DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berels et al. (US PGPub 2019/0326582 A1, cited on the IDS dated July 1, 2021) and further in view of Ertle et al. (DE 10-2009-035487 and A1, cited on the IDS dated February 8, 2022, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated September 25, 2024), Fujii et al. (JP 2010-218797 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated September 25, 2024), Wang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0313260 A1), Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069211 A1), and Acikgoez et al. (US PGPub 2017/0200929 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3, Berels discloses in Fig. 3-4 a battery pack ([0023]) comprising:
a tray (45) ([0023]);
a plurality of battery modules (46) mounted on the tray (45) ([0023]);
a battery pack cover (47) configured to cover the plurality of battery modules (47) ([0023]);
a first voltage wire assembly formed between the plurality of battery modules (46) ([0023]);
second voltage wiring (50, 51) formed on an upper surface of the plurality of battery modules (46) ([0023]-[0024]),
wherein the first voltage wiring assembly includes a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (46) ([0023]).
Berels does not disclose a cooling plate formed between the plurality of battery modules and the first voltage wire assembly.
Ertle teaches in Figs. 1-4 a battery pack (1) comprising a plurality of battery modules (4) and a first voltage wire assembly (5) formed below the plurality of battery modules (4), wherein the first voltage wire assembly (5) includes a bus bar (5) electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (4) ([0027]-[0029]).
Ertle further teaches a cooling plate (3) formed between the plurality of battery modules (4) and the first voltage wire assembly (5) in order to control the temperature of the plurality of battery modules (4) in the battery pack (1) ([0008], [0026], [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cooling plate between the plurality of battery modules of Berels and the first voltage wire assembly of Berels, as taught by Ertle, in order to control the temperature of the plurality of battery modules in the battery pack of Berels.
Modified Berels remains silent regarding the structure of the first voltage wire assembly and consequently does not disclose wherein such further includes an insulating substrate so that the cooling plate is disposed between the plurality of battery modules and the insulating substrate, the insulating substrate is disposed between the cooling plate and the bus bar, and the bus bar is disposed between the insulating substrate and the tray, and wherein the bus bar is disposed on only one surface of the insulating substrate.
Fujii teaches a wire assembly for connecting a plurality of batteries that can stably hold a bus bar in a desired position ([0001], [0008]).
Specifically, Fujii teaches in Figs. 1 and 5 a wire assembly (10) including an insulating substrate (41-45) and a bus bar (20) for electrically connecting a plurality of batteries ([0019], [0024]).
Fujii further teaches wherein the bus bar (20) is attached to a lower surface of the insulating substrate (41-46) such that it is disposed on only one surface of the insulating substrate (41-45) (Fig. 5, [0019], [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the first voltage wire assembly taught by Fujii as the first voltage wire assembly of modified Berels, wherein such includes an insulating substrate and a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels, wherein the bus bar is attached to a lower surface of the insulating substrate such that it is disposed only one surface of the insulating substrate, as taught by Fujii, in order electrically connect the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels, as desired by modified Berels, while stably holding the bus bar in its desired position.
Furthermore, Wang teaches a battery pack comprising a bus bar and a cooling plate ([0004]).
Specifically, Wang teaches in Figs. 2-3 wherein an insulating substrate (32) is disposed between a cooling plate (28) and a bus bar (18) in order to protect the cooling plate (28) from electrical current ([0034], [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the battery pack of modified Berels such that the insulating substrate of modified Berels is disposed between the cooling plate of modified Berels and the bus bar of modified Berels, as taught by Wang, in order to protect the cooling plate from electrical current.
Lastly, Mastrandrea teaches a battery pack comprising a wiring assembly that provides mechanical support to the battery pack ([0003]).
Specifically, Mastrandrea teaches in Figs. 4D-4H the battery pack comprising:
a tray (430) ([0054]-[0055];
a plurality of battery modules (410) mounted on the tray (430) ([0059]);
a first voltage wire assembly (458) formed between the plurality of battery modules (46) and the tray (430) ([0054]-[0055]);
wherein the first voltage wire assembly (458) includes a bus bar electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (410) ([0054]-[0055], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first voltage wire assembly of modified Berels to be between the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels and the tray of modified Berels, as taught by Mastrandrea, in order to provide mechanical support to the battery pack of modified Berels, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully electrically connect the plurality of battery modules, as desired by modified Berels.
Thus, in light of the above, modified Berels discloses wherein the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) is disposed between the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) and the insulating substrate (41-45 of Fujii) ([0008], [0026], [0030] of Ertle, [0019], [0024] of Fujii, and [0034], [0036] of Wang), the insulating substrate (41-45 of Fujii) is disposed between the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) and the bus bar (20 of Fujii, corresponding to the bus bar of Berels) ([0008], [0026], [0030] of Ertle, [0019], [0024] of Fujii, and [0034], [0036] of Wang), and the bus bar (20 of Fujii, corresponding to the bus bar of Berels) is disposed between the insulating substrate (41-45 of Fujii) and the tray (45 of Berels) ([0054]-[0055] of Mastrandrea).
Modified Berels discloses wherein the second voltage wiring (50, 51 of Berels) may include accessories/controls such that electronic modules and components making use of low voltage power ([0021] of Berels).
However, modified Berels does not disclose wherein the second voltage wiring is configured to connect the plurality of battery modules to at least a battery management system (BMU) that monitors and controls an operation of the plurality of battery modules.
Acikgoez teaches wherein a battery pack may comprise a battery management system (BMU) that monitors (e.g. voltage and/or temperature) and controls an operation of a plurality of battery modules ([0002], [0010]).
Specifically, Acikgoez teaches wherein a second voltage wiring (low voltage wiring) is used to connect the battery management system (BMU) to the plurality of battery modules ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a battery management system (BMS) in the battery pack of modified Berels, as taught by Acikgoez, in order to monitor and control an operation of the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels.
Upon implementation of the battery management system (BMS), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the second voltage wiring of modified Berels to connect the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels to the battery management system (BMU), as taught by Acikgoez, in order to successfully monitor and control an operation of the plurality of battery modules, as desired by modified Berels.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly (10 of Fujii) has a structure in which the bus bar (20 of Fuji) is recessed in the insulating substrate (41-45 of Fujii (Figs. 2, 5-6 and [0012], [0019], [0046] of Fujii).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses wherein the insulating substrate (41-45 of Fujii) includes a plurality of through holes (21 of Fujii) (Figs. 1-5 and [0019]-[0021], [0036], [0039]-[0040] of Fujii).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses a vertical bus bar (83 of Fujii) for electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels, corresponding to 110 of Fujii), wherein the vertical bus bar (20 of Fujii) is inserted into one of the plurality of through holes (21 of Fujii) (Figs. 1-5, 9-10, 14 and [0019]-[0021], [0036], [0039]-[0040] of Fujii).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses wherein one end of the vertical bus bar (83 of Fujii) comes in contact with a first voltage terminal (e.g. 112 or 113 of Fujii) of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels, corresponding to 110 of Fujii) and another end of the vertical bus bar (83 of Fujii) comes into contact with the bus bar (20 of Fujii) in a state in which the other end is inserted into one of the plurality of through holes (21 of Fujii) (Fig. 14, [0039]-[0040] of Fujii).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses:
an output terminal (external first voltage connector terminals) configured to transmit electrical energy stored in the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) ([0023], [0005]-[0006] of Berels),
wherein the first voltage wire assembly connects the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) with the output terminal ([0023], [0005]-[0006] of Berels, wherein the first voltage wire assembly electrically connects the plurality of battery modules 46 to the output terminal in order to transmit electrical energy from the plurality of battery module 46 to a traction motor of an electric vehicle).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses wherein the battery pack cover (47 of Berels) covers an upper portion of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) at the same time (Fig. 3, [0023] of Berels).
However, modified Berels discloses in the embodiment of Fig. 4 wherein the battery pack cover (47 of Berels) is a flat plate and consequently does not disclose wherein such covers the upper portion and a side surface of the plurality of battery modules at the same time.
Though, modified Berels discloses in an additional embodiment a battery pack cover (60 of Berels) comprising a flat plate and side walls (Fig. 6, [0025] of Berels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the battery pack cover of modified Berels to comprise a flat plate and side walls, as disclosed by modified Berels, such that the battery pack cover covers the upper portion and a side surface of the plurality of battery modules at the same time, as such is a known configuration, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the battery pack desired by modified Berels.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses a vehicle (25 of Berels) comprising the battery pack as set forth above (Fig. 3, [0022] of Berels).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly and the second voltage wiring (51, 52 of Berels) are respectively mounted on opposite sides of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) (Figs. 3-4, 0023]-[0024] of Berels, Figs. 4E-4H, [0054]-[0055] of Mastrandrea, wherein the first voltage wire assembly is below the plurality of battery modules and the second voltage wiring is located above the plurality of battery modules).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly is a high voltage (HV) wire assembly ([0023] of Berels) and the second voltage wiring (50, 51 of Berels) is a low voltage (LV) wiring ([0023]-[0024] of Berels), and wherein an electrical connection of high voltage wire assembly has a higher voltage than the low voltage wiring ([0023]-[0024] of Berels).
Regarding Claims 21-22, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels discloses wherein the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) is disposed between the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) and the first voltage wire assembly (10 of Fujii) ([0008], [0026], [0030] of Ertle), the insulating substrate (41-45 of Fujii) of the first wire assembly (10 of Fujii) is disposed between the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) and the bus bar (20 of Fujii, corresponding to the bus bar of Berels) of the first wire assembly (10 of Fujii) ([0019], [0024] of Fujii, wherein the bus bar 20 is attached to a lower surface of the insulating substrate 41-45 and [0034], [0036] of Wang, wherein the insulating substrate is disposed between the cooling plate and the bus bar), and the bus bar (20 of Fujii, corresponding to the bus bar of Berels) is disposed between the insulating substrate (41-45 of Fujii) and the tray (45 of Berels) ([0054]-[0055] of Mastrandrea) and further discloses wherein the second voltage wiring (50, 51 of Berels) is formed on an upper surface of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) and the battery pack cover (47 of Berels) covers an upper portion of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) (Fig. 3, [0023]-[0024] of Berels).
Consequently, modified Berels discloses wherein the tray (25 of Berels), the bus bar (20 of Fujii, corresponding to the bus bar of Berels), the insulating substrate (41-45 of Fujii), the cooling plate (3 of Ertle), the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels), the second voltage wiring (50, 51 of Berels) and the battery pack cover (47 of Berels) are stacked vertically in a height direction of the battery pack in sequential order (Fig. 3 and [0023]-[0024] of Berels, [0008], [0026], [0030] of Ertle, [0019], [0024] of Fujii, [0034], [0036] of Wang, [0054]-[0055] of Mastrandrea).
Furthermore, modified Berels discloses wherein the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) and the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) are interposed between the first voltage wire assembly (10 of Fujii) and the second voltage wiring (50, 51 of Berels) (Fig. 3 and [0023]-[0024] of Berels, [0008], [0026], [0030] of Ertle, [0019], [0024] of Fujii, [0034], [0036] of Wang, [0054]-[0055] of Mastrandrea).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berels et al. (US PGPub 2019/0326582 A1, cited on the IDS dated July 1, 2021) in view of Ertle et al. (DE 10-2009-035487 A1, cited on the IDS dated February 8, 2022, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated September 25, 2024), Fujii et al. (JP 2010-218797 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated September 25, 2024), Wang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0313260 A1), Mastrandrea et al. (US PGPub 2018/0069211 A1) and Acikgoez et al. (US PGPub 2017/0200929 A1), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Janarthanam (US PGPub 2015/0283964 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Berels discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Berels further discloses wherein the battery pack is utilized in a vehicle (25 of Berels) (Fig. 3, [0022] of Berels).
Specifically, modified Berels discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly electrically connects the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) with a motor for a vehicle ([0006] of Berels) and further discloses wherein the second voltage wiring (51, 52 of Berels) is electrically connected with an electrical device (low volage accessories) in the vehicle ([0006] of Berels).
However, modified Berels does not disclose wherein the second voltage wiring electrically connects the plurality of battery modules with the electrical device.
Janarthanam teaches a battery pack that reduces the number of battery systems needed to power a vehicle ([0005]).
Specifically, Janarthanam teaches in Fig. 3 wherein the battery pack (26) comprises a plurality of battery modules (28), a first voltage wire assembly (32), and a second voltage wiring (34) ([0015]).
Janarthanam further teaches wherein the first voltage wire assembly (32) and the second voltage wiring (34) are electrically connected to the plurality of battery modules (28) with a switching unit (36) ([0005], [0015]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a switching unit, as taught by Janarthanam, in the battery pack of modified Berels, and upon implementation, electrically connect the second voltage wiring of modified Berels to the plurality of battery modules of modified Berels, as further taught by Janarthanam, such that the second voltage wiring electrically connects the plurality of battery modules with the electrical device of modified Berels, in order to reduce the number of battery systems needed to power the vehicle of modified Berels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new limitation of Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed September 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, the Applicant argues that each of the various references are used to arrive at the recite elements of claim 1, without regard for the very specific stacking order of the tray, the bus bar, the insulating substrate, the cooling plate, the plurality of battery modules, the second voltage wiring and the battery pack cover, so that the entire stack order of the elements are not obvious especially since the stacking order is not suggested in the various applied references, and the elements of the references work against each other in providing a compact structure, so that the combination of the references fail to render obvious the features of Claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that modified Berels discloses the specific stacking order as claimed.
Specifically, modified Berels discloses a plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) mounted on the tray (45 of Berels) ([0023] of Berels); a battery pack cover (47 of Berels) configured to cover the plurality of battery modules (47 of Berels) ([0023] of Berels); a first voltage wire assembly formed between the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) ([0023] of Berels); and a second voltage wiring (50, 51 of Berels) formed on an upper surface of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) ([0023]-[0024] of Berels).
Modified Berels further discloses a cooling plate (3 of Ertle) formed between the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) and the first voltage wire assembly in order to control the temperature of the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) ([0008], [0026], [0030] of Ertle).
Moreover, modified Berels discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly comprises a bus bar (20 of Fujii) attached to a lower surface of an insulating substrate (41-46 of Fujii) (Fig. 5, [0019], [0024] of Fujii) and wherein the insulating substrate (41-46 of Fujii) is disposed between the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) and the bus bar (20 of Fujii) in order to protect the cooling plate (3 of Ertle) from electrical current ([0034], [0036] of Wang).
Lastly, modified Berels discloses wherein the first voltage wire assembly is between the plurality of battery modules (46 of Berels) and the tray (45 of Berels) in order to provide mechanical support to the battery pack (Figs. 4D-4H, [0003] of Mastrandrea).
Therefore, the Examiner notes that the specific stacking order is suggested in the various applied references and further notes that the cited prior art provides motivation for the specific stacking order.
Moreover, the Examiner notes that the Applicant has not provided any showing of elements of the cited prior art working against each other in providing a compact structure and therefore such appears to be a mere allegation.
Thus, the arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725