DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claim rejections
The rejections of record under 35 USC 103 have been maintained and modified in view of Applicant’s amendments/arguments in the response filed 08/04/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
First rejection
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 13, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller Cajar et al (Biochemistry. 2007 Dec 11;46(49):14067-74; hereinafter “Mueller Cajar”; prior art of record) in view of Liang et al (Metabolic Engineering Communications 4 (2017) 29–36; hereinafter “Liang”; prior art of record), Soucaille (WO 2007141316 A2; 13 December 2007; prior art of record), and Caspar et al (US20090172832A1; 2 July 2009; hereinafter “Caspar”; prior art of record).
Mueller Cajar teaches directed evolution of Rubisco in E. coli reveals a specificity-determining hydrogen bond in the Form II enzyme (title). Mueller Cajar teaches Ribulose 1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (Rubisco) catalyzes the reaction responsible for virtually all global CO2 assimilation into biomass (pg. 14067, col 1, paragraph 1). The ability of Rubisco to discriminate between the substrates CO2 and O2 is given by the specificity constant Sc/o = (kccat/Kc)/(kocat/Ko), which represents the ratio of the enzyme’s carboxylation efficiency (carboxylation rate (kccat) divided by the Km for CO2 (Kc)) to oxygenation efficiency (oxygenation rate (kocat) divided by the Km for O2 (Ko)) at equal CO2 and O2 concentrations (pg. 14067, col 2, paragraph 1). Form I Rubiscos have dimers of large (L) subunits possess high Sc/o values (40-170) and are found in land plants, algae, bacteria, and cyanobacteria (pg. 14067, col 2, paragraph 2). Form II Rubiscos contain only L subunits, are found in some photosynthetic proteobacteria, chemoautotrophic bacteria, and certain dinoflagellate algae, and have high kccat values but lower Sc/o values (10-20) (pg. 14067, col 2, paragraph 2).
Mueller Cajar teaches an E. coli selection system to evolve the Form II Rubisco from Rhodospirillum rubrum toward an improved fitness and make E. coli that is metabolically engineered to be dependent on Rubisco to detoxify its substrate ribulose 1,5-bisphosphate (abstract), where plasmids containing the R. rubrum Rubisco gene (rbcM; also known as cbbM) were transformed into electrocompetent mutated MM1 E. coli cells derived from the RR1 parent E.coli strain (pg. 14068, col 1, paragraph 4) (recombinant host cell as in claim 1 in part; derived from a parent host cell as in claim 1 in part). The MM1 cells contained the MM1-pACBADPRK plasmid to co-express phosphoribulokinase from Synechococcus PCC7942 (comprises PRK activity as in claim 1) and various Rubisco mutants harboring glutamine and asparagine substitutions at histidine-44 (H44Q, H44N) (comprises Rubisco activity as in claim 1) or histidine and valine substitutions at aspartate-117 (D117H, D117V) (pg. 14068, col 2, paragraphs 1-3; Table 1; pg. 14071, Fig. 2). Using purified Rubisco enzyme, the kinetic properties of the H44N, D117V, D117H, and H44Q Rubisco variants were measured in a bid to identify the mechanism(s) by which they were selected (pg.14071, col 1, paragraph 2). Compared to the wild-type R. rubrum Rubisco showed 40% reduction in Sc/o (pg.14071, col 1, paragraph 2; Table 2). The affinity for CO2 was perturbed, as shown by a higher Michaelis constant (Km) for CO2 (Kc) for the mutant Rubiscos (pg.14071, col 1, paragraph 2). Table 2 (pg. 14072) specifically shows that the H44N Rubisco mutant shows and Sc/o = 5.5 compared to the Sc/o of 9.0 of the wildtype, an increase in Kc to 204 (decreased selectivity for CO2 over O2), and a decrease in Ko to 116 from 159 in the wildtype (an increased sensitivity for O2 as in claim 1, in part).
The difference between Mueller Cajar and the instant claims is that Mueller Cajar does not explicitly teach that the parent host cell and the recombinant host cell is a photosynthetic host cell (as in claim 1, in part).
However, Liang teaches Synechocystis PCC 6803 overexpressing Rubisco to increase growth rate and photosynthesis (title, abstract). Liang teaches that cyanobacterial and algae RuBisCO are reported to have higher efficiency compared to plant RuBisCO (pg. 30, col 1, paragraph 2). Liang teaches the engineering of Synechocystis PCC 6803 to overexpress Rubisco (recombinant photosynthetic host cell as in claim 1) in comparison with a wildtype Synechocystis (derived from a photosynthetic parent host cell as in claim 1) (pg. 30, col 1-2; pg. 31, Fig 1A-C; pg. 32 Fig. 3). Liang further teaches that the use of Synechocystis and overexpression of Rubisco may be one of the key targets to increase efficiency of carbon fixation in photoautotrophic organisms, to increase oxygen evolution rate, and increase photosynthesis and carbon fixation in cyanobacterial cells (pg. 35, col 2 paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the recombinant host cell system using Rubisco as taught by Mueller Cajar by using Synechocystis as a parent host cell to make a recombinant Synechocystis as taught by Liang to arrive at the claimed invention. As the claimed invention relies on the creation of a recombinant photosynthetic host cell with PRK and Rubisco activity, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform a simple substitution of one known element (the E. coli parent and recombinant host cell of Mueller Cajar) for another (the Synechocystis parent and recombinant host cell of Liang) with a reasonable expectation of success (creating a recombinant photosynthetic host cell with PRK and Rubisco activity). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform the substitution because Liang teaches successful expression of a recombinant Rubisco in Synechocystis host cell that advantageously allowed for increased oxygen evolution rate, photosynthesis capabilities, and carbon fixation.
Neither Mueller Cajar nor Liang teach that the recombinant host cell produces glycolate or is substantially unable to anabolize glycolate (as in claim 1 in part).
However, Soucaille teaches a process for the conversion of glucose to glycolic acid is achieved by the use of a recombinant organism comprising a host MG1655 E. coli transformed i) to attenuate the glyoxylate consuming pathways to other compounds than glycolate ii) to use an NADPH glyoxylate reductase to convert glyoxylate to glycolate iii) to attenuate the level of all the glycolate metabolizing enzymes and iv) increase the flux in the glyoxylate pathway (abstract). By increasing NADPH availability by deactivating various genes encoding glucose-6-phosphate isomerase, 6-phosphogluconate dehydratase, and soluble transhydrogenase, a better yield of glycolate production is obtained, including 3 recombinant host cells that produce over 1 g/L (see Example 8, strains 5-7) (produce a yield of at least 1 g glycolate per liter culture medium as in claim 1; pg. 3, lines 1-13). The recombinant E. coli contains at least one gene encoding glyoxylate reductase enzyme (such as ycdW or yiaE) used to convert glyoxylate intermediate to the low toxicity final product glycolate, where the expression of the glycolate reductase enzyme is increased by using one or several copies on the genome introduced via recombination (pg. 6, lines 18-38; pg. 13, examples 1-2). The microorganism is further modified in such a way that it is unable to substantially metabolize glycolate (as in claim 1) (pg. 7, lines 9-12; pg. 13, Example 3). This result was achieved by the attenuation of at least one of the genes encoding for enzymes consuming glycolate (glcDEF encoding glycolate oxidase and aldA encoding glycolaldehyde dehydrogenase) via replacement of the natural promoter or deletion of the DNA sequence (pg. 7, lines 13-16). Soucaille further teaches the fermentative production of glycolic acid from the recombinant cell where the resulting glycolate would be concentrated in the bacteria or in the medium (pg. 8, lines 13-24; claim 20).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the recombinant Synechocystis expressing Rubisco and PRK as taught by Mueller Cajar and Liang, by inactivating glycolate oxidase and overexpressing glyoxylate reductase to produce glycolate in the medium as taught by Soucaille to arrive at the claimed invention. As Mueller Cajar and Liang teaches the creation of a recombinant Synechocystis cell expressing Rubisco and PRK with increased glyoxylate reductase expression, and Soucaille teaches the inactivation of glycolate oxidase and increasing glyoxylate reductase expression in a recombinant host cell for successful concentration of glycolate in the medium, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the cell of Mueller Cajar and Liang by inactivating glycolate oxidase and increase expression of glyoxylate reductase with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to inactivate glycolate dehydrogenase and increase expression of glyoxylate reductase because Soucaille teaches the successful attenuation of the glycolate consuming enzymes via replacement of the promoter or deletion of the DNA sequence, resulting in the accumulation of glycolate in fermentation medium from a recombinant host cell.
Neither Mueller Cajar, Liang, nor Soucaille explicitly teach the Rubisco has at least 95% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 16 (Applicant’s elected species).
However, Caspar (in the field of recombinant Rubisco enzymes) teaches the expression of Rubisco enzyme from a non-Rubisco locus (title). Caspar teaches the expression of the Rubisco from R. rubrum RRrbcM in the chloroplasts of tobacco leaf using a pTCP107 plasmid (paragraph 0147) that led to high expression of the Rubisco in the leaf tissue (paragraph 0147, paragraph 0180-0181). Caspar specifically teaches the amino acid sequence of RRrbcM (SEQ ID NO: 35) that has 98.5% identity to SEQ ID NO: 16 (a Rubisco with at least 95% sequence identity as in claim 1) (paragraph 0180-0181; see alignment below). Caspar further teaches the overexpression of RRrbcM in E. coli pRR2119 in comparison to expression of the Rubisco expression in plant 1074, and showed high expression and Rubisco activity (paragraph 0189; Table 6).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the recombinant Synechocystis expressing Rubisco and PRK as taught by Mueller Cajar, Liang, and Soucaille, by using the Rubisco as taught by Caspar to arrive at the claimed invention. As Mueller Cajar, Liang, and Soucaille teach the creation of a recombinant Synechocystis cell expressing Rubisco and PRK with increased glyoxylate reductase expression, and Caspar teaches the successful use of a Rubisco amino acid sequence from R. rubrum in recombinant organisms, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the Rubisco of Caspar with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Caspar teaches the successful use of a Rubisco amino acid sequence that is capable of causing high Rubisco expression in recombinant organisms.
Regarding claim 3 and 4, Soucaille teaches reducing or eliminating glycolate oxidase activity (see above), via gene disruption or deletion of glycolate oxidase (see above).
Regarding claim 5, Soucaille teaches the overexpression of glyoxylate reductase (see above).
Regarding claim 7, Mueller Cajar teaches decreased affinity/selectivity for CO2 using the R. rubrum Rubisco (pg.14071, col 1, paragraph 2; see Table 2).
Regarding claim 8, Mueller Cajar teaches H44N Rubisco mutant shows and Sc/o = 5.5 compared to the Sc/o of 9.0 of the wildtype (specificity constant Sc/o<55) (pg. 14072, Table 2).
Regarding claim 9, Mueller Cajar teaches using Form II Rubisco (i.e., type II Rubisco) (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Mueller Cajar teaches using Rubisco from Rhodospirillum rubrum (abstract) with H44N mutation (pg. 14068, col 2, paragraphs 1-3; Table 1; pg. 14071, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Caspar specifically teaches the amino acid sequence of RRrbcM (SEQ ID NO: 35) that has 98.5% identity to SEQ ID NO: 16 (a Rubisco with at least 95% sequence identity as in claim 1; at least 95% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 16 as in claim 17).
Regarding claim 13 and 21, Liang teaches using Synechocystis, a photosynthetic cyanobacterium (see above), and Mueller Cajar, Liang, Soucaille, and Caspar teach (in combination) expression of a heterologous PRK in a photosynthetic cyanobacterial host cell.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Second rejection
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller Cajar, Liang, Soucaille, and Caspar as applied to claim 1, 3-5, 7-10, 13, 17 and 21 above, and further in view of Jiang et al (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2018 Jan 9;115(2):403-408; hereinafter “Jiang”).
As discussed above, claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 13, 17, and 21 were rendered prima facie obvious by the combined teachings of Mueller Cajar, Liang, Soucaille, and Caspar.
The difference between the references and the instant claims is that none of the references explicitly teach the host cell overexpresses phosphoglycolate phosphatase in view of the parent cell (as in claim 6).
However, Jiang teaches coordinating carbon and nitrogen metabolic signaling through cyanobacterial global repressor NdhR (title). Jiang teaches the examination of the possible roles of 2-phosphoglycolate in NdhR transcriptional regulation of its target genes by constructing a recombinant BL21 E. coli strain overexpressing slr0458, that encodes phosphoglycolate phosphatase (PGPase) [“PGPase-overexpression” (POE) strain] (pg. 406, col 1, paragraph 2; pg. 407, col 2) (overexpressing phosphoglycolate phosphatase as in claim 6). This PGPase was reported to be responsible for the catabolism of intracellular 2-PG, which usually accumulates in the cell at a high level after 30 min after the shift from a high carbon level to a limiting CO2 level (pg. 406, col 1, paragraph 2; Fig. 4). The transcription level of the slr0458 gene increased by ∼25-fold in the POE strain compared with the wild type (pg. 406, col 1, paragraph 2). In the POE strain, due to the high level of PGPase that degrades the intracellular 2-PG, the transcription of NdhR target genes ndhR, ndhF3, sbtA, and bicA is significantly down-regulated, to about 20–60% of that in the wild-type strain (pg. 406, col 1, paragraph 2). This confirmed that 2-PG is an inducer that directly interacts with NdhR in vivo (pg. 406, col 1, paragraph 2). Jiang further teaches that the accumulation of the photorespiratory metabolite 2-PG is an indicator of a high N/C ratio (Fig. 5B), and an imbalanced C/N metabolism will result in the intracellular accumulation of either 2-OG or 2-PG, and their interaction with global sensors, such as NtcA, CmpR, and NdhR, switches on or off the downstream genes involved in carbon and nitrogen metabolism, eventually leading to the restoration of balance (pg. 407, col 2, paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the recombinant Synechocystis expressing Rubisco and PRK as taught by Mueller Cajar, Liang, Soucaille, and Caspar and overexpress phosphoglycolate phosphatase as taught by Jiang to arrive at the claimed invention. As Mueller Cajar, Liang, Soucaille, and Caspar teach the creation of a recombinant Synechocystis cell expressing Rubisco and PRK with increased glyoxylate reductase expression and Jiang teaches the overexpression of phosphoglycolate phosphatase in a recombinant host cell, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to overexpress phosphoglycolate phosphatase with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Jiang teaches that phosphoglycolate phosphatase can be successfully overexpressed in a recombinant host cell causing a downregulation of NdhR gene to ultimately restore C/N balance in imbalanced cell metabolism.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Third rejection
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller Cajar, Liang, Soucaille, and Caspar as applied to claim 1, 3-5, 7-10, 13, 17 and 21 above, and further in view of Eisenhut et al (The photorespiratory glycolate metabolism is essential for cyanobacteria and might have been conveyed endosymbiontically to plants. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2008 Nov 4;105(44):17199-204; hereinafter “Eisenhut”).
As discussed above, claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 13, 17, and 21 were rendered prima facie obvious by the combined teachings of Mueller Cajar, Liang, Soucaille, and Caspar.
As further discussed above, the combined references teach a recombinant photosynthetic host cell derived from a photosynthetic parent cyanobacterial host cell, comprises PRK activity, with a heterologous type II Rubisco with increased sensitivity for O2 and a polypeptide sequence of the Rubisco with 98.5% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 16 (as claimed).
The difference between the references and the instant claims is that none of the references explicitly teach that the cell has reduced or eliminated glycolate dehydrogenase activity in view of the parent cyanobacterial host cell.
However, Eisenhut teaches that in cyanobacteria the primary carbon fixation is catalyzed by ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (Rubisco). Ribulose 1,5-bisphosphate reacts with either CO2, leading to the formation of 2 molecules of 3-phosphoglycerate (pg. 17199, col 1). Eisenhut also teaches creation of Synechocystis sp. PCC 6803 mutants defective in specific steps involved in 2PG cycle, specifically mutants with inactivated glycolate dehydrogenase (glcD) (reduced or eliminated glycolate dehydrogenase activity as claimed), and demonstrated that the mutants were capable of accumulating glycolate while the wildtype cells contained only traces of glycolate under the same culturing conditions (see abstract; see Fig. 3 and Fig. 3 description).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the recombinant Synechocystis expressing Rubisco and PRK as taught by Mueller Cajar, Liang, Soucaille, and Caspar and inactivate glycolate dehydrogenase as taught by Eisenhut to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Eisenhut explicitly teaches that Synechocystis mutants with inactivated glycolate dehydrogenase are advantageously capable of accumulating glycolate while the wildtype cells contained only traces of glycolate under the same culturing conditions.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 6-8 of the remarks, Applicant argues that Mueller Cajar does not disclose a Rubisco having increased sensitivity for O2 and the rejection relies solely on the Ko value of the H44N variant in Table 2 but that the Ko values “indicated no change for D117V mutant and only modest differences for the remaining variants”, the “oxygenation rate of the four variant Rubiscos were equivalent or slower than the wildtype” (see pg. 14071), and summarizes the variants as having lower carboxylation and oxygenation efficiencies compared to the wildtype, such that a reference reporting reduced oxygenation cannot supply the Rubisco has increased sensitivity for O2 as claimed. Applicant also argues the parent cell of Mueller Cajar is E. coli, which has no native Rubisco and only reports comparison to R. rubrum variants vs. wildtype. Applicant argues Liang reports its Rubisco strain does not have increased oxygen evolution rate, photosynthesis capabilities, and carbon fixation because “an additional copy did not increase relative level of Rubisco and the improvements Liang observed came from CcmM overexpression not from Rubisco.” Applicant argues that Liang also directs away from the O2 sensitivity because Liang teaches oxygenation “produces toxic 2-phosphoglycolate” and efforts to improve Rubisco’s discrimination between CO2 and O2 have met very limited success and that the promising strategy is “to increase CO2 concentration around Rubisco in order to decrease the competing oxygenation reaction” and that “the natural Rubisco may be nearly perfectly optimized.” Such that replacing Liang’s Rubisco with a low-specificity enzyme in order to promote oxygenation would defeat the object of Liang’s cell. Applicant further argues that Jiang teaches that cyanobacterial carbon-concetrating mechanism “could functionally compensate for poor affinity and selectivity of Rubisco toward CO2” and that when inorganic carbon is sufficient “the oxygenase function of Rubisco is inactive, leading to low concentration of 2-PG in the cell” that would lead to a positive feedback circuit that would lead to a restoration of balance and one of ordinary skill would have expected a cyanobacterial cell to suppress and not accumulate 2-phosphoglycolate. Applicant then argues that Soucaille is silent regarding producing extracellular glycolate and Caspar only contributes an amino acid sequence and provides no reason to select a Rubisco for increased O2 sensitivity, and argues much of the same for newly added independent claim 22.
In response, the examiner disagrees. First, the examiner notes that Mueller Cajar teaches an E. coli selection system to evolve the Form II Rubisco from Rhodospirillum rubrum toward an improved fitness and make E. coli that is metabolically engineered to be dependent on Rubisco to detoxify its substrate ribulose 1,5-bisphosphate (abstract), where plasmids containing the R. rubrum Rubisco gene (rbcM; also known as cbbM) were transformed into electrocompetent mutated MM1 E. coli cells derived from the RR1 parent E.coli strain (pg. 14068, col 1, paragraph 4. The MM1 cells contained the MM1-pACBADPRK plasmid to co-express phosphoribulokinase from Synechococcus and various Rubisco mutants harboring glutamine and asparagine substitutions at histidine-44 (H44Q, H44N) histidine.
Compared to the wild-type R. rubrum Rubisco showed 40% reduction in Sc/o (pg.14071, col 1, paragraph 2; Table 2). The affinity for CO2 was perturbed, as shown by a higher Michaelis constant (Km) for CO2 (Kc) for the mutant Rubiscos (pg.14071, col 1, paragraph 2). Table 2 (pg. 14072) specifically shows that the H44N Rubisco mutant shows an Sc/o = 5.5 compared to the Sc/o of 9.0 of the wildtype, an increase in Kc to 204 (i.e., decreased selectivity for CO2 over O2), and a decrease in Ko to 116 from 159 in the wildtype (i.e., an increased sensitivity for O2). Note that the claims require a non-specific increase in O2 sensitivity to the cell, such that even a de minimis increase would be sufficient to meet the claim language, absent evidence to the contrary.
Second, while Mueler Cajar teaches using E. coli as the parent/host cell, Liang explicitly teaches that Synechocystis PCC 6803 overexpressing Rubisco to increase growth rate and photosynthesis (title, abstract). Liang explicitly teaches the engineering of Synechocystis PCC 6803 to overexpress Rubisco in comparison with a wildtype Synechocystis (i.e., derived from a photosynthetic parent host cell) (pg. 30, col 1-2; pg. 31, Fig 1A-C; pg. 32 Fig. 3). Liang further teaches that the use of Synechocystis and overexpression of Rubisco may be one of the key targets to increase efficiency of carbon fixation in photoautotrophic organisms, to increase oxygen evolution rate, and increase photosynthesis and carbon fixation in cyanobacterial cells (pg. 35, col 2 paragraph 2; emphasis added). Thus, Liang explicitly provides one of ordinary skill the necessary teaching, suggestion, and motivation to use a Synechocystis cell for the purposes of overexpressing RubisCo with a reasonable expectation of successfully increasing efficiency, photosynthesis, etc. in the cell.
Third, regarding the teachings of Jiang, the examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that Jiang’s teachings would lead one of ordinary skill to expect a cyanobacterial cell to suppress and not accumulate 2-PG. Jiang explicitly teaches “[construction of] a recombinant strain overexpressing slr0458, which encodes a phosphoglycolate phosphatase (PGPase) [hereafter, the “PGPase-overexpression” (POE) strain]. This PGPase was reported to be responsible for the catabolism of intracellular 2-PG, which usually accumulates in the cell at a high level after 30 min after the shift from an HC to a limiting CO2 level (LC). . . [and] the high level of PGPase. . . degrades the intracellular 2-PG” (see pg. 406, col 1). Thus Jiang provides one of ordinary skill the teaching, suggestion, and motivation to overexpress PGPase (as instantly claimed) to allow for degradation of intracellular 2-PG to aid in successfully restoring C/N balance in imbalanced cell metabolism.
Finally, regarding the arguments against the Caspar and Soucaille references, the examiner disagrees for much of the same reasons as set forth above. The examiner notes that Soucaille explicitly teaches modification of microorganism so that it is unable to substantially metabolize (pg. 7, lines 9-12; pg. 13, Example 3) by attenuation of at least one of the genes encoding for enzymes consuming glycolate (glcDEF encoding glycolate oxidase and aldA encoding glycolaldehyde dehydrogenase) via replacement of the natural promoter or deletion of the DNA sequence (pg. 7, lines 13-16). Soucaille further teaches the fermentative production of glycolic acid from the recombinant cell where the resulting glycolate would be concentrated in the bacteria or in the medium (see Soucaille above). Caspar also teaches the successful use of a Rubisco amino acid sequence that is capable of causing high Rubisco expression in recombinant organisms. Thus, the rejections are maintained as set forth above.
Conclusion
NO CLAIMS ALLOWED.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wilson et al (An improved Escherichia coli screen for Rubisco identifies a protein–protein interface that can enhance CO2-fixation kinetics Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2017; 293, 18-27)
Greene et al (Artificially evolved Synechococcus PCC6301 Rubisco variants exhibit improvements in folding and catalytic efficiency. Biochem J 15 June 2007; 404 (3): 517–524)
/G.C.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/THOMAS J. VISONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672