Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The arguments concern claim amendments that are addressed in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18-27, and 31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobal et al. (US 20140271946) in view of Goldman et al. (US 20150083146)t.
Regarding claims 16, 18-27, 31, 33, and 34, Kobal et al. disclose a liquid nicotine formulation that contains 40-90% glycerin and/or propylene glycol (water miscible solvent) and water, 2-10% nicotine, and 0.01-10% of at a nicotinic acetylcholine receptor inhibiting or modulating compounds, which includes oleic acid [0021, 0027]. Kobal et al. further disclose that acidic flavorants can be added including citric acid (i.e. soluble organic acids [0028). Soluble organic acids such as acetic acid are also added at between 0.1 and 15% to reduce pH [0078-0079].
Kobal et al. do not expressly disclose adding polysorbate 80, triacetin, or triethyl citrate (partially water-soluble, water immiscible solvents). However, Goldman et al. disclose liquids for personal vaporizers including an embodiment where oleamide, an active ingredient that is very waxy, is emulsified in a propylene glycol base (87.85%) using 2.0 % monolaurin (a lipid stabilizer) and 10% triethyl citrate [0069]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to use the lipid stabilizers of Goldman et al. to add a desired ingredient such as oleamide to a fluid to be inhaled to treat sleep and mood disorders (as disclosed by Goldman et al.).
Goldman et al. disclose using monolaurin as a lipid stabilizer (water insoluble, water-immiscible). Monolaurin has a melting point above 20C. However, Goldman et al. disclose other lipid stabilizers including 1-oleoylglycerol, 1-arachidonoylglycerol, 2-arachidonoylglycerol (which is also a ligand for cannabinoid receptors in the brain), 1-linoleoylglycerol, 2-linoleoylglycerol, 1-caproylglycerol, 2-caproylglycerol, that are liquid at 20 C [0022]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use these alternatives disclosed by Goldman et al., especially 2-arachidonoylglycerol, which has effects on cannabinoid receptors that are also the target of the active ingredient (oleamide).
The resulting ratio of 10% triethyl citrate to the other lipid solubilizer (water-insoluble, water-immiscible) 2%, results in a ratio of 5, which meets the claim limitation of less than or equal to 15.
Regarding claim 34, example 5 [0069] of Goldman et al. discloses using triethyl citrate and does not disclose triacetin or polysorbate 80 in this example. However, Goldman et al. disclose triacetin as a lipid stabilizer and solubilizers, indicating that they are closely related and interchangeable [0061]. Although this disclosure is concerning different amounts for a different embodiment, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would expect triacetin to replace triethyl citrate with predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747