DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claim to priority to U.S. Provisional App. No. 62/789,099 filed January 07, 2019.
Status of Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the claims filed on 12/17/2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 15-18 were previously canceled. Claims 1-14 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wrolstad (WO 2017168300 A1) in view of Nagase (US 20150293343) and Misono (JP 2790253 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Wrolstad teaches an intravascular imaging device (Paragraph [0034]; intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) imaging system 100, Fig. 1), comprising:
a flexible elongate member (Paragraph [0010]; intravascular imaging device includes a flexible elongate member; Paragraph [0052]; proximal inner member 256 and/or the proximal outer member 254 can be flexible elongate member, Fig. 4) configured to be positioned within a blood vessel of a patient (Paragraph [0037]; For example, the device 102 may be used to examine any number of anatomical locations; vessel 120 may be a blood vessel, as an artery or a vein of a patient's vascular system), the flexible elongate member comprising a proximal portion and a distal portion (Paragraph [0010]; the flexible elongate member having a proximal portion and a distal portion), wherein a longitudinal axis spans from the distal portion to the proximal portion (Paragraph [0056]; support member 330 defines a longitudinal lumen 336; Claim 8; the body portion extending longitudinally between the proximal and distal stands; Fig. 6 shows the longitudinal axis is from the proximal to distal sides);
an ultrasound imaging assembly disposed at the distal portion of the flexible elongate member (Paragraph [0010]; an imaging assembly disposed at the distal portion of the flexible elongate member; Paragraph [0040]; an ultrasound scanner assembly 110, Figs. 3 and 4), the ultrasound imaging assembly comprising:
a flexible substrate (Paragraph [0040]; a flex circuit 214, Fig. 4) comprising:
a distal portion comprising a plurality of acoustic elements (Paragraph [0040]; ultrasound transducers 212, Fig. 2; transducer region 204 is disposed adjacent a distal portion 221 of the flex circuit 214); and a proximal portion (Paragraph [0040]; Figs. 3 and 4 show portions 210 and 208 are proximal compared to the distal portion) comprising:
a first plurality of conductive traces (Paragraph [0045]; conductive traces 216) configured to facilitate communication for the plurality of acoustic elements (Paragraph [0045]; carry signals between the control logic dies 206 and the transducers 212);
wherein the flexible substrate is distinct from the flexible elongate member (Fig. 4 shows the flex circuit 214 is different from the flexible elongate member 256 and 254);
and
a support member (Paragraph [0044]; support member 230, Fig. 4; Paragraph [0050]; a backing material 246), wherein the distal portion of the flexible substrate is wrapped around the support member (Paragraph [0044]; flex circuit 214 is configured to be wrapped around a support member 230; Figs. 3 and 4 show the flex circuit 214 wrapped around the support member 230 and backing material 246); and
a plurality of conductors (Paragraph [0038]; transmission line bundle or cable 112 can include a plurality of conductors, Fig. 2) extending along a length of the flexible elongate member (Paragraph [0038]; a transmission line bundle 112 extending along the longitudinal body; Paragraph [0039]; The transmission line bundle 112 terminates in a PIM connector 114 at a proximal end of the device 102, Fig. 1) and coupled to the proximal portion of the flexible substrate such that the plurality of conductors provide the communication for the plurality of acoustic elements via the first plurality of conductive traces (Paragraph [0045]; conductors 218 of cable 112 when the conductors 218 of the cable 112 are mechanically and electrically coupled to the flex circuit 214, Fig. 2).
Wrolstad does not teach the flexible substrate comprises a plurality of recesses extending completely through the flexible substrate from a first surface to an opposite, second surface, wherein the plurality of recesses is positioned throughout the proximal portion and is parallel to the longitudinal axis, wherein the plurality of recesses is configured to increase flexibility of the proximal portion of the flexible substrate such that the plurality of recesses is separate from facilitating the communication for the plurality of acoustic elements; and
wherein the flexible substrate is distinct from the flexible elongate member such that the plurality of recesses are part of a structure of the flexible substrate.
Nagase, however, teaches an intraluminal imaging device (Paragraph [0024]; an endoscope 101, Fig. 1) comprising a flexible elongate member (Paragraph [0027]; a flexible tube portion 108 and bending portion 109 and a distal end portion 110, Fig. 1); and
a flexible substrate (Paragraph [0051]; flexible printed wiring board 20 is an electronic circuit board having flexibility, Fig. 5) comprising a proximal portion (Paragraph [0089]; image pickup device mounting portion 25 as a proximal end, Fig. 5) comprising a plurality of recesses extending completely through the flexible substrate from a first surface to an opposite, second surface (Paragraph [0072]; in the flexible printed wiring board 20, a plurality of slits 30 are formed along the bent portion 27; Fig. 5 shows the slits are on the proximal side of the circuit board; The slits 30 are through-holes provided by being bored by avoiding wirings that are formed in the flexible printed wiring board),
wherein the plurality of recesses is configured to increase flexibility of the proximal portion of the flexible substrate such that the plurality of recesses is separate from facilitating communication for the plurality of acoustic elements (Paragraph [0072]; bored by avoiding wirings that are formed in the flexible printed wiring board; are provided to facilitate folding in the case of the bent portion 27 being formed on the flexible printed wiring board 20);
wherein the flexible substrate is distinct from the flexible elongate member such that the plurality of recesses are part of a structure of the flexible substrate (Paragraph [0072]; in the flexible printed wiring board 20, a plurality of slits 30 are formed; Figs. 2 and 3 shows the flexible printed wiring board 20 is distinct from the tube portion 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flexible substrate of Wrolstad to have included a plurality of recesses extending completely through the flexible substrate from a first surface to an opposite, second surface, such that the plurality of recesses is configured to increase flexibility of the proximal portion of the flexible substrate such that the plurality of recesses is separate from facilitating the communication for the plurality of acoustic elements; and the flexible substrate is distinct from the flexible elongate member such that the plurality of recesses are part of a structure of the flexible substrate as taught by Nagase. This would have prevented the wiring board from being easily broken when a bending stress is applied to the wiring board (Nagase, Paragraph [0099]).
Together Wrolstad and Nagase do not teach the plurality of recesses is positioned throughout the proximal portion and is parallel to the longitudinal axis.
Misono, however, teaches an intraluminal imaging device (Pg. 1, electronic scanning ultrasonic probe that is inserted into a body cavity and scans an ultrasonic beam; Fig. 2) comprising a flexible substrate (Pg. 2, Full Para. 1; as shown in FIG. 10 (b), a flexible printed circuit board 5), wherein the flexible substrate comprises a plurality of recesses (Pg. 4-5, Fig. 7 Para.; as shown in FIG. 7 (a), a cut 13 is provided between each of the electrode patterns 68 of the printed circuit board 5), wherein the plurality of recesses is positioned throughout the proximal portion (Pg. 4-5, Fig. 7 Para.; a cut 13 is provided between each of the electrode; Fig. 7 shows a plurality of cuts 13 positioned throughout the proximal portion printed circuit board 5) and is parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figs. 7(a) and (b) and shows the plurality of cuts are positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation and in view of Applicant Specification and Drawings Fig. 8), wherein the plurality of recesses is configured to increase flexibility of the proximal portion of the flexible substrate such that the plurality of recesses is separate from facilitating the communication for the plurality of acoustic elements (Pg. 4; forming a cut 13 between each of the electrode patterns 68 of the printed circuit board… so large that sufficient softness can be obtained; Pg. 5, Effects of the invention; the stress generated when the printed circuit board is bent can be absorbed by the gap formed in a spiral shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the positioning of the recesses in the device of Wrolstad in view of Nagase such that the plurality of recesses is positioned throughout the proximal portion and is parallel to the longitudinal axis as taught by Misono because it would have been a known pattern of forming cuts that allows a printed circuit board to be bent into a cylindrical shape and further reduce the possibility that the printed circuit board is bent or the electrode pattern is disconnected and be used with a short rigid portion (Pg. 5, Effects of the invention).
Regarding claim 6, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Wrolstad further teaches the distal portion of the flexible substrate comprises:
a plurality of integrated circuit chips in communication with the plurality of acoustic elements (Paragraph [0036]; integrated circuit controller chip(s) 206A, 206B, Fig. 2); and
a second plurality of conductive traces providing communication between the plurality of integrated circuit chips and the plurality of acoustic elements (Paragraph [0045]; conductive traces 216 in transition region 210, Fig. 2); and
wherein the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a plurality of conductive pads at which the plurality of conductors are coupled (Paragraph [0045]; conductive traces 216 can also provide a set of conductive pads that contact the conductors 218 of cable 112 when the conductors 218 of the cable 112 are mechanically and electrically coupled to the flex circuit 214), respectively; and
wherein the first plurality of conductive traces provide communication between the plurality of conductive pads and the plurality of integrated circuit chips (Paragraph [0045]; Fig. 2 shows the conductive traces 216 in region 208 connects the cable 112 and the control circuit 206, which is considered to read on the claimed limitation of providing communication between the plurality of conductive pads and the plurality of integrated circuit chips).
Regarding claim 7, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as noted above.
Nagase further teaches the plurality of recesses are spaced apart from one another in the proximal portion of the flexible substrate (Paragraph [0072]; in the flexible printed wiring board 20, a plurality of slits 30 are formed along the bent portion 27, Fig. 5) such that the plurality of recesses are located between the first plurality of conductive traces (Paragraph [0085]; output wiring 32 passes the bent portion 27; In a range which is separated from the bent portion 27; Fig. 8 shows the slits of bent portion 27 are between the wiring traces 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flexible substrate of Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono such that the plurality of recesses are spaced apart from one another in the proximal portion of the flexible substrate such that the plurality of recesses are located between the first plurality of conductive traces as taught by Nagase because it would facilitate folding in the case of the bent portion while avoiding wirings that are formed in the flexible printed wiring board (Nagase, Paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 8, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as noted above.
Wrolstad does not explicitly teach the plurality of recesses comprises a plurality of slits; wherein the plurality of slits are arranged in a same orientation as the first plurality of conductive traces.
Nagase, however, further teaches the plurality of recesses comprises a plurality of slits (Paragraph [0072]; in the flexible printed wiring board 20, a plurality of slits 30 are formed along the bent portion 27, Fig. 5);
wherein the plurality of slits are arranged in a same orientation as the first plurality of conductive traces (Paragraph [0085]; output wiring 32 passes the bent portion 27; In a range which is separated from the bent portion 27; Fig. 8 shows the wiring traces 32 and slits of bent portion 27 are both arranged in sets from bottom to top which is considered to read on the limitation of the same orientation as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the recesses of Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono to have included a plurality of slits; wherein the plurality of slits are arranged in a same orientation as the first plurality of conductive traces as taught by Nagase because it would facilitate folding in the case of the bent portion while avoiding wirings that are formed in the flexible printed wiring board (Nagase, Paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 10, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Wrolstad further teaches the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a first width (Paragraph [0046]; Fig. 2 shows width 224 of the proximal portion of the flex circuit) less than a second width of the distal portion of the flexible substrate (Fig. 2 shows width the distal portion of the flex circuit is wider than the width of the proximal portion).
Regarding claim 11, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Wrolstad further teaches the distal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a cylindrical configuration around the support member (Paragraph [0044]; flex circuit 214 is configured to be wrapped around a support member 230 (Fig. 3) to form a cylindrical toroid in some instances, Fig. 3), and
wherein the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a spiral configuration (Paragraph [0082]-[0083]; conductor interface 320 can be wrapped in a spiral or helical configuration around the proximal flange 334, Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 12, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 11 as noted above.
Wrolstad further teaches the flexible elongate member comprises an inner member (Paragraph [0052]; proximal inner member 256, Fig. 4),
wherein the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises the spiral configuration around the inner member (Paragraph [0083]; conductor interface 320 may be wrapped in a spiral configuration around both the proximal flange 334 and the inner member 356 in some embodiments).
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hiraoka (US 20130072801) and Wakabayashi (US 20080200811).
Regarding claim 2, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono do not teach the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a first thickness greater than a second thickness of the distal portion of the flexible substrate,
wherein the increased flexibility of the proximal portion provided by the plurality of recesses is configured to offset a decreased flexibility resulting from the greater, first thickness of the proximal portion.
Hiraoka, however, teaches an intraluminal imaging device (Paragraph [0013]; ultrasound endoscope including ultrasound transducer unit) comprising a flexible substrate (Paragraph [0076]; flexible substrate 21 and 22, Fig. 9) wherein the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a first thickness (Fig. 9, thickness of proximal portion of substrate comprising flexible substrates 21 and 22) greater than a second thickness of the distal portion of the flexible substrate (Fig. 9, thickness of distal portion of substrate comprising flexible substrate 21; The proximal portion with flexible substrates 21 and 22 is thicker than the distal portion with flexible substrate 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the substrate of Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono such that the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a first thickness greater than a second thickness of the distal portion of the flexible substrate as taught by Hiraoka because it would have provided more material and surface for which to connect the electrical wirings, thereby simplifying the ability to connect the wires (Hiraoka, paragraph [0077]-[0078]).
Together Wrolstad, Nagase, Misono, and Hiraoka do not teach the increased flexibility of the proximal portion provided by the plurality of recesses is configured to offset a decreased flexibility resulting from the greater, first thickness of the proximal portion.
Wakabayashi, however, teaches an intraluminal imaging device (Paragraph [0012]; ultrasonic endoscope) comprising plurality of recesses (Paragraph [0101]; inter-cell-group etching groove 28, Fig. 20) is configured to offset a decreased flexibility resulting from the greater, first thickness of the proximal portion of the flexible substrate (Paragraph [0101]; inter-cell-group etching groove 28 is formed at a position where the partition portion 41 is formed by dry etching to reach the flexible sheet 39. since the flexible sheet 39 has low rigidity and is deformable, the flexible sheet 39 is bendable; The cutting into the layers shown in fig. 20 to reach the flexible sheet which is deformable is considered to read on the claimed limitation of offsetting a decreased flexibility from the greater thickness of the flexible substrates as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further provided a plurality of recesses at the proximal substrate of Wrolstad in view of Nagase, Misono, and Hiraoka to offset a decreased flexibility resulting from the greater, first thickness of the proximal portion, thus increasing flexibility of the proximal portion as taught by Wakabayashi because it would have improved flexibility of the endoscope at the portion of the substrate proximal to the transducer and thus further improved the ability to navigate the endoscope through the body.
Regarding claim 3, together Wrolstad, Nagase, Misono, Hiraoka, and Wakabayashi teach all of the limitations of claim 2 as noted above.
Hiraoka further teaches the distal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a first layer (Paragraphs [0074]-[0078]; flexible substrates 21, Fig. 9) and the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises the first layer and a second layer (Paragraphs [0074]-[0078]; flexible substrates 21 and 22, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the flexible substrate of Wrolstad in view of Nagase, Misono, Hiraoka, and Wakabayashi such that the distal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a first layer and the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises the first layer and a second layer as taught by Hiraoka because this configuration allows ultrasound transducer module to be shortened in the insertion direction by providing the overlapping region. Thus, this configuration is adopted to enable a reduction in the size of the ultrasound transducer module (Hiraoka, Paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 5, together Wrolstad, Nagase, Misono, Hiraoka, and Wakabayashi teach all of the limitations of claim 3 as noted above.
Hiraoka further teaches the first layer and the second layer comprise a same material (Paragraphs [0074]-[0078]; flexible substrates 21 and 22; 21 and 22 are both flexible substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flexible substrate of Wrolstad in view of Nagase, Misono, Hiraoka, and Wakabayashi such that the first layer and the second layer comprise a same material as taught by Hiraoka because it would allow both layers to be used for electrical connections to the ultrasound transducer which would allow increased amount of signal lines without increasing the size of the ultrasound transducer module (Hiraoka, Paragraph [0077]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wrolstad in view of Nagase, Misono, Hiraoka, and Wakabayashi as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ogawa (US 8900152).
Regarding claim 4, together Wrolstad, Nagase, Hiraoka, and Wakabayashi teach all of the limitations of claim 3 as noted above.
Together Wrolstad, Nagase, Misono, Hiraoka, and Wakabayashi do not teach the first layer comprises the first surface and the second layer comprises the second surface such that the plurality of recesses extend completely through the first layer and the second layer.
Ogawa, however, teaches an intraluminal imaging device (Col. 3, Ln. 31-52; ultrasound endoscope, Fig. 1), comprising:
a flexible elongate member (Col. 4, Ln. 42-54 and Col. 5, Ln. 6-21; insertion portion, flexible portion, Fig. 1 #2a and 13) configured to be positioned within a body lumen (Col. 4, Ln. 42-54; is inserted into a body cavity) of a patient (Col. 4, Ln. 42-54; the body), the flexible elongate member comprising a proximal portion (Col. 4, Ln. 62-Col. 5, Ln. 5; a proximal end side of the insertion portion) and a distal portion (Col. 4, Ln. 42-54; a distal end portion of an insertion portion);
a flexible substrate (Col. 5, Ln. 29-Col. 6, Ln. 19; rigid flexible substrate, a base layer #31 configured by polyimide; Figs. 2 and 3, #24, 25, 31, 34, and 35);
wherein the distal portion of the flexible substrate comprises a first layer (Col. 5, Ln. 44-Col. 6, Ln. 3; an insulating layer #34, Fig. 2) and the proximal portion of the flexible substrate comprises the first layer and a second layer (Col. 5, Ln. 44-Col. 6, Ln. 3; insulating layers #34 and #35, Fig. 2);
and the first layer comprises the first surface (Col. 5, Ln. 44-59; insulating layer #34 formed on an outer side of the wiring layer #32, Fig. 2) and the second layer comprises the second surface (Col. 5, Ln. 44-59; an insulating layer #35 formed on an outer side of the shield layer #33, Fig. 2) such that the plurality of recesses extend completely through the first layer and the second layer (Col. 5, Ln. 60-Col. 6, Ln. 3; the wiring pattern on the wiring layer #32 of the flexible portion #25 are connected by formation of, for example, vias, through-holes in a thickness direction and the like).
Examiner notes Ogawa teaches a through-hole which is considered to be a recess extending completely through the flexible substrate from a first surface to an opposite, second surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first layer comprises the first surface and the second layer comprises the second surface as taught by Ogawa because it would have a further extend the recesses completely through rigid flexible substrate #24 to the other side as it would have allowed wires to be routed through either side of the substrate.
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono as applied to claim 6 and 11 above, respectively, and further in view of Dausch (US 20130267853).
Regarding claim 9, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 6 as noted above.
Wrolstad further teaches that the proximal portion of the flexible substrate (Fig. 2, section of flex circuit 214 with the transducer control circuits 206a and 206b) comprises one or more electrical components (Paragraphs [0040]-[0044]; transducer control circuits 506a and 506b, Fig. 5; Examiner notes the transducer control circuits are considered to be electrical components in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
Together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono do not teach that each of the one or more electrical components is disposed along a path of a respective conductive trace of the first plurality of conductive traces.
Dausch, however, teaches an intraluminal imaging device (Paragraphs [0012] and [0013]; ultrasound device comprising a catheter member) wherein the one or more electrical components (Paragraph [0068]; termination PC board and interposer device, Fig. 28 #600 and 610) is disposed along a path of a respective conductive trace (Paragraph [0067] and [0068]; conductors can be divided into 8 subassemblies #330 containing 75 conductors each, with each subassembly #330 toward the proximal end #315 having its own termination connection support substrate #355. Each subassembly #330 may be bonded to an individual interposer device #610 configured, Figs. 24 and 28; Examiner notes that Fig. 28 shows each set of electrical components are disposed along a respective path of conductors) of the first plurality of conductive traces (Paragraphs [0067] and [0068]; conductors divided into smaller cable subassemblies, cable, Figs. 24 and 28 #150, 160, and 650).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono such that each of the one or more electrical components is disposed along a path of a respective conductive trace of the second plurality of conductive traces as it would allow signal routing of traces associated with the interposer to be accomplished with relatively shorter traces, relatively wider signal traces, and relatively larger pitch, thus reducing or otherwise eliminating signal degradation (Dausch, Paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 13, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 11 as noted above.
Wrolstad further teaches the spiral configuration is in the proximal portion of the flexible substrate (Paragraphs [0082] and [0083]; wrapped in a spiral or helical configuration).
Together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono do not teach that the flexible substrate is trained by either or both of heat or compression.
Dausch, however, teaches an intraluminal imaging device (Paragraphs [0012] and [0013]; ultrasound device comprising a catheter member) wherein the flexible substrate (Paragraph [0064]; support substrate, Figs. 25A and B #255) is trained by either or both of heat (Paragraph [0064]; capsular member then be sealed using heat) or compression (Paragraph [0072]; Sheathing, such as shrink tubing #320 may be provided and installed about the connective elements of the cable assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have trained the flexible substrate of Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono using either or both of heat or compression as it would form a fluid tight seal (Dausch, Paragraph [0064]) and provide a more robust sheathed cable assembly (Dausch, Paragraph [0072]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogawa (US 8900152).
Regarding claim 14, together Wrolstad, Nagase, and Misono teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Wrolstad and Nagase do not teach the proximal portion of the flexible substrate extends at an oblique angle relative to the distal portion of the flexible substrate.
Ogawa, however, teaches an intraluminal imaging device (Col. 3, Ln. 31-52; ultrasound endoscope, Fig. 1), comprising:
a flexible elongate member (Col. 4, Ln. 42-54 and Col. 5, Ln. 6-21; insertion portion, flexible portion, Fig. 1 #2a and 13) configured to be positioned within a body lumen (Col. 4, Ln. 42-54; is inserted into a body cavity) of a patient (Col. 4, Ln. 42-54; the body), the flexible elongate member comprising a proximal portion (Col. 4, Ln. 62-Col. 5, Ln. 5; a proximal end side of the insertion portion) and a distal portion (Col. 4, Ln. 42-54; a distal end portion of an insertion portion);
a flexible substrate (Col. 5, Ln. 29-Col. 6, Ln. 19; rigid flexible substrate, a base layer #31 configured by polyimide; Figs. 2 and 3, #24, 25, 31, 34, and 35);
wherein the proximal portion of the flexible substrate extends at an oblique angle relative to the distal portion of the flexible substrate (Col. 9, Ln. 34-67; the flexible portion #25A of the present embodiment is extended to an oblique direction of the proximal end side from the rigid portion #26 so as to form the angle θ with respect to the axial direction of the insertion portion #2a as shown in FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the flexible substrate of Wrolstad in view of Nagase and Misono such that the proximal portion of the flexible substrate extends at an oblique angle relative to the distal portion of the flexible substrate as taught by Ogawa because it would reduce the chance of a gap being formed when the flexible portion is wound in a spiral shape (Ogawa, Col. 7, ln. 40-51).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections under – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
/DEAN N EDUN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
3/27/26