DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 17 December, 2021, is a national stage application of PCT/JP2019/049670, filed 18 December, 2019, which claims foreign benefit of Application JP2019-011929, filed 28 January, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
One information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12 November, 2025 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s claimed invention, 9 January, 2026, in the matter of Application N° 17/424,334. Said documents have been entered on the record.
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 25 are amended. No new matter was introduced.
Thus, Claims 1, 4, 7, 13-15, 19, 21, and 25-36 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous rejections of Claims 1 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant’s argument regarding the rejection of Claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is not persuasive as they address only one of the combined sources, Attaryan. However, the same prima facie case of obviousness with the combined references of Attaryan and Patani would apply to the newly amended R3’ as it did to the similarly amended R3.
No Terminal Disclaimer has been filed regarding the previously maintained non-statutory Double Patent rejection over co-pending Application 17/783,104. It is noted a Notice of Allowance has been issued for that application on November 2025, though is not yet formally patented.
Below can be found new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attaryan (ISSN 1070-3632, Russian Journal of General Chemistry, 2007, Vol. 77, No. 6, pp. 1139-1140, previously cited), further in view of Patani (Chemical Reviews, 1996, Vol. 96, No. 8, previously cited.)
Regarding Claim 25, Attaryan teaches compound IIIa (Attaryan, Pg. 1139), shown top right, which overlaps with the instantly claimed Formula 12, shown bottom right, wherein R1 is an alkyl group (methyl), R1’ is an alkyl group (methyl), R2 is an alkyl group (methyl), R2’ is an alkyl group (methyl), and L is a saturated hydrocarbon group having one carbon atom.
Attaryan fails to teach a hydroxyl at the instant R3/R3’ positions.
However, Patani discloses Grimm’s Hydride Displacement Law, demonstrating that each vertical column as illustrated in Table 2, would represent a group of isosteres, and therefore have similar physiochemical properties (Patani, Pg. 3148, Col 2, Para 2, and Table 2.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the methyl groups of Attaryan’s compound with hydroxyl groups in the corresponding positions, as such substitutions are well known in the art as classical bioisosteric replacements. Attaryan teaches the use of a methyl groups at those positions, and it is established in medicinal chemistry that hydroxyl and methyl groups are commonly interchanged to fine-tune electronic or steric properties while retaining similar molecular size and shape. Given the similar physiochemical properties as disclosed by Patani, one would have been motivated to make these substitutions with a reasonable expectation of obtaining compounds with similar or improved pharmacokinetic properties.
Double Patenting (MAINTAINED)
Claims 1, 4, 7, 13-15, 19, 21, and 25-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 13-14, 16, 18, 21-22, 25-26, 28, and 31-32 of copending Application No. 17/783,104 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the referenced methods overlap in scope the instantly claimed methods, and depend from the instantly claimed compounds. For example, the reference discloses “the vasodilator can also be referred to as an antioxidant” (‘104, Pg. 4, Para 0017, Line 21), “an agent that scavenges ROS” (‘104, Pg. 4, Para 0017, Line 22), “which may be used in vivo or in vitro” (‘104, Pg. 15, Para 0058, Line 28.) Additionally, the reference teaches “the disease caused by the vascular stenosis may be…a disease caused by the vascular stenosis or other causes” (‘104, Pg. 21, Para 0078, Lines 12-13.) Therefore, the method for treating a disease caused by oxidative stress, wherein the disease is cerebral infarction, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Alzheimer’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease (as in instant Claims 19 and 21, and 32 and 34) would overlap the scope of the reference method claims wherein the disease caused by vascular stenosis is a central nervous system disease (‘104, Claims 24 and 33.)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Communication
/D.M.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627