DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended claims 10, 16, 19, and 25. Claims 10 and 13-25 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 13, 14, 17, and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hogdahl (US 20180185583, henceforth Hogdahl, previously made of reference).
Regarding claim 10, Hogdahl discloses a medicament delivery device (medicament delivery device 10, fig. 1) comprising: a housing (proximal housing part 16 and distal housing part 18, fig. 1) arranged to accommodate a medicament container (medicament container 26, fig. 1; housing parts 16 and 18 are arranged to accommodate the container where they hold the container in the assembled device, see [0027]); a power pack (power unit 64, fig. 2) arranged to exert a force on the medicament container for expelling a dose of medicament ([0036]), where the power pack comprises: a plunger rod (plunger rod 112, fig. 2), wherein the plunger rod is arranged with a longitudinal groove (circumferential groove 122, fig. 2, which is a longitudinal groove where it extends along a short length of the longitudinal axis of the plunger rod 112), wherein the longitudinal groove is arranged parallel to a longitudinal axis of the plunger rod (the longitudinal axis is the axis concentric with plunger rod 112 and guide rod 120 as shown in fig. 3a; the longitudinal groove is arranged parallel to this axis where it extends along a short distance of it about the circumference of the plunger rod 112) and extends from a distal end of the plunger rod (see fig. 2, groove 122 extends along the longitudinal axis from a location along the plunger rod towards the proximal end of the plunger rod; this is an extension from the distal end because groove 122 splits plunger rod 112 into a proximal end portion which is proximal to holding element 66 and a distal end portion which is distal to holding element 66, see also fig. 3a); a drive spring (drive spring 114, fig. 2) arranged to exert a force on the plunger rod ([0048]); an actuator (actuator 90, fig. 2) coaxial with the plunger rod (see [0036] and [0041]) and arranged with holding elements (tongues 94 and ledges 100, fig. 4, see also [0033]) for releasably holding the plunger rod with the drive spring in an energized state (see Abstract, [0042], [0046]), wherein the holding elements of the actuator comprise two proximally directed arms (flexible tongues 94, fig. 4, where the two selected arms are the arm which is fully shown in the figure and labeled as 94 and the arm diametrically opposed to it where ledge 100 is called out) between two oppositely arranged slits (cut-outs 92, fig. 4, where the two selected cut-outs equivalent to the claimed slits are the slit called out as 92 in fig. 4 and the slit diametrically opposed to it, thus making them oppositely arranged as claimed), wherein the two oppositely arranged slits are widened in the proximal direction (see fig. 4, the distal most ends of cut-outs 92 are rounded as shown, meaning that the cut-outs widen in the proximal direction at least over the curved distal end portion of the slits) such that the two proximally directed arms are flexible in the generally radial direction (see [0033], tongues 94 are radially flexible sine they are free at their respective proximal ends; see also [0041] which mentions radial flexing); and an actuator sleeve (actuator sleeve 76, fig. 2) coaxial with the actuator (see [0033]) and arranged to interact with the holding elements (see Abstract), the actuator sleeve being movable in a longitudinal direction in relation to the actuator ([0033]), a medicament delivery member guard (medicament delivery member guard 34, fig. 1) protruding from the proximal end of the housing (see [0028] and especially [0045]) and movable in the longitudinal direction ([0045]), the medicament delivery member guard being connected to the actuator sleeve ([0031]); a manually operable activator (activator unit 124, see figs. 2 and 6, where activator unit 124 includes outer tubular first part 126 and second part 134) arranged at a distal end of the housing (see figs. 3 and 8, the distal end of the housing is called out as distal housing part 18, [0037]) movable in the longitudinal direction ([0046] and [0047]) and operably connected to the actuator for releasing the plunger rod ([0046]), a locking arrangement (the arrangement of power pack 64 is considered to be a locking arrangement as claimed as indicated further below; since it meets all of the claim limitations functionally and structurally, it is the claimed locking arrangement) for releasably locking the actuator to the actuator sleeve (see Abstract) such that movement of the medicament delivery member guard in a distal direction causes the actuator sleeve, the actuator and the plunger rod to move in a distal direction with the medicament delivery member guard due to the locking arrangement (see [0045] and [0046], when the medicament delivery device is assembled, it can be moved in the distal direction which is the direction toward activator unit 124 relative to a user where it is in the holding state such that the claimed structures move together as claimed relative to the user who is moving the device), wherein the manual movement of the activator ([0046]) causes a movement of the plunger rod and the actuator in relation to the actuator sleeve in a proximal direction ([0046] and [0048]) to cause a release of the plunger rod by the actuator ([0046], [0048]-[0049], the plunger rod is released from its engagement with holding element 66 which allows it to act on stopper 28, and this is caused by movement of the activator which causes a movement of the plunger rod and the actuator as claimed) wherein the locking arrangement comprises a flexible member on the actuator (the flexible member on actuator 90 is the combination of ledges 104 which turn into and thus include radially flexible arms 106 and ledges 108, see [0035] and fig. 4, and stop element 102 which includes proximally directed stop ledge 102a and distally directed ledge 102b, fig. 4 and [0034]) provided with a proximally directed stop surface (proximally directed ledge 102a, fig. 4), on which a distally directed surface of the actuator sleeve (the surface at the distal end of cut-out 88, figs. 4 and 5, is distally directed as it faces toward activator 124 in the assembled device) will act during movement in the distal direction (see [0041], once the power pack 64 is assembled, stop ledges 102 are in direct contact with the surfaces of cut-outs 88), preventing relative movement of the actuator in relation to the actuator sleeve in a proximal direction (see [0041], the engaged surfaces are meant to prevent excess relative proximal movement), and that the activator is arranged with ledges (inwardly directed ledge 150, fig. 6b) acting on the flexible member (see [0043], ledge 150 engages ledge 108 which is a part of the flexible member as called out above), removing the contact between the stop surface and the surface of the actuator sleeve (see [0046], the actuator 90 and the stop surface thereof is longitudinally moved relative to actuator sleeve 76, and thus the previous direct contact between the called out faces ends since they are no longer in the same location along the longitudinal axis of the device), enabling movement of the actuator and the plunger rod (see [0046] and [0048], actuator 90 and plunger rod 112 can move further once the actuator 90 is not in direct contact with actuator sleeve 76 as a result of user input), and wherein the activator further comprises a proximally directed member (proximally directed arms 152, fig. 6b) spaced from the ledges of the activator (see fig. 6b, there is a radial gap between ledges 150 and proximally directed arms 152 which shows that they are spaced from each other) that directly contacts a distal end of the plunger rod (see [0046], “the proximal direction the proximally directed arms 152 will act on the distal end of the plunger rod 112 and push it in the proximal direction”) when the activator is depressed proximally in the longitudinal direction (see [0046]), wherein the proximally directed member of the activator has a proximal length as measured from a proximal most end to a distal most end of the proximally directed member that is less than a proximal length of the ledges of the activator as measured from a proximal most end to a distal most end of the ledges (see annotated fig. 6b, the called out lengths are measured from the same distal most end point which is a flat plate from which the ledges 150 and arms 152 extend and the ledges are shown as having a greater length than the arms), and wherein the proximally directed member is designed to act on the distal end of the plunger rod for enabling movement in the proximal direction of the plunger rod and the actuator (see [0046]).
Annotated fig. 6b from Hogdahl calling out the lengths of the ledges and arms of the activator
Regarding claim 13, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device further comprising a driver (holding element 66, fig. 4) operably connected between the plunger rod and a medicament container holder (medicament container holder 52, fig. 2; holding element 66 is operable connected between the elements as claimed as disclosed in [0042] and [0044] where it is operable connected to each of them and is shown as being longitudinally between the elements in figs. 1 and 3) such that movement of the plunger rod in the proximal direction will cause the driver and thus the medicament container holder to move in a proximal direction, causing a penetration operation ([0048]).
Regarding claim 14, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device wherein the driver has a releasable connection to the plunger rod such that the plunger rod is released from the driver when a penetration operation has ended ([0049]), enabling the plunger rod to continue in the proximal direction ([0049]), acting on a stopper of the medicament container (stopper 28, fig. 1 and [0049]) and causing an injection operation ([0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device wherein the power pack comprises a guide rod (guide rod 120, fig. 2) provided with fastening elements at its distal end (ledges 118, fig. 2), in which the fastening elements engage cut-outs on the actuator (cut-outs 109, fig. 4; the claimed engagement is disclosed in [0036]), and wherein the drive spring is arranged between a proximal end wall of the plunger rod and the fastening elements (the claimed proximal end wall is proximal wall 116; the claimed arrangement is disclosed in [0036]).
Regarding claim 19, Hogdahl discloses a medicament delivery device (medicament delivery device 10, fig. 1) comprising: a housing (proximal housing part 16 and distal housing part 18, fig. 1); a medicament container (medicament container 26, fig. 1) positioned within the housing (housing parts 16 and 18 hold the container in the assembled device, see [0027]); a power pack (power unit 64, fig. 2) operatively arranged to exert a force on the medicament container for expelling a dose of medicament ([0036]), where the power pack comprises: a plunger rod (plunger rod 112, fig. 2), wherein the plunger rod is arranged with a longitudinal groove (circumferential groove 122, fig. 2, which is a longitudinal groove where it extends along a short length of the longitudinal axis of the plunger rod 112), wherein the longitudinal groove is arranged parallel to a longitudinal axis of the plunger rod (the longitudinal axis is the axis concentric with plunger rod 112 and guide rod 120 as shown in fig. 3a; the longitudinal groove is arranged parallel to this axis where it extends along a short distance of it about the circumference of the plunger rod 112) and extends from a distal end of the plunger rod (see fig. 2, groove 122 extends along the longitudinal axis from a location along the plunger rod towards the proximal end of the plunger rod; this is an extension from the distal end because groove 122 splits plunger rod 112 into a proximal end portion which is proximal to holding element 66 and a distal end portion which is distal to holding element 66, see also fig. 3a); a drive spring (drive spring 114, fig. 2) positioned inside the plunger rod (see fig. 3, drive spring 114 is shown inside of plunger rod 112); a guide rod (guide rod 120, figs. 2 and 3) positioned inside the drive spring (see fig. 3, guide rod 120 is shown inside of drive spring 114); an actuator (actuator 90, fig. 2) positioned around the plunger rod (see [0036] and [0041] and see fig. 7) having holding elements (tongues 94 and ledges 100, fig. 4, see also [0033]) that releasably hold the plunger rod axially fixed relative to the housing when the drive spring in an energized state (see Abstract, [0042], [0046]), wherein the holding elements of the actuator comprise two proximally directed arms (flexible tongues 94, fig. 4, where the two selected arms are the arm which is fully shown in the figure and labeled as 94 and the arm diametrically opposed to it where ledge 100 is called out) between two oppositely arranged slits (cut-outs 92, fig. 4, where the two selected cut-outs equivalent to the claimed slits are the slit called out as 92 in fig. 4 and the slit diametrically opposed to it, thus making them oppositely arranged as claimed), wherein the two oppositely arranged slits are widened in the proximal direction (see fig. 4, the distal most ends of cut-outs 92 are rounded as shown, meaning that the cut-outs widen in the proximal direction at least over the curved distal end portion of the slits) such that the two proximally directed arms are flexible in the generally radial direction (see [0033], tongues 94 are radially flexible sine they are free at their respective proximal ends; see also [0041] which mentions radial flexing); and an actuator sleeve (actuator sleeve 76, fig. 2) positioned relative to the actuator to operatively interact with the holding elements (see [0033] and see Abstract), where the actuator sleeve moves in a longitudinal direction in relation to the actuator ([0033]), a medicament delivery member guard (medicament delivery member guard 34, fig. 1) that protrudes from a proximal end of the housing (see [0028] and especially [0045]) and movable in the longitudinal direction ([0045]), the medicament delivery member guard being connected to the actuator sleeve ([0031]); and a manually operable activator (activator unit 124, see figs. 2 and 6, where activator unit 124 includes outer tubular first part 126 and second part 134) arranged at a distal end of the housing (see figs. 3 and 8, the distal end of the housing is called out as distal housing part 18, [0037]) that moves in the longitudinal direction ([0046] and [0047]) and is operably connected to the actuator to release the plunger rod ([0046]), and a locking arrangement (the arrangement of power pack 64 is considered to be a locking arrangement as claimed as indicated further below; since it meets all of the claim limitations functionally and structurally, it is the claimed locking arrangement) for releasably locking the actuator to the actuator sleeve (see Abstract) such that movement of the medicament delivery member guard in a distal direction causes the actuator sleeve, the actuator and the plunger rod to move in a distal direction with the medicament delivery member guard due to the locking arrangement (see [0045] and [0046], when the medicament delivery device is assembled, it can be moved in the distal direction which is the direction toward activator unit 124 relative to a user where it is in the holding state such that the claimed structures move together as claimed relative to the user who is moving the device), and wherein the manual movement of the activator ([0046]) causes a movement of the plunger rod and the actuator in relation to the actuator sleeve in a proximal direction ([0046] and [0048]) to cause a release of the plunger rod by the actuator ([0046], [0048]-[0049], the plunger rod is released from its engagement with holding element 66 which allows it to act on stopper 28, and this is caused by movement of the activator which causes a movement of the plunger rod and the actuator as claimed), wherein the locking arrangement comprises a flexible member on the actuator (the flexible member on actuator 90 is the combination of ledges 104 which turn into and thus include radially flexible arms 106 and ledges 108, see [0035] and fig. 4, and stop element 102 which includes proximally directed stop ledge 102a and distally directed ledge 102b, fig. 4 and [0034]) provided with a proximally directed stop surface (proximally directed ledge 102a, fig. 4), on which a distally directed surface of the actuator sleeve (the surface at the distal end of cut-out 88, figs. 4 and 5, is distally directed as it faces toward activator 124 in the assembled device) will act during movement in the distal direction (see [0041], once the power pack 64 is assembled, stop ledges 102 are in direct contact with the surfaces of cut-outs 88), preventing relative movement of the actuator in relation to the actuator sleeve in a proximal direction (see [0041], the engaged surfaces are meant to prevent excess relative proximal movement), and that the activator is arranged with ledges (inwardly directed ledge 150, fig. 6b) acting on the flexible member (see [0043], ledge 150 engages ledge 108 which is a part of the flexible member as called out above), removing the contact between the stop surface and the surface of the actuator sleeve (see [0046], the actuator 90 and the stop surface thereof is longitudinally moved relative to actuator sleeve 76, and thus the previous direct contact between the called out faces ends since they are no longer in the same location along the longitudinal axis of the device), enabling movement of the actuator and the plunger rod (see [0046] and [0048], actuator 90 and plunger rod 112 can move further once the actuator 90 is not in direct contact with actuator sleeve 76 as a result of user input), and wherein the activator further comprises a proximally directed member (proximally directed arms 152, fig. 6b) spaced from the ledges of the activator (see fig. 6b, there is a radial gap between ledges 150 and proximally directed arms 152 which shows that they are spaced from each other) that directly contacts a distal end of the plunger rod (see [0046], “the proximal direction the proximally directed arms 152 will act on the distal end of the plunger rod 112 and push it in the proximal direction”) when the activator is depressed proximally in the longitudinal direction (see [0046]), wherein the proximally directed member of the activator has a proximal length as measured from a proximal most end to a distal most end of the proximally directed member that is less than a proximal length of the ledges of the activator as measured from a proximal most end to a distal most end of the ledges (see annotated fig. 6b, the called out lengths are measured from the same distal most end point which is a flat plate from which the ledges 150 and arms 152 extend and the ledges are shown as having a greater length than the arms), and wherein the proximally directed member is designed to act on the distal end of the plunger rod for enabling movement in the proximal direction of the plunger rod and the actuator (see [0046]).
Regarding claim 20, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device wherein the guide rod is configured with fastening elements at its distal end (ledges 118, fig. 2) that engage cut-outs on the actuator (cut-outs 109, fig. 4; the claimed engagement is disclosed in [0036]).
Regarding claim 21, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device wherein the drive spring is arranged between a proximal end wall of the plunger rod and the fastening elements (the claimed proximal end wall is proximal wall 116; the claimed arrangement is disclosed in [0036]).
Regarding claim 22, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device further comprising a driver (holding element 66, fig. 4) operably connected between the plunger rod and a medicament container holder (medicament container holder 52, fig. 2; holding element 66 is operable connected between the elements as claimed as disclosed in [0042] and [0044] where it is operable connected to each of them and is shown as being longitudinally between the elements in figs. 1 and 3) such that movement of the plunger rod in the proximal direction will cause the driver and the medicament container holder to move in a proximal direction causing a penetration operation ([0048]).
Regarding claim 23, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device wherein the driver has a releasable connection to the plunger rod such that the plunger rod is released from the driver when a penetration operation has ended (see [0049]), enabling the plunger rod to continue in the proximal direction ([0049]), acting on a stopper of the medicament container (stopper 28, fig. 1 and [0049]) and causing an injection operation ([0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16, 18, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogdahl (US 20180185583) as applied to claims 10 and 19 above, respectively.
Regarding claims 15 and 24, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device wherein the releasable connection comprises protrusions on an inner surface of the driver (ledges 74, fig. 5 and [0048]) cooperating with a recess on the plunger rod (see [0048], ledges 74 are in annular groove 122 which is a recess).
Hogdahl additionally teaches that an equivalent embodiment of its medicament delivery device has a number of discrete recesses which replace a single recess on the plunger rod which is an annular groove ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the annular groove 122 of Hogdahl with a number of discrete recesses as Hogdahl teaches that such an embodiment is an art effective equivalent arrangement ([0036]) and thus such a substitution would have yielded the same, predictable result of protrusions on the inner surface of the driver cooperating with the exterior of the plunger rod (see Hogdahl [0048]). In the modified device, then, the longitudinal groove arranged in parallel with the longitudinal axis is one of these recesses as it would extend over a short length of the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claims 16 and 25, Hogdahl as modified discloses the medicament delivery device wherein the longitudinal groove is aligned with the recesses (since the called out longitudinal groove is one of the recesses, it is longitudinally aligned with the other recesses), wherein the longitudinal groove extends from the distal end of the plunger rod to a certain distance from the recesses (see fig. 2, groove 122 extends along the longitudinal axis from a location along the plunger rod towards the proximal end of the plunger rod; this is an extension from the distal end because groove 122 splits plunger rod 112 into a proximal end portion which is proximal to holding element 66 and a distal end portion which is distal to holding element 66, see also fig. 3a; the point at which groove 122 terminates is a certain distance from the recesses as claimed), and wherein the recesses the protrusions of the driver may slide during the injection operation (see [0048], the called out longitudinal groove acts in the same way as the other recesses, see also [0036]).
Regarding claim 18, Hogdahl discloses the medicament delivery device wherein the holding elements of the actuator comprise two proximally directed arms (flexible tongues 94, fig. 4) that are flexible in a generally radial direction ([0041]), in which the arms are arranged with inwardly directed arc-shaped protrusions (inwardly directed ledges 100, fig. 4) engaging a recess in the plunger rod (groove 122, fig. 2), and in which the arms are arranged with outwardly directed surfaces (transition surfaces 96 and the exterior of band-shaped part 98 as shown in fig. 4) engaging an inner surface of the actuator sleeve (see [0043]).
Hogdahl additionally teaches that an equivalent embodiment of its medicament delivery device has a number of discrete recesses which replace a single recess on the plunger rod which is an annular groove ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the annular groove 122 of Hogdahl with a number of discrete recesses as Hogdahl teaches that such an embodiment is an art effective equivalent arrangement ([0036]) and thus such a substitution would have yielded the same, predictable result of protrusions on the inner surface of the driver cooperating with the exterior of the plunger rod (see Hogdahl [0048]). In the modified device, then, the longitudinal groove arranged in parallel with the longitudinal axis is one of these recesses as it would extend over a short length of the longitudinal axis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that Hogdahl does not disclose the longitudinal groove as newly claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hogdahl discloses a plunger rod (plunger rod 112, fig. 2), wherein the plunger rod is arranged with a longitudinal groove (circumferential groove 122, fig. 2, which is a longitudinal groove where it extends along a short length of the longitudinal axis of the plunger rod 112), wherein the longitudinal groove is arranged parallel to a longitudinal axis of the plunger rod (the longitudinal axis is the axis concentric with plunger rod 112 and guide rod 120 as shown in fig. 3a; the longitudinal groove is arranged parallel to this axis where it extends along a short distance of it about the circumference of the plunger rod 112) from the distal end of the plunger rod (see fig. 2, groove 122 extends along the longitudinal axis from a location along the plunger rod towards the proximal end of the plunger rod; this is an extension from the distal end because groove 122 splits plunger rod 112 into a proximal end portion which is proximal to holding element 66 and a distal end portion which is distal to holding element 66, see also fig. 3a; the claim does not specify that the distal end is the distal most end, and the claim requirement of “extends from the distal end” can be interpreted to mean that the groove extends towards the proximal end from the distal end since the claim does not specify that the longitudinal groove terminates at the distalmost end surface of the plunger rod). Examiner notes that the claim does not require the groove to extend longitudinally between any particular pair of structures along the longitudinal axis, such as extending from a certain distance from the recesses to a distal most end surface of the plunger rod. The longitudinal arrangement of the groove is met by the thin longitudinal extension of circumferential groove 122.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783