DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
As of the Final Office Action mailed 11/26/2025, claims 32-37 and 39-54 were pending and claims 32, 34-35, and 52-53 were withdrawn for being drawn to nonelected invention.
In Applicant's Response filed on 5/26/2026, claims 33 and 39 were amended.
The 103 rejection of record has been amended to address the new limitation regarding a crypt-villus architecture (recited in withdrawn claim 35).
As such, claims 32-37 and 39-54 are pending and claims 33, 36-37, 39-51, and 54 have been examined herein.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objections and rejections presented herein represent the full set of objections and rejections currently pending in this application. Any objections or rejections not specifically reiterated are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 33, 36-37, 39-51, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recites “the malabsorptive disorder” in step (c) and the administration step. It is unclear if the malabsorptive disorder recited in step (c) and the administration step is the same as the “malabsorptive diarrhea due to EEC dysgenesis” as recited in the preamble. Thus, the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner is interpreting that the disorders are the same.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the malabsorptive disorder" in step c) of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no previous recitation of “a malabsorptive disorder” in the claim. Thus, the claim is indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 33 recites the broad recitation of “malabsorptive disorder,” and the claim also recites “malabsorptive diarrhea due to EEC dysgenesis” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Please note that claims 36-37, 39-51, and 54 are included in this rejection for being dependent or ultimately dependent on indefinite claim 33.
It is noted that any interpretation of the claims set forth above does not relieve Applicant of the responsibility of responding to rejections made based on said interpretations. If the actual interpretation of the claims is different than that posited by the Examiner, additional rejections and art may be readily applied in a subsequent final Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments in the Remarks filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On p. 7-8 of Remarks, Applicant argues that the amendment to claim 33, step (c) to recite “the malabsorptive diarrhea due to EEC dysgenesis” is sufficient to overcome the rejection. However, the claim was amended to recite “the malabsorptive disorder” and contains no such argued amendment in step (c). Thus, the rejections related to the recitation of “malabsorptive disorder” are maintained and the inclusion of “the” with “malabsorptive disorder” creates a new ground lack of antecedent basis issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33, 39-40, 43, and 54 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al (WO 2018207714 A1, 2 May 2018; Published 15 Nov 2018; previously cited) in view of Spence et al (Nature, 12 Dec 2010; 470(7332):105-109; Ref. 592 of Non-Patent Literature Documents in IDS filed 2 Nov 2021; previously cited), and Huch Ortega et al (US 10597633 B2, 16 May 2014; published 6 July 2017; previously cited) as evidenced by Dedhia et al (Gastroenterology. 2016 May;150(5):1098-1112), McGrath et al (Diabetes, 29 Jan 2015; 64(7):2497-2505; Ref. 8 of Non-Patent Literature Documents in IDS filed 27 Oct 2021; previously cited) and Raouf et al (Cell Mol Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2 Mar 2024;18(1):53-70; previously cited).
Regarding claim 33, Matsunaga teaches a method for producing an intestinal organoid from pluripotent stem cells, where the pluripotent stem cells are induced pluripotent stem cells or embryonic stem cells from a human and the pluripotent stem cells are derived from a patient with intestinal disease (see claims 1-2, and 5 of Matsunaga)
Matsunaga continues to teach metabolism, absorption, drug interaction, etc., can be measured and evaluated using, for example, fluorescence immunoassay (FIA) (p. 7 of Translation, para 10). This reads on “screening a compound in vitro . . . comprising a) contacting an intestinal organoid with a compound in vitro wherein the intestinal organoid . . . is differentiated from pluripotent stem cells . . . (b) assessing one or more effect of the compound . . . in the intestinal organoid by immunofluorescence”.
Matsunaga continues to teach that their method can be used for evaluating the pharmacokinetics of a test substance using the created organoid, where the test substance is brought into contact with the organoid and the metabolism, absorbability, membrane permeability, drug interaction, drug metabolizing enzyme induction, drug transporter induction, or toxicity of the test substance is evaluated or measured (see claims 17 and 19 of Matsunaga).
Regarding claims 39 and 40, Matsunaga teaches disease-specific intestinal organoids can be produced from patients having intestinal diseases such as inflammatory bowel disease (Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis) and can be used to as drug evaluation systems (“Technical field” para 8).
Regarding claim 54, Matsunaga teaches that the pluripotent stem cells are derived from the subject (claims 1-2 and 5).
Matsunaga does not teach:
(i) that the organoid comprises a null mutation in Neurog3,
(ii) that the intestinal organoid comprises a crypt-villus architecture, and
(iii) that the tested compound is administered to the subject after determination of effectiveness.
(i) Regarding a null mutation in Neurog3, Spence teaches the directed differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells into intestinal tissue to create three-dimensional intestinal organoids (abstract and p. 6, “Generation of human intestinal organoids”). 28-day intestinal organoids generated using shRNA-expressing lentiviral vectors for NEUROG3 knockdown results in 63% reduction in NEUROG3 mRNA (p. 15 of Supplementary Information, Fig. 15f) and 90% reduction in enteroendocrine cells in the organoid (“intestinal organoid comprises a null mutation in NEUROG3, lacks enteroendocrine cells” as in instant claim 33 in-part). Spence continues to teach that PSC-derived human intestinal tissue allows for functional studies to investigate the molecular basis of human congenital gut defects in vitro and to generate intestinal tissue for eventual transplantation-based therapy for diseases such as necrotizing enterocolitis, inflammatory bowel diseases and short gut syndromes as well as facilitate future studies of drug design to enhance absorption and bioavailability (p. 5, para 3).
(ii) and (iii) Regarding a crypt-villus architecture and administration, Huch Ortega teaches uses of organoids (abstract), particularly an intestinal organoid which can be used to study diseases such as cystic fibrosis, inflammatory bowel disease (such as Crohn's disease) and in drug discovery screening, toxicity assay, or regenerative medicine (“Uses of Organoids” para 1 and 10-11). Ortega teaches that the tissue fragment of the intestine utilized to isolate Lgr5+ cells to create the organoid can comprise a crypt or part of a crypt (para 4 of “Isolation of stem cells for culture”) (“wherein the intestinal organoid comprises . . . a crypt-villus architecture” as in instant claim 33 in-part). Ortega also teaches that the organoid can be used for testing individual patient responses to specific drugs and tailoring the treatment based on responsiveness (“Drug Screening” para 2). Ortega further teaches a method of treating a patient comprising obtaining a biopsy from the diseased tissue of interest, culturing the Lgr5+ stem cells obtained from the biopsy to obtain an organoid, screening a suitable drug using a screening method and treating said patient with the screened drug (Drug screening, para 11). The drug is used for treating or ameliorating symptoms of metabolic diseases such as inflammatory bowel disease such as Crohn’s disease (Drug screening, para 12). This reads on “determining whether the compound will be effective in treating a malabsorptive disorder in a subject based on the assessed effect of the compound on the intestinal organoid or enteroid; and administering the compound to the subject when the compound is determined in step c) as being effective in treating a malabsorptive disorder”.
The teachings of Dedhia are relied upon as providing evidence that enteric anendocrinosis is an extremely rare disease caused by mutations in NEUROG3 that is characterized by severe malabsorptive diarrhea and a lack of intestinal enteroendocrine cells (Models of GI disease, para 4). PSC-derived intestinal organoids with adenoviral knockdown of NEUROG3 have fewer enteroendocrine cells, similar to patients with anendocrinosis (same para). This evidences that NgN3 knockdown as taught by Spence results in model of malabsorptive diarrhea.
The teachings of McGrath are relied upon in providing evidence that NEUROG3 knockdown (NEUROG3-/-) (i.e., null mutation) is sufficient to cause a complete absence of CHGA protein and mRNA, leading to lack of enteroendocrine cell development (p. 2499, Results; p.2503, Discussion, para 1) (“null mutation in NEUROG3, lacks enteroendocrine cells, and does not express Chromogranin A (CHGA)” as in instant claim 33 in-part). The teachings of McGrath show that NEUROG3 null mutation causes both loss of CHGA expression and lack of enteroendocrine cell development.
Regarding claim 43, the teachings of Raouf are relied upon in providing evidence that mouse models with reduced EECs had severe colitis, indicated by colon histology, significantly more body weight loss, colon shortening, and increased TNF expression compared to wild type strains (“Mouse models with reduced EECs” para 1; Fig. 12A-C). This shows that reduced/lack of enteroendocrine cells is present in colitis, and thus, the subject with colitis would be EEC-deficient/have a decreased EEC population.
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to use an intestinal organoid created with pluripotent stem cells to screen drugs as taught by Matsunaga, where the organoid has Neurog3 knockdown as taught by Spence, where NEUROG3 null mutation causes lack of Chromogranin A expression and loss of EEC cell development and malabsorptive diarrhea as evidenced by McGrath and Dedhia, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
Spence shows that knockdown of NEUROG3 is sufficient to induce 90% reduction in enteroendocrine cells in the organoid. Dedhia evidences that NgN3 deficient organoids model diseases associated with malabsorptive diarrhea. McGrath evidences enteroendocrine cells cannot develop when NEUROG3-/- mutation (i.e., null mutation) is present due to lack of CHGA expression.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the intestinal organoid of Matsunaga to contain NEUROG3 null mutation as taught by Spence with the reasonable expectation of advantageously causing no CHGA expression. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated because lack of CHGA expression results in no enteroendocrine cell development and results in recapitulation of inflammatory diseases like enteric anendocrinosis and colitis in the organoid as evidenced by Dedhia and Raouf.
Thus it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to create an intestinal organoid as taught by Matsunaga and Spence, where the organoid is used to screen drugs and the screened drug is used to treat a subject as taught by Huch-Ortega, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. As Huch-Ortega shows that an organoid derived from patient cells can be used to screen drugs, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the organoid of Matsunaga and Spence in combination in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of advantageously testing individual patient responses to specific drugs and tailoring the treatment based on responsiveness as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On p. 10-11 of Remarks, Applicant argues in sum that that the intestinal organoid comprises a crypt-villus architecture and that none of the references teach or suggest a crypt-villus structure. Applicant argues that Huch-Ortega states that the organoid as disclosed purportedly “does not comprise a naturally occurring crypt or villus.”
While Applicant’s argument has been fully considered it is not found persuasive. Huch-Ortega states (as recited above) teaches that “the tissue fragment of the intestine utilized to isolate Lgr5+ cells to create the organoid can comprise a crypt or part of a crypt” (para 4 of “Isolation of stem cells for culture”). The section in which Applicant quotes recites, in its entirety, “ that an organoid of the invention is not a naturally occurring tissue fragment and/or does not comprise a blood vessel. For example, in the case of a liver organoid of the invention, does not comprise a naturally occurring liver lobule or a naturally occurring bile duct. Similarly, an intestinal organoid of the invention does not comprise a naturally occurring crypt or a naturally occurring villus.” Read in context, one of ordinary skill would understand that the intestinal organoid of Huch-Ortega is differentiated from a population of cells rather than starting from a tissue fragment as a scaffold, etc. Moreover, evidentiary reference Sato et al (Nature. 2009 May 14;459(7244):262-5. Epub 2009 Mar 29; also cited in Huch-Ortega et al) states that long-term culture conditions under which single crypts undergo multiple crypt fission events, while simultaneously generating villus-like epithelial domains in which all differentiated cell types (abstract). The reference further states that single sorted Lgr5+ stem cells can also initiate these crypt-villus organoids and experiments indicate that the Lgr5+ stem-cell hierarchy is maintained in organoids and are self-organizing structures (see disclosure throughout).
On p. 11-13, Applicant argues that none of the reference teaches the use of intestinal organoid to screen for a compound for ability to modulate macronutrient absorption. Applicant asserts that only Huch Ortega and Matsunaga contemplate compound screening but the Huch Ortega is directed to “infectious, inflammatory, and neoplastic” gastrointestinal pathologies and not malabsorptive disorders, macronutrient absorption, or EEC dysgenesis. Applicant also argues that Matsunaga discusses evaluation for pharmacokinetics and toxicology.
This argument is also not found persuasive. It should be emphasized that the claims only require “screening . . . for efficacy in modulating macronutrient absorption”, which is an intended result, and moreover, the determining and administration steps recited in the claims state “effective in treating malabsorptive disorder”. Huch Ortega describes that the organoid can be used for testing individual patient responses to specific drugs and tailoring the treatment based on responsiveness, screening a suitable drug using a screening method and treating said patient with the screened drug, and using the screened drug for treating or ameliorating symptoms of metabolic diseases (much like instantly claimed). Thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim(s) 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al in view of Spence et al, and Huch Ortega et al as applied to claims 33, 39-40, 43, and 54 above, and further in view of Clark et al (Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol. 2 Apr 2009; 296(6):G1151-66.; Ref. 112 of Non-Patent Literature in IDS filled 2 Nov 2021; previously cited).
The teachings of Matsunaga, Spence, and Huch Ortega in combination were recited in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection as applied to claim 33 of which claims 36-37 depend. The teachings will not be repeated here.
The difference between the combined teachings and the invention as instantly claimed is that they do not teach that assessing the effect of the compound on the intestinal organoid or enteroid comprises determining ion transport and/or response to luminal glucose (claim 36) or that ion transport in the organoid or enteroid is determined by measuring basal short-circuit current and/or wherein response to luminal glucose is determined by measuring electrochemical gradients in the Ussing chamber (claim 37).
Clarke teaches a guide to using Ussing chamber (title). The reference teaches that the Ussing chamber provides a physiological system to measure the transport of ions, nutrients, and drugs across various epithelial tissues (abstract, para 1). The passive transepithelial driving force created by the spontaneous electrical potential across the epithelium was eliminated by clamping the potential to zero with an external current passed across the epithelium (Introduction para 1). This current, known as the short-circuit current (Isc), allows the movement of ions as measured by isotopic tracers or the Isc in the Ussing chamber resulted from active transport to be measured (same para). This reads on “assessing the effect of the compound on the intestinal organoid or enteroid comprises determining ion transport” as in instant claim 36 and “that ion transport in the organoid or enteroid is determined by measuring basal short-circuit current . . . in the Ussing chamber” as in instant claim 37.
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to use an intestinal organoid to screen drugs and administer the screened drug to a patient as taught by Matsunaga, Spence, and Huch Ortega in combination, where the Ussing chamber is used to assess the compound as taught by Clarke, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. As Clarke shows that Ussing chamber can be used to measure active transport using short-circuit current, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to simply substitute one known drug screening element [immunofluorescence assay of Matsunaga, Spence, , and Huch Ortega in combination] for another [Ussing chamber of Clark] to obtain the predictable result of advantageously measuring the transport of ions, nutrients, and drugs across intestinal epithelium as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has not provided any arguments challenging the teachings of cited reference Clark nor has Applicant attempted to distinguish the teachings of Clark and the instantly claimed invention.
Claim(s) 41-42, 44, 47-49, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al in view of Spence et al, and Huch Ortega et al as applied to claims 33, 39-40, 43, and 54 above, and further in view of Levy et al (US 20130281374 A1, 17 Aug 2007; Ref. 5 of US Patent Documents in IDS filed 27 Oct 2021; previously cited).
The teachings of Matsunaga, Spence, Huch Ortega in combination were recited in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection as applied to claim 33 of which claim 41-42, 44, 47-49, and 51 depend. The teachings will not be repeated here.
The difference between the combined teachings and the invention as instantly claimed is that they do not teach that treating a malabsorptive disorder comprises improving carbohydrate, protein, and/or amino acid absorption, restoring normal electrophysiology, diminishing diarrhea, and/or rescuing postnatal survival (claim 41), improving carbohydrate, protein and/or amino acid absorption comprises improving glucose and/or dipeptide absorption (claim 42), the subject is dependent on parenteral nutrition (claim 44), that the compound is administered with a type of nutrition (claim 47), that the compound and the nutrition is administered in a single composition (claim 48), that the compound is PYY (claim 49), or that the compound is administered for at least one day (claim 51).
Levy teaches a method for non-alimentary nutrition comprising administering parenteral nutrition (i.e., “a type of nutrition” as instantly claimed), a nutritively effective amount of one or more nutrients selected from the group consisting of carbohydrates, ammo acids, lipids, free fatty acids, mono- or diglycerides, glycerol and any combination thereof; and a GIP compound (para 0574) (“wherein the compound is administered with a type nutrition” as in instant claim 47). The reference teaches that GIP compounds reduces the problems associated with parenteral nourishment (same para). The reference also teaches that the GIP compound includes peptide YY (para 0019). Finally, the reference teaches administration infusion treatment of PYY (“wherein the compound is PYY” as in instant claim 49) via infusion for 14 days (para 0530) (“wherein the compound is administered . . . from about one day to about 30 days” as in instant claim 51). The reference also teaches that insulin secretion during parenteral nourishment in the presence of a GIP compound can be controlled such that the plasma glucose increase will be less than without the GIP compound (para 0574) (“wherein improving carbohydrate absorption comprises improving glucose absorption” as in instant claim 42). Administering a GIP compound reduces problems associated with parenteral nourishment to a patient in need of parenteral nutrition (i.e., dependent on parenteral nourishment), where the nourishment is carbohydrate and enhances nutrient metabolism can be achieved in patients with gastrointestinal diseases (para 0574) (“wherein treating malabsorptive disorder comprises improving carbohydrate absorption” as in instant claim 41; “wherein the subject is dependent on parenteral nutrition” as in instant claim 44). While the reference does not explicitly teach a single composition of GIP compound with parenteral nutrition, one of ordinary skill would have reasonably combined PYY with parenteral nutrition into a single composition as the reference teaches that GIP compounds such as PYY reduces parenteral nourishment problems when given in combination as in instant claim 48.
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to use an intestinal organoid to screen drugs and administer the screened drug to a patient as taught by Matsunaga, Spence, and Huch Ortega in combination, where the drug is PYY and it is administered with parenteral nutrition as taught by Levy, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. As Levy shows PYY can be administered with parenteral nutrition, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to simply substitute the drug to be screened as taught by Matsunaga, Spence, McGrath, and Huch Ortega with PYY as taught by Levy with a reasonable expectation of advantageously screening a drug known to reduces the problems associated with parenteral nourishment as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has not provided any arguments challenging the teachings of cited reference Levy nor has Applicant attempted to distinguish the teachings of Levy and the instantly claimed invention.
Claim(s) 45-46 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al in view of Spence et al, and Huch Ortega et al as applied to claims 33, 39-40, 43, and 54 above, and further in view of Cho et al (US 20100048871 A1, 4 Nov 2009; Ref. 3 of US Patent Documents in IDS filed 27 Oct 2021; previously cited).
The teachings of Matsunaga, Spence, and Huch Ortega in combination were recited in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection as applied to claim 33 of which claim 45-46 and 50 depend.
Regarding claim 50, Huch Ortega teaches screening a suitable drug using a screening method and treating said patient with the screened drug where the drug is used for treating or ameliorating symptoms of metabolic diseases such as inflammatory bowel disease such as Crohn’s disease, which reads on “further comprising identifying a compound effective in treating a malabsorptive disorder” as in instant claim 50 in-part (see first 103 rejection above).
The difference between the combined teachings and the invention as instantly claimed is that they do not teach that the compound is administered with one or more additional active component (claim 45), wherein the one or more additional active component comprises a dipeptidyl peptidase-4 ("DPP4") inhibitor and/or a vasoactive intestinal peptide (VIP) inhibitor, administered before, after, or concurrently with administration of the compound (claim 46), or wherein the compound improves nutrient absorption, restores normal electrophysiology, restores intracellular pH, diminishes diarrhea, and/or rescues postnatal survival (claim 50 in-part).
Cho teaches that when administered intravenously, PYY suppresses appetite and food intake in both lean and obese subjects however its oral activity is negligible due to its low absorption and rapid degradation in the gastrointestinal tract (para 0205). The reference also teaches that treatment with DPP-IV inhibitors prevents degradation of Peptide YY (PYY as in instant specification) which has been linked to gastrointestinal conditions such as ulcers, irritable bowel disease and inflammatory bowel disease (para 0210) (“ wherein the compound is administered with one or more additional active component” as in instant claim 45; “wherein the one or more additional active component comprises a dipeptidyl peptidase-4 inhibitor” as in instant claim 46). Peptide YY and its analogs or agonists have been used to manipulate endocrine regulation of cell proliferation, nutrient transport, and intestinal water and electrolyte secretion (i.e., diarrhea) (same para) ( “wherein the compound improves nutrient absorption . . . diminishes diarrhea” as in instant claim 50 in-part). The reference also teaches that conditions or disorders can be alleviated by reducing nutrient availability in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of PYY, a PYY agonist, or a mixture thereof with at least one delivery agent compound (para 0213). Finally, the reference teaches PYY and PYY agonists with the delivery agent compound may be administered separately or together (i.e., concurrently) with one or more other compounds and compositions that exhibit a long term or short-term action to reduce nutrient availability (para 0214) (“administered . . . concurrently with administration of the compound” as in instant claim 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to create an intestinal organoid with NEUROG3 null mutation and assess the effect of compounds on the organoid and administering the assessed compound to the patient as taught by Matsunaga, Spence, and Huch Ortega in combination, where PYY is delivered with a DPP4 inhibitor as taught by Cho, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. As Cho shows that PYY and DPP4 inhibitor can be co-administered, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to administer PYY with DPP4 inhibitor together with a reasonable expectation of advantageously preventing degradation of PYY, manipulate endocrine regulation of cell proliferation, nutrient transport, and intestinal water and electrolyte secretion, and alleviate conditions and disorders as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has not provided any arguments challenging the teachings of cited reference Cho nor has Applicant attempted to distinguish the teachings of Cho and the instantly claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/DAVID A MONTANARI/Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1632