comprises a naphthalene sulfonate compound (i.e., anionic surfactant) and is present at 0.5% to 1.5% by weight. The ‘858 further embraces further steps of drying the sulphur particles, and mixing the sulphur particles with ingredients to form dispersible micronized sulphur pellets. As evidenced by Young, by adding the sulfur particles to an aqueous medium contained within the applicator storage vessel and pumping the resulting suspension in a closed circulation system through the pump of the applicator and back to the storage vessel, this comminutes the sulfur particles to the desired, finely subdivided state (column 2, lines 24-32); wherein the sulfur can be stored as the porous particulate sulfur and can be handled in either a dry state or as a suspension in water (column 2, lines 33-35). Young further teaches that it is preferred to incorporate a minor amount of a surfactant in the aqueous medium during, before, or after the comminution of the sulfur to stabilize the resulting suspension and reduce the frictional flow resistance of the suspension (column 2, lines 54-58). Therefore, a sulphur particle can be kept in suspension or used as a powder as the end product.
The ‘858 patent does not teach the critical micelle concentration and the effect the critical micelle concentration has on particle size. However, Turganbay teaches Sulfur nanoparticles, which can be used in agriculture as a fungicide treatment (abstract). Turganbay also teaches Since getting the stable dispersed system largely depends on the size of the dispersed phase, it is appropriate to study the effect of concentration of surfactants on the particle size of sulfur (Fig. 3). The experimental results showed that with the increase of the surfactant concentration there is an increase the size of the sulfur particles. At the critical micelle concentration, there is a minimum value of particle size (page 315, last paragraph). Turganbay teaches in Fig. 1, the influence of the critical micelle concentration of surfactant on the surface tension using a tensiometer (i.e., determining the CMC of a surfactant ) (beginning of page 315). The examiner points out that the instant specification in paragraph [0048] states that the CMC of a surfactant in solution may be quantified by empirically measuring surface tension. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the quantity of surfactant by measuring the CMC in the solution which would determine particle size in ‘858 patent’s dispersant solution comprising a surfactant because Turganbay teaches that there is a relationship between surfactant concentration, critical micelle concentration, and particle size.
With regards to the limitation wherein the mean or median particle size of micronized sulphur in the suspension does not substantially increase over 24 hours, 2, 3, or 4 days, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize this property as a result from the method steps. ‘858 patent teaches the dispersant comprises a naphthalene sulfonate compound (i.e., anionic surfactant) and is present at 0.5% to 1.5% by weight. The ‘858 further embraces further steps of drying the sulphur particles, and mixing the sulphur particles with ingredients to form dispersible micronized sulphur pellets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the mean or median particle size of micronized sulphur in the suspension to not substantially increase over 24 hours, 2, 3, or 4 days in Iyer’s micronized sulphur suspension because Iyer teaches doing the active steps to produce the micronized sulphur suspension with the claimed surfactant and with the claimed concentration of surfactant in an aqueous dispersant solution, therefore, this property is a result from the method steps.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. US9278858B2 in view of Turganbay et al. (Eurasian ChemTech Journal 14 (2012) 313-319) as applied to claims 1, 3-6 and 8 above in further view of Kijlstra et al (US 20110071228 A1, Published 03/24/2011).
The relevant limitations of the ‘858 patent and Turganbay are set forth above.
The ‘858 patent does not teach wherein the dispersant solution is made up with demineralized water. However, Kijlstra teaches the invention contain an aqueous anionic polymer dispersion (page 2, paragraph [0026]). Kijlstra also teaches the polymer dispersion is in demineralized water (page 12, claim 6). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a dispersant solution be made up with demineralized water in ‘858 patent’s dispersant solution because in view of Kijlstra, demineralized water can be used as a source of water in the dispersion. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 with regards to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of Applicants remarks, Applicants argue that in view of the above submitted arguments Applicants maintains that the present claimed subject matter is not obvious over the claims of the ‘858 patent in view of Turganbay as evidenced by Young.
The Examiner’s response to the arguments concerning the 103 rejection addressed above applies to the arguments concerning the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The examiner points out that there is no evidence from Applicants that the 858 patent’s composition would not be stable. The examiner further points out that ‘858 patent teaches the same claimed surfactant and the same concentration of the surfactant present in the aqueous dispersant solution, therefore, the micronized sulphur suspension of ‘858 patent, therefore, ‘858 patent’s suspension that was formed must be stable. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
See MPEP 2143.01(I): The disclosure of desirable alternatives does not necessarily negate a suggestion for modifying the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention. In In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the claims of a utility patent application were directed to a shoe sole with increased traction having hexagonal projections in a "facing orientation." 391 F.3d at 1196-97, 73 USPQ2d at 1142. The Board combined a design patent having hexagonal projections in a facing orientation with a utility patent having other limitations of the independent claim. 391 F.3d at 1199, 73 USPQ2d at 1144. Applicant argued that the combination was improper because (1) the prior art did not suggest having the hexagonal projections in a facing (as opposed to a "pointing") orientation was the "most desirable" configuration for the projections, and (2) the prior art "taught away" by showing desirability of the "pointing orientation." 391 F.3d at 1200-01, 73 USPQ2d at 1145-46. The court stated that "the prior art' s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." Id. In affirming the Board' s obviousness rejection, the court held that the prior art as a whole suggested the desirability of the combination of shoe sole limitations claimed, thus providing a motivation to combine, which need not be supported by a finding that the prior art suggested that the combination claimed by the applicant was the preferred, or most desirable combination over the other alternatives. Id. See also In re Urbanski, 809 F.3d 1237, 1244, 117 USPQ2d 1499, 1504 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AFUA BAMFOAA BOATENGExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614