DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 17/421,980
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims and arguments received 16 June 2026.
Claims 10, 36-37, and 46-63 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, being claims 1-3, 10-12, 14-15, 17-18, 20, 23, 26, 29-30, 32-33, and 35-37 in the reply filed on 18 March 2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant has also elected the following species:
A species of formula (I) of claim 1, being the fourth compound of original claim 14, shown below:
The elected group and species have been determined to read on claims 10 and 36-37.
Claims 46-63 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
A search for Applicant’s elected species did not retrieve applicable prior art or double patent art. The search was expanded only as necessary to arrive at the references and rejections below. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed patent applications PCT/US2020/13317 (filed 13 January 2020), 62/791,252 (filed 11 January 2019), and 62/884,529 (filed 8 August 2019) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Amendments
The objections to the drawings, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to the replacement drawing sheets.
The objections to the specification, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
A new rejection of the instant claims under 35 U.S.C. 112 is presented herein.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are maintained herein, but are altered as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are maintained herein, but are altered as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites two chemical structures labeled “PP46” and “PP47”, but these structures appear to be identical. Duplicate structures with differing labels cause the reader to be confused by the meaning of the differing labels, and cause claim 10 and all claims dependent thereupon to be indefinite. This renders claims 10 and 36-37 indefinite. Applicant may choose to delete one of the duplicate structures, along with its label, or Applicant may replace one of the structures with another structure if that change is supported by an earlier set of claims or the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
MIEVILLE (US 4,072,705, Date of Patent 7 February 1978).
MIEVILLE teaches compounds, and preparations thereof, useful as hypolipaemiants (abstract); in other words, they are useful for the treatment of hyperlipaemia (Col. 4, Ln. 9-15). Table 1 of MIEVILLE, in columns 29-30 therein, teaches compound A-55, which is shown below. MIEVILLE also teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds therein for the treatment of hyperlipaemia, wherein the compositions contain a physiologically acceptable excipient (Col. 4, Ln. 9-15).
Compound A-55 of MIEVILLE is identical to compound PP43, which is claimed within instant claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
MIEVILLE (US 4,072,705, Date of Patent 7 February 1978)
in view of:
DESAI (US 6,749,868, Date of Patent 15 June 2004).
Regarding claim 37: Teachings of MIEVILLE are described in the first 35 USC 102 rejection above. MIEVILLE does not teach albumin as being present in compositions with the molecules taught therein.
DESAI teaches a method and compositions to deliver molecules with low water solubility using a protein as a stabilizing agent (abstract). DESAI teaches that the invention therein provides a drug delivery system, wherein the pharmacological agent is bound to a protein such as human serum albumin (Col. 6, Ln. 20-24). DESAI teaches a list of classes of drugs, and specific examples within those classes, that the authors determined would benefit from being part of the protein-stabilized compositions taught therein (Col. 15-18). DESAI teaches hypolipidemic agents (synonymous with hypolipaemic) within that list, and the list gives several specific examples that include clofibrate. Clofibrate is drawn below, and it is similar in structure to the compound shown to be taught by MIEVILLE above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date, to combine the stabilizing effect of the albumin compositions taught by DESAI with the “hypolipaemic” drug of MIEVILLE, for the purpose of increasing the stability of drug of MIEVILLE in pharmaceutical compositions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected success in this combination, because DESAI specifically states that hypolipidemic agents may be incorporated into the compositions therein.
Conclusions
No claims are currently allowable.
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625