Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15-24 and 26-33 are pending.
Claims 4, 10, 14 and 25 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15-24 and 26-33 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 11 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180323916 A1) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180027441 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Yang and Kim.
In regard to Claim 1, Yang teaches A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Scenario 100 involves UE 1, which may be a part of a wireless communication network (e.g., an NR network), Para. 23, FIG. 1) served by a cell associated with a network entity (a TRP may be a gNB in a 5G/NR network, Para. 22. Scenario 100 involves TRP 1, Para. 23, FIG. 1), comprising: receiving a configuration (The CLI measurement configuration of the CLI RS, Para. 72) for receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) sounding reference signal (SRS) in a slot (CLI measurement in the first measurement slot, Para. 71, FIG. 6. The CLI RS may comprise at least a sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 72, FIG. 6) based at least in part on a downlink symbol (a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) or a flexible symbol of a first symbol pattern (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) for the first UE (Scenario 100 involves UE 1, Para. 23, FIG. 1).
Yang teaches, wherein the first symbol pattern for the slot (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) is indicated by a UE-specific (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise a node identity (ID), Para. 26, 50) time division duplexing (TDD) configuration (In New Radio (NR), dynamic time division duplex (TDD) and mini-slot transmission were introduced, Para. 5. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) for the first UE (each UE may receive the CLI measurement configuration to determine whether to transmit the CLI RS (e.g., SRS) or measure CLI RS (e.g., SRS) in each time interval (e.g. slot). In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2).
Yang teaches the UE-specific (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise a node identity (ID), Para. 26, 50) TDD configuration (The UE may be configured to measure the received power over SRS resource(s) (e.g. REs occupied by SRSs), Para. 38, FIG. 3. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) indicating which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as uplink symbols (Slot 302 may comprise an UL data region (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) and an ULCC region, Para. 39, FIG. 3) and which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as downlink symbols (Slot 302 may comprise a DLCC region, a CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) region, Para. 39, FIG. 3).
Yang teaches a single port for reception (receive, via transceiver 516, Para. 50, FIG. 5) and measurement of the CLI SRS (CLI measurement in the first measurement slot, Para. 71, FIG. 6. The CLI RS may comprise at least a sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 72, FIG. 6).
Yang teaches the single port being a first port (receive, via transceiver 516, Para. 50, FIG. 5) of a plurality of ports (transceiver 516 and transceiver 526, Para. 49, FIG. 5).
Yang teaches performing the measurement (At 650, process 600 may involve apparatus 510 performing the CLI measurement in the first measurement slot, Para. 71, FIG. 6) on the CLI SRS in the slot (At 640, process 600 may involve apparatus 510 receiving a CLI reference signal (RS) in the first measurement slot, Para. 70, FIG. 6) via the single port (receive, via transceiver 516, Para. 50, FIG. 5) based at least in part on the configuration (In New Radio (NR), dynamic time division duplex (TDD) and mini-slot transmission were introduced, Para. 5. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) for receiving the CLI SRS (At 640, process 600 may involve apparatus 510 receiving a CLI reference signal (RS) in the first measurement slot, Para. 70, FIG. 6).
Although Yang teaches a configuration for receiving the CLI SRS and teaches a single port for reception and measurement of the CLI SRS, Yang fails to teach wherein the configuration for receiving the signal indicates an aperiodic transmission of signal resources and indicates a single port, and although Yang teaches a plurality of ports, Yang fails to teach a plurality of ports of the first UE.
Kim teaches wherein the configuration for receiving the signal (power information may be transmitted using an nSCID of DM-RS transmitted in DCI, Para. 81) indicates an aperiodic transmission of signal resources (in the case where the UE receives a Demodulation RS (DM-RS), Para. 66) [the examiner notes that a single transmission of a DM-RS is substantively the same as “an aperiodic transmission”] and indicates a single port for reception and measurement of the signal (data power and interference power are measured and calculated through different ports. The eNB may indicate an antenna port through which the interference power is to be measured and calculated to the UE by DCI or RRC signaling, Para. 86), the single port being a first port (indicate an antenna port through which the interference power is to be measured, Para. 86) of a plurality of ports of the first UE (the UE should have prior knowledge of the respective ports through which data power and interference power are measured and calculated, Para. 86. RSs received through different antenna ports are used for measurement and calculation of data power and interference power, Para. 89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Yang since Kim provides a technique for indicating an antenna port for measuring interference in relation to a reference signal, which can be introduced into the system of Yang to permit a UE to utilize multiple antenna ports for improved signal receptions and to optimize receptions through measurement of a reference signal in a single antenna port indicated in a control signaling.
In regard to Claim 6, Yang teaches the measurement is a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement or a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement (The UE may be configured to measure the reference symbol received power (RSRP) of each SRS, Para. 35).
In regard to Claim 7, Yang teaches reporting the measurement for the CLI SRS to the network entity (the TRP determine to instruct its UEs to measure the SRS in the measurement slots. After measuring the CLI, the UE may be configured to feedback the measurement report to its serving TRP, Para. 34).
In regard to Claim 8, Yang teaches the measurement for the CLI SRS is configured to be performed aperiodically, semi-persistently, or periodically (the CLI measurement configuration may indicates periodic measurement slots, Para. 72).
In regard to Claim 11, Yang teaches the first UE (Scenario 100 involves UE 1, Para. 23, FIG. 1) associated with the first symbol pattern (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) is served by a first cell of a first network entity (Link 1 may be established between TRP 1 and UE 1 for data transmission between TRP 1 and UE 1, Para. 23, FIG. 1) and a second UE (each UE may receive the CLI measurement configuration to determine whether to transmit the CLI RS (e.g., SRS) or measure CLI RS (e.g., SRS) in each time interval (e.g. slot). In the third time interval, UE 2 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) associated with a second symbol pattern (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the third time interval, UE 2 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) is served by a second cell of a second, different network entity (Link 1 may be established between TRP 1 and UE 1 for data transmission between TRP 1 and UE 1. Link 2 may be established between TRP 2 and UE 2 for data transmission between TRP 2 and UE 2, Para. 23, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 29, Yang teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Scenario 100 involves UE 1, which may be a part of a wireless communication network (e.g., an NR network), Para. 23, FIG. 1) served by a cell associated with a network entity (a TRP may be a gNB in a 5G/NR network, Para. 22. Scenario 100 involves TRP 1, Para. 23, FIG. 1), comprising: at least one processor (processor 512, Para. 46, FIGS. 1, 5), at least one at least one memory in electronic communication with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor (a memory 514 coupled to processor 512 and capable of being accessed by processor 512 and storing data therein, Para. 49, FIG. 5) to cause the apparatus to: receive a configuration (The CLI measurement configuration of the CLI RS, Para. 72) for receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) sounding reference signal (SRS) in a slot (CLI measurement in the first measurement slot, Para. 71, FIG. 6. The CLI RS may comprise at least a sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 72, FIG. 6) based at least in part on a downlink symbol (a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) or a flexible symbol of a first symbol pattern (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) for the first UE (Scenario 100 involves UE 1, Para. 23, FIG. 1).
Yang teaches, wherein the first symbol pattern for the slot (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) is indicated by a UE-specific (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise a node identity (ID), Para. 26, 50) time division duplexing (TDD) configuration (In New Radio (NR), dynamic time division duplex (TDD) and mini-slot transmission were introduced, Para. 5. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) for the first UE (each UE may receive the CLI measurement configuration to determine whether to transmit the CLI RS (e.g., SRS) or measure CLI RS (e.g., SRS) in each time interval (e.g. slot). In the third time interval, UE 1 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2).
Yang teaches the UE-specific (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise a node identity (ID), Para. 26, 50) TDD configuration (The UE may be configured to measure the received power over SRS resource(s) (e.g. REs occupied by SRSs), Para. 38, FIG. 3. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) indicating which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as uplink symbols (Slot 302 may comprise an UL data region (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) and an ULCC region, Para. 39, FIG. 3) and which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as downlink symbols (Slot 302 may comprise a DLCC region, a CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) region, Para. 39, FIG. 3).
Yang teaches a single port for reception (receive, via transceiver 516, Para. 50, FIG. 5) and measurement of the CLI SRS (CLI measurement in the first measurement slot, Para. 71, FIG. 6. The CLI RS may comprise at least a sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 72, FIG. 6).
Yang teaches the single port being a first port (receive, via transceiver 516, Para. 50, FIG. 5) of a plurality of ports (transceiver 516 and transceiver 526, Para. 49, FIG. 5).
Yang teaches perform the measurement (At 650, process 600 may involve apparatus 510 performing the CLI measurement in the first measurement slot, Para. 71, FIG. 6) on the CLI SRS in the slot (At 640, process 600 may involve apparatus 510 receiving a CLI reference signal (RS) in the first measurement slot, Para. 70, FIG. 6) via the single port (receive, via transceiver 516, Para. 50, FIG. 5) based at least in part on the configuration (In New Radio (NR), dynamic time division duplex (TDD) and mini-slot transmission were introduced, Para. 5. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) for receiving the CLI SRS (At 640, process 600 may involve apparatus 510 receiving a CLI reference signal (RS) in the first measurement slot, Para. 70, FIG. 6).
Although Yang teaches a configuration for receiving the CLI SRS and teaches a single port for reception and measurement of the CLI SRS, Yang fails to teach the configuration for receiving the signal indicates an aperiodic transmission of signal resources and indicates a single port, and although Yang teaches a plurality of ports, Yang fails to teach a plurality of ports of the first UE.
Kim teaches the configuration for receiving the signal (power information may be transmitted using an nSCID of DM-RS transmitted in DCI, Para. 81) indicates an aperiodic transmission of signal resources (in the case where the UE receives a Demodulation RS (DM-RS), Para. 66) [the examiner notes that a single transmission of a DM-RS is substantively the same as “an aperiodic transmission”] and indicates a single port for reception and measurement of the signal (data power and interference power are measured and calculated through different ports. The eNB may indicate an antenna port through which the interference power is to be measured and calculated to the UE by DCI or RRC signaling, Para. 86), the single port being a first port (indicate an antenna port through which the interference power is to be measured, Para. 86) of a plurality of ports of the first UE (the UE should have prior knowledge of the respective ports through which data power and interference power are measured and calculated, Para. 86. RSs received through different antenna ports are used for measurement and calculation of data power and interference power, Para. 89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Yang since Kim provides a technique for indicating an antenna port for measuring interference in relation to a reference signal, which can be introduced into the system of Yang to permit a UE to utilize multiple antenna ports for improved signal receptions and to optimize receptions through measurement of a reference signal in a single antenna port indicated in a control signaling.
Claim(s) 2-3, 30 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kim, and further in view of Choi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190109732 A1), hereafter referred to as Choi.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yang in view of Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Kim fails to teach identifying a second UE-specific TDD configuration for a second UE comprising a second symbol pattern for the slot based at least in part on the configuration for receiving the CLI SRS in the slot.
Choi teaches identifying a second UE-specific TDD configuration for a second UE comprising a second symbol pattern for the slot based at least in part on the configuration for receiving the CLI SRS in the slot (trigger type 1: DCI formats 0/4/1A for FDD and TDD and DCI formats 2B/2C/2D for TDD, Para. 75, Table 1. The BS transmits a subset of SRS sequence generation parameters configured for SRS resources in which frequency hopping (e.g., intra-slot hopping (or referred to as symbol level hopping)) is enabled through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, Para. 118, FIG. 12. Different resources in SRS transmission slot 1 are allocated to UE 1 and UE 2, Para. 128, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yang in view of Kim teaches the slot.
Yang in view of Kim fails to teach a first symbol of the slot is configured as an uplink symbol in the first symbol pattern for the slot, the first symbol of the slot is configured as the flexible symbol or the downlink symbol in the second symbol pattern for the slot, and the CLI SRS is received during the first symbol.
Choi teaches a first symbol of the slot is configured as an uplink symbol in the first symbol pattern for the slot, the first symbol of the slot is configured as the flexible symbol or the downlink symbol in the second symbol pattern for the slot, and the CLI SRS is received during the first symbol (As shown in FIG. 15, the DCI for the first SRS slot indicates the first symbol SRS start RB index=1, Para. 158. The DCI for the second SRS slot may indicate the start symbol position of the configured SRS=8, Para. 159).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
In regard to Claim 30, as presented in the rejection of Claim 29, Yang in view of Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Kim fails to teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a second UE-specific TDD configuration for a second UE comprising a second symbol pattern for the slot based at least in part on the configuration for receiving the CLI SRS in the slot.
Choi teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a second UE-specific TDD configuration for a second UE comprising a second symbol pattern for the slot based at least in part on the configuration for receiving the CLI SRS in the slot (trigger type 1: DCI formats 0/4/1A for FDD and TDD and DCI formats 2B/2C/2D for TDD, Para. 75, Table 1. The BS transmits a subset of SRS sequence generation parameters configured for SRS resources in which frequency hopping (e.g., intra-slot hopping (or referred to as symbol level hopping)) is enabled through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, Para. 118, FIG. 12. Different resources in SRS transmission slot 1 are allocated to UE 1 and UE 2, Para. 128, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
In regard to Claim 33, as presented in the rejection of Claim 29, Yang in view of Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Kim fails to teach the SRS is configured to be transmitted according to a frequency hopping pattern.
Choi teaches the SRS is configured to be transmitted according to a frequency hopping pattern (a user equipment (UE) including receiving, from a base station, first information including information on at least one predetermined SRS sequence parameter configured interlocked with a frequency hopping pattern among SRS sequence parameters, generating an SRS sequence using a value of a parameter corresponding to a frequency hopping pattern configured in the UE, Para. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kim, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200245324 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim 2.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yang in view of Kim teaches the method.
Yang in view of Kim fails to teach receiving an indicator that at least a portion of a zero power CSI-RS resource is configured for rate matching a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission around a measurement resource for the CLI SRS.
Kim 2 teaches receiving an indicator that at least a portion of a zero power CSI-RS resource is configured for rate matching a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission around a measurement resource for the CLI SRS (a control region to which control channels are allocated and the remaining OFDM symbols are a data region to which PDSCHs are allocated, Para. 197. The NR BS may perform rate matching on resources except for a resource region to which the CRS is to be transmitted, Para. 212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim 2 with the teachings of Yang in view of Kim since Kim 2 provides a technique for channel state information-reference signal patterns, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Kim to ensure efficient assessment of wireless resources through appropriate patterns of reference signaling.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kim, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160330011 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yang in view of Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Kim fails to teach the CLI SRS is configured to be transmitted according to interlaced frequency resources, using a code of a plurality of orthogonal codes, according to a frequency hopping pattern, or a combination thereof.
Lee teaches the CLI SRS is configured to be transmitted according to interlaced frequency resources, using a code of a plurality of orthogonal codes, according to a frequency hopping pattern, or a combination thereof (The SRS transmission may use a comb-like structure such that the SRS may be interlaced over different REs within a single symbol. The UL SRS may in addition or alternatively use or apply frequency hopping, Para. 269).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Yang in view of Kim since Lee provides a technique for controlling usage of transmission resources in uplink and downlink based on transmission overlap, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Kim to ensure collisions between transmissions in opposite directions are compensated for and to promote full usage of available resources despite any potential collisions that arise.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kim, and further in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150071196 A1), hereafter referred to as Park.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Yang in view of Kim teaches the first UE.
Yang in view of Kim fails to teach the first UE associated with the first symbol pattern and a second UE associated with a second symbol pattern are served by a same cell.
Park teaches the first UE associated with the first symbol pattern and a second UE associated with a second symbol pattern are served by a same cell (The CoMP UE may be co-scheduled with another UE (UE-A) of cell A, Para. 146, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Yang in view of Kim since Park provides a technique for hopping patterns for SRS transmissions involving a UEs served by base stations, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Kim to ensure assessments of wireless resources for multiple terminals served by a single base station.
Claim(s) 13, 23, 27 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180323916 A1) in view of Eyuboglu (Patent No.: US 11140695 B1) and Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180027441 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Yang, Eyuboglu, and Kim.
In regard to Claim 13, Yang teaches A method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Scenario 100 involves UE 1, which may be a part of a wireless communication network (e.g., an NR network), Para. 23, FIG. 1) served by a cell associated with a network entity (a TRP may be a gNB in a 5G/NR network, Para. 22. Scenario 100 involves TRP 1, Para. 23, FIG. 1), comprising: receiving a first configuration (The CLI measurement configuration of the CLI RS, Para. 72) for transmitting a first cross-link interference (CLI) sounding reference signal (SRS) in a slot (Each UE may receive the CLI measurement configuration to determine whether to transmit the CLI RS (e.g., SRS) or measure CLI RS (e.g., SRS) in each time interval (e.g. slot), Para. 29, FIG. 2. The CLI RS may comprise at least a sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 72, FIG. 6. In the second time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) based at least in part on a downlink symbol (a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the second time interval, UE 2 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) or a flexible symbol of a first symbol pattern (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26) for a second UE (UE 2, Para. 29, FIG. 2).
Yang teaches, wherein the first symbol pattern for the slot (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the second time interval, UE 2 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) is indicated by a UE-specific (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise a node identity (ID), Para. 26, 50) time division duplexing (TDD) configuration (In New Radio (NR), dynamic time division duplex (TDD) and mini-slot transmission were introduced, Para. 5. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) for the second UE (each UE may receive the CLI measurement configuration to determine whether to transmit the CLI RS (e.g., SRS) or measure CLI RS (e.g., SRS) in each time interval (e.g. slot). In the second time interval, UE 2 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2).
Yang teaches the UE-specific (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise a node identity (ID), Para. 26, 50) TDD configuration (The UE may be configured to measure the received power over SRS resource(s) (e.g. REs occupied by SRSs), Para. 38, FIG. 3. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) indicating which symbols of the slot are configured for the second UE as uplink symbols (Slot 302 may comprise an UL data region (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) and an ULCC region, Para. 39, FIG. 3) and which symbols of the slot are configured for the second UE as downlink symbols (Slot 302 may comprise a DLCC region, a CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) region, Para. 39, FIG. 3).
Yang teaches receiving a second configuration (The CLI measurement configuration of the CLI RS, Para. 72) [the examiner notes that there is no limitation requiring that a “first configuration” is different from a “second configuration”] for transmitting a second CLI SRS (in the first time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2), wherein the second configuration configures the second CLI SRS according to one or more of a first set of symbols (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 72).
Yang teaches wherein the first configuration (The CLI measurement configuration of the CLI RS, Para. 72) configures the first CLI SRS for transmission (In the second time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) according to one or more of a second set of symbols of the slot not subject to the restriction (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 72).
Yang teaches transmitting, to the second UE, the first CLI SRS in the slot (In the second time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS and UE 2 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) according to the first configuration (In New Radio (NR), dynamic time division duplex (TDD) and mini-slot transmission were introduced, Para. 5. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) for transmitting the first CLI SRS (In the second time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2).
Although Yang teaches a first configuration for transmitting, Yang fails to teach wherein the first configuration for transmitting the first CLI SRS indicates an aperiodic transmission of SRS resources and indicates a single port for transmission of the first CLI SRS, the single port being a first port of a plurality of ports, and although Yang teaches the second configuration configures the second CLI SRS according to one or more of a first set of symbols, Yang fails to teach a first set of symbols subject to a restriction, the restriction being for a slot placement of CLI SRS transmitted for measurement by the network entity.
Eyuboglu teaches wherein the first configuration (UE can be configured with multiple SRS resource sets, Col. 61, lines 55-60. The MNC requests all RF nodes in the vicinity of the UE to perform SRS measurements, Col. 62, lines 5-7. UEs (or MPs) are capable of performing beam measurements to detect cross-link interference from neighboring UEs (or MPs), for example using SRS measurements, and report it to their serving RF node, Col. 125, lines 44-49. All neighboring RF nodes may measure the total received power from these transmissions and report it to their serving RF nodes. For example, when a UE (or MP) reports that it is subject to cross-link interference from a neighboring UE, Col. 125, lines 49-61) for transmitting the first CLI SRS (To allow other UEs to measure cross-link interference, in some applications, UEs are configured to transmit SRS, Col. 101, lines 9-11) indicates an aperiodic transmission of SRS resources (An SRS resource is also associated with a DL reference signal resource; i.e., CSI-RS, Col. 62, lines 1-2. CSI-RS transmissions can be aperiodic, Col. 62, lines 31-32) and indicates a single port for transmission of the first CLI SRS (In some deployments, the SRS configuration 691 may be for a 1-antenna port, Col. 76, lines 62-66, FIG. 69), the single port being a first port of a plurality of ports (the SRS configuration 691 may be for a 1-antenna port or a 2-antenna port SRS transmission, meaning that the reference signal is transmitted using up to 2 digital antenna ports, Col. 76, lines 62-66, FIG. 69).
Eyuboglu teaches a first set of symbols (each SRS transmission occupies 1 OFDM symbol in certain designated slots, Col. 114, lines 33-37. Symbol positions {10-13} in the last 16 slots, Col. 117, lines 50-52) subject to a restriction, the restriction being for a slot placement of CLI SRS transmitted (the UE is further configured for M periodic SRS transmissions, where each SRS transmission occupies 1 OFDM symbol in certain designated slots, Col. 114, lines 33-37. Symbol positions {10-13} in the last 16 slots of every 80-slot 5 ms half-frame are set aside for RF nodes to receive SRS transmissions from the UEs, Col. 117, lines 50-52) for measurement by the network entity (MP-GWs also wirelessly transmit/receive information to/from other Mesh Points (MPs) in the mesh network, Col. 19, lines 56-59. MPs are capable of performing beam measurements to detect cross-link interference from neighboring UEs (or MPs), for example using SRS measurements, Col. 125, lines 44-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eyuboglu with the teachings of Yang since Eyuboglu provides a technique for UEs to measure cross-link interference from neighboring UEs in relation to SRS transmissions of an antenna port, which can be introduced into the system of Yang to permit accurate CLI measurements by a UE through a CLI measurement configuration that indicates an antenna port involving a specific CLI RS resource arrangement for SRS.
Although Yang in view of Eyuboglu teaches a plurality of ports, Yang in view of Eyuboglu fails to teach a plurality of ports of the first UE.
Kim teaches the single port being a first port (data power and interference power are measured and calculated through different ports. The eNB may indicate an antenna port through which the interference power is to be measured and calculated to the UE by DCI or RRC signaling, Para. 86) of a plurality of ports of the first UE (the UE should have prior knowledge of the respective ports through which data power and interference power are measured and calculated, Para. 86. RSs received through different antenna ports are used for measurement and calculation of data power and interference power, Para. 89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu since Kim provides a technique for indicating an antenna port for measuring interference in relation to a reference signal, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu to permit a UE to utilize multiple antenna ports for improved signal receptions and to optimize receptions through measurement of a reference signal in a single antenna port indicated in a control signaling.
In regard to Claim 23, Yang teaches the first CLI SRS is configured to be transmitted aperiodically, semi-persistently, or periodically (the CLI measurement configuration may indicates periodic measurement slots, Para. 72).
In regard to Claim 27, Yang teaches the first UE is served by a first cell of a first network entity and the second UE is served by a second cell of a second, different network entity (Link 1 may be established between TRP 1 and UE 1 for data transmission between TRP 1 and UE 1. Link 2 may be established between TRP 2 and UE 2 for data transmission between TRP 2 and UE 2, Para. 23, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 31, Yang teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Scenario 100 involves UE 1, which may be a part of a wireless communication network (e.g., an NR network), Para. 23, FIG. 1) served by a cell associated with a network entity (a TRP may be a gNB in a 5G/NR network, Para. 22. Scenario 100 involves TRP 1, Para. 23, FIG. 1), comprising: at least one processor (processor 512, Para. 46, FIGS. 1, 5), at least one memory in electronic communication with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor (a memory 514 coupled to processor 512 and capable of being accessed by processor 512 and storing data therein, Para. 49, FIG. 5) to cause the apparatus to: receive a first configuration (The CLI measurement configuration of the CLI RS, Para. 72) for transmitting a first cross-link interference (CLI) sounding reference signal (SRS) in a slot (Each UE may receive the CLI measurement configuration to determine whether to transmit the CLI RS (e.g., SRS) or measure CLI RS (e.g., SRS) in each time interval (e.g. slot), Para. 29, FIG. 2. The CLI RS may comprise at least a sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 72, FIG. 6) based at least in part on a downlink symbol (a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the second time interval, UE 2 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) or a flexible symbol of a first symbol pattern (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26) for a second UE (UE 2, Para. 29, FIG. 2).
Yang teaches, wherein the first symbol pattern for the slot (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 26. In the second time interval, UE 2 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) is indicated by a UE-specific (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise a node identity (ID), Para. 26, 50) time division duplexing (TDD) configuration (In New Radio (NR), dynamic time division duplex (TDD) and mini-slot transmission were introduced, Para. 5. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) for the second UE (each UE may receive the CLI measurement configuration to determine whether to transmit the CLI RS (e.g., SRS) or measure CLI RS (e.g., SRS) in each time interval (e.g. slot). In the second time interval, UE 2 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2).
Yang teaches the UE-specific (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise a node identity (ID), Para. 26, 50) TDD configuration (The UE may be configured to measure the received power over SRS resource(s) (e.g. REs occupied by SRSs), Para. 38, FIG. 3. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) indicating which symbols of the slot are configured for the second UE as uplink symbols (Slot 302 may comprise an UL data region (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) and an ULCC region, Para. 39, FIG. 3) and which symbols of the slot are configured for the second UE as downlink symbols (Slot 302 may comprise a DLCC region, a CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) region, Para. 39, FIG. 3).
Yang teaches receive a second configuration (The CLI measurement configuration of the CLI RS, Para. 72) [the examiner notes that there is no limitation requiring that a “first configuration” is different from a “second configuration”] for transmitting a second CLI SRS (in the first time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2), wherein the second configuration configures the second CLI SRS according to one or more of a first set of symbols (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 72).
Yang teaches wherein the first configuration (The CLI measurement configuration of the CLI RS, Para. 72) configures the first CLI SRS for transmission (In the second time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) according to one or more of a second set of symbols of the slot not subject to the restriction (The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS, Para. 72).
Yang teaches transmit, to the second UE, the first CLI SRS in the slot (In the second time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS and UE 2 may be configured to receive the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2) via the configuration (In New Radio (NR), dynamic time division duplex (TDD) and mini-slot transmission were introduced, Para. 5. At 610, process 600 may involve apparatus 510, as a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) for transmitting the first CLI SRS (In the second time interval, UE 1 may be configured to transmit the CLI RS, Para. 29, FIG. 2).
Although Yang teaches a first configuration for transmitting, Yang fails to teach wherein the first configuration for transmitting the first CLI SRS indicates an aperiodic transmission of SRS resources and indicates a single port for transmission of the first CLI SRS, the single port being a first port of a plurality of ports, and although Yang teaches the second configuration configures the second CLI SRS according to one or more of a first set of symbols, Yang fails to teach a first set of symbols subject to a restriction, the restriction being for a slot placement of CLI SRS transmitted for measurement by the network entity.
Eyuboglu teaches wherein the first configuration (UE can be configured with multiple SRS resource sets, Col. 61, lines 55-60. The MNC requests all RF nodes in the vicinity of the UE to perform SRS measurements, Col. 62, lines 5-7. UEs (or MPs) are capable of performing beam measurements to detect cross-link interference from neighboring UEs (or MPs), for example using SRS measurements, and report it to their serving RF node, Col. 125, lines 44-49. All neighboring RF nodes may measure the total received power from these transmissions and report it to their serving RF nodes. For example, when a UE (or MP) reports that it is subject to cross-link interference from a neighboring UE, Col. 125, lines 49-61) for transmitting the CLI SRS (To allow other UEs to measure cross-link interference, in some applications, UEs are configured to transmit SRS, Col. 101, lines 9-11) indicates an aperiodic transmission of SRS resources (An SRS resource is also associated with a DL reference signal resource; i.e., CSI-RS, Col. 62, lines 1-2. CSI-RS transmissions can be aperiodic, Col. 62, lines 31-32) and indicates a single port for transmission of the first CLI SRS (In some deployments, the SRS configuration 691 may be for a 1-antenna port, Col. 76, lines 62-66, FIG. 69), the single port being a first port of a plurality of ports (the SRS configuration 691 may be for a 1-antenna port or a 2-antenna port SRS transmission, meaning that the reference signal is transmitted using up to 2 digital antenna ports, Col. 76, lines 62-66, FIG. 69).
Eyuboglu teaches a first set of symbols (each SRS transmission occupies 1 OFDM symbol in certain designated slots, Col. 114, lines 33-37. Symbol positions {10-13} in the last 16 slots, Col. 117, lines 50-52) subject to a restriction, the restriction being for a slot placement of CLI SRS transmitted (the UE is further configured for M periodic SRS transmissions, where each SRS transmission occupies 1 OFDM symbol in certain designated slots, Col. 114, lines 33-37. Symbol positions {10-13} in the last 16 slots of every 80-slot 5 ms half-frame are set aside for RF nodes to receive SRS transmissions from the UEs, Col. 117, lines 50-52) for measurement by the network entity (MP-GWs also wirelessly transmit/receive information to/from other Mesh Points (MPs) in the mesh network, Col. 19, lines 56-59. MPs are capable of performing beam measurements to detect cross-link interference from neighboring UEs (or MPs), for example using SRS measurements, Col. 125, lines 44-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eyuboglu with the teachings of Yang since Eyuboglu provides a technique for UEs to measure cross-link interference from neighboring UEs in relation to SRS transmissions of an antenna port, which can be introduced into the system of Yang to permit accurate CLI measurements by a UE through a CLI measurement configuration that indicates an antenna port involving a specific CLI RS resource arrangement for SRS.
Although Yang in view of Eyuboglu teaches a plurality of ports, Yang in view of Eyuboglu fails to teach a plurality of ports of the first UE.
Kim teaches the single port being a first port (data power and interference power are measured and calculated through different ports. The eNB may indicate an antenna port through which the interference power is to be measured and calculated to the UE by DCI or RRC signaling, Para. 86) of a plurality of ports of the first UE (the UE should have prior knowledge of the respective ports through which data power and interference power are measured and calculated, Para. 86. RSs received through different antenna ports are used for measurement and calculation of data power and interference power, Para. 89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu since Kim provides a technique for indicating an antenna port for measuring interference in relation to a reference signal, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu to permit a UE to utilize multiple antenna ports for improved signal receptions and to optimize receptions through measurement of a reference signal in a single antenna port indicated in a control signaling.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Eyuboglu, Kim, and further in view of Choi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190109732 A1), hereafter referred to as Choi.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach transmitting the first CLI SRS applies a timing advance for uplink shared channel transmissions.
Choi teaches transmitting the first CLI SRS applies a timing advance for uplink shared channel transmissions (A UE may be configured to transmit SRS on Np antenna ports of a serving cell where Np may be configured by higher layer signalling. For PUSCH transmission mode 1 Np ∈ {0, 1, 2, 4} and for PUSCH transmission mode 2 Np ∈ {0, 1, 2} with two antenna ports configured for PUSCH and Np ∈ {0, 1, 4} with 4 antenna ports configured for PUSCH, Para. 77, Table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach transmitting the first CLI SRS applies a timing advance for the first CLI SRS that is different from a timing advance for uplink shared channel transmissions.
Choi teaches transmitting the first CLI SRS applies a timing advance for the first CLI SRS that is different from a timing advance for uplink shared channel transmissions (the UE shall not transmit trigger type 0 SRS in a subframe of radio frame m that is indicated by the parameter eimta-HarqReferenceConfig-r12 as a downlink subframe unless the UE transmits PUSCH in the same subframe. Trigger type 1 SRS configuration of a UE in a serving cell for SRS periodicity, TSRS,1, and SRS subframe offset, Toffset, Para. 77, Table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach determining that an uplink transmission during an uplink symbol period subsequent to the first CLI SRS is scheduled to collide with the first CLI SRS based at least in part on the timing advance for the first CLI SRS and the timing advance for the uplink shared channel transmissions; and dropping the uplink transmission from the uplink symbol period.
Choi teaches determining that an uplink transmission during an uplink symbol period subsequent to the first CLI SRS is scheduled to collide with the first CLI SRS based at least in part on the timing advance for the first CLI SRS and the timing advance for the uplink shared channel transmissions; and dropping the uplink transmission from the uplink symbol period (A UE shall not transmit SRS whenever SRS and a PUSCH transmission corresponding to a Random Access Response Grant or a retransmission of the same transport block as part of the contention based random access procedure coincide in the same subframe, Para. 77, Table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach the timing advance for the first CLI SRS is a zero-valued timing advance.
Choi teaches the timing advance for the first CLI SRS is a zero-valued timing advance (the sequence parameter indices in resource to be allocated in SRS transmission slot 1 are TC=1, TC offset=0, Para. 127).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach receiving the timing advance for the first CLI SRS from the network entity.
Choi teaches receiving the timing advance for the first CLI SRS from the network entity (The BS may transmit various combinations of TC, TC offset, Para. 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Choi provides a technique for differing hopping patterns for SRS transmission, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to permit SRS transmissions to provide sounding in a manner that reduces interference to other wireless devices and that enacts more comprehensive sounding of wireless resources over time.
Claim(s) 20-22, 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Eyuboglu, Kim, and further in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150071196 A1), hereafter referred to as Park.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the first CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach a transmit power for the first CLI SRS is based at least in part on a transmit power control (TPC) loop for physical uplink shared channel transmissions.
Park teaches a transmit power for the first CLI SRS is based at least in part on a transmit power control (TPC) loop for physical uplink shared channel transmissions (CSI-RS based Open-Loop Power Control (OLPC) is applied to a cell to which the SRS, the PUSCH and/or the PUCCH are commonly directed, Para. 289).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Park provides a technique for hopping patterns for SRS transmissions involving a UEs served by base stations, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to ensure assessments of wireless resources for multiple terminals served by a single base station.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach a transmit power for the first CLI SRS is based at least in part on an open loop power control parameter for the first CLI SRS.
Park teaches a transmit power for the first CLI SRS is based at least in part on an open loop power control parameter for the first CLI SRS (A reference factor for UL OLPC is a pathloss value, and this can be regarded that the factor is determined based on a value calculated using the CSI-RS which is a DL RS from the cell corresponding to the VCI, Para. 289).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Park provides a technique for hopping patterns for SRS transmissions involving a UEs served by base stations, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to ensure assessments of wireless resources for multiple terminals served by a single base station.
In regard to Claim 22, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach the open loop power control parameter comprises a fixed power level for CLI SRS transmissions.
Park teaches the open loop power control parameter comprises a fixed power level for CLI SRS transmissions (a Power Control (PC) operation of an SRS which is tied with a PUSCH PC operation for link adaptation of the PUSCH by a difference of a predetermined constant value, Para. 286).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Park provides a technique for hopping patterns for SRS transmissions involving a UEs served by base stations, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to ensure assessments of wireless resources for multiple terminals served by a single base station.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the first CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach applying a precoding matrix to the first CLI SRS corresponding to a serving precoding matrix.
Park teaches applying a precoding matrix to the first CLI SRS corresponding to a serving precoding matrix (feedback an indicator associated with channel quality, e.g., Precoding Matrix Index (PMI), Para. 55. RS associated with feedback of CSI such as PMI for a new antenna port, Para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Park provides a technique for hopping patterns for SRS transmissions involving a UEs served by base stations, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to ensure assessments of wireless resources for multiple terminals served by a single base station.
In regard to Claim 28, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the first UE.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach the first UE and the second UE are served by a same cell.
Park teaches the first UE and the second UE are served by a same cell (The CoMP UE may be co-scheduled with another UE (UE-A) of cell A, Para. 146, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Park provides a technique for hopping patterns for SRS transmissions involving a UEs served by base stations, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to ensure assessments of wireless resources for multiple terminals served by a single base station.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Eyuboglu, Kim, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160330011 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 13, Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim fails to teach the first CLI SRS is configured to be transmitted according to interlaced frequency resources, using a code of a plurality of orthogonal codes, according to a frequency hopping pattern, or a combination thereof.
Lee teaches the first CLI SRS is configured to be transmitted according to interlaced frequency resources, using a code of a plurality of orthogonal codes, according to a frequency hopping pattern, or a combination thereof (The SRS transmission may use a comb-like structure such that the SRS may be interlaced over different REs within a single symbol. The UL SRS may in addition or alternatively use or apply frequency hopping, Para. 269).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim since Lee provides a technique for controlling usage of transmission resources in uplink and downlink based on transmission overlap, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Eyuboglu and Kim to ensure collisions between transmissions in opposite directions are compensated for and to promote full usage of available resources despite any potential collisions that arise.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kim, and further in view of Stirling-Gallacher et al. (Patent No.: US 10673652 B2), hereafter referred to as Stirling.
In regard to Claim 32, as presented in the rejection of Claim 29, Yang in view of Kim teaches the CLI SRS.
Yang in view of Kim fails to teach the SRS is configured to be transmitted according to interlaced frequency resources in accordance with a frequency domain comb and a frequency domain comb offset.
Stirling teaches the SRS is configured to be transmitted according to interlaced frequency resources in accordance with a frequency domain comb and a frequency domain comb offset (the TRP may provide to the UE the following configuration parameters: TRP or UE specific parameters Number of symbols and/or subframes per different UE communications beam, and Number of symbols and/or subframes for different TRP communications beam, Col. 18, lines 34-54. Additional configuration information may be provided by the TRP in the deployment using the modified SRS resource. The additional configuration information includes: TRP specific SRS configuration Frequency comb spacing, e.g., 2, 4, and so on. UE specific configuration UE specific subcarrier offset for the first RF chain of the frequency comb, Col. 18, lines 55-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Stirling with the teachings of Yang in view of Kim since Stirling provides a technique for configuring SRS resources involving a frequency comb, which can be introduced into the system of Yang in view of Kim to permit appropriate detailed configuration of symbol resources among communication beams and related offset values of frequency comb.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that For example, Yang describes how the CLI configuration comprises "a node identity (ID), a time-frequency location, a slot number or a symbol number of the CLI RS"6 but none of these components of Yang's CLI configuration teach or suggest "a UE specific TDD configuration indicating which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as uplink symbols and which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as downlink symbols," as recited in amended independent claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Yang teaches in Para. 26: “The CLI measurement configuration may comprise at least one of a node identity (ID)”. A node identity (ID) of Yang is substantively the same as UE-specific of Claim 1.
Yang teaches in Para. 38: “The UE may be configured to measure the received power over SRS resource(s) (e.g. REs occupied by SRSs)” (emphasis added). Yang teaches in Para. 67: “a first node of a wireless network, receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration” (emphasis added). A cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration of Yang utilized by a UE for measuring REs of SRS resources, is substantively the same as a TDD configuration of Claim 1.
Yang teaches in Para. 39 and FIG. 3: “Slot 302 may comprise a DLCC region, a Tx/Rx transition gap, a CLI-RS (e.g., SRS) region, an UL data region (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) and an ULCC region” (emphasis added). A Slot 302 of Yang comprising various downlink and uplink regions, is substantively the same as symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as uplink symbols and which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as downlink symbols of Claim 1.
Therefore, a UE receiving a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration for REs of SRS resources involving a slot’s various downlink and uplink regions of Yang, is substantively the same as a UE-specific TDD configuration indicating which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as uplink symbols and which symbols of the slot are configured for the first UE as downlink symbols of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
4-13-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477