DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 14, and 16 are pending. Of these, claim 11 is withdrawn as directed to a nonelected invention. Therefore, claims 1, 3, 5-10, 14, and 16 are under consideration on the merits.
Status of the Rejections
The 103 rejections are maintained.
The double patenting rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (EP 1 023 842 B1; published 8.2.2000; of record in IDS) in view of McPherson et al (US Pat. Pub. 2006/0029705; published 2.9.2006; of record in IDS), and Warr et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2008/0241201; of record).
As to claims 1, 5, 7-10, and 14, Watanabe discloses a powder composition (i.e., in “particulate form” as recited by claim 10), the composition comprising a functional substance such as a coloring agent (“cosmetic ingredient” of claim 1) or perfume such as lemon essential oil, wherein the composition further can comprise a hemicellulose and a starch or a starch hydrolysate or starch derivative such as a dextrin (a “water-soluble modified starch” of claim 1 that is a “maltodextrin” of claim 5)(paragraphs 11 and 17 and claim 1 of Watanabe). The hemicellulose is present in the amount of 5 to about 60 wt%, which is slightly above the ranges recited by claims 1 and 9 (paragraph 15). Watanabe discloses an embodiment wherein the lemon perfume is present in the amount of 20g/100g total weight of the composition, or 20%, which is below the ranges recited by claims 1 and 7. The composition is made by preparing an emulsion comprising the ingredients followed by drying (paragraph 19 and claim 8 of Watanabe), which the skilled artisan would recognize will result in an encapsulated composition wherein the perfume is entrapped within a matrix comprising the other ingredients.
As to claim 8, Watanabe discloses an embodiment wherein the starch is present in the amount of 60 wt%, which is within the range recited by the claim (Example 1 at paragraph 22).
The composition may be incorporated into drinks, foods, and cosmetics (paragraph 20), all of which are consumer products as recited by claim 14.
As to claims 1, 5, 7-10, and 14, Watanabe does not further expressly disclose that the hemicellulose is present in amounts within the ranges of claim 1 or 9, or that the water-soluble modified starch is one of those recited by claim 1, such as starch sodium octenyl succinate, nor that the amount of the perfume or cosmetic ingredient is within the 30-50 wt% range of claims 1 or 7.
Warr discloses perfume compositions for use in personal care formulations (paragraph 2), wherein a water-soluble modified starch such as starch octenyl succinate is used as an encapsulating matrix (paragraphs 16 and 64). Warr further discloses the use of many ingredients in the form of their sodium salts such as sodium carboxylates, sodium citrate, sodium silicate, sodium disilicate, sodium carbonate, and sodium sulphate including sodium salts of polysaccharides (i.e., sodium carboxymethyl cellulose)(see, e.g., Examples 12-16).
McPherson discloses an emulsion composition comprising an essential oil such as citrus oil (both a “cosmetic ingredient” and a “perfume” of claim 1)(paragraph 2) as a flavor agent, wherein the citrus oil is encapsulated in a matrix comprising a hemicellulose and starch (paragraphs 10-11, 16, 29). McPherson teaches that the hemicellulose is an efficient emulsifier of essential oils (paragraph 8). The hemicellulose may be used in any amount effective to emulsify the oil, with a typical range of 1-15 wt%, which encompasses or overlaps the ranges of claims 1 and 9 (paragraph 31). The composition typically comprises the starch in the amount of about 5-25 wt%, which is slightly below the range of claim 8 (paragraph 16).
Warr discloses perfume compositions for use in personal care formulations (paragraph 2), wherein a water-soluble modified starch such as starch octenyl succinate is used as an encapsulating matrix (paragraphs 16 and 64). Warr further discloses the use of many ingredients in the form of their sodium salts such as sodium carboxylates, sodium citrate, sodium silicate, sodium disilicate, sodium carbonate, and sodium sulphate including sodium salts of polysaccharides (i.e., sodium carboxymethyl cellulose)(see, e.g., Examples 12-16).
As to claims 1, 5, 7-10, and 14, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the encapsulated perfume starch matrix composition of Watanabe by optimizing the amount of the perfume to arrive at an amount that is within the range recited by claims 1 and 7, because the amount of the perfume is a result effective variable that will affect the ability of the composition to impart a desired fragrance to cosmetics. The Office notes that the function of the perfume is the same in the Watanabe composition as in the present composition, i.e., imparting a fragrance to a personal care composition (see, e.g., paragraph 2 of the present specification as published), such that the skilled artisan would have been optimizing the amount of the perfume in the Watanabe composition to achieve the same intended function as the perfume in the present invention, and therefore would have had a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed range. Discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Here, there is no evidence of record that the claimed range is critical in nature.
It further would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the amount of the hemicellulose to arrive at an amount that is within the ranges recited by claims 1 and 9, because McPherson expressly teaches that such amounts are useful for combining with a starch to form a matrix that encapsulates an active ingredient such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that such an amount would be suitable for use in the Watanabe composition, and additionally because differences in concentration generally will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, the amount of hemicellulose is a result effective variable that will affect its ability to emulsify the composition and encapsulate the citrus oil.
It further would have been prima facie obvious to modify the encapsulated perfume starch matrix composition of Watanabe by selecting starch sodium octenyl succinate as a starch present in the encapsulating matrix, instead of, or in addition to, one of the starch and starch derivatives taught by Watanabe, because Warr expressly teaches that starch octenyl succinate is suitable for use in forming a starch matrix for encapsulating a perfume, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that it could function as a component of the starch matrix of the Watanabe encapsulated perfume composition. Such a modification is merely the substitution of one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143. Using the sodium salt of starch octenyl succinate is viewed as an obvious variation because it standard practice for the skilled artisan to formulate organic compounds in the form of their salts such as their sodium salts for inclusion in personal care compositions, as demonstrated by Watanabe’s own disclosure of using numerous ingredients, including another polysaccharide (i.e., carboxymethyl cellulose) in the form of its sodium salt.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable Watanabe et al. (EP 1 023 842 B1) in view of McPherson et al (US Pat. Pub. 2006/0029705) and Warr et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2008/0241201) as applied to claims 1, 5, 7-10, and 14 above, and further in view of Nie et al. (Dermatol Res Pract. 2013l of record).
The teachings of Watanabe, McPherson, and Warr are relied upon as discussed above, but they do not further expressly disclose that the hemicellulose is a xyloglucan as recited by claim 3.
Nie discloses that xyloglucans are one of the two major hemicelluloses found in plant primary walls, and that xyloglucans obtained from tamarind seed have wound healing properties due to their ability to improve processes of reepithelization and remodeling (Abstract and Section 5).
As to claim 3, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the encapsulated perfume starch matrix composition of Watanabe, McPherson, and Warr as combined supra by selecting xyloglucans as the type of water soluble hemicellulose, because Watanabe does not teach that the hemicellulose must be obtained from any particular source, and Nie discloses that xyloglucan hemicelluloses can be obtained from tamarind seeds and are useful for their skin-health promoting properties, such that the skilled artisan would have had a motivation to use them as the hemicellulose in the Watanabe composition with a reasonable expectation of success. Such a modification is merely the substitution of one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (EP 1 023 842 B1), McPherson et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2006/0029705), and Warr et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2008/0241201 as applied to claims 1, 5, 7-10, and 14 above, and further in view of Smets et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 2015/0099680; of record in IDS).
The teachings of Watanabe, McPherson, and Warr are relied upon as discussed above, but they do not further expressly disclose that the composition comprises a flowing agent that is among those recited by claims 6 and 16, such as zeolites.
Smets discloses a composition comprising particles for delivering a benefit agent such as a perfume, the particles comprising a material that encapsulates a core material (paragraphs 1-2 and 5), wherein the composition may comprise zeolites as detergent builders or as carriers for the perfume to reduce the amount of free perfume (paragraphs 240 and 260), as well as xyloglucan polymers obtained from tamarind for use as thickening stabilizers (paragraph 247).
As to claims 6 and 16, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the encapsulated perfume starch matrix composition of Watanabe, McPherson, and Warr by incorporating zeolites to serve as carriers for the perfume or alternatively as a builder when the composition is intended to be used in a detergent, because Smets teaches that zeolites are useful as carriers for perfume in compositions comprising particles for use in delivering a perfume and are also useful as detergent builders. Such a modification is merely the combination of known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that the amount of hemicellulose disclosed by Watanabe and used in the working examples therein is above the range of claim 1. Applicant argues that McPherson’s disclosure of 1-15 wt% hemicellulose is based on the total weight of the aqueous emulsion and not on the final dry encapsulated composition, and that based on this disclosure the dry weight percent would be above the claimed maximum of 2 wt%.
In response, it would have been obvious to select an amount of the entrapped perfume ingredient and of the hemicellulose that is within the claimed ranges via an optimization process as discussed in the rejection and further because McPherson teaches amounts of the hemicellulose that are within the claimed range as discussed in the rejection. The amount of hemicellulose recited by the claims is prima facie obvious over the cited art regardless of whether the weight percents of McPherson are with respect to the emulsion or to the dry weight, because, as discussed in the rejection, the amount of hemicellulose is a result effective variable that will affect its ability to emulsify the composition and encapsulate the citrus oil and differences in concentration generally will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The amounts disclosed by McPherson would have provided the skilled artisan with a starting point for an optimization process for the hemiceullose in the Watanabe composition.
Applicant argues that Watanabe is not relevant as a prior art reference because it makes it clear that the presence of trehalose is essential to the invention taught therein as shown in Examples 1-6 of Watanabe.
In response, this is not persuasive because the language of the present claims does not exclude the presence of trehalose.
Applicant also argues that none of Watanabe's examples comprise hemicellulose in combination with a dextrin modified starch.
In response, this is not persuasive because the broader disclosure of Watanabe teaches that a starch or starch derivative such as dextrin can be used as discussed in the rejection. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. MPEP 2123. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues that Nie would not be considered by the skilled artisan in combination with McPherson, as it is allegedly not relevant to the technical problem faced by Applicant because it includes no suggestion of any information which a skilled artisan would recognize as relating to entrapment of a perfume and/or cosmetic ingredient in a matrix, a suggestion that Applicant asserts is found in Applicant’s specification, but not in the cited art.
In response, the Office notes that whether or not the prior art is concerned with the same technical problem as Applicant is not relevant to a 103 analysis. The skilled artisan looking for water soluble hemicelluloses that would be suitable for use in the McPherson cosmetic composition would consider relevant any prior art disclosing the use of water soluble hemicelluloses in cosmetic compositions, which would include Nie. Therefore, Nie is viewed as a reference that would be considered relevant to the skilled artisan when looking to modify the disclosure of McPherson.
Applicant argues that Smets uses a core shell encapsulation technology that is completely different than water soluble starch encapsulation, such that the skilled artisan would not have looked to this reference.
In response, the rejection does not rely on the core shell encapsulation technology taught by Smets, but rather on its teaching that zeolites are useful as carriers for delivering a benefit agent such as perfume. The skilled artisan therefore would have found Smets relevant to Watanabe because Watanabe discloses a composition for delivering perfume.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 14, and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as unpatentable over all claims of U.S. Pat. Appl. No. 19/483,443 and in view of Watanabe et al. (EP 1 023 842 B1), McPherson et al (US Pat. Pub. 2006/0029705), Nie et al. (Dermatol Res Pract. 2013), and/or Smets et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 2015/0099680) where indicated below.
The teachings of the cited secondary references are relied upon as discussed above.
The reference claims recite a consumer product composition comprising 54-85 wt% of a fragrance, the fragrance being encapsulated in core/shell particles comprising a matrix comprising a starch such as starch sodium octenyl succinate along with a hemicellulose and maltodextrin or mannitol.
Although the reference claims do not recite the presence of a flowing agent such as zeolites, it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate zeolites to serve as carriers for the perfume or alternatively as a builder when the composition is intended to be used in a detergent, because Smets teaches that zeolites are useful as carriers for perfume in compositions comprising particles for use in delivering a perfume and are also useful as detergent builders. Such a modification is merely the combination of known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
Although the reference claims do not recite the claimed amount of the hemicellulose, It further would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the amount of the hemicellulose to arrive at an amount that is within the ranges recited by claims 1 and 9, because McPherson expressly teaches that such amounts are useful for combining with a starch to form a matrix that encapsulates an active ingredient such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that such an amount would be suitable for use in the reference composition, and additionally because differences in concentration generally will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, the amount of hemicellulose is a result effective variable that will affect its ability to emulsify the composition and encapsulate the citrus oil.
Although the reference claims do not recite the claimed amount of the starch, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select such an amount, because Watanabe discloses that the starch used to form a matrix along with a hemicellulose for encapsulation of a fragrance suitably may be present in amounts within the range recited by the claims
Although the reference claims do not recite that the hemicellulose is a xyloglucan, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to select xyloglucans as the type of water soluble hemicellulose, because Nie discloses that xyloglucan hemicelluloses obtained from tamarind seeds are useful for their skin-health promoting properties, such that the skilled artisan would have had a motivation to use them as the hemicellulose in the reference composition with a reasonable expectation of success. Such a modification is merely the substitution of one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
The claims are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from the claims of the copending application. Specifically, see above.
The USPTO may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application of common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). The copending application, discussed above, would be prior art to the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) if the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned as of the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the Examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned as of the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that the copending application relates to a composition comprising a water soluble matrix and a benefit agent that is at least partially encapsuled in core shell microcapsules while the present application relates to an encapsulated composition entrapped in a matrix, and that the present application makes a clear distinction between the technical effect achieved by the present invention compared with core-shell microcapsules.
In response, this argument is not persuasive because the structure of the composition of the reference claims reads on the structure of the present claims for the reasons discussed in the rejection, and Applicant has not explained how the structure of the claims is not obvious in view of the structure of the reference claims
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAREN GOTFREDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600