DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 16th Jun, 2026.
Claims 1 and 15 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new Claims were added; therefore, claims 1-3, 6-7, 9 and 11-15 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29th January, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6-7, 9 and 11-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “wherein a size of the first pixel increases with the increase in the number of plurality of light-receiving element”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Here, Applicant argues that Keilaf does not describe the features of “a number of detection elements in a pixel” and “the size of the pixel based on the determination”. However, these claim limitations were not present in the original claims and were presented by amendment on 16th Jun, 2026. Therefore, the issue of whether Keilaf in view of Mandai and Hall addresses these limitation are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitation have been addressed in the present Office Action.
In response to applicant’s argument claim 1, filed on 16th Jun 2026 page 15, applicant argue that Keilaf does not describe “dynamically changing, based on a determination that distance measurement data is smaller than a threshold distance measurement conditions to increase a number of light-receiving within a pixel”. However, Keilaf disclosed in paragraph [0175], stated that “a region of the FOV overlapping a range of distance close to the host vehicle (e.g., a range of 1 meter to 50 meters ahead of the host vehicle, …) may be associated with a higher number of allocated pixels than other regions of FOV. As shown in Fig. 7I, this region may include a pixel allocation 720 that includes a higher number of pixels per unit of area as compared to other regions of the FOV”, there is a determination of the distance first to decide which area of FOV are in the range of 1 meter to 50 meters ahead of the host vehicle and then the pixel allocation 720 is used in the area. This shows the dynamically changing based on a determination of distance measurement data with threshold distance measurement condition (1 meter to 50 meters ahead of the host vehicle) to increase the higher number of pixels per unit of area. Furthermore, paragraph [0174] disclosed each different allocation of detection elements to pixels and each different pixel shape may be selected based on information available to LIDAR system 100 at any given time; [0177], the dynamic allocation of detection elements to pixels may depend on a variety of factors. For example, dynamic pixel allocation may depend on range relative to the lidar system. Therefore, Keilaf’s invention disclosed the claim limitation of “dynamically changing…increase a number of light-receiving or detection element”.
In response to applicant’s argument of claim 2, 3, filed on 16th Jun 2026 page 16, applicant argue that “ Hall merely provides a disclosure that relates to …., while the captured image frame is formed”. However, in claim 2, examiner stated Keilaf in Fig. 1A, 4A, 4C and 7A-M, [067], [0149], [0154] and [0155], teaches increasing the number of detection elements to individual pixels as a means of increasing the signal to noise ratio, which is based on an amount of noise received. Furthermore, Gnecchi teaches in Fig. 9, [0072], steps 1010-1025, a setting of noise threshold based on an ambient light measurement on an array of SPADs. Similar argument in claim 3 can be seen in the Office Action. There is no mention of Hall’s invention in claim 2 and claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilaf et al. (WO 2018091970 A1, hereinafter “Keilaf”), modified in view of Mandai et al. (US 20180209846 A1, hereinafter “Mandai”), in view of Hall et al. (US 11236993 B1, hereinafter “Hall”).
Regrading claim 1, Keilaf teaches a distance measurement apparatus, comprising:
a light-emitting section configured to emit light to a target area, wherein the target area includes an object (Keilaf; Fig. 1A and 4A, [067], [0103], light source 112, object 208A);
a light-receiving section that includes a plurality of light-receiving elements groups, wherein the plurality of light-receiving element groups includes a plurality of light-receiving elements (Keilaf; Fig. 4A, [0104], sensor 116 includes a plurality of detection elements 402 for detecting photons of a photonic pulse reflected back from FOV 120. The detection elements may all be included in detector array 400; [0105], detection elements 402 may be grouped into a plurality of regions 404 (equivalent to the plurality of light-receiving element groups)), and
a first light-receiving element group of the plurality of light-receiving element group is configured to:
receive observation light from the target area based on the light that is emitted to the target area, wherein the observation light includes reflected light that is reflected from the object;
output a plurality of electric signal based on the reflected light (Keilaf; Fig. 1A and 4A, [067], [0103], and [0104], sensor 116 includes a plurality of detection elements 402 for detecting photons of a photonic pulse reflected back from FOV 120. Detection elements 402 may operate concurrently or partially concurrently with each. Specifically, each detection element 402 may issue detection information for every sampling duration), wherein the plurality of electric signals commensurate with first distance measurement conditions (Keilaf; [052], [067], [0103], [0106], and [0113], scanning unit 104, processing unit 108, light deflector 114, sensor 116, and processor 118, The processing unit controls a scan of an FOV where return light is captured by the sensor, which is whose electric signals are used to determine time of flight and distance); and
generate a first image frame based on the plurality of electrical signal (Keilaf; Fig. 1B, [0070], image showing an exemplary output from a single scanning cycle of LiDAR system 100 mounted on vehicle 110), wherein the first distance measurement conditions correspond to a plurality of lines included in the generated first image frame (Keilaf; Fig. 1A and 4A, [052], [067], [0103], [0106], and [0113], scanning unit 104, processing unit 108, light deflector 114, sensor 116, and processor 118, The processing unit controls a scan of an FOV where return light is captured by the sensor, which is whose electric signals are used to determine time of flight and distance);
a distance measurement process section configured to:
calculate a first distance to the object based on a specific time corresponding to the detected peak vale and the first distance measurement conditions (Keilaf; Fig. 1A and 4A, [052], [067], [0103], [0106], and [0113], scanning unit 104, processing unit 108, light deflector 114, sensor 116, and processor 118, The processing unit controls a scan of an FOV where return light is captured by the sensor, which is whose electric signals are used to determine time of flight and distance), wherein
the plurality of electric signal commensurate with the reflected light from the object,
each of the plurality of lines includes a plurality of pixels, and
a first pixel of the plurality of pixels includes the first light- receiving element group (Keilaf; Figs. 4A, 4C, and 7A-M, [0103], [0104], [0112], [0113], [0159], and [0161], sensor 116, detector array 400, detection elements 402, and detectors 410. Detection elements, which receive the reflected light, are allocated to different pixels); and
output distance measurement data related to calculated first distance (Keilaf; Fig. 7I, [0175], as the host vehicle drive along a roadway, there may be an interest in capturing high resolution information from a region of the FOV of LIDAR system 100 that overlaps with a range of distances close in the host vehicle. As shown in Fig. 7I, a region of the FOV overlapping a rage of distances close to the host vehicle may be associated with a higher number of allocation 720 with higher number of pixels per unit of area; this implies the distance measurement data is calculated and compared such that the pixel allocation setting is changed in the near host vehicle area to the pixel allocation 720 which has higher number of pixels per unit of area compare with other area such as pixel allocation 740, 710 or 730).
a control section configured to:
receive the distance measurement data;
determine the distance measurement data is smaller than a first threshold; and
change, based on the determination that the distance measurement data is smaller than the first threshold, the first distance measurement conditions to increase a number of the plurality of light-receiving elements in the first light-receiving element group of the first pixel (Keilaf; Fig. 7I, [0174], [0175], as shown in Fig. 7I, a region of the FOV overlapping a range of distances close to the host vehicle (e.g., a range of 1 meter to 50 meters (equivalent to first threshold) ahead of the host vehicle, or at any other suitable range of distances) may be associated with a higher number of allocated pixels (a pixel allocation 720 that includes a higher number of pixels per unit of area; equivalent to increase a number of the plurality of light-receiving elements in the first light-receiving element group of the first pixel) than other regions of the FOV (such as area 740, 710 or 730). This shows the dynamically changing based on a determination of distance measurement data with threshold distance measurement condition (1 meter to 50 meters ahead of the host vehicle) to increase the higher number of pixels per unit of area; [0177], the dynamic allocation of detection elements to pixels may depend on a variety of factors. For example, dynamic pixel allocation may depend on range relative to the lidar system), wherein a size of the first pixel increases with the increase in the number of plurality of light-receiving elements (Keilaf; Fig. 7I, clearly seen that the allocated area 720 has higher number of pixels per unit of area which is larger than the allocated area 740 has lower number of pixels per unit of area; [0175], the pixel allocation 720 offer a potential for higher resolution detections as compared to other regions of the FOV which enable detection and resolution of fine features of vehicle 725, such as the location, depth, and envelop of feature such as the tires, side view mirrors, roof, bumper, vehicle edges, etc.).
Keilaf does not teach,
sample, at a specific sampling frequency, the plurality of electric signals output from the first light-receiving element group;
for each sampling time of a plurality of sampling times, output a plurality of sampled values corresponding to values of the plurality of electric signals output from the first light-receiving element group;
for the each sampling time add the plurality of sampled values corresponding to the first light-receiving element group;
create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for the each sampling time;
detect a peak value in the created histogram.
Mandai teaches an array of SPADs, similar to the receiver taught by Keilaf, wherein the electric signal output by each pixel can be readout at a set sampling frequency (Mandai; Figs. 6 and 7, [0080]- [0082], [0086], and [0087], pixel array 602, AF circuit array 604, TDC array circuit 606, and histogram 700; Uniform bin widths indicate a uniform sampling frequency), wherein these values are used to create a histogram which indicates light intensity over a plurality of time bins (Mandai; Figs. 6 and 7, [0082], [0086], and [0087], pixel array 602 and histogram 700), wherein this peak value is used to determine time of flight and thus distance (Mandai; Figs. 6 and 7, [0040], [0042], [0082], [0086], and [0087],pixel array 602 and histogram 700).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the distance measurement apparatus taught by Keilaf to include the histogram construction method taught by Mandai, with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that individual SPAD detections may be caused by ambient light and would thus lead to incorrect distance calculations (Mandai; [0041]). Predictably, by generating a histogram of light intensity over time, the system is predictably able to determine when a large packet of light corresponding to a returning light signal is incident upon the SPAD detectors, and thus make an accurate distance determination (Mandai; [0042]).
However, Keilaf modified in view of Mandai still not teach,
for the each sampling time add the plurality of sampled values corresponding to the first light-receiving element group;
create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for the each sampling time;
Hall disclosed, in Fig. 7A, 7B, column 17, line 53 to Column 18, line 40, the output channels 725A-725D coupled to pixels 700 in a specified column, which sums digital signals received from pixels 700 of the specific column coupled to each output channel by an active switch, such that the sampling module 730A receives digital signals output from pixels 700A-700D and deactivated pixels 700E and 700F (controlled by controller 360). The bit stream generated by the sampling module 730A provides a representation of a temporal histogram of different rows in the specific column of light form the DCA 340 incident on pixels 700 of the specific column coupled to output channels 725A-725D; Column 18, line 41, Fig. 7B shows sampling modules 730A, 730B corresponding to two columns of the array of pixels 700 comprising the detector 720 to generate a temporal histogram. Each sampling module 730A, 730B is coupled to an addition module 735, which combines the bit steams corresponding to each column including pixels 700 in the set of pixels 700 specified by the controller 360. By combining combines the bit steams corresponding to each column including pixels 700 in the set of pixels 700, the addition module 735 generates a digital representation of a combined histogram describing a number of detection of a light beam emitted by a depth camera assembly (DCA) 340 including the detector 720 during a time interval by pixels 700 in the set of pixels 700. The digital representation of the combined histogram (equivalent to create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for each sampling time) is provided from the addition module 735 to the controller 360 to determine depth information of an object in the local area surrounding the DCA 340 that reflected the light beam emitted by the DCA 340.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the distance measurement apparatus taught by Keilaf to include the histogram construction method taught by Mandai, include for the each sampling time add the plurality of sampled values corresponding to the first light-receiving element group; create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for the each sampling time taught by Hall with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is adding bit steams corresponding to each column including pixels 700 in the set of pixels 700. The addition module 735 generates a digital representation of a combined histogram describing a number of detections of a light beam emitted by a depth camera assembly DCA 340 including the detector 720 during a time interval by pixels 700 in the set of pixels 700. Then sent the digital representation of the combined histogram to the controller 360 for determining depth information of an object in the local area surrounding the DCA 340 that reflected the light beam by the DCA 340 (Hall; column 17, line 53 to column 18, line 60).
Regarding claim 7, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus as recited to claim 1, wherein the distance measurement process section is further configured to execute, in a second image frame, a distance measurement process to calculate a second distance to the object. the control section is further configured to change the first distance measurement conditions based on the calculated second distance, and the second image frame is captured before the first image frame (Keilaf; Fig. 1A, 4A, 4C, and 7A-M, [0185], processing unit 108, sensor 116, processor 118, detector array 400, detection elements 402, and detectors 410. Refers to changing pixel allocation based on an object getting closer over time, meaning that this reallocation would be made upon the basis of distances from previously captured image frames and implies the consecutive measurement of the distance for previously captured image frames).
Regarding claim 11, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the control section is further configured to change the first distance measurement conditions each time the histogram is created (Keilaf; Fig. 1A, 4A, 4C, and 7A-M, [067], [0149], [0155], and [0185], processing unit 108, sensor 116, processor 118, detector array 400, detection elements 402, and detectors 410; and Mandai; Figs. 6 and 7, [0040], [0042], [0082], [0086], and [0087], pixel array 602 and histogram 700; Keilaf teaches changing the distance measurement conditions at any time and in response to measurements made. Mandai teaches performing distance measurements by creating histograms).
Regarding claim 15, possesses nearly identical limitations to those of claim 1 and is thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilaf, modified in view of Mandai, in view of Hall, in view of Gnecchi et al. (US 20180259625 A1, hereinafter “Gnecchi”).
Regarding claim 2, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus as recited to claim 1, wherein [….] the control section is further configured to change the first distance measurement conditions based on the calculated amount of noise (Keilaf; Fig. 1A, 4A, 4C, and 7A-M, [067], [0149], [0154], and [0155], processing unit 108, sensor 116, processor 118, detector array 400, detection elements 402, and detectors 410. Teaches increasing the number of detection elements to individual pixels as a means of increasing the signal to noise ratio, which is based on an amount of noise received).
Keilaf does not teach,
wherein the control section is further configured to control the plurality of light-receiving element groups to receive ambient light based on non-emission of the light by the light-emitting section,
the distance measurement process section is further configured to calculate an amount of noise based on the ambient light, and
Gnecchi teaches a method of calculating a noise level based on an ambient light measurement on an array of SPADs and setting a noise threshold based on this (Gnecchi; Fig. 9, [0072], steps 1010-1025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the distance measurement apparatus taught by Keilaf to include the histogram construction method taught by Mandai, include for the each sampling time add the plurality of sampled values corresponding to the first light-receiving element group; create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for the each sampling time taught by Hall, include the noise measurement method taught by Gnecchi, with as reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that by measuring the noise generated from ambient light, the system will predictably be able to determine potential signal to noise ratio values and thus be able to allocate detection elements and pixels appropriately in order to compensate for these expected values (Keilaf; [0154], [0155]).
Regarding claim 3, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus as recited in claim 2, wherein
A second pixel of the plurality of pixels includes a second light-receiving element group of plurality of light-receiving element groups, and
the control section is further configured to:
determine the calculated amount of noise is greater than a second threshold; and
change, based on the determination that the calculated amount of noise is greater than the second threshold, the first distance measurement conditions to increase a number of the plurality of light-receiving elements included in the second light-receiving element group of the second pixel (Keilaf; Fig. 1A, 4A, 4C, and 7A-M, [067], [0149], [0154], and [0155], processing unit 108, sensor 116, processor 118, detector array 400, detection elements 402, and detectors 410; and Gnecchi; Fig. 9, [0072], steps 1010-1025; Keilaf teaches increasing the number of detection elements per pixel to compensate for poor signal to noise ratios (SNR). Gnecchi teaches calculating an ambient light, and thus noise, value and setting a noise threshold. This noise threshold can thus be used to determine the increase in detection elements as it is proportional to the SNR).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilaf, modified in view of Mandai, in view of Hall, in view of Mase et al. (US 20100231891 A1, hereinafter “Mase”).
Regarding claim 6, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus as recited to claim 1.
Keilaf does not teach,
wherein the control section is further configured to change, based on a mean value of the calculated first distance to the object for each pixel of the plurality of pixels in a first line of the plurality of lines, the first distance measurement conditions to second distance measurement conditions for a second line of the plurality of lines.
Mase teaches a method of determining the average distance value detected by a column or row of pixels (Mase; Fig. 7, [0117]. This average value may be used as the distance value used for determining a distance measurement condition as taught by Keilaf).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to further modify the distance measurement apparatus taught by Keilaf to include the histogram construction method taught by Mandai, include for the each sampling time add the plurality of sampled values corresponding to the first light-receiving element group; create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for the each sampling time taught by Hall, include the row or column average distance values taught by Mase, with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that by using the average value for an entire line to make this determination, as opposed to a singular value measured from said line, it predictably means the distance measurement condition determined for the next row will account for all of the distances of the previous row, not just potential maximums and minimums.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilaf, modified in view of Mandai, in view of Hall, in view of Yamamoto (US 20150153452 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus as recited to claim 1.
Keilaf does not teach, wherein the control section is further configured to;
change, based on the determination that the distance measurement data is smaller than the first threshold, the first distance measurement conditions to increase the specific sampling frequency for sampling the plurality of electric signals.
Yamamoto teaches a method of sampling nearby objects with short times of flight at higher sampling frequencies (Yamamoto; [0008]). Implies a distance is compared with a threshold to determine if the object is nearby and then change the sampling frequency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the distance measurement apparatus taught by Keilaf to include the histogram construction method taught by Mandai, include for the each sampling time add the plurality of sampled values corresponding to the first light-receiving element group; create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for the each sampling time taught by Hall, include the higher sampling frequency for closer objects taught by Yamamoto, with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that closer objects will have shorter times of flight and thus naturally lend themselves to higher rates of sampling. Predictably, by sampling closer objects at a higher rate, a greater degree of resolution can be measured both spatially and temporally.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilaf, modified in view of Mandai, in view of Hall, in view of Moebius et al. (US 20190271821 A1) and Campbell et al. (US 20180275249 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus recited to claim 1 [1 and 2…].
Keilaf does not teach [1…]: [the apparatus] being configured as a system-on-chip (SoC).
Moebius teaches integrating a lidar system, similar to the one taught by Keilaf, onto a singular integrated chip (Moebius; Fig. 2A, [0012], [0054], [0065], and [0066], photonic integrated circuit 200,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the distance measurement apparatus taught by Keilaf to include the histogram construction method taught by Mandai, include for the each sampling time add the plurality of sampled values corresponding to the first light-receiving element group; create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for the each sampling time taught by Hall, include the lidar on an integrated chip configuration taught by Moebius, with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that by integrating the entirety of the lidar system onto a singular chip, it will predictably shrink the entirety of the system down to a chip-scale, which will make for a lighter and smaller system.
However, However, Keilaf modified in view of Mandai, in view of Hall, in view of Moebius,
still not to teach [2…]: [the apparatus] including registers that retain a plurality of parameter sets indicating the predetermined distance measurement conditions.
Campbell teaches a system-on-chip computer system for a lidar device, wherein the system includes registers for storing instructions, similar to the predetermined distance measurement conditions (Campbell; Fig. 24, [0126]-[0129], computer system 900 and processor 910).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to further modify the distance measurement apparatus taught by Keilaf to include the histogram construction method taught by Mandai, include for the each sampling time add the plurality of sampled values corresponding to the first light-receiving element group; create a histogram based on the added plurality of sampled values for the each sampling time taught by Hall, include the lidar on an integrated chip configuration taught by Moebius and include the registers for storing instructions taught by Campbell, with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that a register provides fast storage for potential instructions, and thus would predictably allow the system fast access and execution of the instructions, speeding up scanning and processing times.
Regarding claim 13, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus as recited in claim 12, further comprising
a communication interface, wherein the distance measurement process section is further configured to output, via the communication interface, the distance measurement data related to the calculated first distance to the object for each pixel of the plurality of pixels of a first line of the plurality of lines (Keilaf; Fig. 2A, [076], [078], host 210 and network interface 214. Can output 3D models to a host, which is related to the calculated distances of the pixels).
Regarding claim 14, Keilaf as modified above teaches the distance measurement apparatus recited in claim 13, wherein the control section is further configured to: select a parameter set from the plurality of parameter sets in the plurality of registers; and change the first distance measurement conditions based on the selected parameter set (Keilaf; Fig. 2A, [076], [0149], and [0161], processing unit 108 and processor 118; and Campbell; Fig. 24, [0126]-[0129], computer system 900 and processor 910. Keilaf teaches the processing units controlling the pixel allocation, and thus the distance measurement conditions, which does not require outside instruction from the network interface. Campbell teaches including instructions for the system on registers included in an SOC system).
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645