DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-50 are cancelled.
Claims 51-70 are rejected.
Specification
The amendment filed 12/15/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: a first portion and a second portion of line 2 of claims 51, 61 and line 3 claim 68.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 51-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 51, 61, and 68 are indefinite because the recitation “a first portion and a second portion” is not clear. It is unclear how these portions are part of the packaging film.
Additionally, dependent claims 52-60, 62-67, and 69-70 are rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claims 51, 61, and 68, as they include all the limitations of the independent claims and as they do not resolve the issues identified in the rejections set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamel et al. (US 20140113184 A1, “Hamel”) in view of Tajima et al. (US 20170033327 A1, “Tajima”).
Regarding claim 51, Hamel discloses a battery comprising: a first packaging film comprising a first portion and a second portion (see abstract “battery cell” & “pouch enclosing the layers”; see FIG. 3 & [0044] describes first portion “306 recess” & second portion “308 recess”); and a second packaging film having a three-dimensional shape and comprising a first sealing part, a plurality of sidewalls (see FIG. 7C and [0060] describe “aluminum layer 716” & “polypropylene layer 718” which reads on 2 packaging films & [0051], [0060] describes the battery cell is sealed in a pouch & punch is used to form the space for the battery cell; see FIG. 7D describes the plurality of sidewalls of the pouch “734”). Hamel discloses wherein the first portion is connected to the first sealing part (see [0051] describes the battery cell is sealed in a pouch & [0060] describes a punch is used to form a space for the cell; see FIG. 3 & [0044] “306 recess” reads on first portion). Hamel does not explicitly disclose an extension surface, wherein a first open space outside the second packaging film is defined by the first sealing part and some of the sidewalls, wherein the first open space is concave in shape when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first packaging film, nor wherein a second open space inside the second packaging film is defined by the second portion, the sidewalls, and the extension surface.
Tajima teaches an extension surface (see FIG. 3 “thermocompression-bonded region 17” reads on extension surface) & in [0113] “thermocompression bonded so as to prevent misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”. Tajima teaches a first open space (see FIG. 5A describes “10 metal film” & first open space is above “17a third region” & see FIG. 3 describes “20 openings” & “17 thermocompression bended region” forms the sealing part). Tajima teaches the first open space is concave (see FIG. 5B describes the first open space is concave upon folding). Tajima teaches the second open space (see FIG. 1A describes “10 metal film” & see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on second open space).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate thermocompression-bonded region, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so “prevents misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”, as suggested by Tajima (see [0113]).
Regarding claim 52, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 51. Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein the first open space and the second open space do not overlap when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first packaging film, and wherein the first open space is located along a common edge of the first packaging film and the second packaging film.
Tajima teaches first and second open space (see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on first and second open space & “20” & “20” do not overlap when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first packaging film). Tajima teaches a common edge (see FIG. 5B & see FIG. 4A describes “10 metal film” which reads on packaging & FIG. 3 describes “20” & “10” are near “17 thermocompression-bonded region” & see [0118] describes upper and lower films in contact & FIG. 4a & [0126] describes “third region 17a overlapping with each of the openings 20”). Tajima teaches in [0128] “a plurality of cushioning materials may be provided at a plurality of positions”. Tajima teaches “a foldable portion from which part of the components is removed by forming openings in a current collector becomes thin and can be more likely to be bent than the other regions” (see Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the openings do not overlap because doing so allows for cushioning materials to be provided in the gap, as suggested by Tajima (see [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first open space located along a common edge of the packaging films, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so allows for the battery to be bent more easily (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 53, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 52 and further discloses wherein the sidewalls comprise first sidewalls and second sidewalls (see FIG. 7D describes the plurality of sidewalls of the pouch “734”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein some of the second sidewalls are located along the common edge.
Tajima teaches sidewalls located along the common edge (see FIG. 5B upon folding the packaging forms sidewalls and located along the common edge (formed upon folding)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sidewalls located on the common edge, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 5B upon folding) into the battery of Hamel because doing so allows the battery to be bent easier (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 54, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 52 and further discloses further comprising a plurality of tabs located on a perimeter of the first packaging film (see [0036] “tabs extend through seals in the pouch”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose and wherein the tabs are not located on the common edge.
Tajima teaches tabs not located on the common edge (see FIG. 4A) describes the tabs not near the common edge).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to not have tabs on the common edge because doing so allows the battery to be folded more easily (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 55, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 54. Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein the tabs are located opposite of the common edge, and wherein the first open space and the second open space overlap when viewed from a direction parallel to the first packaging film and the tabs.
Tajima teaches overlapping open spaces (see FIG. 5B upon folding forms sidewalls and located along the common edge; see FIG. 2B describes “16” opposite of the common edge; & FIG. 3 describes “openings 20” overlap when folded).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate overlapping open spaces, as suggested by Tajima into the battery of Hamel because doing so improves the bending of the packaging (see Tajima Abstract).
Tajima teaches tabs are located opposite of the common edge (see FIG. 5D “124”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tabs as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 5D) because doing so allows the battery to be folded more easily (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 56, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 54 and further discloses wherein a perimeter of the first packaging film connects to a perimeter of the second packaging film except at the tabs (see FIG. 7C describes “718” & “716”, “716” reads on second packaging film & [0039] describes “conductive tabs” extend through the seals in the pouch; see FIG. 2 describes “204” & “206” tabs).
Regarding claim 57, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 51 and further discloses wherein the first portion is parallel to the first sealing part (see [0051] describes the battery cell in a pouch; see [0060] describes a punch is used to form a space in the pouch for the battery & FIG. 3 & [0044] describe the first portion “306 recess”). Hamel discloses wherein the first packaging film is flat, rectangular, and does not comprise any concave portions (see Abstract “pouch” & FIG. 7B & see [0059] “aluminum layer 716” & “protective layer 718 polypropylene” & until the packaging is formed with the punch in [0060], it would be flat & rectangular without concave portions). Hamel does not explicitly disclose an extension surface.
Tajima teaches an extension surface (see FIG. 3 “thermocompression-bonded region 17” reads on extension surface) & in [0113] “thermocompression bonded so as to prevent misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”. Tajima teaches a first open space (see FIG. 5A describes “10 metal film” & first open space is above “17a third region” & see FIG. 3 describes “20 openings” & “17 thermocompression bended region” forms the sealing part). Tajima teaches the first open space is concave (see FIG. 5B describes the first open space is concave upon folding). Tajima teaches the second open space (see FIG. 1A describes “10 metal film” & see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on second open space).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate thermocompression-bonded region, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so “prevents misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”, as suggested by Tajima (see [0113]).
Regarding claim 58, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 51 and further discloses wherein the first portion, the second portion, the first sealing part are all perpendicular to the sidewalls (see FIG. 3 & [0044] describes the first portion “306 recess” & second portion “308”; see [0051] describes the battery cell is sealed in a pouch; see FIG. 7D describes the plurality of sidewalls of the pouch “734”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose the extension surface.
Tajima teaches an extension surface (see FIG. 3 “thermocompression-bonded region 17” reads on extension surface) & in [0113] “thermocompression bonded so as to prevent misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”. Tajima teaches a first open space (see FIG. 5A describes “10 metal film” & first open space is above “17a third region” & see FIG. 3 describes “20 openings” & “17 thermocompression bended region” forms the sealing part). Tajima teaches the first open space is concave (see FIG. 5B describes the first open space is concave upon folding). Tajima teaches the second open space (see FIG. 1A describes “10 metal film” & see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on second open space).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate thermocompression-bonded region, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so “prevents misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”, as suggested by Tajima (see [0113]).
Regarding claim 59, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 51. Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein the first open space is on a corner of the second packaging film.
Tajima teaches the first open spaces is on a corner of the film (see FIG. 5A “10 metal film” & first open space is above “17a third region” & in [0061] describes heat sealing & FIG. 5B describes when the film is folded the open space is on a corner of the film.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate open space as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 5A) into the battery of Hamel because doing so allows for the packaging to be more easily bent than other regions, as suggested by Tajima (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 60, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 51 and further discloses further comprising an irregularly shaped unpackaged cell (see Title “non-rectangular battery cell structures” & see Abstract “three-dimensional non-rectangular shape to facilitate efficient use of space”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose positioned in the second open space.
Tajima teaches second open space (see FIG. 5C).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery in the second open space as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 5C) because doing so provides an efficient use of space as disclosed by Hamel. A skilled artisan would recognize that upon thermocompression bonding suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3 & [0113]), the battery is sealed around the battery producing an open space.
Regarding claims 61 & 68, Hamel discloses a battery comprising a first packaging film comprising a first portion and a second portion (see abstract “battery cell” & “pouch enclosing the layers” & see FIG. 3 & [0044] describes the first portion “306 recess” & second portion “308”) and a second packaging film having a three-dimensional shape and comprising a first sealing part, a plurality of sidewalls (see FIG. 7C & [0060] describes “aluminum layer 716” & “polypropylene layer 718”; [0051] describes “battery cell is sealed in a pouch”; see [0060] describes a punch is used to form a space in the pouch for the battery cell; see FIG. 7D describes the plurality of sidewalls of the pouch “734”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose an extension surface, wherein the first packaging film and the second packaging film share a common edge, wherein a first open space outside the packaging film is defined by the first sealing part and some of the sidewalls, wherein the first open space is located along the common edge, wherein the first open space is concave in shape when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first packaging film, wherein the second open space inside the second packaging film is defined by the second portion, the sidewalls, and the extension surface, and wherein the first open space and the second open space do not overlap when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first packaging film.
Tajima teaches first and second open space (see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on first and second open space & “20” & “20” do not overlap when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first packaging film). Tajima teaches a common edge (see FIG. 5B & see FIG. 4A describes “10 metal film” which reads on packaging & FIG. 3 describes “20” & “10” are near “17 thermocompression-bonded region” & see [0118] describes upper and lower films in contact & FIG. 4a & [0126] describes “third region 17a overlapping with each of the openings 20”). Tajima teaches in [0128] “a plurality of cushioning materials may be provided at a plurality of positions”. Tajima teaches “a foldable portion from which part of the components is removed by forming openings in a current collector becomes thin and can be more likely to be bent than the other regions” (see Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the openings do not overlap because doing so allows for cushioning materials to be provided in the gap, as suggested by Tajima (see [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first open space located along a common edge, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so allows for the battery to be bent more easily (see Tajima Abstract).
Tajima teaches an extension surface (see FIG. 3 “thermocompression-bonded region 17” reads on extension surface) & in [0113] “thermocompression bonded so as to prevent misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”. Tajima teaches a first open space (see FIG. 5A describes “10 metal film” & first open space is above “17a third region” & see FIG. 3 describes “20 openings” & “17 thermocompression bended region” forms the sealing part). Tajima teaches the first open space is concave (see FIG. 5B describes the first open space is concave upon folding). Tajima teaches the second open space (see FIG. 1A describes “10 metal film” & see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on second open space).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate thermocompression-bonded region, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so “prevents misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”, as suggested by Tajima (see [0113]).
Regarding claim 68, Hamel further discloses a first packaging film that is flat (see FIG. 7C & [0060] “716” & “718” & [0051] “sealed in a pouch” & [0060] describes a punch is used to form a space in the pouch for the battery & before punching the pouch would be flat). Hamel further discloses a third sidewall (see FIG. 7D describes the plurality of sidewalls of the pouch “734”). Hamel discloses wherein the first packaging film is connected to the first sealing part (see [0051] describes sealed in a pouch). Regarding the limitation wherein the first packaging film is joined to the second packaging film along a common edge, wherein the packaging film is folded along the common edge such that the first packaging film and the second packaging film share the common edge, Hamel does not explicitly disclose.
Tajima teaches the common edge & folding (see FIG. 5B & upon folding the packaging share a common edge).
Regarding the limitation wherein some of the second sidewalls are located along the common edge, and wherein the first open space is located along the common edge, Hamel does not explicitly disclose sidewalls located along the common edge.
Tajima teaches sidewalls located along the common edge (see FIG. 5B upon folding the sidewalls are located along the common edge).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the folded along the common edge, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so allows for the battery to be bent more easily (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 68 claim limitation and an unpackaged cell located within the second open space, Hamel discloses (see abstract “battery” & [0051] “battery sealed in a pouch).
Regarding claim 62, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 61 and further discloses wherein the first packaging film is parallel to the first sealing part (see FIG. 7C & [0060] “aluminum layer 716” & “polypropylene layer 718” & [0051] describes the battery cell is sealed in a pouch; see [0060] describes punch used to form a space in the pouch for the cell). Hamel discloses wherein the first packaging film is flat, rectangular, and does not comprise any concave portions (see abstract “pouch” & FIG. 7B & [0059] “716” & “718” & until formed with the punch in [0060] the film would be flat & rectangular without concave portions), and discloses tabs (see [0036] “first and second conductive tabs extend through seals in the pouch to provide terminals for the battery cell”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose an extension surface nor wherein the common edge does not comprise any tabs or electrodes.
Tajima teaches an extension surface (see FIG. 3 “thermocompression-bonded region 17” reads on extension surface) & in [0113] “thermocompression bonded so as to prevent misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”. Tajima teaches a first open space (see FIG. 5A describes “10 metal film” & first open space is above “17a third region” & see FIG. 3 describes “20 openings” & “17 thermocompression bended region” forms the sealing part). Tajima teaches the first open space is concave (see FIG. 5B describes the first open space is concave upon folding). Tajima teaches the second open space (see FIG. 1A describes “10 metal film” & see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on second open space).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate thermocompression-bonded region, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so “prevents misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”, as suggested by Tajima (see [0113]).
Tajima teaches common edge does not comprise any tabs (see FIG. 5D & “124” is not on the common edge.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the common edge does not comprise any tabs, as suggested by Tajima into the battery of Hamel because a skilled artisan would recognize doing so allows the battery to be folded more easily (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 63, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 61 and further discloses wherein the sidewalls comprise first sidewalls and second sidewalls (see FIG. 7D describes the plurality of sidewalls of the pouch “734”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein some of the second sidewalls are located along the common edge.
Tajima teaches sidewalls located along the common edge (see FIG. 5B upon folding the packaging forms sidewalls and located along the common edge).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sidewalls located on the common edge, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 5B upon folding) into the battery of Hamel because doing so allows the battery to be bent easier (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 64, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 63 and further discloses wherein the sidewalls further comprise a third sidewall (see FIG. 7D describes the plurality of sidewalls of the pouch “734”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein the first open space is further defined by the third sidewall, wherein the third sidewall is opposite the common edge, and wherein a width of the third sidewall is larger than a width of the second open space along the common edge.
Tajima teaches a first open space (see FIG. 5A describes “10 metal film” & first open space is above “17a third region” & see FIG. 3 describes “20 openings” & “17 thermocompression bended region” forms the sealing part). Tajima teaches in FIG. 5C “t3” & [0134] “thickness t3 is approximately 3mm”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate open space and width, as suggested by Tajima into the battery of Hamel because doing so allows for the folding of the film to be easier (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 65, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 61. Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein a length L1 of the second open space is less than a total length L3 of the battery, wherein a width L2 of the second open space is less than a total width L4 of the battery, wherein a distance L5 between a left edge of the second open space and a left edge of the battery is less than (L4-L2), wherein L1< 2/3 L3, and wherein L2 < 2/3 L4.
Tajima teaches second open space and length, widths, and distance (see FIG. 1A describes “10 metal film” & FIG. 3 & FIG. 5C describes thickness of battery, width of open space “17b”). Tajima teaches in [0110] “Note that the openings of the current collector and their vicinities that are foldable points can be bent at the smallest radius of curvature, and the other portions can be bent at a radius of curvature larger than that of the openings of the current collector and their vicinities. That is, the secondary battery 41 can be bent more smoothly than the secondary battery 40. When external stress is applied thereto, the secondary battery as a whole can relieve the external stress”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate openings as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3 and FIG. 5C) into the battery of Hamel because doing so provides curvature as suggested by Tajima and dimensions as suggested by Tajima and doing so relieves external stress (see Tajima [0110]).
Regarding claim 66, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 61 and further discloses further comprises an unpackaged cell (see abstract “battery cell”). Hamel does not explicitly disclose positioned in the second open space, and wherein the unpackaged cell is the same shape as the second open space.
Tajima teaches second open space (see FIG. 5C).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the battery in the second open space as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 5C) because doing so provides an efficient use of space as disclosed by Hamel. A skilled artisan would recognize that upon thermocompression bonding suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3 & [0113]), the battery is sealed around the battery producing an open space and then the unpackaged cell is the same shape as the open space.
Regarding claim 67, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 61 and further discloses further comprising a plurality of tabs located on a perimeter of the first packaging film (see [0036] “tabs extend through seals in the pouch”). Hamel discloses wherein a perimeter of the first packaging film connects to a perimeter of the second packaging film except at the tabs (see FIG. 7C describes “718” & “716”, “716” reads on second packaging film & [0039] describes “conductive tabs” extend through the seals in the pouch; see FIG. 2 describes “204” & “206” tabs). Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein the tabs are located opposite of the common edge, and wherein the first open space and the second open space overlap when viewed from a direction parallel to the first packaging film and the tabs.
Tajima teaches tabs located opposite the common edge (see FIG. 5D “124”). Tajima teaches in FIG. 5B common edge upon folding. Tajima teaches overlapping open spaces (see FIG. 5B upon folding forms sidewalls and located along the common edge; see FIG. 2B describes “16” opposite of the common edge; & FIG. 3 describes “openings 20” overlap when folded).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate overlapping open spaces, as suggested by Tajima into the battery of Hamel because doing so improves the bending of the packaging (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 69, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 68 and further discloses the third sidewall (see FIG. 7D describes the plurality of sidewalls of the pouch “734”). Regarding the limitations and wherein a width of the third sidewall is large than a width of the second open space along the common edge, & the third sidewall is opposite the common edge, Hamel does not explicitly disclose.
Tajima teaches width of the sidewall (see FIG. 5C & [0134] “t3 is approximately 3mm” & upon folding the width of the sidewall is larger than a width of the second open space).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate width of the sidewall, as suggested by Tajima into the battery of Hamel because doing so allows for the battery to be bent more easily (see Tajima Abstract).
Regarding claim 70, Hamel discloses the battery of claim 68 and further discloses wherein the packaging film is parallel to the first sealing part (see FIG. 7C & [0060] describes “716” & “718” & [0051] describes battery cell is sealed in a pouch; [0060] describes a punch is used to form a space in the pouch for the cell). Hamel discloses wherein the first packaging film is flat, rectangular, and does not comprise any concave portions (see abstract “pouch” & FIG. 7B & see [0059] “716” & “718” & until formed with the punch in [0060] would be flat & rectangular without concave portions). Hamel discloses wherein the unpackaged cell is a same shape as the second open space (see abstract “battery cell” & [0060] describes a punch which would form an open space around the cell). Hamel does not explicitly disclose extension surface.
Tajima teaches an extension surface (see FIG. 3 “thermocompression-bonded region 17” reads on extension surface) & in [0113] “thermocompression bonded so as to prevent misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”. Tajima teaches a first open space (see FIG. 5A describes “10 metal film” & first open space is above “17a third region” & see FIG. 3 describes “20 openings” & “17 thermocompression bended region” forms the sealing part). Tajima teaches the first open space is concave (see FIG. 5B describes the first open space is concave upon folding). Tajima teaches the second open space (see FIG. 1A describes “10 metal film” & see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on second open space).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate thermocompression-bonded region, as suggested by Tajima (see FIG. 3) into the battery of Hamel because doing so “prevents misalignment of the stacked components when the secondary battery is repeatedly bent at the foldable points”, as suggested by Tajima (see [0113]).
Hamel does not explicitly disclose wherein the first open space and the second open space do not overlap when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first packaging film.
Tajima teaches first and second open space (see FIG. 3 “20 openings” reads on first and second open space & “20” & “20” do not overlap when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first packaging film). Tajima teaches a common edge (see FIG. 5B & see FIG. 4A describes “10 metal film” which reads on packaging & FIG. 3 describes “20” & “10” are near “17 thermocompression-bonded region” & see [0118] describes upper and lower films in contact & FIG. 4a & [0126] describes “third region 17a overlapping with each of the openings 20”). Tajima teaches in [0128] “a plurality of cushioning materials may be provided at a plurality of positions”. Tajima teaches “a foldable portion from which part of the components is removed by forming openings in a current collector becomes thin and can be more likely to be bent than the other regions” (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the openings do not overlap because doing so allows for cushioning materials to be provided in the gap, as suggested by Tajima (see [0128]).
Regarding the limitation wherein the common edge does not comprise any tabs, Hamel does not explicitly disclose.
Tajima teaches tabs not located on the common edge (see FIG. 4A) describes the tabs not near the common edge).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to not have tabs on the common edge because doing so allows the battery to be folded more easily (see Tajima Abstract).
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding argument’s on P11 & P12 & in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 51 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 02/05/2026