Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is: “assembly element” in claim 7, which is interpreted in view of “an assembly element, such as a slot 5 on one side for facilitating the assembly thereof, such that a protrusion 6 is housed inside said slot 5 for placing the adhesive surface 4 in the use position thereof.” found on page 4 of the instant disclosure.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, & 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Burrows et al. (US 6108965 A, “Burrows”).
For Claim 1, Burrows discloses a device for trapping insects (title, disclosure), comprising:
- an adhesive surface (35 on 31 & 341) for trapping insects (Column 4, lines 53-63, hereinafter referred to as “Column:line”);
- a light source (26, 27) for attracting insects to said adhesive surface (5:18-20); and
- a chamber (21, 31, 34, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55) formed by a plurality of walls (21, 31, 34, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55), wherein each one of said plurality of walls contacts at least one other of said plurality of walls2 (21 at least contacts 34, Fig. 3; 31 at least contacts 34, and vice versa, as they are made from the same sheet of material; 55 at least contacts 51-54, and vice versa, as it is the front plate of the housing made up of each of the dependent walls) and at least one of said plurality of walls is provided with one or several more holes or slots (56 and/or 57 in 55);
wherein:
said light source (26, 27) is placed inside said chamber (Fig. 3), and
said adhesive surface is provided on a face of at least one of said plurality of walls and forms an inner wall of said chamber (35 provided on elements 31 & 34, each of 31 & 34 reads on a wall of the claimed chamber, Fig. 3).
For Claim 4, Burrows discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Burrows further discloses wherein said adhesive surface is assembled in the device in a removable manner (discussed in relation to both the release paper/adhesive sheet 35 being removable from the base, and the insert 30 made up of 31 & 34 removable from the housing 50, made up of 51-55, 4:40-5:27).
For Claim 7, Burrows discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Burrows further discloses wherein said adhesive surface comprises an assembly element for the assembly thereof to the rest of the device (each protrusion of 32, 33 is accepted within the slot(s) formed within base 20 and/or housing 50).
For Claim 8, Burrows discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 7, and Burrows further discloses wherein said assembly element is a slot housing a complementary protrusion of the device (each protrusion of 32, 33 is accepted within the slot(s) formed within base 20 and/or housing 50).
For Claim 9, Burrows discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Burrows further discloses wherein said light source is a source of ultraviolet (6:40-65) or3 blue light.
For Claim 10, Burrows discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Burrows further discloses wherein said adhesive surface is a sheet provided with at least one folding line (between 31 and one of: 32-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hautmann et al. (DE 10236531 A1, “Hautmann” as previously provided).
For Claim 2, Burrows discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1.
Burrows is silent to further comprising a reflective surface inside said chamber.
Hautmann, like prior art above, teaches an insect trap (title, disclosure), further comprising a reflective surface inside a chamber (as previously discussed, the device of Hautmann discloses a chamber in the same manner as at least Figs. 7-8 of the instant invention; “The catch area is covered by a white cardboard formed to have a high reflectivity of that emitted by the light source To achieve light. The adhesive becomes very thin on the catch area applied so that this has a beige color.” see translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the adhesive sheet of Burrows with a reflective surface as taught by Hautmann, in order to increase the effectiveness of the attractive light source, as is well known in the art and yielding predictable results.
For Claim 3, Burrows discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1.
Burrows is silent to wherein said adhesive surface is also reflective.
Hautmann, like prior art above, teaches an insect trap (title, disclosure), said adhesive surface is also reflective (“The catch area is covered by a white cardboard formed to have a high reflectivity of that emitted by the light source To achieve light. The adhesive becomes very thin on the catch area applied so that this has a beige color.” see translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the adhesive sheet of Burrows with a reflective surface as taught by Hautmann, in order to increase the effectiveness of the attractive light source, as is well known in the art and yielding predictable results.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith (US 5425197 A).
For Claim 5, Burrows discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1.
Burrows is silent to wherein said adhesive surface comprises insect attractants.
Smith, like prior art above, teaches an insect trap (title, disclosure) wherein said adhesive surface comprises insect attractants (4:14-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the adhesive sheet of Burrows to contain pheromones as taught by Smith, in order to include yet another attractant to direct insects to the appropriate area of the trap, yielding predictable results.
For Claim 6, Burrows in view of Smith the device for trapping insects according to claim 5, and Smith further discloses wherein said attractants are pheromones (4:14-16) or4 scents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
RE the argument that, because element 35 is removably secured in the base of the insect trap 10, it cannot read on the limitation of “provided on face of at least one of the plurality of walls” - the Examiner respectfully disagrees, as this argument focuses on an aspect not relied upon for this limitation. Note “The inside surfaces of the opposed side panels 32,33, the bottom panel 31, and the back panel 34 of the insect trapping insert 30 are coated with an adhesive coating or sticky substance 35.” 4: 53-56, previously provided.
In arguendo, the removal of the release paper, discussed in at least 5:7-10, does not amount to a separate element in relation to the chamber, as it would serve as a singular element with the “backer” or element 31 and/or 34 until the removal thereof. This is pertinent to claim 4.
Conclusion
/MORGAN T JORDAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3643
1 Note that the interpretation of the plurality of walls has been changed.
2 Interpretation note: the inclusion of a plurality of walls renders the claims no longer generic on at least Figs. 7-8.
3 Interpretation note: the alternative phrasing “or” merely requires one of the limitations to satisfy the metes and bounds of the claim.
4 Interpretation note: the alternative phrasing “or” merely requires one of the limitations to satisfy the metes and bounds of the claim.