DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed June 29, 2026 have been entered. Claim 16 has been amended; support for the amendment can be found at least in Figures 1-5. Claims 16-30 remain pending with claims 24-30 being withdrawn. Claims 16-23 have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues a) Berg does not teach the claim limitation of “the second conductor lugs are arranged inside of the housing” because the first terminal 20 of Berg is arranged outside the housing 10.
Regarding argument A, the Examiner agrees that the first terminal 20 of Berg is arranged outside of the housing 10; however, the contact tabs 36 and 37 of Berg would meet another reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations regarding the first conductor lugs and the second conductor lugs as the contact tab 36 located inside of the housing electrically connects a second electrode side of the battery roll to a feedthrough brushing 32 to a first terminal 20 (see e.g., paragraph [0036] and Figure 3) and as the contact tab 37 located inside the housing electrically connects a first electrode side of the battery roll to the metallic bottom part of the housing and the second terminal via the metallic wall part (see e.g., paragraph [0036] and Figure 3). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20170054182 A1), hereinafter referred to as Berg, in view of Lee (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20160141591 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Berg teaches a battery cell (“an electrochemical energy storage cell”) (see e.g., Abstract). Berg teaches a battery roll 24 comprising anodes and cathodes in a housing 10 of the battery cell 8 (“an electrode stack comprising a plurality of electrodes of a first polarity and a plurality of electrodes of a second polarity opposite the first polarity”) (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Berg teaches the battery roll 24 has a first electrode side 26 and a second electrode side 28 (see e.g., paragraph [0036]). Berg teaches the first electrode side 26 of the battery roll is joined materially to the metallic bottom part 16 via a contact tab 37 (“wherein each of the electrodes of the first polarity comprises a first conductor lug which protrudes out of the electrode stack on a first side of the electrode stack”) (see e.g., paragraph [0036] and Figure 4). Berg teaches the second electrode side 28 of the battery roll 24 includes a contact tab 36 (“each of the electrodes of the second polarity comprises a second conductor lug”) (see e.g., paragraph [0036]) which protrudes out of the battery roll 24 on the opposite side of the first electrode side 26 (see e.g., paragraph [0036] and Figure 4). Berg teaches the housing 10 comprises the metallic bottom part 16, the metallic wall part 14, and the metallic cover part 12 with the second terminal 22 (“a housing in which the electrode stack is arranged and that is connected electrically conductively to the first conductor lugs”) (see e.g., paragraph [0036]). Berg teaches the second electrode side 28 of the battery roll 24 is joined materially to a feedthrough bushing 32 arranged in the housing 10 via the contact tab 36 (“a connecting element which is arranged in a housing wall of the housing and is electrically connected to the second conductor lugs”) (see e.g., paragraph [0036]).Berg teaches the contact tab 36 is arranged inside of the housing 10 (“the second conductor lugs are arranged inside of the housing”) (see e.g., Figure 4). Berg teaches the feedthrough bushing 32 is electrically insulated from the housing from an insulating element 38 installed between the metallic cover part 12 and the contact tab 36, and the contact tab 36 is connected to the first terminal 20 via a feedthrough bushing 32 that are both (the first terminal 20 and the feedthrough bushing 32) insulated from the housing via an insulating part 30 (“wherein the connecting element is electrically insulated from the housing and is configured to provide an electrical connection to the second conductor lugs from outside of the housing”) (see e.g., paragraph [0036]).
Berg does not explicitly teach the contact tab 37 (Applicant’s first conductor lug) protrudes out of the battery roll on the first side of the battery roll, and the contact tab 36 (Applicant’s second conductor lug) protrudes out of the battery roll on the second side of the battery roll opposite to the second side.
However, Lee teaches a rechargeable battery (see e.g., Abstract). Lee teaches the battery comprises an electrode assembly 10 includes a positive electrode (first electrode) 11 and a negative electrode (second electrode) 12 (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Lee teaches the negative electrode 12 includes a negative electrode coating portion formed in a long connected band shape where an active material is coated and a negative electrode uncoated region 12a where the active material is not coated, wherein the negative electrode uncoated region 12a is located at an end portion of one side of the negative electrode in a length direction thereof (“wherein each of the electrodes of the first polarity comprises a first conductor lug which protrudes out of the electrode stack on a first side of the electrode stack”)(see e.g., paragraph [0039]). Lee teaches the positive electrode 11 includes a positive electrode coating portion formed to have a long connected band shape where an active material is coated and a positive electrode uncoated region 11a where the active material is not coated, wherein the positive electrode uncoated region 11a is located at an end portion of one side of the positive electrode in a length direction thereof (“a second conductor lug which protrudes out of the electrode stack on a second side of the electrode stack opposite the first side”) (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Lee teaches the uncoated regions protruding from their respective electrodes simplifies the structure and manufacturing process, reduces the production cost, and improves productivity (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) by providing a connection area for a weld to the terminals (see e.g., paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the contact tabs of Berg to protrude from the electrode stack on their respective sides, as taught by Lee, in order to simplify the structure and manufacturing process, reduce the production cost, and improve productivity (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) by providing a connection area for a weld to the terminals (see e.g., paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 17, Berg, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
Berg teaches the battery cell is of a substantially rectangular and flat design (see e.g., paragraph [0034]), and, therefore, Berg teaches the battery cell has “the housing is configured as a prismatic housing having two transverse sides lying opposite one another, each of the transverse sides having a first surface area, two longitudinal sides lying opposite one another, each of the longitudinal sides having a second surface area, and two primary sides lying opposite one another, each of the primary sides having a third surface area” and “the first surface area is smaller than both the second surface area and the third surface area” (see e.g., Annotated Figure 2). Berg teaches the contact tab 36 is adjacent to the second electrode side 28 (see e.g., paragraph [0036]) and extends in both the X and Y direction (see e.g., Figure 4); therefore, Berg meets the claim “the connecting element is arranged in one of the transverse sides” as the contact tab extends in the Y-direction (see e.g., Figure 4).
Annotated Berg Figure 2
Regarding claim 20, Berg, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
Berg teaches the metallic bottom part 16 of the housing 10 is electrically connected to the contact tab 37(“wherein the housing comprises a housing part that is electrically connected to the first conductor lugs”) (see e.g., paragraph [0036]). Berg teaches the contact tab 36 is arranged below the metallic cover part 12 of the housing 10 (“a second housing part in which the connecting element is arranged” (see e.g., paragraph [0036] and Figure 3).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20170054182 A1) in view of Lee (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20160141591 A1), and further in view of Namba et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2019/0245173 A1), hereinafter referred to as Namba.
Regarding claim 18, Berg, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
Berg, as modified by Lee, does not explicitly teach the energy storage cell comprising at least one strain relief element that is arranged on one of the longitudinal sides and is configured to reduce a gas pressure in an interior of the housing.
However, Namba teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery includes a container member, a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and a nonaqueous electrolyte wherein the container member is provided with a gas relief structure. Namba teaches an electrochemical energy storage cell further comprising at least one strain relief element that is arranged on one of the longitudinal sides and is configured to reduce a gas pressure in an interior of the housing (see e.g., paragraph [0091] the container member is provided with a gas relief structure. The gas relief structure can release the gas to the outside of the battery when the pressure inside the container member increases to reach a predetermined pressure).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one strain relief element as disclosed by Namba to the teachings of Berg, as modified by Lee, in order to improve the safety of the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery at the time of overcharging by releasing the gas from the inside of the container member to the outside when the gas pressure inside the container member of the battery becomes high (see e.g., paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Berg, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 18, as previously described.
Berg, as modified by Lee and Namba, does not explicitly teach the energy storage cell wherein the housing comprises a gas duct that opens at the at least one strain relief element.
However, Namba teaches an electrochemical energy storage wherein the housing comprises a gas duct that opens at the at least one strain relief element (see e.g., paragraph [0094], the gas relief structure may be, for example, a gas relief vent, a safety valve, a pressure reducing valve, or a gas relief valve; see e.g., paragraph [0121], the safety vent 82 includes a cross groove 83 provided on a bottom surface of a rectangular recess provided in the sealing plate 81. The portion where the groove 83 is provided in the sealing plate 81 is particularly thin. Thus, when the internal pressure of the container body 7 rises, the groove 83 breaks, thereby the gas inside the container body 7 can be released outside).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a gas duct as disclosed by Namba to the teachings of Berg, as modified by Lee and Namba, in order to improve the safety of the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery at the time of overcharging by releasing the gas from the inside of the container member to the outside when the gas pressure inside the container member of the battery becomes high (see e.g., paragraph [0004]).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20170054182 A1) in view of Lee (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20160141591 A1), and further in view of Tyler et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2015/0072209 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tyler.
Regarding claim 21, Berg, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
Berg, as modified by Lee, does not explicitly teach an energy storage module comprising at least two energy storage cells according to claim 16.
Tyler teaches battery modules that may be used in vehicular contexts as well as other energy storage/expending applications (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Tyler discloses a battery module that includes a housing, a plurality of battery cells disposed in the housing, and a bus bar configured to electrically couple adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Tyler teaches the first and second batteries include prismatic cells with terminal posts extending upward from the prismatic cells (see e.g., paragraph [0011]). Tyler teaches an energy storage module comprising at least two energy storage cells (see e.g., paragraph [0074], the battery system 20 may include feature or components for components for connecting the multiple battery modules 22 to each other and/or to other components of the vehicle electrical system).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an energy storage module comprising at least two energy storage cells as disclosed by Tyler to the teachings of Berg, as modified by Lee, in order to provide store and provide power at a desired voltage output for a vehicle (see e.g., paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 22, Berg, as modified by Lee and Tyler, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 21, as previously described.
Berg, as modified by Lee, does not explicitly teach wherein the at least two energy storage cells are arranged in two cell stacks lying opposite one another
However, Tyler teaches an energy storage module wherein the at least two energy storage cells are arranged in two cell stacks lying opposite one another (see e.g., Figure 34, multiple battery modules 22 are arranged in two cell stacks).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the at least two energy storage cells opposite one another as disclosed by Tyler to the teachings of Yoo in order to improve space efficiency (see e.g., paragraph [0177]).
Regarding claim 23, Berg, as modified by Lee and Tyler, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 21, as previously described.
Berg teaches the battery cell can be used in an electric vehicle (EV), in a hybrid vehicle (REV) or in a plug-in hybrid vehicle (PHEV) (see e.g., paragraph [0017]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728