DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed on 07 July 2021 and is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2020/050569 filed on 10 January 2020. The Applicant claims foreign priority to application no. DE10 2019 100483.7 filed on 10 January 2019. A translated copy of the foreign document has not been provided; therefore, the effective filing date of the application is 10 January 2020.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 22 June 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 22 June 2026, it is noted that claim 41 has been amended, no claims have been canceled or added. The amendment has been made to limit the scope to alpha-tocopherol acetate. No new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 38 recite a derivative of vitamin E, and claim 5 recites starch derivatives and cellulose derivatives. The Applicant’s specification does not define or specify the
derivatives or analogues for vitamin E, starch, and derivatives, and, thus, may vary greatly in structure and/or function. The specification also does not provide for a sufficient representative number of species that would allow for all the types of derivatives or analogues that can exist for the listed compounds. MPEP 2163 II - A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). In this case, the genus is “derivatives” of all structures of vitamin E, cellulose, and starch in claims 1, 5, and 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5, and 38 recite “derivatives” of vitamin E, starch, and cellulose. The metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined due to lack of written description for “derivatives.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9, 10, 33, 37-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsohly et al. (WO 03101357 A1), Chistov (US 10058531 B1), Krekeler (WO 2016009001 A1), and healthline.com, as evidenced by qualifiedcontrols.com.
Elsohly et al. teach a single or multi-layered oral film (entire teaching; pg. 10, para. 2) that may comprise a reservoir or cavity for the matrix (claim 9) to delivery cannabinoids (title). In one example, the outer layer may include hydroxypropylcellulose in an amount of 37% and THC in an amount of 8% in the inner matrix (pg. 10, para. 3; Example 1). THC includes THC pro-drugs, metabolites, derivatives, or analogs (claim 8 and Table 1). The film can optionally include vitamin E as a surfactant (pg. 14, para. 2), which is interpreted similarly to an emulsifier and where no surfactant is required in the composition. To improve solubility for the cannabinoid, fatty acid triglycerides may be included (pg. 1, para. 1). PEG 400 is a solubilizer that may be used in an amount of 8% (Example 1). The composition thus far addresses claims 3-6, 9, 33, and 40. The inner matrix comprises 50% of the entire composition in Example 1. Therefore, the inner hydrophobic phase is interpreted as roughly 50% of the entire film, addressing claim 10. Since the film may be made of multiple layers, which includes a reservoir for the matrix, it is interpreted as addressing a cavity with the layers enclosing the matrix in claim 37. Some of the formulations have greater than 96% of the active agent remaining after 12 months of storage (Table II, pg. 20-21). It is interpreted that the storage conditions are similar to standard conditions for cannabinoid products (60-70°F and 59-63% relative humidity; qualifiedcontrols.com, pg. 3), especially since the processes performed on the film can improve unstable THC products (pg. 19-21), partially addressing claim 1. The film layers may comprise a water-insoluble polymer with at least one cannabinoid (pg. 11, para. 3), where it is interpreted that the hydrophobic cannabinoid is contained in the inner portion of the films with the water-insoluble or hydrophobic polymer, addressing claims 1, 42, and 43.
Elsohly does not teach 5-20% of vitamin E in their composition or isopropyl myristate in claim 1. Elsohly does not teach alpha-tocopherol acetate in claim 41.
Krekeler teaches that isopropyl myristate, a medium-chain triglyceride (entire teaching; specification, pg. 9), may be used as a plasticizer in orodispersible films to reduce the brittleness and increase flexibility (para. 43).
Healthline.com teaches that tocopheryl acetate is more stable compared to tocopherol in dietary supplements (entire teaching; pg. 4).
In regards to selecting a combination of THC, vitamin E, and hydroxypropyl cellulose in an oral film, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various
combination of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Since Elsohly teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Since Elsohly does not teach isopropyl myristate in their oral film composition in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Krekeler’s teaching of isopropyl myristate as a plasticizer to increase flexibility as Elsohly also teaches incorporating additives for matrix flexibility (pg. 11, para. 3).
Since Elsohly does not specifically teach tocopheryl acetate but does teach vitamin E in their oral film dosage in claims 39 and 41, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use healthline.com’s teaching of using tocopheryl acetate because it is more stable in oral products than tocopherol.
In regards to the amounts of components in claims 1 and 38, Chistov teaches an oral film that comprises cannabinoid (abs; col. 1, lns. 5-15) such as 5-10% THC (claim 2; Table 5), a polymer such as hydroxyethyl cellulose or 5-50% polyvinyl alcohol (Example 9; col. 7, ln. 62-col. 8, ln. 31), a surfactant such as vitamin E (claim 3), and a lipophilic carrier (col. 9, lns. 23-30). The surfactant, which is interpreted similarly to emulsifier, may be in an amount of 1-25% (Table 6), where vitamin E is an option as a surfactant and no other surfactants are required. Elsohly teaches hydroxypropylcellulose in an amount of 37% and THC in an amount of 8% in the inner matrix (Example 1). That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the amount can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the oral film composition. The optimum or workable range of the concentration can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of vitamin E as nonobvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues against the 112(a) written description rejection (Remarks, pg. 7).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. These compounds can be modified in various ways and through different chemical processes, and, therefore, may vary in structure. For example, there may be over 600 starch and starch derivatives modified through physical or chemical means (evidenced by Renewable feedstocks for lubricant production, 5.5.4) and cellulose and cellulose derivatives may be modified through several different processes, such as acetylation, sulfation, phosphorylation, etc., which produces structurally different compounds (evidenced by Garg, pgs. 7-8). Therefore, when there is substantial variation within the genus, the Applicant must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The Applicant argues that the references do not teach the limitations in claim 1 (Remarks, pg. 8).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The Applicant is reminded that the teachings of KSR are actually an endorsement and expansion of the flexible and expansive approach to obviousness, which clearly invites continued reliance on such broad and flexible analyses concerning the utility of selecting alternative embodiments of components providing art-recognized utility, with no substantial change in the overall utility of a composition so formulated. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-96 (U.S.2007) (“the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results”; “When a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”; “a court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions” exemplified by the holdings of cases such as Merck v. Biocraft.
The Applicant argues that Elsohly does not teach the formulation of claim 1 and cites Example 1 (Remarks, pg. 9).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The Applicant is erroneously pointing to narrow embodiments expressly disclosed within the prior art reference as representing the sum total of information conveyed by each. Art is art, not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would reasonably suggest to the skilled artisan, including alternative or non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP § 2123).
The Applicant argues that Elsohly does not disclose an outer hydrophilic phase and an inner hydrophobic phase (Remarks, pgs. 9-10).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In one example in Elsohly, the outer layer may include hydroxypropylcellulose in an amount of 37% and THC in an amount of 8% in the inner matrix (pg. 10, para. 3; Example 1). Furthermore, the inner matrix comprises 50% of the entire composition in Example 1.
The Applicant argues that Example 1 places THC in a PEG-400-containing polymer matrix (Remarks, pg. 10).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Instant claim 1 uses “comprising” language, which is interpreted as allowing at least one hydrophobic substance, and at least one pharmaceutically active substance, and more. Therefore, Elsohly’s example, which includes THC in an inner matrix, is interpreted as addressing the limitations in claim 1.
The Applicant argues that Elsohly does not teach the claimed amount of vitamin E (Remarks, pg. 10).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In Elsohly’s teaching, the surfactant, which is interpreted similarly to emulsifier, may be in an amount of 1-25% (Table 6), where vitamin E is an option as a surfactant and no other surfactants are required.
The Applicant argues that Elsohly’s stability data is misplaced and includes various combinations of other ingredients (Remarks, pg. 11).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In Elsohly’s teaching, some of the formulations have greater than 96% of the active agent remaining after 12 months of storage (Table II, pg. 20-21). It is interpreted that the storage conditions are similar to standard conditions for cannabinoid products (60-70°F and 59-63% relative humidity; qualifiedcontrols.com, pg. 3), especially since the processes performed on the film can improve unstable THC products (pg. 19-21). Instant claim 1 uses “comprising” language, which is interpreted as allowing other ingredients.
The Applicant argues that Elsohly does not disclose isopropyl myristate and that Krekeler’s teaching is not directed to cannabinoid stabilization (Remarks, pgs. 11-12).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Since Elsohly does not teach isopropyl myristate in their oral film composition in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to Krekeler’s teaching of isopropyl myristate as a plasticizer to increase flexibility as Elsohly also teaches incorporating additives for matrix flexibility (pg. 11, para. 3). “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
The Applicant argues that Krekeler teaches isopropyl myristate out of a long list of several options (Remarks, pg. 12).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. It is well settled that it is a matter of obviousness for one of ordinary skill in the art to select a particular component from among many disclosed by the prior art as long as it is taught that the selection will result in the disclosed effect, even when the possible selections number 1200 or in the thousands. Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Corkill, 771 F.2d 1496, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
The Applicant argues that isopropyl myristate is used as a plasticizer and that the instant claim teaches isopropyl myristate in the hydrophobic portion of the composition (Remarks, pgs. 12-13).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan that a hydrophobic compound, such as isopropyl myristate, would be formulated within the hydrophobic matrix with other hydrophobic compounds, such as THC and cannabinoids. Furthermore, instant claim 1 uses “comprising” language, which is interpreted as allowing other ingredients, such as isopropyl myristate, within the oral thin film composition.
The Applicant argues that modifying the teachings can only be derived with hindsight (Remarks, pg. 13).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. It is well settled that it is a matter of obviousness for one of ordinary skill in the art to select a particular component from among many disclosed by the prior art as long as it is taught that the selection will result in the disclosed effect, even when the possible selections number 1200 or in the thousands. Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Corkill, 771 F.2d 1496, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The Applicant argues that healthline.com does not address oral thin film formulations for cannabinoids (Remarks, pg. 14).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Healthline.com teaches that tocopheryl acetate is more stable compared to tocopherol in dietary supplements (entire teaching; pg. 4). Since Elsohly does not specifically teach tocopheryl acetate but does teach vitamin E in their oral film dosage in claims 39 and 41, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use healthline.com’s teaching of using tocopheryl acetate because it is more stable in oral products than tocopherol, especially since Elsohly’s teaching recognizes THC as an unstable compound. A skilled artisan would have been led to use tocopheryl acetate to favorable increase stability in their product.
The Applicant argues that Chistov teaches a fundamentally different formulation concept and there is no motivation for a skilled person to modify Elsohly’s teachings based on Chistov (Remarks, pgs. 15-16).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Since Elsohly is silent on some of the amounts in the instant invention, Chistov’s teachings represent ranges a skilled artisan would have looked to for an oral film comprising cannabinoids. Chistov teaches an oral film that comprises cannabinoid (abs; col. 1, lns. 5-15) such as 5-10% THC (claim 2; Table 5), a polymer such as hydroxyethyl cellulose or 5-50% polyvinyl alcohol (Example 9; col. 7, ln. 62-col. 8, ln. 31), a surfactant such as vitamin E (claim 3), and a lipophilic carrier (col. 9, lns. 23-30). The surfactant, which is interpreted similarly to emulsifier, may be in an amount of 1-25% (Table 6), where vitamin E is an option as a surfactant and no other surfactants are required. The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references, especially within the broad ranges instantly claimed), is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613