DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9, 11-23 and 26 are currently under examination. Claims 24-25 are withdrawn from consideration. Claim 10 has been cancelled. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 26 is newly added.
Previous Grounds of Rejection
Regarding claims 1-9 and 11-18, in the light of the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yang et al. (CN 102689923 A, applicant submitted in IDS) is amended as set forth below.
In the light of the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., and further in view of Wen et al. (CN 105895983 A, applicant submitted in IDS) with respect to claims 19-23 is amended as set forth below.
New grounds of rejections are set forth below.
Amended & New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yang et al. (CN 102689923 A, applicant submitted in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Yang et al teach a method for recycling lead-containing waste ([0018]) comprising:
(a) dissolving the lead-containing waste in an aqueous solution of reactant A including an organic acid of acetic acid (the instant claimed first acid) to form a solution of main product 1 at room temperature (the claimed water soluble first lead salt of lead acetate) ([0012]-[0019], [0066]);
(b) adding reactant B including an organic acid, other than acetic acid, such as a citric acid (the claimed second acid having the structure of CH(OH)(COOH)(CH2COOH)2) to the solution of the first lead acetate solution to form a lead-depleted solution and a precipitate of a second lead salt of citrate ([0013]-[0027]); and
(c) converting the precipitate of the second lead citrate salt into leady oxide, wherein the first lead acetate salt has a higher solubility in water at 25 0C than the second lead citrate salt.
It is known the lead citrate precipitates having the formula Pb3(citrate)2, a molar ratio of Pb to citric acid is 1:0.67. As such, to complete convert all Pb ions to citrate salt, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add an amount up to 0.67 moles of citric acid per mole of Pb to the resulted lead acetate as the instant claim.
Regarding claims 2-3, as discussed above, Yang et al teach a method for recycling lead-containing waste including Pb and/or PbO from lead-acid battery paste ([0018]).
Regarding claims 4-6, as discussed above, the process taught by Yang et al comprises lead acetate known having solubility 44.3 grams in 100 mL at 25 0C and slightly soluble in water (<100g/L). The molar ratio of lead-containing waste to aqueous HOAc is 1:1 ([0020]). 0.1 Kg lead power (containing about 0.457 mol of Pb) is mixed with 50% of an aqueous 0.457 mol HOAc at 25 0C for 30 minutes (Example 1) as the instant claims ([0062]-[0068]).
Since the reference of Yang et al. teach all of the claimed reagents, composition and method for recycling Pb-containing waste, the solubilities of the resulting 1st and 2nd lead salts would necessarily follow as set forth in MPEP 2112.01(II).[1]
Regarding claim 7, Yang et al. teach treating the lead-waste with redox reagent H2O2 as the instant claim 9{0031]).
Regarding claims 8-9, although Yang et al. do not specifically disclose the insoluble material comprising barium sulfate, carbon compounds and fibers as per applicant claims 8-9, the process taught by Yang et al. includes filtration and recycling as the instant claims.
Since the reference of Yang et al. teach all of the claimed reagents, composition and method of recycling lead-containing waste, the insoluble material in the waste material (i.e., barium sulfate, carbon compounds and fibres) would necessarily follow as set forth in MPEP 2112.01(II).[1]
Regarding claim 11, as discussed above, Yang et al. teach mixing 0.1 Kg lead power (containing about 0.457 mol of Pb) with 50% of an aqueous 0.457 mol HOAc, and then add 0.01 Kg citric acid at 25 0C for 30 minutes under agitation (Examples 1 and 6) ([0062]-[0068]).
Although, Yang et al. is silent as to the reaction pressure, it would be obvious to perform this at standard pressure which reads on the instant claimed conditions. There are no indications that this process is occurring at other than standard pressure.
Regarding claims 12-14, as discussed above, Yang et al. teach separating/recycling the lead-depleted aqueous solution containing residual lead from a precipitate of a second lead salt of citrate as the instant claim ([0013]-[0027]) and (Figures 1-15).
Regarding claims 15-17, as discussed above, the process taught by Yang et al. comprises converting the main product 2 (precipitates lead citrate salt) to leady oxide comprising PbO and/or Pb by heating <1000 0C in 1-60 minutes without excluding air([0029] and [0073], Fig. 1-15).
Although, Yang et al. is silent as to the reaction pressure, it would be obvious to perform this at standard pressure which reads on the instant claimed conditions. There are no indications that this process is occurring at other than standard pressure.
Regarding claim 18, the recycled leady oxide is used for lead-acid batter as the instant claim ([0001]-[0002]).
Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wen et al. (CN 105895983 A, applicant submitted in IDS).
Regarding claims 19-23, as discussed above, the process taught by Yang et al comprises a lead-containing waste comprising PbSO4 as the instant claims ([0015]).
Although Yang et al. do not specifically disclose a pre-treatment of desulfurization as per applicant claims 19-23, Wen et al. teach a process of pre-treat lead-containing waste (2 Kg) with NaOH (2 Kg) ([0027]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the pre-treatment of lead-containing waste with NaOH taught by Wen et al. in the process of recycling lead-containing waste taught by Yang et al. to obtain the invention as specified in the claims 19-23, motivated by the fact that NaOH pre-treatment results a lead precipitation and desulfurization impurity ([0027]-[0031]).
Since both of Yang et al. and Wen et al teach processes of recycling lead-containing waste, one would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Although Wen et al. do not specifically teach weight ratio of NaOH to PbSO4 and reducing the level of PbSO4 <500 ppm of as per applicant claims 19-23, such the ratio of NaOH to PbSO4, and reducing the amount of PbSO4 <500 ppm are recognized as a result-effective variable, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as the NaOH and reducing the sulfur content PbSO4<500 ppm are within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
The differences the amount of NaOH solution used and the sulfur containing PbSO4 level <500 ppm will not support the patentability of subject matter, this is a case of prima facie obviousness, as one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, given the general conditions taught by Wen et al..
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and evidenced by Graus et al. (JACS, 75, 1953, 4172-4175).
Regarding claim 26, as discussed above, Yang et al teach a method for recycling lead-containing waste ([0018]) comprising:
(a) dissolving the lead-containing waste in an aqueous solution of reactant A including an organic acid of acetic acid (the instant claimed first acid) to form a solution of main product 1 at room temperature (the claimed water soluble first lead salt of lead acetate) ([0012]-[0019], [0066]);
(b) adding reactant B including an organic acid, other than acetic acid, such as a citric acid (the claimed second acid having the structure of CH(OH)(COOH)(CH2COOH)2) to the solution of the first lead acetate solution to form a lead-depleted solution and a precipitate of a second lead salt of citrate ([0013]-[0027]); and
(c) converting the precipitate of the second lead citrate salt into leady oxide, wherein the first lead acetate salt has a higher solubility in water at 25 0C than the second lead citrate salt.
It is known (i.e., Graus et al.) the lead citrate having the formula Pb3(citrate)2, a molar ratio of Pb to citric acid is 1:0.67. As such, to complete convert all Pb ions to citrate salt, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add an amount up to 0.67 moles of citric acid per mole of Pb to the resulted lead acetate as the instant claim.
As evidenced by Graus et al., Pb3(citrate)2 is quantitatively formed (maximize yield) in a molar ratio of 3 [Pb]2+: 2 [citric acid]3-. Excess citrate redissolves the precipitated Pb3(citrate)2 (Graus et al., page 4173).
Response to Arguments
With regards to the previous Grounds of Rejection
Applicant's arguments and Declaration submitted by Athan Fox on 03/12/2026 with respect to claims 1-9, 11-23 and 26, have been considered but are not persuasive. The examiner would like to take this opportunity to address the Applicant's arguments.
Applicant argued based on what is known in the art, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to decrease the amount of citric acid but rather would be motivated to provide an excess of second acid because it would be expected to drive the reaction forward. This is what would be expected based on Yang because Yang describes using a high excess of other components relative to lead. Yang at 5 (stating "Pb atom/ion : reactant B is between 1:1 and 1:1000"). However, in the instant case, there are unexpected results that using a less than stoichiometric amount of citric acid provides unexpected results.
Yang does not specifically disclose the use of up to 0.67 moles of citric acid per mole of lead ions-rather, it teaches that the molar ratio should be at least 1:1.
Yang does not link using a low amount of precipitant with a very high purity and yield, and therefore there is no recognized result in the prior art tied to the amount of precipitant.
It is well known know that higher amounts of reagents are generally a driver for completion of a reaction. It would therefore not have been expected that a reduced level of precipitant would lead to high yield, as lower levels of precipitant would be expected to lead to insufficient precipitation of lead and, consequently, lower conversion levels.
Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to use the low amount of citric acid as claimed with the expectation of providing high purity and yield. As described in paragraph 13 of the Fox Declaration, "reducing the level of precipitant leads to high yield" is unexpected, when because the exact opposite would be expected.
Further, as described in the Fox Declaration, Yang would not motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to use citric acid, let alone at the claimed amount. Nor is there any expectation that there is a link between reduced reagent burden and high purity and yield. Thus, the claims are non-obvious.
Thus, based on the above, the cited references fail to teach all the features of the instant claims, there is no motivation to combine the references, and there is no reasonable expectation of success in modifying Yang to achieve the instant claims.
Wen does not cure the deficiencies of Yang (Remarks, pages 6-9;Declaration pages 1-3).
The Office respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, Yang et al teach a method for recycling lead-containing waste ([0018]) comprising:
(a) dissolving the lead-containing waste in an aqueous solution of reactant A including an organic acid of acetic acid (the instant claimed first acid) to form a solution of main product 1 at room temperature (the claimed water soluble first lead salt of lead acetate) ([0012]-[0019], [0066]);
(b) adding reactant B including an organic acid, other than acetic acid, such as a citric acid (the claimed second acid having the structure of CH(OH)(COOH)(CH2COOH)2) to the solution of the first lead acetate solution to form a lead-depleted solution and a precipitate of a second lead salt of citrate ([0013]-[0027]); and
(c) converting the precipitate of the second lead citrate salt into leady oxide, wherein the first lead acetate salt has a higher solubility in water at 25 0C than the second lead citrate salt.
It is known (i.e., Graus et al.) the lead citrate having the formula Pb3(citrate)2, a molar ratio of Pb to citric acid is 1:0.67. As such, to complete convert all Pb ions to citrate salt, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add an amount up to 0.67 moles of citric acid per mole of Pb to the resulted lead acetate as the instant claim.
As evidenced by Graus et al., Pb3(citrate)2 is quantitatively formed (maximize yield) in a molar ratio of 3 [Pb]2+: 2 [citric acid]3-. Excess citrate redissolves the precipitated Pb3(citrate)2 (Graus et al., page 4173).
The unexpected results submitted by the Fox Declaration is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-9 and 11-23 as set forth above because: the results demonstrated by Fox are not commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims. For example, a first acid, solution, lead-containing waste, etc.).
Since Yang et al. teach all of the claimed reagents, composition and method for recycling lead-containing waste, the physical properties of the resulting composition (i.e., higher yield and purity, etc.) would necessarily follow as set forth in MPEP 2112.01(II).[1]
As such, the rejection of claim 1 as set forth above is proper and stands.
The rejection for the remaining claims were either directly or indirectly dependent thereon stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUN QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738
[1][1] “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
[1][1] “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
[1][1] “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).