Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the folding line of claim 10 must be shown in the embodiment of Figs. 1 & 2, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As noted in the most recent arguments (8 April 2026), “Figures 1 and 2 visually depict [the concept of “the adhesive surface 4 forms the wall of the chamber 1”], thus, the species of Figs. 1 & 2 are elected by the currently amended independent claim. Claim 10 requires a folding line, which has not been contemplated in the cited Figs. 1 & 2. These two embodiments have not been contemplated together, and thus constitute new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Sandford et al. (US 20170303523 A1, “Sandford”).
For Claim 1, Sandford discloses a device for trapping insects (at least the thirteenth embodiment, Figs. 39-59), comprising:
- an adhesive surface (1364A) for trapping insects ¶0316;
- a light source (1324A) for attracting insects to said adhesive surface ¶0316; and
- a housing defining a chamber (1356A, 1358A) and having an opening (formed between 1358A), the housing comprising a plurality of walls (1356A, 1358A, and the floor shown in Fig. 42), wherein each one of said plurality of walls contacts at least one other of said plurality of walls (as seen in each of Figs. 41-42) and at least one of said plurality of walls is provided with one or more holes or slots (Fig. 41);
wherein:
said light source is placed inside said chamber (Fig. 41), and
said adhesive surface is positioned to at least partially close said opening of the housing and forms an inner wall of said chamber (Fig. 41).
For Claim 2, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Sandford further discloses further comprising a reflective surface inside said chamber (“In some embodiments, inside surface 1328 of rear housing 1326 also has a reflective coating (not shown) under adhesive 1340,“ emphasis added, ¶0302).
For Claim 3, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Sandford further teaches wherein said adhesive surface is also reflective (“In some embodiments, inside surface 1328 of rear housing 1326 also has a reflective coating (not shown) under adhesive 1340,“ emphasis added, ¶0302 forming a surface which is both reflective and adhering).
For Claim 4, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Sandford further discloses wherein said adhesive surface is assembled in the device in a removable manner (as seen in Fig. 41 and discussed in ¶0316, the trap portion 1314A is removable).
For Claim 5, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Sandford further teaches wherein said adhesive surface comprises insect attractants (“The materials of trap portion 1314 may also include one or more insect attractants,” ¶0302, the trap portion including the adhesive discussed earlier in ¶0302.
For Claim 6, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 5, and Sandford further discloses wherein said attractants are pheromones (“The materials of trap portion 1314 may also include one or more insect attractants… straight chain lepidopteran pheromones,” ¶0302) or1 scents (“The materials of trap portion 1314 may also include one or more insect attractants… or other substances to provide a scent that may further increase the insect-attracting efficiency of insect trap,” ¶0302).
For Claim 7, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Sandford further discloses wherein said adhesive surface comprises an assembly element (1360A frame) for the assembly thereof to the rest of the device (Figs. 41-42).
For Claim 9, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Sandford discloses wherein said light source is a source of ultraviolet (discussed in ¶0303) or2 blue light.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandford as applied to claim 1 above.
For Claim 8, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 7.
Sandford is silent to wherein said assembly element is a slot housing a complementary protrusion of the device.
However, Sandford discloses the edge of the frame (1362A) being inserted into the side channels (1358A, ¶0316).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the structure of Sandford such that the accepting slot is on the frame and the protrusion is on the device, in order to avoid debris getting sandwiched in the resulting device, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandford as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hautmann et al. (DE 10236531 A1, “Hautmann” as previously provided).
For Claim 10, Sandford discloses the device for trapping insects according to claim 1, and Sandford further teaches wherein said adhesive surface is a sheet ¶0316.
Sandford is silent to wherein said adhesive surface is a sheet provided with at least one folding line.
Hautmann, like prior art above, teaches an insect trap (title, disclosure), the sheet provided with at least one folding line (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the sheet of Sandford with a folding line as taught by Hautmann, in order to provide a difference in topography, garnering more interest from insects, and yielding predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MORGAN T JORDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643
1 Interpretation note: only one aspect is required due to the alternative construction triggered by the “or” limitation.
2 Interpretation note: only one aspect is required due to the alternative construction triggered by the “or” limitation.