DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 02/12/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 02/12/2026 has been entered and fully considered by the examiner. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. claims 1-16 are pending in the application with claims 1 and 9 being independent.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims recited the limitation: “wherein the plurality of displays are each in a same room” is confusing and grammatically incorrect. The examiner suggests using language such as “wherein the plurality of displays are all located in a same room” to be clear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11, 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oura et al. (International Publication No. 2017/081962) hereinafter “Oura” in view of Gross (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0286844) hereinafter “Gross” and Sullivan et al. (U.S. Publication No 2004/0111045) hereinafter “Sullivan”.
Regarding claim 1, Oura discloses a patient monitor [biological information monitor 10] for displaying vital signs that are based on vital signals of a subject [see page 4, third paragraph disclosing that the patient monitor is attached to sensors 30 for acquiring vital signs such as blood pressure, body temperature, etc.], and an ultrasonic image that is based on an ultrasonic wave which is transmitted to and received from the subject [see paragraph bridging pages 4-5 and page 5, second paragraph], the patient monitor comprising:
a display controller [control unit 14] that is configured to be connectable to a plurality of displays [display 16], and that is configured to control the plurality of displays to display information including the vital signs in at least one of the displays. [see page 6, last paragraph disclosing controlling the display in the first mode to display vital signs on the screen]
wherein according to the control rule in the display controller: the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed on the display [see page 6, last paragraph disclosing controller causing the display 16 to show the ultrasound images or vital signs either in the first or second modes], and when an event that causes a rapid degradation in the vital signs occurs, a display content is changed so that the vital signs corresponding to the event are displayed on the display. [see page 13, last paragraph disclosing if the measured value of vital sign is abnormal, the mode of the display is changed and the vital sign is displayed on the screen]
Oura does not disclose that the display comprises of a plurality of displays wherein the plurality of monitors are each located in the same room and the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays, and when an event that causes a rapid degradation in the vital signs occurs, a display content is changed so that the information corresponding to the event are displayed on all of the plurality of displays and that.
Gross, directed towards monitoring multiple patients in the same area using multiple monitors [see abstract of Gross] further discloses that the display comprises of a plurality of displays [content presentation device 30 and 32 comprising displays 40 and 42] and that the plurality of monitors are each located in the same room [both displays 40/42 are located in the same monitored space 22; see FIG. 1] and the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays [see [0027] disclosing: “the server 10 may convey vital sign data that is transformed into trend lines or other display content by software executing on the various medical content presentation devices 30,32 ( e.g. by way of microprocessors or microcontrollers of these devices)”]
Sullivan, directed towards multiple sensor vital sign and image display [see abstract of Sullivan and [0042] disclosing use of multiple displays] further discloses a controlling is connected to and configured to control a plurality of displays such that the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays [see [0040]-[0042] disclosing “data may be provided at a patient’s bedside or may be provided both at the bedside and a central location], and when an event that causes a rapid degradation in the vital signs occurs, a display content is changed so that the information corresponding to the event are displayed on the all of the plurality of displays [see [0040], [0069], and [0071]-[0072] disclosing when the vital signa fall above or below a threshold, an alarm will be activated and data provided at the display at bedside and the common monitor] .
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura further such that the display comprises of a plurality of displays and that the plurality of monitors are each located in the same room and the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays according to the teachings of Gross in order to provide “on the go” information to the medical personnel and avoid loss of time as each application loads into the given device [see [0002] of Gross]
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura further such that the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays, and when an event that causes a rapid degradation in the vital signs occurs, a display content is changed so that the information corresponding to the event are displayed on the all of the plurality of displays according to the teachings of Sullivan in order to display the information related to an alarming situation to all displays and inform all the personnel of the danger and activate an alarm when a negative trend occurs [see [0009] of Sullivan]
Regarding claim 3, Oura further discloses that in a case where a predetermined event occurs, the display controller is configured to cause interest information corresponding to the predetermined event to be displayed in at least one display. [see page 13, last three paragraphs disclosing three types of predetermined event for which interest information is displayed in at least one display]
Oura does not disclose that the display is one of the plurality of displays
Sullivan discloses a plurality of displays. [see [0042; the display device 106 may comprise multiple displays]
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art a the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura further and include a plurality of displays according to the teachings of Sullivan in order in order to display the information related to an alarming situation to all displays and inform all the personnel of the danger and activate an alarm when a negative trend occurs [see [0009] of Sullivan]
Regarding claim 4, Oura further discloses that the display controller is configured to change information displayed in the display so as to correspond to the predetermined event. [see page 13, last three paragraphs disclosing three types of predetermined event for which interest information is displayed in at least one display]
Oura does not disclose that the display is one of the plurality of displays
Sullivan discloses a plurality of displays. [see [0042]; the display device 106 may comprise multiple displays]
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art a the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura further and include a plurality of displays according to the teachings of Sullivan in order in order to display the information related to an alarming situation to all displays and inform all the personnel of the danger and activate an alarm when a negative trend occurs [see [0009] of Sullivan]
Regarding claim 6, Oura further discloses that the predetermined event includes at least one of variation of the vital signals [see page 13, last paragraph], partial variation of the ultrasonic image [see page 13, one to last paragraph (case C)), operation of an operating section, connection and disconnection of an ultrasonic measurement apparatus [see page 13, third full paragraph (case B)], connection and disconnection of the displays, elapse of a predetermined time period, and reception of data from an external apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, Oura further discloses that the patient monitor incorporates at least one of the displays. [see page 5, third full paragraph]
Regarding claim 8, Oura further discloses a physiological information measurement system [see abstract and page 2, first full paragraph of the description] including: an ultrasonic measurement apparatus configured to acquire receiving signals of an ultrasonic echo which is a base of an ultrasonic image, or an ultrasonic image [see page 4, second full paragraph disclosing that the information measuring system 1 includes both ultrasound measurement device and the monitor device]; and the patient monitor according to claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above].
Regarding claim 9, Oura a patient monitor [biological information monitor 10] for displaying vital signs that are based on vital signals of a subject [see page 4, third paragraph disclosing that the patient monitor is attached to sensors 30 for acquiring vital signs such as blood pressure, body temperature, etc.], and an ultrasonic image that is based on an ultrasonic wave which is transmitted to and received from the subject [see paragraph bridging pages 4-5 and page 5, second paragraph], the patient monitor comprising:
a display controller [control unit 14] that is configured to be connectable to a plurality of displays [see page 6, last paragraph disclosing controlling the display in the first mode to display vital signs on the screen],
and that is configured to control the plurality of displays to display information including the vital signs in at least one of the displays [see page 6, last paragraph disclosing controller causing the display 16 to show the ultrasound images or vital signs either in the first or second modes], and wherein according to a control rule in the display controller:
the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in the display [first mode of operation; see page 8, last three paragraphs in relation to FIG. 3A], and
if an event occurs in which the ultrasonic image partially changes [see page 10, third full paragraph disclosing if the ultrasound is not connected anymore, the system switches from the first mode of displaying vital signs and/or ultrasound to the second mode of displaying only ultrasound], the display controller switches the information sets respectively displayed so that the ultrasonic image is displayed on the screen. [see page 9, first paragraph in relation to FIG. 3C]
Oura does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of displays includes a display having a larger screen and a display having a smaller screen that is smaller than the larger screen; the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays, such that information sets are respectively displayed on the larger screen and smaller screen, and when a vital sign is displayed on the larger screen and the ultrasonic image is displayed on the smaller screen, if an event occurs in which the ultrasound image partially changes, the display controller switches the information set respectively displayed on the larger screen and smaller screen so that the ultrasound image is displayed on the larger screen.
Gross, directed towards monitoring multiple patients in the same area using multiple monitors [see abstract of Gross] further discloses that the display comprises of a plurality of displays [content presentation device 30 and 32 comprising displays 40 and 42] having a larger screen and a display having a smaller screen [see [0024]; the display 42 is relatively large; and display 40 is relatively small; see FIG. 1 showing the bedside display 40 is smaller than the larger wall mounted display 42] and that the plurality of monitors are each located in the same room [both displays 40/42 are located in the same monitored space 22; see FIG. 1] and the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays such that the information sets are respectively displayed on the larger screen and the smaller screen [see [0027] disclosing: “the server 10 may convey vital sign data that is transformed into trend lines or other display content by software executing on the various medical content presentation devices 30,32 ( e.g. by way of microprocessors or microcontrollers of these devices)”]
Sullivan further discloses wherein the plurality of displays includes a display having a larger screen and a display having a smaller screen that is smaller than the larger screen [see [0071] of Sullivan; the screens include both a personal computer screen (i.e. bigger) and a handheld device(i.e. smaller screen]; the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays, such that information sets are respectively displayed on the larger screen and smaller screen [see claim 56 and 69; each display screen provides the same information including vital sign information], and when a vital sign is displayed on the larger screen and the ultrasonic image is displayed on the smaller screen [see claim 56 and 69; each display screen provides all the information; therefore, the vital sign would be displayed on all screens including the larger screen and the ultrasound image would be displayed in all screens including the smaller screen; see [0014] and [0023] and [0074]-[0075] disclosing that the sensor data provided in all displays includes acoustic sensor data (i.e. ultrasound image)], if an event occurs in which the ultrasound image partially changes, the display controller switches the information set respectively displayed on the larger screen and smaller screen [see [0074]-[0075] and claim 56; when the heart rate or respiration rate or data from any of the sensors (such as ultrasound) do not meet the threshold, an alarm indication will be displayed in “all” of the plurality of displays including the larger screen] so that the ultrasound image is displayed on the larger screen.[see [0075]; in the case of alarm, data corresponding to the type of sensor not meeting the threshold would be presented to the user (on all displays equally including the larger screen); therefore, if the ultrasound sensor doesn’t meet the criteria, the information displayed in all screens including the larger screen would be changed into alarm mode representing data relating to the ultrasound alarm]
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura further such that the display comprises of a plurality of displays and that the plurality of monitors are each located in the same room and the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays according to the teachings of Gross in order to provide “on the go” information to the medical personnel and avoid loss of time as each application loads into the given device [see [0002] of Gross]
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art a the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura further such that the plurality of displays includes a display having a larger screen and a display having a smaller screen that is smaller than the larger screen; the vital signs and/or the ultrasonic image are displayed in each of the plurality of displays, such that information sets are respectively displayed on the larger screen and smaller screen, and when a vital sign is displayed on the larger screen and the ultrasonic image is displayed on the smaller screen, if an event occurs in which the ultrasound image partially changes, the display controller switches the information set respectively displayed on the larger screen and smaller screen so that the ultrasound image is displayed on the larger screen according to the teachings of Sullivan in order to display the information related to an alarming situation to all displays and inform all the personnel of the danger and activate an alarm when a negative trend occurs [see [0009] of Sullivan]
Regarding claim 11, Oura further discloses that in a case where a predetermined event occurs, the display controller is configured to cause interest information corresponding to the predetermined event to be displayed in at least one display. [see page 13, last three paragraphs disclosing three types of predetermined event for which interest information is displayed in at least one display]
Oura does not disclose that the display is one of the plurality of displays
Sullivan discloses a plurality of displays. [see [0042; the display device 106 may comprise multiple displays]
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art a the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura further and include a plurality of displays according to the teachings of Sullivan in order to display the information related to an alarming situation to all displays and inform all the personnel of the danger and activate an alarm when a negative trend occurs [see [0009] of Sullivan]
Regarding claim 12, Oura further discloses that the display controller is configured to change information displayed in the display so as to correspond to the predetermined event. [see page 13, last three paragraphs disclosing three types of predetermined event for which interest information is displayed in at least one display]
Oura does not disclose that the display is one of the plurality of displays
Sullivan discloses a plurality of displays. [see [0042; the display device 106 may comprise multiple displays]
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art a the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura further and include a plurality of displays according to the teachings of Sullivan in order in order to display the information related to an alarming situation to all displays and inform all the personnel of the danger and activate an alarm when a negative trend occurs [see [0009] of Sullivan]
Regarding claim 14, Oura further discloses that the predetermined event includes at least one of variation of the vital signals [see page 13, last paragraph], partial variation of the ultrasonic image [see page 13, one to last paragraph (case C)), operation of an operating section, connection and disconnection of an ultrasonic measurement apparatus [see page 13, third full paragraph (case B)], connection and disconnection of the displays, elapse of a predetermined time period, and reception of data from an external apparatus.
Regarding claim 15, Oura further discloses that the patient monitor incorporates at least one of the displays. [see page 5, third full paragraph]
Regarding claim 16, Oura further discloses a physiological information measurement system [see abstract and page 2, first full paragraph of the description] including: an ultrasonic measurement apparatus configured to acquire receiving signals of an ultrasonic echo which is a base of an ultrasonic image, or an ultrasonic image [see page 4, second full paragraph disclosing that the information measuring system 1 includes both ultrasound measurement device and the monitor device]; and the patient monitor according to claim 9 [see rejection of claim 9 above].
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oura et al. (International Publication No. 2017/081962) hereinafter “Oura” in view of Gross (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0286844) hereinafter “Gross” and Sullivan et al. (U.S. Publication No 2004/0111045) hereinafter “Sullivan” as applied to claims 1 and 9 above and further in view of Baumberger et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0378939) hereinafter “Baumberger”.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Oura as modified by Sullivan and Gross further discloses that the display controller is configured to cause information including the ultrasonic image to be displayed in display. [see page 6, last paragraph of Oura disclosing controller causing the display 16 to show the ultrasound images]
Oura as modified by Sullivan and Gross does not disclose that the ultrasound images are displayed on a display other than a display displaying the information including the vital signs.
Baumberger further discloses that each sensor’s output is displayed on a different display [see [0109]-[0110] of Baumberger] and that one of the sensors is an ultrasound imaging sensor [see [0019] of Baumberger] and the other one is a vital sign [see [0073] of Baumberger]
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura as modified by Sullivan and Gross further such that each sensor’s output is displayed on a different display and that one of the sensors is ultrasound imaging sensor and the other one is a vital sign according to the teachings of Baumberger in order to reduce clutter of information in the operating room and provide the necessary information only to relevant people [see [0008] of Baumberger]
Claim 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oura et al. (International Publication No. 2017/081962) hereinafter “Oura” in view of Gross (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0286844) hereinafter “Gross” and Sullivan et al. (U.S. Publication No 2004/0111045) hereinafter “Sullivan” as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Chiu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2008/319275) hereinafter “Chiu”.
Regarding claim 5 and 13, Oura in view of Sullivan and Gross discloses all the limitations of claim 3 an 11 above [see rejection of claims 3 and 11]
Oura in view of Sullivan and Gross does not expressly disclose that the display controller is configured to cause the interest information corresponding to the predetermined event to be highlighted in at least one display of the plurality of displays.
Chiu, directed towards multiple patient interfaces for displaying vital sign and ultrasound images of the patient [see abstract of Chiu] further discloses that that the display controller is configured to cause the interest information corresponding to the predetermined event to be highlighted in at least one display of the plurality of displays. [see [0083] of Chiu; the intraoperative data that needs attention are displayed in a changed color]
It would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the apparatus of Oura in view of Sullivan and Gross further and cause the interest information corresponding to the predetermined event to be highlighted in at least one display of the plurality of displays according to the teachings of Chiu in order to draw further attention to the data that has caused the event.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MARJAN SABOKTAKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795