Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/19/2025 is acknowledged. Following the amendment, claims 8, 10, and 13 are amended. Claims 7-13 are currently pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 4, filed 05/19/2025, with respect to rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn.
In addition, applicant’s arguments, with respect to rejection of claims 8, 10, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have also been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 8, 10, 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by clinical trial NCT03200782 (first posted 06/27/2017).
Regarding claims 7-12, NCT03200782 (‘782) teaches a study to investigate whether hypoglycaemia observed after food intake in patients post bariatric surgery can be influenced via inhibition of inflammation with a human interlukin-1 receptor antagonist (Summary). Trial ‘782 specifies the use of anakinra as an active comparator with a dosage of 100mg, three hours before meal intake (Arms and Interventions). Trial ‘782 teaches bariatric operation types to include sleeve gastrectomy and roux-y-gastric bypass in patients with documented hypoglycemia and hypoglycaemic symptoms (Inclusion Criteria).
Regarding claim 13, instant application specification teaches that anakinra is a non-agonist antibody or antagonist that binds to IL-1 receptor type 1 (pg. 4, lines 11-15). Trial ‘782 discloses treating patients with anakinra following bariatric surgery in order to limit postprandial hypoglycemia (Brief Summary, Detailed Description).
Therefore, Clinical Trial NCT03200782 anticipates claims 7-13.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant makes the argument on pg. 4 of remarks that Trial ‘782 is “merely speculative” and that it does not teach all the limitations of the subject claims and therefore do not anticipate the pending claims. Examiner disagrees as Trial ‘782 discloses all the limitations presented in the instant application as discussed above.
Applicant’s disclosure of the mechanistic connection between upregulation of inflammatory markers and hypoglycemia in post bariatric surgery subjects does not preclude anticipation by Trial ‘782 of the current limitations in claims 7-13 of the present application. Anticipation is based on whether the intended use of the present claims was already taught and not on whether the prior art articulated the why (see MPEP 2131, MPEP 2121(III)). As noted in MPEP 2121(III), “proof of efficacy is not required for a prior art reference to be enabling for purposes of anticipation." Impax Labs. Inc. v. Aventis Pharm. Inc., 468 F.3d 1366, 1383, 81 USPQ2d 1001, 1013 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (citing Rasmusson v. SmithKline Beecham Corp., 413 F.3d 1318, 1326, 75 USPQ2d 1297, 1302 (Fed. Cir. 2005)).
Furthermore, a newly discovered mechanistic rationale for an old use does not make the use novel (see MPEP 2112 (I); Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Since the instant application limitations are focused on the intended use of a method incorporating an IL-1 antagonist to inhibit development of hypoglycemia in subjects following bariatric surgery, the prior art reference of Trial ‘782 teaches the intended use, the population group and meets the instant application claim limitations.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS GEORGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/DANIEL E KOLKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1644