DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are presented on pages 11-12 that the terminal of Hoshino would not be an electrical connection point. These arguments are not found persuasive due to the fact that Hoshino does not teach an alternative external terminal for the energy storage apparatus and uses the same terminology (terminals 11) to indicate electrical connections for the individual battery cells [0044]. Furthermore, Chida teaches external terminals that are positive or negative terminals of an energy storage apparatus [0031]. Therefore, the combination of Hirokai, Chida, and Hoshino would teach the amended claim limitations as detailed in the claim rejection below.
The arguments are presented on pages 13-15 that Hirokai and Chida would not teach the claimed case body and lid body on which the electrode terminal is disposed. These arguments are not found persuasive due to the fact that the claims only require the terminal to be disposed on the lid body. Since Chida teaches terminals connected to and disposed on end plates (21) [0031, 0036, fig. 1] as detailed in the claim rejections below, Hirokai and Chida would render the claimed limitations obvious.
The arguments are presented on pages 14-15 that orienting the device of Hirokai modified by Chida would not be obvious due to changing the principle of operation. These arguments are not found persuasive since rotating the device of modified Hirokai would not change the structure or principle of operation sine it would only change the orientation of the device.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection of amended claim 1 in view of Hirokai and Chida have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of amended claim 1 and dependent claims 2, 4-5, 8, and 21-26 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-30, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirokai (JP 2015069729 A, hereafter Hirokai) in view of Chida et al. (US 2021/0218114 A1, hereafter Chida).
With regard to claim 29, Hirokai teaches an energy storage apparatus comprising:
an energy storage device (energy storage element 10) including a rectangular parallelepiped shape and an electrode terminal (positive terminal 200 and negative terminal 300) [0045, 0050, fig. 1-3];
a spacer (insulating member 160) disposed on a side of the energy storage device in a first direction (horizontally); and
a bus bar (150) connected to the energy storage device [0042-0043, fig. 1],
wherein at least a part of the bus bar is disposed inside the spacer [0083. fig. 1, fig. 3-4],
Hirokai teaches bus bars and external terminals [0040-0042] but does not explicitly teach the bus bars connect the electrode terminal of the energy storage device and an external terminal of the energy storage apparatus. Chida teaches bus bars (bus bars 33 at module ends) that connect electrode terminals and external terminals (screw in terminal 34 and extension portion 33b) of the energy storage apparatus [0031, 0036, fig. 4, fig. 5] with the external terminals disposed on a case body and lid body (end plates 21 with side and top portion facing thickness and vertical directions as seen in fig. 1) having a plate portion facing a vertical direction (extension portion 33b as seen in fig. 4-5) [0031, 0036, fig. 4, fig. 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the end bus bar arrangement of Chida with the energy storage device of Hirokai for the benefit of allowing for connection to external terminals of battery modules [Chida 0031]. Chida does not explicitly teach a face in a widest and a longest direction of the lid body faces to a second direction orthogonal to the vertical direction. However, this would be an obvious variant of the structure taught by Chida since it would only require orienting the module so that the batteries are stacked in a vertical direction.
With regard to claim 30, Hirokai teaches bus bars and external terminals [0040-0042] but does not explicitly teach end members made of metal material. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chida teaches bus bars (bus bars 33 at module ends) that connect electrode terminals and external terminals (screw in terminal 34 and extension portion 33b) located on end members (end plates 21) disposed at both ends of the energy storage apparatus and made of metal material [0027, 0031, 0036, fig. 4, fig. 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the end bus bar and end plate arrangement of Chida with the energy storage device of Hirokai for the benefit of allowing for connection to external terminals of battery modules [Chida 0031]. Since Hirokai teaches intermediate spacers are each disposed between adjacent energy storage devices [0042-0043, fig. 1] and Chida teaches end members (end plates 21) disposed at both ends of the energy storage apparatus [0027, 0031, 0036, fig. 4, fig. 5], Hirokai modified by Chida would teach spacers sandwiched between energy storage devices and end members.
With regard to claim 34, Hirokai teaches bus bars and external terminals [0040-0042] but does not explicitly teach end members made of metal material. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chida teaches bus bars (bus bars 33 at module ends) that connect electrode terminals and external terminals (screw in terminal 34 and extension portion 33b) located on end members (end plates 21) disposed at both ends of the energy storage apparatus and made of metal material [0027, 0031, 0036, fig. 4, fig. 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the end bus bar and end plate arrangement of Chida with the energy storage device of Hirokai for the benefit of allowing for connection to external terminals of battery modules [Chida 0031].
Claim(s) 17, 27-28, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirokai and Chida as applied to claims 29-30, and 34 above, and further in view of Hoshino et al. (US 2017/0033336 A1, hereafter Hoshino).
With regard to claim 17, Hirokai teaches an energy storage apparatus comprising:
an energy storage device (energy storage element 10) including a rectangular parallelepiped shape and an electrode terminal (positive terminal 200 and negative terminal 300) [0045, 0050, fig. 1-3];
a spacer (insulating member 160) disposed on a side of the energy storage device in a first direction (horizontally); and
a bus bar (150) connected to the energy storage device [0042-0043, fig. 1],
wherein at least a part of the bus bar is disposed inside the spacer [0083. fig. 1, fig. 3-4],
wherein the spacer faces a flat surface of the energy storage device where the electrode terminal is devoid of being disposed [0042, fig. 1-3],
wherein the spacer is formed of an insulating resin material selected from polyether ether ketone or polyphenylene sulfide [0089].
Hirokai teaches bus bars and external terminals [0040-0042] but does not explicitly teach the bus bars connect the electrode terminal of the energy storage device and an external terminal of the energy storage apparatus. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chida teaches bus bars (bus bars 33 at module ends) that connect electrode terminals and external terminals of the energy storage apparatus [0031, fig. 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the end bus bar arrangement of Chida with the energy storage device of Hirokai for the benefit of allowing for connection to external terminals of battery modules [Chida 0031].
Modified Hirokai does not explicitly teach the spacer includes a terminal block on which the terminal is disposed. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hoshino teaches a spacer (outer spacer 2B) with a terminal block (fitting portion 22B) on which an external terminal (terminal member 30) of the energy storage apparatus is disposed and wherein the terminal is disposed only inward of the spacer when viewed from the first direction (within outer spacer 2B when viewed from horizontal direction) [0061, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the spacer and terminal block of Hoshino with the energy storage apparatus of modified Hirokai for the benefit of determining the position of external terminal members [Hoshino 0061].
With regard to claim 27, modified Hirokai does not explicitly teach the spacer includes a terminal block on which the terminal is disposed or a plate portion facing in a vertical direction. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hoshino teaches a spacer (outer spacer 2B) with a terminal block (fitting portion 22B) on which an external terminal (terminal member 30) of the energy storage apparatus is disposed and that a terminal plate (lower plate portion of terminal member 30) faces in a vertical direction [0061, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the spacer and terminal block of Hoshino with the energy storage apparatus of modified Hirokai for the benefit of determining the position of external terminal members [Hoshino 0061].
With regard to claim 28, Hirokai teaches bus bars and external terminals [0040-0042] but does not explicitly teach end members made of metal material. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chida teaches bus bars (bus bars 33 at module ends) that connect electrode terminals and external terminals (screw in terminal 34 and extension portion 33b) located on end members (end plates 21) disposed at both ends of the energy storage apparatus and made of metal material [0027, 0031, 0036, fig. 4, fig. 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the end bus bar and end plate arrangement of Chida with the energy storage device of Hirokai for the benefit of allowing for connection to external terminals of battery modules [Chida 0031].
With regard to claim 31, modified Hirokai does not explicitly teach fixing members. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hoshino teaches a spacer (outer spacer 2B) with fixing portions (shaft portions 23B) on which an external terminal (terminal member 30) of the energy storage apparatus is positioned [0061, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the spacer and fixing portions of Hoshino with the energy storage apparatus of modified Hirokai for the benefit of determining the position of external terminal members [Hoshino 0061].
With regard to claim 32, modified Hirokai does not explicitly teach a length of an end member in the second direction is shorter than a length of the spacer in the second direction. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hoshino teaches a spacer (outer spacer 2B) with fixing portions (shaft portions 23B) on which an external terminal that is also an end member (terminal member 30) of the energy storage apparatus is positioned with the length of the end member (terminal member 30) in the second (width) direction is shorter than a length of the spacer (2B) in the second direction [0061, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the spacer and terminal portions of Hoshino with the energy storage apparatus of modified Hirokai for the benefit of determining the position of external terminal members [Hoshino 0061].
With regard to claim 33, modified Hirokai does not explicitly teach the spacer includes a terminal block on which the terminal is disposed or the terminal block being disposed on a side of the end member in the second direction. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hoshino teaches a spacer (outer spacer 2B) with a terminal block (fitting portion 22B) on which an external terminal (terminal member 30) of the energy storage apparatus is disposed and that a terminal plate (lower plate portion of terminal member 30) faces in a vertical direction [0061, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the spacer and terminal block of Hoshino with the energy storage apparatus of modified Hirokai for the benefit of determining the position of external terminal members [Hoshino 0061]. Modified Hirokai would not explicitly teach the terminal block is disposed on a side of the end member in the second direction. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would only require orienting the battery assembly of Hoshino so that the longest dimension faces upward (as seen in as-published fig. 1) [Hoshino fig. 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, and 21-26 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not appear to teach, suggest, or render obvious the invention of at least claim 1. Claim 1 is drawn to an energy storage apparatus comprising the elements recited therein. Notably claim 1 requires an energy storage apparatus comprising first and second energy storage devices, a spacer disposed on one side of the first energy storage device, a bus bar connected to the first energy storage device and at least partly disposed inside the spacer, and the spacer is not interposed between the first energy storage device and the second energy storage device.
The prior art of record such as Hirokai (JP 2015069729 A, hereafter Hirokai) teaches a similar energy storage apparatus with batteries and spacers with bus bars embedded in the spacers [0042-0050, 0083. fig. 1, fig. 3-4]. However, Hirokai teaches the spacers are located between batteries and would not teach the claimed arrangement with a spacer disposed on one side of a first energy storage device, a bus bar connected to the first energy storage device and at least partly disposed inside the spacer, and the spacer is not interposed between the first energy storage device and the second energy storage device. Since claims 2, 4-5, 8, and 21-26 are dependent on claim 1, they would be allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724