DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on July 24, 2025.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1 – 8 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 24, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 2, and 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mun as set forth in the office action filed February 25, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 24, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 3 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue as set forth in the office action filed February 25, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 24, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 7 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun as set forth in the office action filed March 1, 2024.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 24, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as set forth in the office action filed March 1, 2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on April 8, 2025 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee 2 (US20170301868A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, Lee 2 teaches:
An organic electroluminescent compound represented by the following formula 1
(Lee 2 teaches compounds, such as compound 1-8
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; Ar2 is an unsubstituted dibenzothiophenyl, namely
in claim 3; Ar3 represents an unsubstituted phenyl, namely
of claim 3; L1 and L2 represent a single bond; R1 represents hydrogen and R2 represents an unsubstituted di-(C6-C30)arylamino and b is an integer of 1. This compound is of Formula 2 in claim 2.)
As per claims 7 and 8, Lee 2 teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising the electroluminescent compound, wherein the organic electroluminescent compound is contained in a hole transport layer and/or a light-emitting layer (In Table 4, Example 2, as described in [0123 – 0130], compound 1-8 is provided in an OLED in an emission-auxiliary layer. As holes as transported through the emission auxiliary layer to the emission layer, the emission auxiliary layer is a hole transport layer as claimed.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20220037594A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, 5 and 6, Lee teaches:
An organic electroluminescent compound represented by the following formula 1
(Lee teaches compounds of Formula 2
([0011]). A specific compound Lee teaches is compound 2-10
, where the carbazole group is linked via an aryl group, which is different from the definition of claimed variable L2. However, in the definition for L4 provided by Lee, L4 may be a single bond ([0097]). Lee also teaches compounds such as compound 2-1, where the L4 variable is a single bond.
. Similarly, while the bond of the amine group is not in the 1 position as claimed, in Formula 2, Lee teaches that the bond can be at any place on the phenyl ring. Lee also teaches compounds such as compound 2-108
, wherein the amine group is bonded in the 1 position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify compound 2-10 to replace the aryl group with a single bond and to attach the amine group in the claimed position. When modified in this way, modified compound 2-10 reads on the claimed Formula wherein Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group; Ar2 is an unsubstituted o-biphenyl, namely
in claim 3; Ar3 is an unsubstituted carbazolyl, namely
in claim 3, wherein A3 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; L1 and L2 are single bonds; R1 and R2 each represent hydrogen; a represents an integer of 4, b represents an integer of 3, c represents an integer of 1. This compound is represented by Formula 2 in claim 2. This compound is the same as compound C-31
in claim 6.)
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of lowered driving voltage, improved luminous efficiency and longer lifetime in organic electroluminescent devices comprising the compound (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 4, while modified compound 2-10 above teaches a o-biphenyl group in the Ar2 position, which is not allowed by the claim, Lee teaches compounds, such as compound 2-9
, wherein there is an unsubstituted dibenzothiophenyl group off of the amine group. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the o-biphenyl group of compound 2-10 with a dibenzothiophenyl group and arrive at the claimed compound.
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of lowered driving voltage, improved luminous efficiency and longer lifetime in organic electroluminescent devices comprising the compound (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 7 and 8, Lee does not specifically teach the compound in an electroluminescent device in a hole transport layer and/or a light emitting layer as claimed.
Lee teaches that the inventive compounds of Formula 2, are suitable for use in hole transport layers or light emitting auxiliary layers of organic electroluminescent devices ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any specific compound within the scope of Formula 2, particularly in the hole transport layer or light emitting auxiliary layer as claimed, because Lee demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the compounds were known to be predictably suitable for use in the claimed layers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789