DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.11
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: L4-5 of the claim should recite “wherein an electrical connection of the high voltage (HV) wire assembly has a higher voltage than the low voltage (LV) wiring” in order to have correct antecedent basis and consistent terminology throughout the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berels et al. (US PGPub 2019/0326582 A1, cited on the IDS dated July 1, 2021) and further in view of Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069211 A1), Acikgoez et al. (US PGPub 2017/0200929 A1), Ertle et al. (DE 10-2009-035487 A1, cited on the IDS dated February 8, 2022, see also the previously provided English translation), and Wang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0313260 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Berels discloses in Fig. 3-4 a battery pack ([0023]) comprising:
a tray (45) ([0023]);
a plurality of battery modules (46) mounted on the tray (45) ([0023]);
a battery pack cover (47) configured to cover the plurality of battery modules (47) ([0023]);
a first voltage wire assembly ([0023]);
a second voltage wiring (50, 51) formed on an upper surface of the plurality of battery modules (46) ([0023]-[0024]);
wherein the first voltage wiring assembly includes a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (46) ([0023]).
Specifically, Berels discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly is formed above the tray (45) ([0023], wherein the first voltage wire assembly is located within the battery pack and therefore is formed above the tray 45) and further discloses a desire for the first voltage wire assembly to be electrically isolated from the second voltage wiring (50, 51) ([0023]).
However, modified Berels does not explicitly disclose wherein the first voltage wiring assembly is formed between the plurality of battery modules and the tray.
Mastrandrea teaches a battery pack comprising a wiring assembly that provides mechanical support to the battery pack ([0003]).
Specifically, Mastrandrea teaches in Figs. 4D-4H the battery pack comprising: a tray (430), a plurality of battery modules (410) mounted on the tray (430), a first voltage wire assembly (458) formed between the plurality of battery modules (46) and the tray (430), wherein the first voltage wire assembly (458) includes a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (410) ([0054]-[0055], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first voltage wire assembly of Berels to be between the plurality of battery modules of Berels and the tray of Berels, as taught by Mastrandrea, in order to provide mechanical support to the battery pack of Berels, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully electrically connect the plurality of battery modules, as desired by Berels.
Modified Berels further discloses wherein the second voltage wiring (50, 51 of Berels) may include accessories/controls such that electronic modules and components making use of low voltage power ([0021] of Berels).
However, modified Berels does not disclose wherein the second voltage wiring is configured to connect the plurality of battery modules to at least a battery management system (BMU) that monitors and controls an operation of the plurality of battery modules.
Acikgoez teaches wherein a battery pack may comprise a battery management system (BMU) that monitors (e.g. voltage and/or temperature) and controls operation of a plurality of battery modules ([0002], [0010]).
Specifically, Acikgoez teaches wherein a second voltage wiring (low voltage wiring) is used to connect the battery management system (BMU) to the plurality of battery modules ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a battery management system (BMS) in the battery pack of modified Berels, as taught by Acikgoez, in order to monitor and control operation of the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels.
Upon implementation of the battery management system (BMS), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the second voltage wiring of modified Berels to connect the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels to the battery management system (BMU), as taught by Acikgoez, in order to successfully monitor and control operation of the plurality of battery modules, as desired by modified Berels.
Modified Berels does not disclose a cooling plate formed between the plurality of battery modules and the first voltage wire assembly.
Ertle teaches in Figs. 1-4 a battery pack (1) comprising a plurality of battery modules (4) and a first voltage wire assembly (5, 5.1) formed below the plurality of battery modules (4), wherein the first voltage wire assembly (55, 5.1) includes a bus bar (5.1) electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (4) ([0027]-[0029]).
Ertle further teaches a cooling plate (3) formed between the plurality of battery modules (4) and the first voltage wire assembly (5, 5.1) in order to control the temperature of the plurality of battery modules (4) in the battery pack (1) ([0008], [0026], [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cooling plate between the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels and the first voltage wire assembly of modified Berels, as taught by Ertle, in order to control the temperature of the plurality of battery modules in the battery pack of modified Berels.
Modified Berels discloses wherein the first voltage wiring assembly includes a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) ([0023] of Berels).
However, modified Berels remains silent regarding the structure of the first voltage wiring assembly and consequently does not disclose a vertical bus bar for electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules, wherein the first voltage wire assembly includes an insulating substrate, wherein the cooling plate is disposed between the plurality of battery modules and the insulating substrate, the insulating substrate is disposed between the cooling plate and the bus bar, and the bus bar is disposed between the insulating substrate and the tray, and wherein the bus bar is disposed on only one surface of the insulating substrate.
Ertle further teaches a vertical bus bar (6) for electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (4) and the first voltage wire assembly (5, 5.1) including a substrate (5), and a bus bar (5.1) for electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (4) so that the cooling plate (3) is disposed between the plurality of battery modules (4) and the substrate (5), the substrate (5) is disposed between the cooling plate (3) and the bus bar (5.1), wherein the bus bar (5.1) is disposed on only one surface of the substrate (5) ([0029]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the first voltage wire assembly taught by Ertle as the first voltage wire assembly of modified Berels, wherein such includes a substrate and a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels so that the cooling plate of modified Berels is disposed between the plurality of battery modules and the substrate, the substrate is disposed between the cooling plate and the bus bar, and wherein the bus bar is disposed on only one surface of the substrate, as such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the first voltage wire assembly desired by modified Berels.
Upon implementation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a vertical bus bar in the battery pack of modified Berels, as further taught by Ertle, in order to electrically connect the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels, as desired by modified Berels.
Furthermore, Wang teaches a battery pack comprising a bus bar and a cooling plate ([0004]).
Specifically, Wang teaches in Figs. 2-3 wherein an insulating substrate (32) is disposed between a cooling plate (28) and a bus bar (18) in order to protect the cooling plate (28) from electrical current ([0034], [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate of modified Berels to be an insulating substrate, such that the insulating substrate is disposed between the cooling plate of modified Berels and the bus bar of modified Berels, as taught by Wang, in order to protect the cooling plate from electrical current.
Modified Berels further discloses wherein the insulating substrate (5 of Ertle) includes a plurality of through holes, wherein the vertical bus bar (6 of Ertle) penetrates through one of the plurality of through holes, and wherein one end of the vertical bus bar (6 of Ertle) extends out of the one of the plurality of through holes and comes into contact with a first voltage terminal (e.g. P1 or P2 of Ertle) of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels, corresponding to 4 of Ertle), and another end of the vertical bus bar (6 of Ertle) comes in contact with the bus bar (5.1 of Ertle) in a state in which the another end is inserted into the one of the plurality of through holes ([0029] of Ertle, see also annotated Fig. 7 of Ertle provided below which has been rotated 180 degrees to more clearly show the sequential order of the cooling plate 3, the insulating substrate 5, and the bus bar 5.1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the bus bar (5.1 of Ertle) is attached to a lower surface of the insulating substrate (5 of Ertle) ([0029] of Ertle, see also annotated Fig. 7 of Ertle provided above).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly (5, 5.1 of Ertle) has a structure in which the bus bar (5.1) is recessed in the insulating substrate (5) ([0029] of Ertle, see also annotated Fig. 7 of Ertle provided above).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses:
an output terminal (external first voltage connector terminals) configured to transmit electrical energy stored in the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) ([0023], [0005]-[0006] of Berels),
wherein the first voltage wire assembly (5, 5.1 of Ertle) connects the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) with the output terminal ([0023], [0005]-[0006] of Berels, wherein the first voltage wire assembly electrically connects the plurality of battery modules 46 to the output terminal in order to transmit electrical energy from the plurality of battery module 46 to a traction motor of an electric vehicle).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the battery pack cover (47 of Berels) covers an upper portion of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) at the same time (Fig. 3, [0023] of Berels).
However, modified Berels discloses in the embodiment of Fig. 4 wherein the battery pack cover (47 of Berels) is a flat plate and consequently does not disclose wherein such covers the upper portion and a side surface of the plurality of battery modules at the same time.
Though, modified Berels discloses in an additional embodiment a battery pack cover (60 of Berels) comprising a flat plate and side walls (Fig. 6, [0025] of Berels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the battery pack cover of modified Berels to comprise a flat plate and side walls, as disclosed by modified Berels, such that the battery pack cover covers the upper portion and a side surface of the plurality of battery modules at the same time, as such is a known configuration, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the battery pack desired by modified Berels.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses a vehicle (25 of Berels) comprising the battery pack as set forth above (Fig. 3, [0022] of Berels).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly and the second voltage wiring (51, 52 of Berels) are respectively mounted on opposite sides of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) (Figs. 3-4, 0023]-[0024] of Berels, Figs. 4E-4H, [0054]-[0055] of Mastrandrea, wherein the first voltage wire assembly is below the plurality of battery modules and the second voltage wiring is located above the plurality of battery modules).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly is a high voltage (HV) wire assembly ([0023] of Berels) and the second voltage wiring (50, 51 of Berels) is a low voltage (LV) wiring ([0023]-[0024] of Berels), and wherein an electrical connection of the high voltage (HV) wire assembly has a higher voltage than the low voltage (LV) wiring ([0023]-[0024] of Berels).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the tray (45 of Berels), the bus bar (5.1 of Ertle), the insulating substrate (5 of Ertle), the cooling plate (3 of Ertle), the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels), the second voltage wiring (51, 52 of Berels) and the battery pack cover (47 of Berels) are stacked vertically in a height direction of the battery pack in sequential order (Fig. 3, [0023]-[0024] of Berels, [0054]-[0055] of Mastrandrea, and Fig. 4, 7 of Ertle).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further disclose wherein the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels, corresponding to 4 of Ertle) and the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) are interposed between the first voltage wire assembly (5, 5.1 of Ertle) and the second voltage wiring (51, 52 of Berels) (Fig. 3 of Berels, wherein the second voltage wiring 51, 52 is disposed above the plurality of battery modules 46 and Figs. 4, 7 of Ertle, wherein the cooling plate 3, the insulating substrate 5.1, and the bus bar 5 are disposed below the plurality of battery modules 4).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) includes at least one hole where a flow path is not passing in the cooling plate (3 of Ertle), and wherein the one end of the vertical bus bar (6 of Ertle) is inserted into the at least one hole of the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) towards the first voltage terminal (e.g. P1 or P2 of Ertle) of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels, corresponding to 4 of Ertle) (Figs. 4, 7 of Ertle).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berels et al. (US PGPub 2019/0326582 A1, cited on the IDS dated July 1, 2021) in view of Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069211 A1), Acikgoez et al. (US PGPub 2017/0200929 A1), Ertle et al. (DE 10-2009-035487 A1, cited on the IDS dated February 8, 2022, see also the previously provided English translation), and Wang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0313260 A1), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Janarthanam (US PGPub 2015/0283964 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the battery pack is utilized in a vehicle (25 of Berels) (Fig. 3, [0022] of Berels).
Specifically, modified Berels discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly electrically connects the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) with a motor for a vehicle ([0006] of Berels) and further discloses wherein the second voltage wiring (51, 52 of Berels) is electrically connected with an electrical device (low volage accessories) in the vehicle ([0006] of Berels).
However, modified Berels does not disclose wherein the second voltage wiring electrically connects the plurality of battery modules with the electrical device.
Janarthanam teaches a battery pack that reduces the number of battery systems needed to power a vehicle ([0005]).
Specifically, Janarthanam teaches in Fig. 3 wherein the battery pack (26) comprises a plurality of battery modules (28), a first voltage wire assembly (32), and a second voltage wiring (34) ([0015]).
Janarthanam further teaches wherein the first voltage wire assembly (32) and the second voltage wiring (34) are electrically connected to the plurality of battery modules (28) with a switching unit (36) ([0005], [0015]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a switching unit, as taught by Janarthanam, in the battery pack of modified Berels, and upon implementation, electrically connect the second voltage wiring of modified Berels to the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels, as further taught by Janarthanam, such that the second voltage wiring electrically connects the plurality of battery modules with the electrical device of modified Berels, in order to reduce the number of battery systems needed to power the vehicle of modified Berels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725