Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 51-54 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 14-15, 19-21, 28, 32, 34, 37-39 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crawford (EP 3415672) or in the alternative rejected under 35 USC 103 over Crawford (EP 3415672) in view of Schlusslbauer et al. (PG Pub. 2015/0246460).
Regarding claim 55, Crawford teaches an expandable porous framework (cloth) with the framework containing a dry cementitious powder fill that when exposed to an aqueous media will expand against the constraint of the formwork and set to form a solid hard and coherent material [0012-0025, 0051 and claims 1, 12-13 and 24]. The formwork is porous to liquids but substantially impermeable to the cementitious powder fill. Crawford is silent regarding the claimed toroidal formwork with rectangular or square cross-section with radiused corners. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any shape including rectangular or square cross-section with radiused corners as is known in the art and also to suit to end use requirements.
In the alternative, Crawford teaches any shape can be used for a formwork and Schlusselbauer et al. teach a toroidal shape in order to form a tubular product. It would have been obvious to use the toroidal shape of Schlusselbauer et al. in Crawford in order to obtain a tubular shape and arrive at the claimed invention. Further, as evidenced by PG Pub. 2017/0368713 & WO 2013/076464, it is known not only in the art to use a toroidal shape, but also to use a knit spacer fabric in such formwork in a toroidal shape. Therefore, the present claim and limitation of toroidal is obvious.
Crawford is silent regarding the claimed multiple torus rings arranged adjacent to each other. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange multiple torus rings (and thus has groups of one) adjacent to each other as is known in the art. It further would have been obvious to provide different formwork (i.e. different diameter rings and therefore have at least one group having different formwork material) which would provide different properties along the length of the formwork and arrive at the claimed invention. It is noted that the present claim language is broad and merely recited different formwork.
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robisson (PG Pub. 2013/0161006) or in the alternative rejected under 35 USC 103 over Robisson (PG Pub. 2013/0161006) in view of Schlusslbauer et al. (PG Pub. 2015/0246460).
Regarding claim 55, Robisson et al. teach an expandable porous framework (membrane) with the framework containing a dry cementitious powder fill that when exposed to an aqueous media will expand against the constraint of the formwork and set to form a solid hard and coherent material [Abstract, 0026]. The formwork is porous to liquids but substantially impermeable to the cementitious powder fill.
Robisson et al. is silent regarding the claimed toroidal formwork with rectangular or square cross-section with radiused corners. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any shape including rectangular or square cross-section with radiused corners as is known in the art and also to suit to end use requirements.
In the alternative, Schlusselbauer et al. teach a toroidal shape in order to form a tubular product. It would have been obvious to use the toroidal shape of Schlusselbauer et al. in Crawford in order to obtain a tubular shape and arrive at the claimed invention. Further, as evidenced by PG Pub. 2017/0368713 & WO 2013/076464, it is known not only in the art to use a toroidal shape. Therefore, the present claim and limitation of toroidal is obvious.
The previous combination is silent regarding the claimed multiple torus rings arranged adjacent to each other. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange multiple torus rings (and thus has groups of one) adjacent to each other as is known in the art. It further would have been obvious to provide different formwork (i.e. different diameter rings and therefore have at least one group having different formwork material) which would provide different properties along the length of the formwork and arrive at the claimed invention. It is noted that the present claim language is broad and merely recited different formwork.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not moot as the claims are now rejected under 35 USC 112(b) and new claim 55 is rejected.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the cited art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789