Detailed Action
Summary
This is the Final Office Action based on application 17/423632 response filed 07/21/2026.
Claims 38, 43-51 & 59-65 have been examined and fully considered.
Claims 1-37, 39-42 & 58 are cancelled.
Claims 52-57 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38, 43-51 & 59-65 and those dependent therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim 38, the phrases “adapted to,” and “adapted for,” makes the claim unclear as to whether and what or if there is an intended structural part. Though the term “adapted to,” is reasonably understood with respect to the centrifuge, with respect to the “first mounting device,” it is unclear how it “adapted to hold the plurality of microscope sample carriers for transfer….into and /or out of each of the plurality of sample deposition wells.” Specifically, it is unclear if the “for transfer,” part requires any specific structural elements, or if instead this is just the intended use for the claimed device part--- which is the first mounting device.
Further, it is unclear how the “plurality of pipetting channels,” are “adapted to,” “couple with a coupling section of a respective microscopic sample carrier.” Specifically, it is unclear if there is any specific structure required in this coupling section.
The examiner notes that channels, including the claimed pipetting channels are usually for liquid flow and not device/structure transfer. According to the instant application PGPUB specification—the claimed “pipetting channels,” are used for application of the samples to the microscope carrier (paragraph 0047). The pipetting channels are item 311 on Figure 3b. Paragraph 0128, 0131, and 0123, 0119 use some of the claimed language including--- that “the pipetting channels can be moved in a vertical director to pick up and transport the microscope sample carrier across the platform.” This is also shown in Figure 4c, wherein the pipetting channel would appear to be item 414, instead of 311? What the “adapted to,” as claimed seems to mean is that--- the pipetting channel attaches to or connect to the microscope carrier and moving it across the system, however the inclusion of “for transporting each microscope sample carrier across the automated liquid handling system,” makes the claims unclear. Though this is intended use for the claimed invention, it is not clear if the plurality of pipetting channel couple with each microscopic sample carrier or not and further if it is one channel coupled to a different microscopic sample carrier and so on, or if by “adapted to,” if it is meant that the channels change and couple with more than one of the microscopic sample carriers.
And, it is further unclear what this “adapted to,” means with respect to the “second mounting device adapted to hold the plurality of microscope sample carriers for microscopic examination of the plurality of samples,” if the adapted to means that the structure needs to ensure that all sample carriers can be examined at once (“in parallel,”), or if it is just adapted to hold all of the carriers (for example by putting them in a stack and then they can be picked one at a time for microscopic analysis). This structure is not clear as claimed.
Further with respect to Claim 38, the claimed “microscope module which comprises a motorized stage for positioning the plurality of microscope sample carriers in optical paths,” and also that “the “microscopic module… is arranged in a fixed position within the automated liquid handling system.” Therefore, it is claimed that the same module, “the microscope module,” has both a moveable part, which is the “motorized stage,” and it also requires that the whole module, which includes the motorized stage, is “in a fixed position.” Being motorized (moveable), and fixed are completely the opposite of each other, and it is not possible for something to be “fixed,” and “motorized,” to move/moveable. Therefore, the claim is unclear and requires correction.
With respect to Claim 43, it claims that the microscope module is physically decoupled from the automated transportation device, however in Claim 38 which it depends from--- it is required that the microscope module be “in a fixed position,” “within the automated liquid handling system.” This is essentially a broadening of the claim from Claim 38 and this is not permitted. Therefore—this claim is unclear.
With respect to Claim 60, it claims that the “automated transportation device….” “ is adapted to transport,” and that “it is further adapted to transport,” “wherein the microscope module is physically decoupled from the automated transportation station.”
There are problems with this that make what applicant is trying to claim unclear. First, the has already been mentioned above, but Claim 38 requires the microscope module to be physically coupled/part of the automated transportation device, since it is claimed as part of it. Therefore, the claiming of physical decoupling, is broadening the claim from what was claimed in Claim 38.
Claims 43-51 & 59-65 are also unclear by virtue of being dependent on Claim 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38, 43-46, 48-51 & 59-60, 62-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over GARTY in US 20080179301 in view of HAGA in US 20120288887.
With respect to Claim 38, GARTY teaches of a system which includes a liquid handling module and robotic system including a robotic incubator and microplate gripper so the whole system can be considered a liquid handling system.
GARTY teaches that the system includes loading blood samples into a centrifuge (reads on the claimed centrifuge “adapted to,”) (paragraph 0056, 0091, 0094), and that the samples are deposited into multi-well plates (microscope sample carrier/s with sample deposition wells, which have lateral walls and a sample deposition surface) (paragraph 0035, Figure 23, 0078, 0100). GARTY teaches that the system is adapted to interface with a microscope designed for high throughput (paragraph 0170, 0228, 0239, 0241, 0242).
GARTY teaches that microplate gripper moves the microplates or/and their lids across the deck (reads on automated transportation device, which includes a first mounting device, “adapted to,” “hold a plurality of microscope sample carriers,” through broadest reasonable interpretation since “adapted to,” can mean it holds a plurality over time as doesn’t indicate clearer structure as claimed) (paragraph 0191, 0192). The examiner notes that “for the transfer of the plurality of samples..” is intended use for the claimed device.
GARTY further teaches that the microplates and centrifuge are automation compliant with the rest of the system (paragraph 0188, 0183).
GARTY teaches of “multi-channel pipetting”--- which can read on the claimed “pipetting channels,” and that the microplates/microwells are handled by a robotic pipette arm micromanipulator capable of changing pipetter tops(also pipetting channels), xyz positioning---which can read on transfer of the carrier/plate across the liquid handling system as claimed that the pipetting channels are “adapted to,” do, and nanolilter scale liquid handling (paragraph 0231, 0383, 0207, 0209), which can read on the claimed “adapted to,” as instantly claimed especially due to the clarity issues with respect to “adapted to,” as shown in the above 112b rejection (Figure 27, paragraph 0175). Further- GARTY teaches of multi-channel pipetting end effectors (Figure 27, and paragraph 0350). Specifically, Figure 27 shows the multi-channel pipetting end-effector, (paragraph 0231), and that the end-effectors/modules thereof can be changed out and modified (paragraph 0094,0095, 0109, 0121, 0126, 0127), and further that the end effector grips the well plate (paragraph 0350), so it couples to a coupling section of a microscopic sample carrier as claimed.
GARTY further teaches of an incubator which can store many multi-well plates and also dispense them automatically (this can read on this instant one or more storage containers through broadest reasonable interpretation) (paragraph 0300),
and further that a pick and place robot (which can read on the instantly claimed second mounting device which is “adapted to hold,” “the plurality of microscope sample carriers in parallel,”) since it includes plate stackers to hold multiple plates/microscope sample carriers (paragraph 0101, 0095).
GARTY further teaches of a linear stage (that can be considered the claimed motorized stage in the claimed microscope module) (paragraph 0230-0231), since it couples with the microscope (reads on the claimed coupling section) (paragraph 0101).
GARTY teaches that the plate stacker/second mounting module holding a plurality of plate/microscopic sample carriers in parallel and that it interfaces with the microscope (paragraph 0095, 0101) which can include an inverted microscope (paragraph 0383, 0085). The “for microscopic examination of the plurality of samples,” is intended use for the claimed device.
GARTY further teaches of using another stage which could also be considered the microscope module and stage (X-Y mechanical stage which positions the bottoms of each well under the microscope lens) (paragraph 0247, 0087). GARTY teaches that the system is motorized (paragraph 0371).
GARTY teaches that the image analysis system or image module is in a fixed position (See Figure 27, paragraph 0351, 0354-0357).
Therefore- GARTY reads on Claim 38, especially in light of the 112 rejections made above, and the “adapted to,” and unclear language, as without claiming with more specific structure, the structures in GARTY are capable of the claimed functions.
If it is unclear that GARTY calls out that the centrifuge has a structure that is “adapted to,” centrifuge the microscope sample carrier/the microplates themselves, HAGA is used to remedy this.
HAGA teaches that the device for handling blood- which is a liquid and specifically a device and method for blood cell agglutination(abstract). HAGA teaches that the device contains a reaction container which is a well or wells formed in a microplate (paragraph 0011, paragraph 0066, 0062), and that the device comprises a rotation mechanism/centrifuge for rotating the reaction container so that the bottom wall of the reaction container will turn outside by centrifugal force (so the rotation mechanism is a centrifuge(abstract). HAGA teaches that the wells in the microplate have lateral side walls and on the bottom is the surface in which the sample can be deposited (Figure 5 & 6, paragraph 0062).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to centrifuge the microplates as is done in HAGA in the device/method of GARTY due to the advantage the reaction container (which contains the microplate with multiple wells) and centrifuge apparatus arrangement of HAGA offers for processing a blood sample/s in a shorter time (HAGA, paragraph 0030).
With respect to Claim 43, GARTY teaches of a motorized stage wherein what is held/mounted on the stage is to be imaged by a microscope (paragraph 0087). Specifically, GARTY teach that the sample arrays are held on the stage and imaged by the microscope (paragraph 0087). GARTY further teaches of a means for microscopically examining at least one sample which can include an inverted microscope (paragraph 0383, 0085).
GARTY also teaches of a pick and place robot including plate stackers and linear stage can be integrated into the liquid handling robot and also interface/couple with the microscope (also an automated transportation device with coupling section) (paragraph 0101). The microplate gripper moves the microplates or/and their lids across the deck (automated transportation device) (paragraph 0191, 0192). Through broadest reasonable interpretation, this reads on the “adapted to,” language as instantly claimed, and also the claimed physical decoupling.
With respect to Claim 44, GARTY teach of a microplate gripper that is mounted (paragraph 0184). This reads on the instant claim language “adapted to hold at least one microscope sample carrier.”
With respect to Claim 45, HAGA teach that the sample deposition wells are arranged in one plane in a regular pattern such that the distance between neighboring wells is constant (Figures 5 & 6).
With respect to Claim 46, HAGA teach that the sample deposition surfaces are on a plane and the well has a tapered shape towards the sample deposition surface (Figures 5 & 6).
With respect to Claim 48, GARTY teaches of the wells have 16 mm squared cross sectional and surface area (paragraph 0238). GARTY further teaches of the volume being between 1-200 ul (paragraph 0349 & Table 2). The claimed range for volume is included in this teaching and therefore GARTY teaches of the claimed range.
HAGA teach that the sample wells have an adjustable volume wherein there is diameter to H ratios (paragraph 0062 & Figures 7, 6, & 5). HAGA teaches that the height is 16 mu.m (micrometer)- which leads to having a volume within the claimed range.
With respect to Claim 49, HAGA teach of the sample deposition wells being arranged in one or more rows (Figures 5 & 6).
With respect to Claim 50, GARTY teaches of using standard multi-well plates (Table 1), but does not teach of angled side walls.
HAGA is used to remedy this and teaches of a microplate with angled side walls at 30 degrees (paragraph 0061-0062, Figured 5-7). HAGA further teaches though of the angled side wall being stepped and the steps form about 90-degree angles (defined by angles formed by lateral side walls and deposition surface) (Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use 90-degree angles and the tiers of HAGA in the microplate of GARTY due to the advantage this has for making visual determination in the wells as compared to U shaped wells (HAGA, paragraph 0095).
With respect to Claim 51, GARTY teaches of using robotic gripper arms that are mounted on a flange of the robot (paragraph 0184).
With respect to Claim 59, GARTY teaches of using an inverted microscope (paragraph 0383).
With respect to Claim 60, GARTY further teaches of using a microscope module/stage…X-Y mechanical stage (microscope module) which positions the bottoms of each well under the microscope lens (paragraph 0247), and in which the x-y mechanical stage is designated for coarse motions for the sample arrays being imaged with the microscope (paragraph 0087). GARTY teaches that the system is motorized (paragraph 0371). GARTY also teaches that the cells in the microplates are handled by a robotic pipette arm micromanipulator capable of changing pipetter tops, xzy positioning and nanolilter scale liquid handling (paragraph 0383). GARTY even further teaches of using a plate stacker (mounting device) within the working envelope of the gantry (liquid handling) robot (paragraphs 0095 & 0101) (this is a mounting device fwhich is “adapted to,” hold a plurality of microscope sample carriers or “more than one,” as claimed as options).
GARTY also teaches of a pick and place robot including plate stackers and linear stage can be integrated into the liquid handling robot and also interface/couple with the microscope (also an automated transportation device with coupling section) (paragraph 0101). The microplate gripper moves the microplates or/and their lids across the deck (automated transportation device) (paragraph 0191, 0192). Through broadest reasonable interpretation, this reads on the “adapted to,” language as instantly claimed, and also the claimed physical decoupling.
With respect to Claim 62, GARTY teaches of the wells have 16 mm squared cross sectional and surface area (paragraph 0238). GARTY further teaches of the volume being between 1-200 ul (paragraph 0349 & Table 2). The claimed range for volume is included in this teaching and therefore GARTY teaches of the claimed range.
With respect to Claim 63, GARTY teaches of the wells have 16 mm squared cross sectional and surface area (paragraph 0238). GARTY further teaches of the volume being between 1-200 ul (paragraph 0349 & Table 2). The claimed range for volume is included in this teaching and therefore GARTY teaches of the claimed range.
With respect to Claim 64, GARTY teaches of using standard multi-well plates (Table 1), but does not teach of angled side walls.
HAGA is used to remedy this and teaches of a microplate with angled side walls at 30 degrees (paragraph 0061-0062, Figured 5-7). HAGA further teaches though of the angled side wall being stepped and the steps form 90-degree angles (defined by angles formed by lateral side walls and deposition surface) (Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use 90-degree angles and the tiers of HAGA in the microplate of GARTY due to the advantage this has for making visual determination in the wells as compared to U shaped wells (HAGA, paragraph 0095).
With respect to Claim 65, GARTY teaches of using standard multi-well plates (Table 1), but does not teach of angled side walls.
HAGA is used to remedy this and teaches of a microplate with angled side walls at 30 degrees (paragraph 0061-0062, Figured 5-7). HAGA further teaches though of the angled side wall being stepped and the steps form about 90-degree angles (defined by angles formed by lateral side walls and deposition surface) (Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use 90-degree angles and the tiers of HAGA in the microplate of GARTY due to the advantage this has for making visual determination in the wells as compared to U shaped wells (HAGA, paragraph 0095).
Claims 47 & 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over GARTY in US 20080179301 in view of HAGA in US 20120288887 and further in view of IRELAND in US 6051191.
With respect to Claim 47, GARTY and HAGA teach of the claimed invention including microplates/microwell plates/carriers as shown above. HAGA further teaches of the samples being deposited in plastic or glass capillary tubes (transparent) (paragraph 0080, 0330).
GARTY and HAGA do not teach of the sample carrier being composed partially or fully of opaque material.
IRELAND is used to remedy this and specifically teaches of the microplate (sample carrier) using both opaque and transparent material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use both opaque and transparent materials as is done in the carrier/microplate of IRELAND in plate/carriers of GARTY and HAGA due to the advantage this offers for controlling the transmission of light through the plate (IRELAND, column 2, line 55-column 3, line 7).
With respect to Claim 61, GARTY and HAGA teach of the claimed invention including microplates/microwell plates/carriers as shown above. HAGA further teaches of the samples being deposited in plastic or glass capillary tubes (transparent) (paragraph 0080, 0330).
GARTY teaches of using standard multi-well plates (Table 1), but does not teach that the bottom is transparent, and the sides being opaque.
IRELAND is used to remedy this and specifically teaches of the microplate (sample carrier) using both opaque and transparent material and even further that the sides are opaque and that light is not able to pass through the walls and that the base/bottom of the well is transparent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use both opaque and transparent materials as is done in the carrier/microplate of IRELAND in plate/carriers of GARTY and HAGA due to the advantage this offers for controlling the transmission of light through the plate (IRELAND, column 2, line 55-column 3, line 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Though some issues with respect to the prior 112 (b) rejection were overcome by the amendments dated 07/21/2026, not all issues were resolved and further 112 (b) rejections have been made as shown above for the claim amendments made 07/21/2026.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art, filed 07/21/2026 have been firstfully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the 103 rejection, applicant argues that the priorly cited prior art of GARTY in view of HAGA does not teach of the newly amended recited claim subject matter from amendments dated 07/21/2026. The examiner disagrees. As the claims were significantly amended 09/02/2025--- the newly amended claim subject matter is addressed in the 103 rejection above.
Applicant argues that the prior art, GARTY does not teach of the claimed new limitations of the second mounting device in combination with the first mounting device. The examiner disagrees.
GARTY teaches that microplate gripper moves the microplates or/and their lids across the deck (reads on automated transportation device, which includes a first mounting device, “adapted to,” “hold a plurality of microscope sample carriers,” through broadest reasonable interpretation since “adapted to,” can mean it holds a plurality over time as doesn’t indicate clearer structure as claimed) (paragraph 0191, 0192). The examiner notes that “for the transfer of the plurality of samples..” is intended use for the claimed device.
GARTY further teaches of a linear stage (that can be considered the claimed motorized stage in the claimed microscope module) (paragraph 0230-0231), since it couples with the microscope (reads on the claimed coupling section) (paragraph 0101).
GARTY teaches that the plate stacker/second mounting module holding a plurality of plate/microscopic sample carriers in parallel as up to 100 plates can be held, and that it interfaces with the microscope (paragraph 0095, 0101) which can include an inverted microscope (paragraph 0383, 0085). The “for microscopic examination of the plurality of samples,” is intended use for the claimed device.
Applicant also argues that they think GARTY does not teach of the claimed pipetting channels adapted to couple….” as claimed. The examiner disagrees.
GARTY teaches of “multi-channel pipetting”--- which can read on the claimed “pipetting channels,” and that the microplates/microwells are handled by a robotic pipette arm micromanipulator capable of changing pipetter tops(also pipetting channels), xyz positioning---which can read on transfer of the carrier/plate across the liquid handling system as claimed that the pipetting channels are “adapted to,” do, and nanolilter scale liquid handling (paragraph 0231, 0383, 0207, 0209), which can read on the claimed “adapted to,” as instantly claimed especially due to the clarity issues with respect to “adapted to,” as shown in the above 112b rejection (Figure 27, paragraph 0175). Further- GARTY teaches of multi-channel pipetting end effectors (Figure 27, and paragraph 0350). Specifically, Figure 27 shows the multi-channel pipetting end-effector, (paragraph 0231), and that the end-effectors/modules thereof can be changed out and modified (paragraph 0094,0095, 0109, 0121, 0126, 0127), and further that the end effector grips the well plate (paragraph 0350), so it couples to a coupling section of a microscopic sample carrier as claimed.
Applicant argues that GARTY uses different components for plate transfer and liquid handling. The examiner notes that this argument is not commensurate in scope with the claims, as what is claimed is device parts and applicant seems to be arguing about methodology differences from GARTY and the instant claims.
Applicant argues about HAGA and IRELAND, but only in saying that they do not think they remedy any purported deficiencies of GARTY. The examiner has already stated that they disagree with respect to applicant’s arguments about GARTY, so that is maintained here.
Applicant further notes that in the counterpart European application, the European office initially cited GARTY, then withdrew it when similarly amended. The examiner understands why applicant notes this and will reconsider the rejection with respect to GARTY if the claims are cleared up. Currently in their unclear state, GARTY still reads on the instant claims. The examiner further notes that laws are different in different offices and the pending claims in the instant case and the European application are not exactly the same, so a judgement by one office does not mean that the same decision will be found at other offices.
All claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BUNN in US 20020127742 teaches of multi-slide assembly includes various components that alone or in combination facilitate testing of test samples with minimal manipulation of assay components. Moreover, the various device components permit centrifugation, culturing and analysis of each test sample to be performed in the same assembly. A frame retains a plurality of reaction vessel assemblies between a pair of opposing channels that are configured to slidably receive the opposing ends of each reaction vessel assembly. A strip cap seals the openings in each reaction vessel using cap members having sealing rings circumscribing the external walls thereof to form compression seals with internal walls of the reaction vessels. Furthermore, in a method of making a multi-well slide assembly, an ultrasonic welding process removably bonds a plurality of wells to a slide plate to provide an adequate seal therebetween during centrifugation, yet still enable separation thereof by an operator (abstract, paragraph 0019, 0020, 0063). BUNN also teaches of using mounts (paragraph 0092 and 0097) and also of using pipetters (paragraph 0072).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA M FRITCHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758