DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is amended; Claims 3-9 and 15-23 are withdrawn from consideration as non-elected claims; Claims 1-2 and 10-14 remain for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochhar et al (US-PG-pub 2020/0078796 A1, updated as US 11,077,452 B2, thereafter PG’796) in view of Drinkard et al (WO 2014/025744 A1, thereafter WO’744).
PG’796 in view of WO’744 is applied to the instant claims 1 and 10-14 for the same reason as stated in the previous office action dated 3/11/2026.
Regarding the amended feature in the instant claim 1, PG’796 specify applying a salt solution of alkaline earth metal chloride in the process (Cl.31 and par.[0213) of PH’796), which including the MgCl2 as claimed in the instant claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose proper an alkaline earth metal chloride (including MgCl2) in the manufacturing process since PG’796 teaches the same manufacturing process of recovering materials from rechargeable lithium-ion batteries as claimed throughout whole disclosing range (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’796).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’796 In view of WO’744, and further in view of Wang et al (CN 107017443 B, with on-line translation, thereafter CN’443).
PG’796 in view of WO’744 and CN’443 is applied to the instant claim 2 for the same reason as stated in the previous office action dated 3/11/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments to the art rejection to Claims 1-2 and 10-14 have been considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the arguments related to the amended features in the instant claims, the Examiner’s position has stated as above.
The Applicant’s arguments are summarized as following:
PG’796 does not teach remove each of Mg, Ca, and Na formations as claimed in the instant claim since no indication in PG’796 to remove Na formations.
PG’796 in view of WO’744 does not specify forming Na included fertilizers as claimed.
In response,
Regarding the argument 1), PG’796 not only teaches selectively remove trace impurities such as calcium and magnesium, but also teaches forming sodium carbonate to precipitate crude lithium carbonate and recover high purity solid lithium carbonate from lithium carbonate (par.[0123] of PG’796), which reads on the claimed limitation of removing Na formation as claimed in the instant claim..
Regarding the argument 2, as discussed above, PG’796 teaches removing Na formation as claimed in the instant claim. CA’367 is a typo (which refer to WO’744). WO’744 is cited for a manufacturing process of leaching recovery of Mn bearing batteries including materials including Mg, Ca, and Na to obtain fertilizer product (Abstract, and par,[0001]-[0004] of WO’744). the Applicant’s arguments should not show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, PG’796 in view of WO’744 is applied to the instant claims 1 and 10-14 and CN’443 is further cited for claim 2. The reason and motivation for the combination can further refer to the rejection for in the office action above and previous office action dated 9/11/2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734