DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Amendments and Arguments filed on 3/2/2026.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 14, 16, 19, 21-30 are pending and have been examined.
All previous objections / rejections not mentioned in this Office Action have been withdrawn by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 10, and 11. Applicant states that the amendment reflects examiner suggested claim limitations to distinguish from the prior art references. Examiner does not fully agree. Examiner suggested narrowly defining auxiliary apparatus and how it is relevant to the claimed invention to distinguish away from strong prior art references Thomas and Kepner. Examiner also suggested to narrow the claim limitations to reflect the inventive concept. The claim amendment introduces a new limitation, but does not teach away from prior art references when broadly interpreted.
Applicant has amended dependent claims 5, 6, 8, 14, 16, 19 and has introduced new claims 29 and 30. These new limitations in the claims teach away from prior art references. Hence, new references has been applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-11, and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20180161683), hereinafter Thomas, in view of Kepner et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20190251953), hereinafter Kepner.
Regarding claim 1, 10, and 11, Thomas teaches:
(Claim 1) A first voice chat apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to: (Fig. 1, Client Computing Device. P0003, The participants in the multiplayer session can exchange voice communication.)
(Claim 10) A voice chat method comprising: (P0074, Example method.)
(Claim 11) A non-transitory, computer readable storage medium containing a computer program, which when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a voice chat method by carrying out actions, comprising: (P0124, All of the methods and processes described above may be embodied in, and fully automated via, software code modules executed by one or more general purpose computers or processors. The code modules may be stored in any type of computer-readable storage medium or other computer storage device.)
execute a proxy process to receive text from an auxiliary apparatus, wherein the first voice chat apparatus and the auxiliary apparatus of a first voice chat system are connected to each other, the first voice chat system coupled to one or more voice chat systems via a network; (P0032, A client computing device includes input/output (I/O) interfaces that enable communications with input/output devices such as user input devices including peripheral input devices (e.g., a game controller, a keyboard, a mouse, a pen, a voice input device, a touch input device, a gestural input device, and the like) and/or output devices including peripheral output devices (e.g., a display screen, a printer, audio speakers, a haptic output device, and the like).; P0028, The client computing devices enable their respective users to participate, individually or as a team, in the multiplayer session. The multiplayer session can be hosted, over a network.)
receive input data from either the proxy or a second voice chat apparatus of a second voice chat system, wherein the input data includes the text when the input data is from the proxy process; (P0015, Client computing device can receive textual message data in addition to or rather than speech data from other client computing devices participating in the multiplayer session.)
provide the input data to a voice agent process and a party process during a gaming session; (P0003, The participants in the multiplayer session can exchange voice communication.)
identify one or more systems configured to provide voice chat assistance service, and (P0025, The examples allow a user that is unable to hear, or that is incapable of hearing, to participate in an in-session voice chat by receiving messages that have been converted from speech to text (e.g., transcribed messages). The user enables a speech-to-text conversion feature on his or her own device. Based on the enabled feature, a notification can be sent to other devices participating in the multiplayer session. Based on the notification, the other devices are tasked with capturing utterances and sending corresponding speech data to a speech-to-text conversion device so that voice communications can be converted into text messages.)
transmit the input data and the output data associated with a user identifier related to the first voice chat apparatus to the second voice chat apparatus in a system among the one or more identified systems, wherein the input data is one of voice data or text data and the output data is one of text data or voice data, respectively; (P0039, The client computing devices are individually configured to send, to the client computing device for which the STT conversion feature is enabled, the text data. Stated another way, utterances captured at any one of client computing devices can be converted to text and sent to the client computing device as text message data so the user of the client computing device can participate in the in-session voice chat by viewing the text messages in a chat interface.)
if the input is from the second chat apparatus, present either the input data or the output data that is voice data via a speaker; and (P0003, Generate the game content is configured to access and use (e.g., via an application programming interface (API)) functionality of a platform component (e.g., an in-session voice chat component) so that the participants in the multiplayer session can exchange voice communications with one another.; P0120, Sending the speech data based on the captured utterances to the STT conversion service, the receiving the text message data that comprises the transcription of the speech data, and the sending the text message data to the other device.; P0002, Voice communications audibly output by a device speaker .)
execute the proxy process to provide output including either the input data or the output data that is text data to the auxiliary apparatus. (P0004, Displays text messages … displayed along with other session content (e.g., game content) in a user interface on a display screen.; P0032, Peripheral output devices (e.g., a display screen, a printer, audio speakers, a haptic output device, and the like).)
Thomas does not specifically teach:
execute a proxy process to receive text from an auxiliary apparatus, wherein the first voice chat apparatus and the auxiliary apparatus of a first voice chat system are connected to each other, the first voice chat system coupled to one or more voice chat systems via a network;
receive input data from either the proxy or a second voice chat apparatus of a second voice chat system, wherein the input data includes the text when the input data is from the proxy process;
provide the input data to a voice agent process and a party process during a gaming session;
execute the voice agent process to: transmit the input data to a server;
receive, from the server, output data as a result of voice processing of the input data; and
if the input data is from the proxy process:
Kepner, however, teaches:
execute a proxy process to receive text from an auxiliary apparatus, wherein the first voice chat apparatus and the auxiliary apparatus of a first voice chat system are connected to each other, the first voice chat system coupled to one or more voice chat systems via a network; (P0059, At least one API is configured to expose the voice chat functionality to, for example, the gaming module (e.g., gaming module) executing the multiplayer session and/or program code of the titles (e.g., titles). Additionally, computer-readable media includes a chat display module (which may be part of the gaming module). The chat display module can be a platform component that is configured to cause the text window and/or the text entry interface to be presented on a display screen.)
receive input data from either the proxy or a second voice chat apparatus of a second voice chat system, wherein the input data includes the text when the input data is from the proxy process; (P0008, During the participant's engagement with the game content, the participant can provide input.; P0047, FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating components of an example device configured to receive, as input, text.)
provide the input data to a voice agent process and a party process during a gaming session; (P0039, enablement of the TTS conversion feature may inform an in-session voice chat component of a participant's inability or incapability of speaking. In various examples, the in-session voice chat component can be a “platform” component of the gaming module and/or the operating system that is called upon by the program code of a title (e.g., via an API) to provide voice chat communications during the multiplayer session.)
execute the voice agent process to: transmit the input data to a server; (Fig. 2, Text data sent form client computing device to system providing text-to-speech conversion module.; P0013, The TTS conversion service can be provided within a system that hosts and provides multiplayer session content (such as a server or a client computing device).)
receive, from the server, output data as a result of voice processing of the input data; and (P0079 text data can be sent to a text-to-speech (TTS) conversion service over a network, and the device can subsequently receive the speech data back from the TTS conversion service.)
if the input data is from the proxy process: (P0063, When the message is completed, the user can provide a command (e.g., press another button on the controller, select a text entry option in the virtual text entry interface, etc.) to submit the message to the TTS conversion service so it can be converted into speech.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to receive text, transmit text to a server, and receive output data based on voice processing. It would have been obvious to combine the references because obtaining voice data from text allow participants in a multiplayer session that are unable to speak (e.g., a player in a quiet location) or that are incapable of speaking (e.g., a player with a speaking impairment) to still participate in voice chat during the multiplayer session. (Kepner P0003)
Regarding claim 9 Thomas in view of Kepner teaches claim 1.
Thomas further teaches:
wherein the text acquiring unit transmits voice data indicating the voice to a server capable of communicating with the voice chat apparatus, and (Fig. 1, Speech data [Speech data is sent from client computing device 102 to speech-to-text device 112].; P0029, The speech-to-text (STT) conversion system comprises device(s) that provide a service that converts speech data to text data. The device(s) and/or other components of the STT conversion system can include distributed computing resources that communicate with one another, with the multiplayer session system, and/or with the client computing devices via one or more network(s).)
wherein the text acquiring unit receives, from the server, text obtained as a result of voice recognition on the voice indicated by the voice data. (Fig. 1, Text data [Text data is received by client computing device 102 from the speech-to-text device 112].; P0029, The speech-to-text (STT) conversion system comprises device(s) that provide a service that converts speech data to text data. The device(s) and/or other components of the STT conversion system can include distributed computing resources that communicate with one another, with the multiplayer session system, and/or with the client computing devices via one or more network(s).)
Regarding claim 21, 24, and 27 Thomas in view of Kepner teach claim 1, 10, and 11.
Thomas does not specifically teach:
wherein the voice processing is text-to-speech synthesis when the input data is text data.
Kepner, however, teaches:
wherein the voice processing is text-to-speech synthesis when the input data is text data. (P0079, Text data can be sent to a text-to-speech (TTS) conversion service over a network, and the device can subsequently receive the speech data back from the TTS conversion service.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to convert text data to speech. It would have been obvious to combine the references because obtaining voice data from text allow participants in a multiplayer session that are unable to speak (e.g., a player in a quiet location) or that are incapable of speaking (e.g., a player with a speaking impairment) to still participate in voice chat during the multiplayer session. (Kepner P0003)
Regarding claim 22, 25, and 28 Thomas in view of Kepner teach claim 1, 10, and 11.
Thomas further teaches:
wherein the voice processing is voice recognition when the input data is voice data. (P0094, Speech data based on the captured utterances are sent to a speech-to-text (STT) conversion service.)
Claims 4, 5, 6, 8, 14, 16, 19, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of Kepner and further view of McClelland (U.S. PG Pub No. 20050094777)
Regarding claim 4, 14, and 19, Thomas in view of Kepner teaches claim 1, 10, and 11.
Thomas in view of Kepner does not specifically teach:
controlling, on a basis of whether the second voice chat apparatus is connected to a second auxiliary apparatus of the second voice chat system, the second auxiliary comprising a display configured to display a voice recognition result, whether to transmit the text data to the second voice chat apparatus.
McClelland, however, teaches:
controlling, on a basis of whether the second voice chat apparatus is connected to a second auxiliary apparatus of the second voice chat system, the second auxiliary comprising a display configured to display a voice recognition result, whether to transmit the text data to the second voice chat apparatus. (P0010, Generating, by the communication assistant, a text message corresponding to the voice message using a high speed text input device and transmitting the text message to the hearing-impaired party.; P0021, User device may include a cellular telephone, PDA, computer or a web-based appliance that is able to execute a text messaging program, such as an instant messaging program, and transmit and receive data via a wireless network.; P0063, The connection between CA and user device may be a persistent, full duplex connection that allows for the simultaneous transmission of the voice messages from the hearing party along with the corresponding text messages.; P0064, The term “persistent, full duplex” refers to a communication link that is always connected and allows both parties to simultaneously transmit information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to transmit text based on connection. It would have been obvious to combine the references because transmitting text based on connection is a known technique to yield a predictable result of transferring text when there is a receiving party that has enabled voice to text service by providing the connection to a user display device. (McClelland P0045)
Regarding claim 5, 23, and 26 Thomas in view of Kepner teaches claim 4, 10, and 11.
Thomas in view of Kepner does not specifically teach:
wherein the circuitry is further configured to start acquiring the text when the second voice chat apparatus is connected to the second auxiliary apparatus.
McClelland, however, teaches:
wherein the circuitry is further configured to start acquiring the text when the second voice chat apparatus is connected to the second auxiliary apparatus. (In addition, a text-to-voice converter may also be used by CA. For example, text messages sent to CA from user device may be automatically converted to voice messages using text-to-voice software executed by CA. The voice messages may then be transmitted to the hearing party at telephone device.; P0063, The connection between CA and user device may be a persistent, full duplex connection that allows for the simultaneous transmission of the voice messages from the hearing party along with the corresponding text messages.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to acquire text when there is a connection. It would have been obvious to combine the references because acquiring text based on connection is a known technique to yield a predictable result of transferring text when there is a receiving party that has enabled voice to text service by providing the connection to a user display device. (McClelland P0045)
Regarding claim 6 and 16 Thomas in view of Kepner teaches claim 5 and 10.
Thomas further teaches:
wherein the text acquiring unit stops acquiring the text when the second voice chat apparatus is disconnected from the second auxiliary apparatus. (P0032, Client computing device. Thus, a client computing device can include, but is not limited to, a game console, a desktop computer, a gaming device, a tablet computer, a personal data assistant (PDA), a mobile phone/tablet hybrid, a laptop computer, a telecommunication device.; P0014, A client computing device participating in a multiplayer session can enable a feature that causes a speech-to-text conversion system to convert speech to text.; P0038, Enablement of the speech to text conversion feature may inform an in-session voice chat component of a participant's incapability of hearing voice communications.; P0039, Upon receiving the notification of the speech to text conversion feature, the other client computing devices are configured to capture utterances and send corresponding instances of speech data to the speech to text conversion system. Client computing devices are individually configured to send, to the client computing device for which the speech to text conversion feature is enabled, the text data.)
Regarding claim 8, 29, and 30 Thomas in view of Kepner teach claim 1, 10, and 11.
Thomas in view of Kepner does not specifically teach:
wherein the auxiliary apparatus is connected to the first voice chat apparatus via a router.
McClelland, however, teaches:
wherein the auxiliary apparatus is connected to the first voice chat apparatus via a router. (P0010, Generating, by the communication assistant, a text message corresponding to the voice message using a high speed text input device and transmitting the text message to the hearing-impaired party.; P0021, User device, consistent with the present invention, may include any device that is able to execute some form of text messaging. For example, user device may include a conventional TDD/TTY. … User device may further include any wireless device that is able to execute a text messaging program. For example, user device may include a cellular telephone, PDA, computer or a web-based appliance that is able to execute a text messaging program, such as an instant messaging program, and transmit and receive data via a wireless network.; P0019, Network may include one or more public switched telephone networks (PSTNs) or other type of switched network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect auxiliary apparatus to voice chat apparatus via a router. It would have been obvious to combine the references because the use of a router to connect the devices allows for communication for hearing-impaired party without the need for conventional telecommunication device for the deaf/teletype. (McClelland P0003, P0006)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL W CHUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659