DETAILED ACTION
2. It is noted for the record that this application has been transferred to Examiner Haney in Art Unit 1682.
3. This action is in response to the papers filed August 4, 2026. Applicant’s remarks and amendments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be sufficient to put the application in condition for allowance. Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn. This action is NON-FINAL.
Claims 10, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are currently pending and have been examined herein.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. The current title is “DNA METHYALTION BASED ESTIMATOR OF TELOMERE LENGTH”, however the claims have nothing to do with estimating telomere length. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim analysis is set forth below.
Step 1: The claims are directed to the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A, prong one: Evaluate Whether the Claim Recites a Judicial Exception
The instant claims recite a law of nature.
The claims recite methylation markers (SEQ ID NOs: 1-140) that are correlated with epigenetic aging of human cells. This type of correlation is a consequence of natural processes, similar to the naturally occurring correlation found to be a law of nature by the Supreme Court in Mayo.
The instant claims recite abstract ideas.
The claims recite a step of “observing methylation in a methylation array in 140 methylation markers of SEQ ID NOs: 1-140 in genomic DNA from the human cells in (a) (clm 10). Neither the specification nor the claims set forth a limiting definition for “observing” and the claims do not set forth how this step is accomplished. The “observing” step broadly encompasses a step that can be accomplished by a mental processes. For example, one may “observe” the methylation status by reading a laboratory report.
The claims recite a step of “comparing” the observations from (b) with observations of the methylation status in genomic DNA from control human cells not exposed to the test agent (clm 10). Neither the specification nor the claims set forth a limiting definition for “comparing” and the claims do not set forth how this step is accomplished. The “comparing” step broadly encompasses a step that can be accomplished by a mental processes. For example, one may “compare” the methylation status by reading a laboratory report with the test and control status side by side and thinking about if the methylation status is the same or different.
The claims recite a step of “comparing” methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages (clm 15). Neither the specification nor the claims set forth a limiting definition for “comparing” and the claims do not set forth how this step is accomplished. The “comparing” step broadly encompasses a step that can be accomplished by a mental processes. For example, one may “compare” the methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages by reading a laboratory report with the methylation profiles side by side and thinking about if the different tissue lineages have the same or different profiles.
For the reasons discussed above the steps of “observing” and “comparing” could be performed by a human using mental steps or basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represent abstract ideas (e.g., the mental comparison in Ambry Genetics or the diagnosing an abnormal condition by performing clinical tests and thinking about the results in Grams).
Step 2A, prong two: Evaluate Whether the Judicial Exception Is Integrated Into a Practical Application
The claims do NOT recite additional steps or elements that integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application of the exception(s). For example, the claims do not practically apply the judicial exception by including one or more additional elements that the courts have stated integrate the exception into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
An additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
An additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
An additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
An additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological
environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition to the judicial exception the claims recite a step of “combining” a test agent with live human cells comprising human leukocytes, fibroblasts, keratinocytes, buccal cells, endothelial cells, lymphoblastoid cells, and/or cells obtained from human blood, skin, or saliva (clm 10). The claims further recite steps of treating genomic DNA with bisulfite and amplifying the genomic DNA by PCR (clms 18 and 19). These steps are NOT considered to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because they merely add insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering) to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: Evaluate Whether the Claim Provides an Inventive Concept
In addition to the judicial exception the claims recite a step of “combining” a test agent with live human cells comprising human leukocytes, fibroblasts, keratinocytes, buccal cells, endothelial cells, lymphoblastoid cells, and/or cells obtained from human blood, skin, or saliva (clm 10). The claims further recite steps of treating genomic DNA with bisulfite and amplifying the genomic DNA by PCR (clms 18 and 19). These steps do not amount to significantly more because they simply append a well understood, routine, and conventional activity previously known in the art, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exceptions.
The prior art demonstrates the well understood, routine, and conventional nature of the additional element because it teaches that the additional element is well known in the art. For example Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) teaches a method comprising contacting a cell with a test agent; and determining the methylation state of at least 1 locus. Firestein further teaches comparing the methylation state of the at least 1 locus in the contacted cell with the methylation state of the locus in the cell not contacted with the test agent (para 0165). Firestein discloses the analysis of human cells (para 0080). Firestein discloses the analysis of fibroblasts (para 0009). Firestein teaches that the methylation state of loci can be determined using the Illumina 450K microarray (Example 5). Firestein discloses treating DNA with sodium bisulfite (para 0151). Firestein discloses amplifying the DNA by PCR (paras 0152).
Further it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Using polymerase chain reaction to amplify and detect DNA, Genetic Techs. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc., 788 F.3d 1371, 1377, 115 USPQ2d 1152, 1157 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
Detecting DNA or enzymes in a sample, Sequenom, 788 F.3d at 1377-78, 115 USPQ2d at 1157); Cleveland Clinic Foundation 859 F.3d at 1362, 123 USPQ2d at 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Immunizing a patient against a disease, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1063, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1497 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Freezing and thawing cells, Rapid Litig. Mgmt. 827 F.3d at 1051, 119 USPQ2d at 1375;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For the reasons set forth above the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Response To Arguments
4. In the response the Applicants traversed the rejection under 35 USC 101. The Applicants argue that the claims recite a step of “combining the test agent with live human cells” which integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. They argue that this step is a classical practical application of the inventor's discoveries that adds more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the discovery of a constellation of sequences having aging related methylation profiles. They argue that this step is not merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim, instead it is the fundamental step required to test the effect of a test agent on human cells, which is a practical application of Inventor's discoveries.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The step of “combining the test agent with live human cells” adds insignificant pre-solution activity to the judicial exceptions. This additional element does not practically apply the judicial exception by including one or more additional elements that the courts have stated integrate the exception into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
An additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
An additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
An additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
An additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological
environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Further Applicants have not provided any convincing arguments that the claims recite an inventive step. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 10, 12, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) in view of Laughlin (US 2016/0077082 Pub 3/17/2016) and Jespersen (US 2006/0121464 Pub 6/8/2006).
As noted in MPEP 2111.02, “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” In the present situation, the process steps are able to stand alone and the preamble limitation is not accorded patentable weight. Accordingly, the claim language of “A method of observing the effects of a test agent comprising a polynucleotide, a polypeptide, or a compound having a molecular weight less than 3,000 g/mol on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging of human cells” merely sets forth the purpose of the process, but does not limit the scope of the claims.
Regarding Claim 15 Firestein teaches a method comprising contacting a cell with a test agent; and determining the methylation state of at least 1 locus. Firestein further teaches comparing the methylation state of the at least 1 locus in the contacted cell with the methylation state of the locus in the cell not contacted with the test agent (para 0165). Firestein teaches that the test agent can be a small molecule, nucleic acid, peptides (para 0165). Firestein discloses the analysis of human cells (para 0080). Firestein discloses the analysis of fibroblasts (para 0009). Firestein teaches that the methylation state of loci can be determined using the Illumina 450K microarray (Example 5). The instant specification teaches that SEQ ID NOs: 1-140 represent CpG loci that are present on the Illumina 450K array (para 0059, 0091). Therefore it is a property of the method of Firestein that it would have resulted in the determination of the methylation status of SEQ ID NOs: 1-140. Thus Firestein teaches a method comprising (a) combining a test agent comprising a polynucleotide, a polypeptide, or a compound with human cells comprising fibroblasts; (b) observing methylation in a methylation array in 140 methylation markers of SEQ ID NOs: 1-140 in genomic DNA of the human cells in (a); and (c) comparing the observations from (b) with observations of the methylation status in genomic DNA from control human cells not exposed to the test agent.
Regarding Claim 18 Firestein discloses treating DNA with sodium bisulfite (para 0151).
Regarding Claim 19 Firestein discloses amplifying the DNA by PCR (paras 0152).
Firestein does not specifically teach combining the test agent with live human cells (clm 10). Firestein does not teach a method wherein a plurality of test agents are combined with the live human cells (clm 12). Firestein does not teach a method wherein the genomic DNA used in the method is obtained from human cells of skin cell lineage (clm 16).
However Laughlin teaches a method of screening test agents. Laughlin teaches that once a test agent or combination of test agents is selected, a sample of cells is contacted with the test agent(s). Cells suitable for use with the present methods are not particularly limited as long as they are capable of producing HMGB1 (e.g., skin cells such as keratinocytes and fibroblasts are particularly suitable). The cells may be harvested from donors and/or purchased from vendors who sell commercially available cell lines. The cells may be cultured in a suitable medium (e.g., EpiLife® available from Life Technologies) and/or incubated prior to creation of the test sample (e.g., from 1 hour to 2 weeks). Test samples comprising the cells, optionally suspended or adhered in a suitable medium, the test agent(s) and other necessary or optional ingredients are provided in a suitable container (e.g., 12-well plate) (para 0038).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Firestein by contacting live human keratinocytes (skin cell lineage) with a plurality of test agents as suggested by Laughlin. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine a plurality of test agents with the cells for the benefit of being able to screen a higher number of test agents to thereby increase the chances of finding one that produces the desired changes in methylation status. It would have been obvious to use live keratinocytes from donors because keratinocytes can be obtained using non-invasive methods. Finally it would have been obvious to perform the method in vitro for the benefit of being able to screen test agents which may have unknown safety and efficacy profiles in human patients.
The combined references do not teach that the test agent has a molecular weight less than 3,000 g/mol (clm 10).
However Jespersen teaches a screening method wherein the test agent is at least one selected from one or more of the following: small organic molecules (MW 1000 g/mol), small peptides (less than 100 amino acids), neurotransmitters, hormones and cytokines (para 0019).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Firestein and Laughlin by using test agents having a molecular weight less than 3000 g/mol as suggested by Jespersen. As discussed by Jespersen small organic molecules have molecular weights less than 100 g/mol. Small organic molecules are routinely used in drug screening assays and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to conduct a drug screening assay using small organic molecules for the benefit of being able to determine their ability to modulate methylation status.
While the combined references teach all of the claimed method steps, they do not teach a correlation between SEQ ID NOs: 1-140 and epigenetic aging of human cells. However this art rejection is set forth because it teaches a broad interpretation of the claims which does not require such a correlation. In the instant case the preamble is considered to be an intended use of the claimed method and the limitation “such that effects of the test agent on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging in the human cells is observed” is broadly interpreted as a property of the recited method.
7. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) in view of Laughlin (US 2016/0077082 Pub 3/17/2016) and Jespersen (US 2006/0121464 Pub 6/8/2006) as applied to claim 10 above and in further view of Bock (Molecular Cell 47, 633-647 August 24, 2012).
The teachings of Firestein, Laughlin, and Jespersen are presented above.
The combined references do not teach comparing methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages.
However Bock teaches that they report high-resolution DNA methylation maps of adult stem cell differentiation in mouse, focusing on 19 purified cell populations of the blood and skin lineages. DNA methylation changes were locus specific and relatively modest in magnitude. They frequently overlapped with lineage-associated transcription factors and their binding sites, suggesting that DNA methylation may protect cells from aberrant transcription factor activation (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Firestein, Laughlin, and Jespersen by comparing methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages as suggested by Bock. One of skill in art would have been motivated to compare methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages to further determine if the test agent is capable of altering methylation in a variety of different tissue lineages.
Double Patenting
9a. Claims 10, 12, 18, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 13-21 of copending Application No. 17/058,542 in view of Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding Claim 10 both sets of claims encompass a method of observing effects of a test agent comprising a polynucleotide, a polypeptide or a compound having a molecular weight less than 3,000 g/mol on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging of human cells (see clms 11, 18, 19, and 20 of the copending application). Both sets of claims require combining the test agent with live human cells comprising human leukocytes, fibroblasts, keratinocytes, buccal cells, endothelial cells, lymphoblastoid cells, and/or cells obtained from human blood, skin or saliva (see clms 11, 16, and 21 of the copending application). Both sets of claims require observing methylation of methylation markers in genomic DNA of the human cells (see clm 11 of the copending application). Both sets of claims require comparing the observations with observations of the methylation status in genomic DNA from control human cells not exposed to the test agent such that effects of the test agent on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging in the human cells are observed (see clm 11 of the copending application). Regarding Claim 12 both sets of claims state encompass a method wherein a plurality of test agents are combined with live human cells (see clms 11, 13, and 16 of the copending application). The instant claims are different from the copending claims because they require observing the methylation status of SEQ ID NOs: 1-140 (clm 11). The instant specification teaches that these SEQ ID NOs: represent CpG loci that are present on the Illumina 450K array (para 0091). Firestein teaches using the Illumina 450 array to measure methylation differences (para 0231). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending application by using the Illumina 450K microarray to measure methylation changes in cells contacted with a test agent. It is a property of this microarray that it contains probes which measure the methylation level of each of SEQ ID NOs: 1-140. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use this microarray because it was routinely used in the art for methylation analysis as demonstrated by Firestein and because it can assess the methylation status of over 450,000 CpG’s across the genome. The instant claims are different because they recite bisulfite treatment (clm 18). The instant claims are different from the copending claims because they recite that the genomic DNA is amplified by PCR (clm 19). However Firestein discloses treating DNA with sodium bisulfite (para 0151). Additionally Firestein discloses amplifying the DNA by PCR (paras 0152). It would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims by treating the DNA with sodium bisulfite and by amplifying the DNA by PCR since these methods were routinely used for methylation analysis.
9b. Claims 15 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 13-21 of copending Application No. 17/058,542 in view of Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) as applied to claim 10 above and in further view of Bock (Molecular Cell 47, 633-647 August 24, 2012). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claims of the copending application in view of Firestein are discussed above. The instant claims are different because they require comparing methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages (clm 15). The instant claims are different because they say the DNA is from cells of a skin cell lineage (clm 16). However Bock teaches that they report high-resolution DNA methylation maps of adult stem cell differentiation in mouse, focusing on 19 purified cell populations of the blood and skin lineages. DNA methylation changes were locus specific and relatively modest in magnitude. They frequently overlapped with lineage-associated transcription factors and their binding sites, suggesting that DNA methylation may protect cells from aberrant transcription factor activation (abstract). It would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims in view of Firestein by comparing methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages such as skin as suggested by Bock. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to compare methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages to further determine if the test agent is capable of altering methylation in a variety of different tissue lineages.
10a. Claims 10 and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/572,130 in view of Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding Claim 10 both sets of claims encompass a method of observing effects of a test agent comprising having a molecular weight less than 3,000 g/mol on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging of human cells (see clms 10, 18 of the copending application). Both sets of claims encompass combining the test agent with human cells comprising human leukocytes, fibroblasts, keratinocytes, buccal cells, endothelial cells, lymphoblastoid cells, and/or cells obtained from human blood, skin or saliva (see clms 10, 15 of the copending application). Both sets of claims require observing methylation of methylation markers in genomic DNA of the human cells (see clm 10-14 of the copending application). Both sets of claims require comparing the observations with observations of the methylation status in genomic DNA from control human cells not exposed to the test agent such that effects of the test agent on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging in the human cells are observed (see clm 10 of the copending application). Regarding Claim 18 both sets of claims recite bisulfite treatment (see clm 15 of the copending application). The instant claims are different from the copending claims because they require observing the methylation status of SEQ ID NOs: 1-140 (clm 10). The instant specification teaches that these SEQ ID NOs: represent CpG loci that are present on the Illumina 450K array (para 0091). Firestein teaches using the Illumina 450 array to measure methylation differences (para 0231). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending application by using the Illumina 450K microarray to measure methylation changes in cells contacted with a test agent. It is a property of this microarray that it contains probes which measure the methylation level of each of SEQ ID NOs: 1-140. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use this microarray because it was routinely used in the art for methylation analysis as demonstrated by Firestein and because it can assess the methylation status of over 450,000 CpG’s across the genome. The instant claims are different because they recite the test agent is a polynucleotide, polypeptide, or compound (clm 10). The instant claims are different from the copending claims because they recite that the genomic DNA is amplified by PCR (clm 19). However Firestein discloses the test agent is a polynucleotide, polypeptide, or compound. Additionally Firestein discloses amplifying the DNA by PCR (paras 0152). It would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims by treating the DNA with the claimed test agents and to amplify the DNA by PCR since these methods were routinely used for methylation analysis.
10b. Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/572,130 in view of Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) as applied to claim 10 above and in further view of Laughlin (US 2016/0077082 Pub 3/17/2016). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The copending application and Firestein are discussed above. The instant claims are different because they recite that a plurality of test agents are combined with live human cells.
However Laughlin teaches a method of screening test agents. Laughlin teaches that once a test agent or combination of test agents is selected, a sample of cells is contacted with the test agent(s). It would have been obvious to have modified the copending claims in view of Firestein by contacting live human cells with a plurality of test agents as suggested by Laughlin. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine a plurality of test agents with the cells for the benefit of being able to screen a higher number of test agents to thereby increase the chances of finding one that produces the desired changes in methylation status.
10c. Claims 15 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/572,130 in view of Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) as applied to claim 10 above and in further view of Bock (Molecular Cell 47, 633-647 August 24, 2012). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claims of the copending application in view of Firestein are discussed above. The instant claims are different because they require comparing methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages (clm 15). The instant claims are different because they say the DNA is from cells of a skin cell lineage (clm 16). However Bock teaches that they report high-resolution DNA methylation maps of adult stem cell differentiation in mouse, focusing on 19 purified cell populations of the blood and skin lineages. DNA methylation changes were locus specific and relatively modest in magnitude. They frequently overlapped with lineage-associated transcription factors and their binding sites, suggesting that DNA methylation may protect cells from aberrant transcription factor activation (abstract). It would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims in view of Firestein by comparing methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages such as skin as suggested by Bock. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to compare methylation profiles in cells from different tissue lineages to further determine if the test agent is capable of altering methylation in a variety of different tissue lineages.
/AMANDA HANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682