DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are currently pending. Claim 7 was previously cancelled. No new subject matter is added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brownhill et al. (WO 2017195038 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Brownhill” in view of Simmons et al. (US 20110224630 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Simmons” in further view of Gowans et al. (US 20200289347 A1), and in further view of Sivonen (US 20130053663 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brownhill teaches a system for applying negative-pressure therapy to an abdominal cavity (a negative pressure wound therapy apparatus, see Paragraph [0001]) (see Figure 1), the system comprising:
a tissue interface (dressing (100), see Figure 2B) comprising a first contact layer (wound contact layer (222)) and the first contact layer (222) having perforations (see Paragraph [0050]);
a spacer layer (absorbent layer (221)) disposed between the first contact layer (disposed between wound contact layer (222), see Figure 2B), the spacer layer configured to extend to a plurality of different zones within the abdominal cavity (the area of absorbent layer (221) extends to different zones of the abdominal cavity, see Figure 2A-C);
a first sensor (sensor array portion (301) having a number of sensors, see Paragraph [0087]) associated with the spacer layer (the sensors can be encapsulated into or mounted onto a wound packing material or under-layer, which can be made of Durafiber or duraTouch, see Paragraph [0091]), the first sensor layer configured to acquire data associated with fluid at a first zone within the abdominal cavity (the sensors are placed into an array (301), see Figures 3A-3G) (the sensor array portion (301) includes a plurality of portions that extend either around a perimeter of a wound dressing component such as a wound contact layer, or inward from an outer edge of the wound dressing component, see Paragraph [0098]) (therefore the sensor will acquire data associated with the location placed on the array (301));
a second sensor (a second sensor placed on array (301), see Paragraph [0087]) including a second housing associated with the spacer layer (encapsulated within the absorbent layer, see Paragraph [91]) that is physically and electronically separate from the first sensor, the second sensor configured to acquire data associated with a second zone within the abdominal cavity (the second sensor may be placed onto the array (301) in a second zone that is different from the first zone, see Figures 3A-H);
a first wireless transceiver of the first sensor and configured to transmit the data associated with the first zone to an external therapy control device (one or more sensors and electrical or electronic components can be completely potted or embedded and configured to communicate wirelessly, see last line of Paragraph [0090]) (the sensors can wirelessly communicate with control module, see Figure 3L) (see Paragraph [0123])(the first sensor will transmit data parameter, i.e. temperature, pH, etc., associated with the location of the first sensor); and
a second wireless transceiver the second sensor (one or more sensors and electrical or electronic components can be completely potted or embedded and configured to communicate wirelessly to prevent contact with liquids, see Paragraph [0090]) and configured to transmit the data associated with the second zone to the external therapy control device (the sensors can wirelessly communicate with control module, see Figure 3L) (see Paragraph [0123]) (the second sensor will transmit data parameter, i.e. temperature, pH, etc., associated with the location of the second sensor).
However, Brownhill does not explicitly disclose a second contact layer and wherein the second contact layer having perforations formed therein.
Simmons teaches a wound dressing system (100, see Figures 1-3) comprising a spacer layer (125) disposed between a first contact layer (120) and a second contact layer (118), the spacer layer configured to be in liquid communication with the abdominal cavity through the perforations in each of the first contact layer and the second contact layer (the fenestrations, e.g., fenestrations 122, 124, allow fluids to enter the space between the plurality of liquid-impermeable layers, see Figure 3; Paragraph [0038])
Brownhill and Simmons are analogous art because both deal with a reduce pressure wound dressing system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the tissue interface layer of Brownhill and further include the spacer layer having a second contact layer with fenestrations, as taught by Simmons. Simmons teaches the second contact layer with fenestrations allow fluids to enter the space between the plurality of liquid-impermeable layers to move directly or indirectly towards a reduced-pressure source (see Paragraph [0038]).
Brownhill and Simmons teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above and Brownhill further teaches . However, Brownhill and Simmons do not explicitly disclose including a first sensor identifier value configured to enable an external therapy control device to determine an identity of the first sensor and a first location of the first zone and including a second sensor identifier value configured to enable the external therapy control device to determine an identity of the second sensor and a second location of the second zone.
Gowans teaches an apparatus for determining a positioning of sensors in a wound dressing (see Abstract; Figures 6A-8) comprising: an external therapy control device (imager 760 can be in communication with a controller, such using wireless communication, see Paragraph [0290]), a first sensor (one of the sensors 677, see Figure 6D), and a second sensor (another one of the sensors 677, see Figure 6D); wherein the first sensor including a first sensor identifier value (sensor tags or positioning devices, such as those described with reference to FIGS. 6D, can include a barcode 764, see Paragraph [0292]-[0293]; Figure 8) configured to enable an external therapy control device to determine an identity of the first sensor and a first location of the first zone (the barcode 764 can be scanned by the imager 760 at a range defined by the scan beam. In some embodiments, the relationship between the scan beam 762, imager 760 and barcode 764 can provide location, orientation, and inclination information that can be related to the sensor positioning and location, see Paragraph [0292]) and the second sensor including a second sensor identifier value configured (the sensor tags can include sensors that are positioned in the wound as well as on the skin surrounding the wound, see Paragraph [0275];) to enable the external therapy control device to determine an identity of the second sensor and a second location of the second zone (the barcode 764 can be scanned by the imager 760 at a range defined by the scan beam. In some embodiments, the relationship between the scan beam 762, imager 760 and barcode 764 can provide location, orientation, and inclination information that can be related to the sensor positioning and location, see Paragraph [0292]).
Brownhill, Simmons, and Gowans are analogous art because all teach a sensor and monitoring system for physiological measurements.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Brownhill and further include the external therapy control device controller having a detector/imager that detects a corresponding sensor tags of the sensors to determine the identity and location, as taught by Gowans. Gowans there is a need for improved sensor monitoring, particularly through the use of sensor-enabled substrates which can be incorporated into existing treatment regimens (see Paragraph [0004]).
Brownhill, Simmons, and Gowans teaches all of the limitations as discussed above. However, Brownhill, Simmons, and Gowans do not explicitly disclose the first sensor including a first housing; the second sensor including a second housing that is physically and electronically separate from the first sensor; the first wireless transceiver positioned within the first housing of the first sensor housing; and the second wireless transceiver positioned within the second housing of the second sensor housing separate from the first wireless transceiver.
Sivonen teaches a method for controlling sensor placement time (see Abstract) comprising: a first sensor (sensor element unit 121) including a first housing (sensor unit 120); a second sensor including a second housing that is physically and electronically separate from the first sensor (the entire system typically includes several sensor units 120, see Paragraph [0022]); the first wireless transceiver positioned within the first housing of the first sensor housing (the connection between the sensor unit and the monitor unit may also be wireless, see Paragraph [0022]); and the second wireless transceiver positioned within the second housing of the second sensor housing separate from the first wireless transceiver (the connection between the sensor unit and the monitor unit may also be wireless; and the entire system typically includes several sensor units 120, see Paragraph [0022]).
Brownhill, Simmons, Gowans, and Sivonen are all analogous art because all teach a sensor and monitoring system for physiological measurements.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the first and second sensors/wireless transceivers of Modified Brownhill and further include a first housing comprising the first sensor and the first wireless transceiver, a second housing comprising a second sensor and the second wireless transceiver; and wherein the second sensor housing is separate from the first wireless transceiver, as taught by Sivonen. Sivonen teaches its beneficial in order to prevent skin injuries, occurrence of at least one predetermined event is monitored, wherein the at least one predetermined event comprises at least one predetermined start event. Upon detection of any of the at least one predetermined start event, a respective timer is started, thereby to start at least one timer, wherein each timer is provided with dedicated timer settings. Upon expiration of any of the at least one timer, a notification indicative of a need to change sensor placement is generated (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Brownhill and Simmons teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the first sensor is configured to acquire data associated with the presence of fluid in the first zone (other sensors, such as pressure, flow, strain, colorimetric sensors configured to measure biological or chemical compounds (for example, dye coated colorimetric sensors) or the like, can be additionally or alternatively used, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Brownhill teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the first sensor is configured to acquire data associated with pressure in the first zone (other sensors, such as pressure, flow, strain, colorimetric sensors configured to measure biological or chemical compounds (for example, dye coated colorimetric sensors) or the like, can be additionally or alternatively used, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Brownhill and Simmons teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the first sensor is configured to acquire data associated with temperature in the first zone (sensor array can include thermistor sensors for temperature, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Brownhill teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the first sensor is configured to acquire data associated with pH of fluid in the first zone (sensor array can include pH sensors, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the spacer layer comprises an absorbent material (absorbent layer (221) comprises a foam or super-absorbent material, see Paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the second sensor is configured to acquire data associated with a presence of fluid in the second zone (other sensors, such as pressure, flow, strain, colorimetric sensors configured to measure biological or chemical compounds (for example, dye coated colorimetric sensors) or the like, can be additionally or alternatively used, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the second sensor is configured to acquire data associated with at least one of: i) a pressure of fluid in the second zone; ii) a temperature of fluid in the second zone; and iii) a pH of fluid in the second zone (sensors placed onto the array (301) can include pressure, temperature, or pH sensors, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 9 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the external therapy control device (control module, see Figure 3L) is configured to determine a difference between a first parameter value associated with fluid in the first zone and a corresponding first parameter value associated with fluid in the second zone (data collected by one or more additional sensors can be used to correlate data received from the sensor array in order to test or improve accuracy, see Paragraph [0125]).
Regarding claim 11, Brownhill teaches a method for applying negative-pressure therapy to an abdominal cavity (a negative pressure wound therapy apparatus, see Paragraph [0001]) (see Figure 1), the method comprising:
inserting in the abdominal cavity a tissue interface (inserting dressing (100) into the abdominal cavity, see Figure 2B-C)) comprising:
a perforated first contact layer (perforated wound contact layer (222), see Paragraph [0050]);
a spacer layer disposed between the perforated first and contact layers (absorbent layer (221) disposed between the top layer (220) and wound contact layer (222), see Figure 2B)) and
configured to extend to a plurality of different zones within the abdominal cavity (the area of absorbent layer (221) extends to different zones of the abdominal cavity, see Figure 2A-C); and
a plurality of wireless-enabled sensors (sensor array portion (301) having a number of sensors, see Paragraph [0087]) (one or more sensors and electrical or electronic components can be completely potted or embedded and configured to communicate wirelessly, see last line of Paragraph [0090]) (the sensors can wirelessly communicate with control module, see Figure 3L) (see Paragraph [0123]) configured to acquire data associated with
fluid at the plurality of different zones within the abdominal cavity (the sensor array portion (301) includes a plurality of portions that extend either around a perimeter of a wound dressing component such as a wound contact layer, or inward from an outer edge of the wound dressing component, see Paragraph [0098]) (therefore the sensor will acquire data associated with the location placed on the array (301));
from an external therapy control device (control module, see Figure 3L), transmitting a first command message (control module can be customized to have various features depending on the sensors used in the sensor array and the data collected by the sensors, see Paragraph [0123])
to the first wireless-enabled sensor configured to acquire data (sensor array portion (301) having a number of sensors, see Paragraph [0087]) associated
with fluid at the first zone within the abdominal cavity (the sensor array portion (301) includes a plurality of portions that extend either around a perimeter of a wound dressing component such as a wound contact layer, or inward from an outer edge of the wound dressing component, see Paragraph [0098]) (therefore the sensor will acquire data associated with the location placed on the array (301))(the control module can drive electronics for the different sensors located on array (301), see Paragraph [0126]) (see Table 1); and
transmitting the acquired data to the external therapy control device from the first wireless-enabled sensor (the control module can also log data, at appropriate intervals and allow data transfer to an external computing device, see Paragraph [0123]).
However, Brownhill does not explicitly disclose a second contact layer and wherein the second contact layer having perforations formed therein.
Simmons teaches a wound dressing system (100, see Figures 1-3) comprising a spacer layer (125) disposed between a first contact layer (120) and a second contact layer (118), the spacer layer configured to be in liquid communication with the abdominal cavity through the perforations in each of the first contact layer and the second contact layer (the fenestrations, e.g., fenestrations 122, 124, allow fluids to enter the space between the plurality of liquid-impermeable layers, see Figure 3; Paragraph [0038])
Brownhill and Simmons are analogous art because both deal with a reduce pressure wound dressing system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the tissue interface layer of Brownhill and further include the spacer layer having a second contact layer with fenestrations, as taught by Simmons. Simmons teaches the second contact layer with fenestrations allow fluids to enter the space between the plurality of liquid-impermeable layers to move directly or indirectly towards a reduced-pressure source (see Paragraph [0038]).
Brownhill and Simmons teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above. However, Brownhill and Simmons do not explicitly disclose determining an identity of a first wireless-enabled sensor using an external therapy control device and associating the identity of the first wireless-enabled sensor with a location of a first zone within the abdominal cavity;.
Gowans teaches an apparatus for determining a positioning of sensors in a wound dressing (see Abstract; Figures 6A-8) comprising: an external therapy control device (imager 760 can be in communication with a controller, such using wireless communication, see Paragraph [0290]) and a first sensor (one of the sensors 677, see Figure 6D); determining an identity of a first wireless-enabled sensor using an external therapy control device (the sensor tags can include sensors that are positioned in the wound as well as on the skin surrounding the wound, see Paragraph [0275]; the sensor tags, such as those described with reference to FIGS. 6D, can include a barcode 764, see Paragraph [0292]-[0293]; Figure 8) and associating the identity of the first wireless-enabled sensor with a location of a first zone within the abdominal cavity (the barcode 764 can be scanned by the imager 760 at a range defined by the scan beam. In some embodiments, the relationship between the scan beam 762, imager 760 and barcode 764 can provide location, orientation, and inclination information that can be related to the sensor positioning and location, see Paragraph [0292]).
Brownhill, Simmons, and Gowans are analogous art because all teach a sensor and monitoring system for physiological measurements.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Brownhill and further include the external therapy control device controller having a detector/imager that detects a corresponding sensor tags of the sensors to determine the identity and location, as taught by Gowans. Gowans there is a need for improved sensor monitoring, particularly through the use of sensor-enabled substrates which can be incorporated into existing treatment regimens (see Paragraph [0004]).
Brownhill, Simmons, and Gowans teaches all of the limitations as discussed above. However, Brownhill, Simmons, and Gowans do not explicitly disclose each of the wireless-enabled sensor including a housing that is physically and electronically separate from each other.
Sivonen teaches a method for controlling sensor placement time (see Abstract) comprising: a plurality of wireless-enabled sensors (the entire system typically includes several sensor units 120 having sensor element units 121, see Paragraph [0022]); and wherein each of the wireless-enabled sensor including a housing (sensor unit 120) that is physically and electronically separate from each other (the entire system typically includes several sensor units 120, see Paragraph [0022]).
Brownhill, Simmons, Gowans, and Sivonen are all analogous art because all teach a sensor and monitoring system for physiological measurements.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of wireless-enabled sensors of Modified Brownhill and further include wherein each of the wireless-enabled sensor including a housing that is physically and electronically separate from each other, as taught by Sivonen. Sivonen teaches its beneficial in order to prevent skin injuries, occurrence of at least one predetermined event is monitored, wherein the at least one predetermined event comprises at least one predetermined start event. Upon detection of any of the at least one predetermined start event, a respective timer is started, thereby to start at least one timer, wherein each timer is provided with dedicated timer settings. Upon expiration of any of the at least one timer, a notification indicative of a need to change sensor placement is generated (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 11 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the first wireless-enabled sensor detects a presence of fluid in the first zone (other sensors, such as pressure, flow, strain, colorimetric sensors configured to measure biological or chemical compounds (for example, dye coated colorimetric sensors) or the like, can be additionally or alternatively used, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 11 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the first wireless-enabled sensor detects a pressure of fluid in the first zone (other sensors, such as pressure, flow, strain, colorimetric sensors configured to measure biological or chemical compounds (for example, dye coated colorimetric sensors) or the like, can be additionally or alternatively used, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 11 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the first wireless-enabled sensor detects a temperature of fluid in the first zone (sensor array can include thermistor sensors for temperature, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 11 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the first wireless-enabled sensor detects a pH of fluid in the first zone (sensor array can include pH sensors, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 11 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the spacer layer comprises an absorbent material (absorbent layer (221) comprises a foam or super-absorbent material, see Paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 11 and Modified Brownhill further teaches
determining an identity of a second wireless-enabled sensor (the sensor tags can include sensors that are positioned in the wound as well as on the skin surrounding the wound, see Paragraph [0275]; the sensor tags, such as those described with reference to FIGS. 6D, can include a barcode 764, as taught by Gowans above) using the external therapy control device (using the imager/detector 760, as taught by Gowans above)
associating the second wireless-enabled sensor with a location of a second zone within the abdominal cavity (the barcode 764 can be scanned by the imager 760 at a range defined by the scan beam. In some embodiments, the relationship between the scan beam 762, imager 760 and barcode 764 can provide location, orientation, and inclination information that can be related to the sensor positioning and location, as taught from Gowans above)
from the external therapy control device (control module, see Figure 3L), transmitting a second command message (control module can be customized to have various features depending on the sensors used in the sensor array and the data collected by the sensors, see Paragraph [0123]) to
the second wireless-enabled sensor (a second sensor placed on array (301), see Paragraph [0087]) (one or more sensors and electrical or electronic components can be completely potted or embedded and configured to communicate wirelessly to prevent contact with liquids, see Paragraph [0090]) configured to acquire data associated with fluid
at the second zone within the abdominal cavity (the second sensor may be placed onto the array (301) in a second zone that is different from the first zone, see Figures 3A-H); and
transmitting the acquired data to the external therapy control device from the second wireless-enabled sensor (the sensors can wirelessly communicate with control module, see Figure 3L) (see Paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 17 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the second wireless-enabled sensor detects a presence of fluid in the second zone (other sensors, such as pressure, flow, strain, colorimetric sensors configured to measure biological or chemical compounds (for example, dye coated colorimetric sensors) or the like, can be additionally or alternatively used, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 18 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the second wireless-enabled sensor detects at least one of: i) a pressure of fluid in the second zone; ii) a temperature of fluid in the second zone; and iii) a pH of fluid in the second zone (sensors placed onto the array (301) can include pressure, temperature, or pH sensors, see Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 20, Modified Brownhill teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 19 and Brownhill further teaches wherein the external therapy control device (control module, see Figure 3L) is configured to determine a difference between a first parameter value associated with fluid in the first zone and a corresponding first parameter value associated with fluid in the second zone (data collected by one or more additional sensors can be used to correlate data received from the sensor array in order to test or improve accuracy, see Paragraph [0125]).
Response to Arguments
Specifically, Applicant argues Claim 1 is structurally configured for use within an abdominal cavity, not for use on a skin surface for preventing skin injuries. Therefore, the prior art of Sivonen would not be considered analogous art.
In response to applicant's argument that Sivonen is non-analogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Sivonen is the same field of the inventor’s endeavor because the prior art deals with physiological sensors that are, during a measurement process, in contact with human skin. While Sivonen mentions a “pulse oximeter”, it is not required for the physiological measurement apparatus to be limited to such devices. Physiological sensors that are, during a measurement process, in contact with human skin can be an abdominal wound dressing with sensors. Further, Sivonen is also reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned (i.e. specific location and placement of a sensor for a physiological measurement). Therefore, Sivonen is considered analogous art.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Sivonen teaches that there are two separate housing for each sensor in order to “monitor a predetermined event” for each sensor individually. Paragraph [0010] teaches that it is beneficial to monitor predetermine events for the sensor and generate a notification indicative of a need to change sensor placement. It is beneficial to have separate sensor housing in order to individually change the sensors. Therefore, Claim 1 remains rejected in view of Sivonen. Claim 11 remains rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (5/1/2026)Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781