FINAL ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to papers filed 11/07/2025 in which claims 5, 6, and 8 were canceled; claims 11-15 were withdrawn; and claims 1 and 7 were amended. All the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are under examination.
New Objection
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: for language clarity, please amend “further wherein” (2nd to last line of claim 1) to “and wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
New Rejections
Necessitated by Applicant’s Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – NEW MATTER
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 introduces new matter as the claims recite the limitation: mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µg to 5 µg. There is no support in the specification for the mesh pore diameter to be from “1 µg to 5 µg.”
MPEP §2163.06 states: “Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.” Applicant has not directed the Examiner to the support in the specification for the amendments.
While the specification discloses “[t]he porous surface covering encapsulating the stent is preferably configured to have a mesh pore diameter ranging from one micron to five microns” (see Specification, page 11, middle paragraph), this disclosure is not support for “1 µg to 5 µg” because “1 µg to 5 µg” is not the same as “one micron to five microns” (1 µm to 5 µm) as disclosed. It is noted that “µg” as claimed is microgram. The disclosure in the specification is to “micron” which is micrometer or “µm.”
Claims 2-4, 7, 9 and 10 are also rejected as they depend directly or indirectly from claim 1, thereby also containing the new matter material.
As such, the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of amended claim 1 at the time of filing of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of "configured" in claim 1 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the porous surface covering is "configured" to have a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µg to 5 µg, as the specification does not define what is meant by “configured.” Thus, the metes and bounds of how the porous surface covering is configured to have a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µg to 5 µg, is unclear. It is noted that the term "configured" is typically used in the electronics art (i.e., to design, arrange, set up or shape something on a computer or other electronic devices). It is suggested that “configured” language be removed from claim, and amending the porous surface covering to “the porous surface covering has a mesh pore diameter …”
Claims 2-4, 7, 9 and 10 are also rejected as they depend directly or indirectly from indefinite claim 1.
As a result, claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of patent protection desired.
Maintained/Modified Rejections
Modification Necessitated by Applicant’s Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betts et al (US 2015/0297662 A1; hereafter as Betts ‘662) in view of Landy et al (US 2011/0054595 A1) and Hall et al (US 2014/0086971 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Betts ‘662 teaches a drug eluting stent comprising (a) a stent capable of radial expansion; and a coating comprising a porous surface covering and at least one therapeutic agent such as a macrocyclic triene immunocompromise compound, wherein the stent is encapsulated by the coating (Abstract; [0006]-[0018], [0045]-[0053]; claims 1-14).
However, Betts ‘662 does not teach the porosity and thickness of the porous surface covering; the concentration of the therapeutic agent; and the porous surface covering is a nonwoven fabric; the nonwoven fabric is composed of electrospun fibers; and the mesh pore diameter of claim 1.
Regarding the porosity of the porous surface covering of claim 1, Landy teaches stents comprising at least one coating covering at least a portion of the device, the at least one coating comprising a porous substrate, wherein the porous substrate is impregnated a composition containing at least one pharmaceutical active agent (Abstract; [0008]-[0024], [0044]-[0045], [0067]-[0074], [0105]-[0111]; claims 1-4, 9, 29, and 33). Landy teaches the porosity volume of the porous substrate can be designed to have porosity volume ranging from 30-70%, wherein only the abluminal side of the stent has the porous substrate ([0109]-[0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design the stent of Betts ‘662 such that the porous surface covering is present only on the abluminal side of the stent, wherein the porosity of the porous surface covering is the range of 20% to 40%, and the therapeutic agent is present in the porous surface covering, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Landy provided the guidance for designing the stent of Betts ‘662 such that the therapeutic agent is impregnated in pores of the porous surface covering, and such porous surface covering is present only on the abluminal side of the stent ([0109]-[0111]). Furthermore, Landy further guides the ordinary artisan to optimize the porosity of the porous surface covering that is present only on the abluminal side of the stent to be in the range of 30-70%, and such porous surface covering design provides high loading of the therapeutic agent ([0055], [0086], and [0109]-[0111]). It is noted that the porosity range of 30-70% as taught by Landy, overlaps the claimed porosity range of “20% to 40%,” and thus, it is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of porosity of the porous surface covering impregnated therein a therapeutic agent to provide a resultant stent with high loading of the therapeutic agent would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's invention. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
Regarding the concentration of the therapeutic agent and the porous surface covering is a nonwoven fabric, the nonwoven fabric is composed of electrospun fibers, thickness of the porous surface covering, and mesh pore diameter of claim 1, Hall teaches a drug-eluting stent containing a porous surface coating nonwoven mat (fabric) composed of electrospun fibers of a polymer selected from fibrin, collagen, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene , polycarbonate, and polyurethane, wherein the porous surface coating impregnates a therapeutic agent such as a rapamycin derivative (analog), and wherein the porosity of the porous surface coating is from about 30% to about 80% (Abstract; [0002]-[0159], [0233]-[0300]; claims 1-33). Hall teaches the therapeutic agent is impregnated in the porous surface coating at concentration from about 2 to about 6 µg/mm2 ([0088]). Hall teaches the mat (fabric) has an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer ([0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to routinely optimize the concentration of the rapamycin derivative (analog) of Betts ‘662 in the porous surface coating (covering) to a concentration between 3.0 and 5.0 µg/mm2, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hall teaches that the concentration of a rapamycin derivative (analog) in a porous surface coated stent can be optimize to a concentration of from about 2 to about 6 µg/mm2, which is a concentration range that overlaps the claimed range of between 3.0 and 5.0 µg/mm2. Thus, it is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of concentration of the therapeutic agent in the porous surface covering would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's invention. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the porous surface coating (covering) of Betts ‘662 to a mesh pore diameter and thickness as claimed in claim 1, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because as discussed above, Hall teaches that the porous surface coating (covering) of Betts ‘662 can be optimize to have an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer, which are pore size and thickness that reads on the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the claimed porous surface covering. Thus, an ordinary artisan would looked to optimizing the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the porous surface coating (covering) of Betts ‘662 to an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer so as to provide porous surface covering that has desirable healing, biocompatibility, prevention of thrombosis, or reducing turbulent blood flow within the stent, per Hall ([0139]), and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the porous surface coating (covering) of Betts ‘662 such that the coating on the stent containing the rapamycin derivative is a non-woven fabric composed of electrospun fibers that is a polymer selected from fibrin, collagen, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene , polycarbonate, and polyurethane, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hall provided the guidance to do so by teaching that the coating covering the stent of Betts ‘662 can be made of a non-woven fabric composed of electrospun fibers, wherein the electrospun fibers is a polymer selected from fibrin, collagen, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene , polycarbonate, and polyurethane, and such use of the electrospun fabric with the rapamycin impregnated therein, provide controlled release of the drug over an extended period. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success of the making said modification because Betts ‘662 also indicated that the objective of the coating is to provide controlled release of the rapamycin derivative (Betts ‘662: [0005], [0033], and [0045]). Thus, it is a prima facie obvious to look to other known coating materials that provide controlled release of drug including the non-woven electrospun fabric (mat) of Hall to be used as the coating (covering) on the stent of Betts ‘662, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, Betts ‘662 teaches the therapeutic agent is a macrocyclic triene immunocompromise compound.
Regarding claim 3, Betts ‘662 teaches the macrocyclic triene immunocompromise compound is a rapamycin derivative (analog) having the following structure:
, wherein R is C(O)—(CH2)n—X, n is 0, 1 or 2, X is a cyclic hydrocarbon having 3-8 carbons, optionally one or more unsaturated bonds ([0006], [0015]-[0016]; claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Betts ‘662 teaches the C(O)—(CH2)n—X has one of the following the following structures:
([0007], [0016][-[0017]; claim 2).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, Hall teaches a drug-eluting stent containing a porous surface coating nonwoven mat (fabric) composed of electrospun fibers of a polymer selected from fibrin, collagen, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene, polycarbonate, and polyurethane, wherein the coating impregnates a drug such as a rapamycin derivative (analog). Thus, Hall provided the guidance to do so by teaching that the coating covering the stent of Betts ‘662 can be made of a non-woven fabric composed of electrospun fibers, wherein the electrospun fibers is a polymer selected from fibrin, collagen, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene , polycarbonate, and polyurethane, and such use of the electrospun fabric with the rapamycin impregnated therein, provide controlled release of the drug over an extended period.
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, Landy provided the guidance for designing the stent of Betts ‘662 such that the therapeutic agent is impregnated in pores of the porous surface covering, and such porous surface covering is present only on the abluminal side of the stent ([0109]-[0111]), thereby meeting and rendering obvious the claimed “the porous surface covering has a porosity of 0% of the surface area at the stent system’s luminal surface” as recited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, as discussed above, Hall provided the guidance for optimizing the concentration of a rapamycin derivative (analog) in a porous surface coated stent to a concentration of from about 2 to about 6 µg/mm2, which is a concentration range that overlaps the claimed range of between about 4.0 and 5.0 µg/mm2. Thus, it is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of concentration of the therapeutic agent in the porous surface covering would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's invention. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that none of the cited prior arts teaches or suggest the mesh pore diameter or the thickness of the porous surface covering as amended in claim 1. Applicant alleges that Landy and Hall teaches away from the currently amended claim 1. (Remarks, pages 6-7).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the pending 103 rejection, Hall teaches that the porous surface coating (covering) of Betts ‘662 can be optimize to have an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer, which are pore size and thickness that reads on the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the claimed porous surface covering. Thus, an ordinary artisan would looked to optimizing the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the porous surface coating (covering) of Betts ‘662 to an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer so as to provide porous surface covering that has desirable healing, biocompatibility, prevention of thrombosis, or reducing turbulent blood flow within the stent, per Hall ([0139]), and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Thus, contrary to Applicant’s allegation, Hall does not teach away but rather, teaches toward Applicant’s claimed mesh pore diameter and thickness of the porous surface covering.
As a result, for at least the reason discussed above, claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 remain rejected as being obvious and unpatentable over the combined teachings of the cited prior art in the pending 103 rejection as set forth in this office action.
Modified Rejections
Necessitated by Applicant’s Claim Amendments
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 9408884 in view of Landy et al (US 2011/0054595 A1) and Hall et al (US 2014/0086971 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Patent ‘884 significant overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., drug eluting stents comprising a coating covering the stent, the coating contains a drug eluting polymer and a rapamycin compound having the following structure:
, wherein R is C(O)—(CH2)n—X, n is 0, 1 or 2, X is a cyclic hydrocarbon having 3-8 carbons, optionally one or more unsaturated bonds.
While the instant claims recites the coating as being a porous surface covering having “a porosity of within a range of 20% to 40% of the surface area at the stent system's abluminal surface and of less than 5% of the surface area at the stent system's luminal surface and the at least one therapeutic agent is present in the porous surface covering in a concentration between 3.0 and 5.0 pg/mm2 and is applied only to the stent system's abluminal side,” it would have been obvious to modify the coating in the claims of Patent ‘884 to have the porosity and therapeutic agent’s concentration as claimed in the instant claims in view of the guidance from Landy and Hall, in which Landy guides the ordinary artisan to optimize the porosity of the porous surface covering that is present only on the abluminal side of the stent to be in the range of 30-70%, and such porous surface covering design provides high loading of the therapeutic agent (Landy: Abstract; [0008]-[0024], [0044]-[0045], [0067]-[0074], [0105]-[0111]; claims 1-4, 9, 29, and 33); and Hall provided the guidance for optimizing the concentration of a rapamycin derivative (analog) in a porous surface coated stent to a concentration of from about 2 to about 6 µg/mm2 (Hall: Abstract; [0002]-[0159], [0233]-[0300]; claims 1-33). It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of porosity of the porous surface covering, as well as, the concentration of the therapeutic agent in the porous surface covering would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's invention. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
While the instant claims also recite the porous surface covering has a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µm to 5 µm and a thickness ranging from 20 µm to 100 µm, it would have been obvious to optimize the coating in the claims of Patent ‘884 to have a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µm to 5 µm and a thickness ranging from 20 µm to 100 µm in view of the guidance from Hall, in which Hall teaches that the porous surface coating (covering) of Patent ‘884 can be optimize to have an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer (Hall: [0139]), which are pore size and thickness that reads on the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the claimed porous surface covering.
While the drug eluting polymers are different between the claims of Patent ‘884 and the claims of the instant application, it would have been obvious that the drug eluting polymers of the instant claims can be substitute with the drug eluting polymers of the Patent ‘884, and vice versa, in view of the guidance from Hall (Abstract; [0002]-[0159], [0233]-[0300]; claims 1-33).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over U.S. Patent No. 9408884 in view of Landy and Hall.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9867911 in view of Landy et al (US 2011/0054595 A1), Hall et al (US 2014/0086971 A1), and Betts et al (US 2015/0297662 A1; hereafter as Betts ‘662).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Patent ‘911 significant overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., while the instant claims are drawn to drug eluting stents and the claims in the Patent ‘911 are drawn to drug coated balloon, the coating material used is the same drawn to a coating comprising a coating covering the stent, the coating contains a rapamycin compound having the following structure:
, wherein R is C(O)—(CH2)n—X, n is 0, 1 or 2, X is a cyclic hydrocarbon having 3-8 carbons, optionally one or more unsaturated bonds.
While the instant claims recites the coating as being a porous surface covering having “a porosity of within a range of 20% to 40% of the surface area at the stent system's abluminal surface and of less than 5% of the surface area at the stent system's luminal surface and the at least one therapeutic agent is present in the porous surface covering in a concentration between 3.0 and 5.0 p g/mm2 and is applied only to the stent system's abluminal side,” it would have been obvious to modify the coating in the claims of Patent ‘884 to have the porosity and therapeutic agent’s concentration as claimed in the instant claims in view of the guidance from Landy and Hall, in which Landy guides the ordinary artisan to optimize the porosity of the porous surface covering that is present only on the abluminal side of the stent to be in the range of 30-70%, and such porous surface covering design provides high loading of the therapeutic agent (Landy: Abstract; [0008]-[0024], [0044]-[0045], [0067]-[0074], [0105]-[0111]; claims 1-4, 9, 29, and 33); and Hall provided the guidance for optimizing the concentration of a rapamycin derivative (analog) in a porous surface coated stent to a concentration of from about 2 to about 6 µg/mm2 (Hall: Abstract; [0002]-[0159], [0233]-[0300]; claims 1-33). It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of porosity of the porous surface covering, as well as, the concentration of the therapeutic agent in the porous surface covering would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's invention. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
While the instant claims also recite the porous surface covering has a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µm to 5 µm and a thickness ranging from 20 µm to 100 µm, it would have been obvious to optimize the coating in the claims of Patent ‘884 to have a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µm to 5 µm and a thickness ranging from 20 µm to 100 µm in view of the guidance from Hall, in which Hall teaches that the porous surface coating (covering) of Patent ‘911 can be optimize to have an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer (Hall: [0139]), which are pore size and thickness that reads on the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the claimed porous surface covering.
While claim 3 of the Patent ‘911 is further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition containing microparticles of the rapamycin compound, it would have been obvious to formulate the rapamycin compound of the instant claims into microparticles in view of the guidance from Betts ‘662 (Abstract; [0006]-[0018], [0045]-[0053]; claims 1-14).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over U.S. Patent No. 9867911 in view of Landy, Hall, and Betts ‘662.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10751450 in view of Betts et al (US 2015/0297662 A1; hereafter as Betts ‘662), Landy et al (US 2011/0054595 A1), and Hall et al (US 2014/0086971 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Patent ‘450 significant overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., while the claims in the Patent ‘450 are drawn to method of using, said claims from Patent ‘450 use the substantially the same drug eluting stent containing a rapamycin compound having the following structure:
, wherein R is C(O)—(CH2)n—X, n is 0, 1 or 2, X is a cyclic hydrocarbon having 3-8 carbons, optionally one or more unsaturated bonds. Thus, the "Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection Based on Equitable Principles" discussed in paragraph II.B.6 below should be considered. Cf. Geneva Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F3d 1373, 1385-86, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (rejecting claims to methods of use over claims to compound based on unjustified timewise extension rationale). See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
While the claims in the instant application recites the stent contains a coating, it would have been obvious to produce the stent of the claims from the Patent ‘450 to contain coating having the rapamycin compound in view of the guidance from Betts ‘662 (Abstract; [0006]-[0018], [0045]-[0053]; claims 1-14).
While the instant claims recites the coating as being a porous surface covering having “a porosity of within a range of 20% to 40% of the surface area at the stent system's abluminal surface and of less than 5% of the surface area at the stent system's luminal surface and the at least one therapeutic agent is present in the porous surface covering in a concentration between 3.0 and 5.0 p g/mm2 and is applied only to the stent system's abluminal side,” it would have been obvious to modify the coating in the claims of Patent ‘884 to have the porosity and therapeutic agent’s concentration as claimed in the instant claims in view of the guidance from Landy and Hall, in which Landy guides the ordinary artisan to optimize the porosity of the porous surface covering that is present only on the abluminal side of the stent to be in the range of 30-70%, and such porous surface covering design provides high loading of the therapeutic agent (Landy: Abstract; [0008]-[0024], [0044]-[0045], [0067]-[0074], [0105]-[0111]; claims 1-4, 9, 29, and 33); and Hall provided the guidance for optimizing the concentration of a rapamycin derivative (analog) in a porous surface coated stent to a concentration of from about 2 to about 6 µg/mm2 (Hall: Abstract; [0002]-[0159], [0233]-[0300]; claims 1-33). It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of porosity of the porous surface covering, as well as, the concentration of the therapeutic agent in the porous surface covering would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's invention. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
While the instant claims also recite the porous surface covering has a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µm to 5 µm and a thickness ranging from 20 µm to 100 µm, it would have been obvious to optimize the coating in the claims of Patent ‘884 to have a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µm to 5 µm and a thickness ranging from 20 µm to 100 µm in view of the guidance from Hall, in which Hall teaches that the porous surface coating (covering) of Patent ‘450 can be optimize to have an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer (Hall: [0139]), which are pore size and thickness that reads on the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the claimed porous surface covering.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over U.S. Patent No. 10751450 in view of Betts ‘662, Landy, and Hall.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11383009 in view of Betts et al (US 2015/0297662 A1; hereafter as Betts ‘662), Landy et al (US 2011/0054595 A1), and Hall et al (US 2014/0086971 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Patent ‘009 significant overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., a rapamycin compound having the following structure:
, wherein R is C(O)—(CH2)n—X, n is 0, 1 or 2, X is a cyclic hydrocarbon having 3-8 carbons, optionally one or more unsaturated bonds.
While the claims in the Patent ‘009 is drawn to a pharmaceutical formulation that further contains ethanol, it would have been obvious that the rapamycin compound in the instant claim can be formulated in a pharmaceutical formulation containing ethanol and such formulation can be used as coating on stents in view of the guidance from Betts ‘662 (Abstract; [0006]-[0018], [0045]-[0053]; claims 1-14).
While the instant claims recites the coating as being a porous surface covering having “a porosity of within a range of 20% to 40% of the surface area at the stent system's abluminal surface and of less than 5% of the surface area at the stent system's luminal surface and the at least one therapeutic agent is present in the porous surface covering in a concentration between 3.0 and 5.0 p g/mm2 and is applied only to the stent system's abluminal side,” it would have been obvious to design the formulation in the claims of Patent ‘884 to a porous surface covering formulation for stents having the porosity and therapeutic agent’s concentration as claimed in the instant claims in view of the guidance from Landy and Hall, in which Landy guides the ordinary artisan to optimize the porosity of the porous surface covering that is present only on the abluminal side of the stent to be in the range of 30-70%, and such porous surface covering design provides high loading of the therapeutic agent (Landy: Abstract; [0008]-[0024], [0044]-[0045], [0067]-[0074], [0105]-[0111]; claims 1-4, 9, 29, and 33); and Hall provided the guidance for optimizing the concentration of a rapamycin derivative (analog) in a porous surface coated stent to a concentration of from about 2 to about 6 µg/mm2 (Hall: Abstract; [0002]-[0159], [0233]-[0300]; claims 1-33). It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of porosity of the porous surface covering, as well as, the concentration of the therapeutic agent in the porous surface covering would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's invention. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
While the instant claims also recite the porous surface covering has a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µm to 5 µm and a thickness ranging from 20 µm to 100 µm, it would have been obvious to optimize the coating in the claims of Patent ‘884 to have a mesh pore diameter ranging from 1 µm to 5 µm and a thickness ranging from 20 µm to 100 µm in view of the guidance from Hall, in which Hall teaches that the porous surface coating (covering) of Patent ‘009 can be optimize to have an average pore size of about 3 microns to about 5 microns, and a thickness of about 20 micrometers to about 100 micrometer (Hall: [0139]), which are pore size and thickness that reads on the mesh pore diameter and thickness of the claimed porous surface covering.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over U.S. Patent No. 11383009 in view of Betts ‘662, Landy and Hall.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues by requesting the Examiner reconsider the double patenting rejections, as the current amendments to the claims now patentably distinct over the patents as cited. (Remarks, page 8).
In response, the Examiner disagrees, the instant claims remain not patentably distinct over the cited patents for the reasons discussed in the modified double patenting rejections, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to claim 1. See the modified double patenting rejections on pages 16-27 of this office action, said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Accordingly, the double patenting rejections are maintained for the reasons discussed above, and pending the filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOAN T PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613