DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the paper filed August 11, 2026. Claims 4, 5, 9, 11-15, 24, and 50 remain withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 16-23, and 49 are currently pending and under examination.
This application claims benefit priority of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/798629, filed January 23, 2019, U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/837765, filed April 24, 2019, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/965032, filed January 23, 2020.
Maintained Rejections:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10, 16-23, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fillatreau et al. (WO 2011/147622; Published 2011).
With regard to claim 1, Fillatreau et al. teach the treatment of an autoimmune disease or disorder in a subject by administering isolated modified B cells to the subject in an amount including about 1,000 to about 1x109 B cells (p. 1, para. 1; p. 9, para. 2; p. 15, last para. to p. 16, para. 1), which is a therapeutically effective amount. The autoimmune disease to be treated includes amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) (p. 12, last para.; p. 14, line 8). As Fillatreau et al. expressly teach that ALS is an autoimmune disease treatable by the administration of the B cells of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the B cells to treat a subject having ALS.
With regard to claim 3, Fillatreau et al. teach that the B cells are human B cells and are administered to humans (p. 11, para. 4-5). As such the B cells are allogeneic B cells.
With regard to claim 6, Fillatreau et al. teach that the B cells are administered with additional components including antimicrobials (p. 16, para. 2), which is a second therapeutic composition.
With regard to claim 10, Fillatreau et al. teach that the isolated B cells are re-programmed (p. 2, last para.), which is stimulating B cells ex vivo.
With regard to claims 16-18, Fillatreau et al. teach that the B cells can be administered intravenously, subcutaneously, or intramuscularly, which is systemic administration, or administered directly into or onto the affected individual, which is local administration (p. 16, para. 1).
With regard to claim 19, Fillatreau et al. teach that the B cells are administered for a range of times, including once daily, or in doses over multiple days (p. 16, para. 2).
With regard to claims 20-23, Fillatreau et al. teach administering about 1,000 to about 1x109 B cells (p. 15, last para. to p. 16, para. 1), wherein about 1,000 to about 1x109 B cells encompasses at least 0.5x107, 1x108, 2x108, and 1x109 B cells, and wherein it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan to administer an amount of B cells within the expressly taught range.
With regard to claim 49, Fillatreau et al. teach the subject is a human patient (p. 11, para. 4).
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fillatreau et al., as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Fang et al. (Stage at which riluzole treatment prolongs survival in patients with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis: a retrospective analysis of data from a dose-ranging study, The Lancet, Vol. 17, (2018), pp. 416-422 – Previously Presented).
The teachings of Fillatreau et al. as applied to claims 1 and 6 have been set forth above.
With regard to claims 7 and 8, while Fillatreau et al. teach that the administered B cells themselves can be engineered to express immunomodulatory molecules (p. 1, para. 2), it is not specifically taught that a second immunomodulatory composition, or Edaravone or Riluzole, is administered as a secondary therapy.
Fang et al. teach that administration of the drug riluzole prolongs survival for subjects with ALS (Abs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fillatreau et al. with Fang et al., because both teach the treatment of the neurodegenerative disease ALS. The treatment of ALS by administering riluzole is known in the art as taught by Fang et al. The addition of riluzole as taught by Fang et al. as a second therapeutic/ immunomodulatory treatment for ALS would have been expected to predictably and successfully improve the method of Fillatreau et al., by providing an additional agent known to prolong survival of subjects having ALS.
Response to Arguments
Applicant urges that Fillatreau does not enable treatment of ALS. Merely naming ALS within a lengthy list of candidate disease does not establish that Fillatreau enables treatment of ALS, and the working examples are directed to experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis (EAE), with no example directed to ALS. The relevant enablement question is whether Fillatreau teaches a skilled artisan how to use the taught cells to treat ALS without undue experimentation. Additionally, Fillatreau lacks a reasonable expectation of success in treating ALS, as the examples and disclosure are primarily directed to the treatment of EAE, and evidence that the treatment is effective in EAE does not establish that the treatment would also be effective in ALS.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but have not been found persuasive.
With regard to Applicant’s argument that Fillatreau does not enable treatment of ALS; Fillatreau specifically teaches:
The modified B cells of the present invention can be applied in the treatment of any unwanted
immune reaction, especially:
autoimmune disorders (in which it is known that certain antigen(s) have a key role as driver(s) of
the disease, e.g. mysthenia gravis, a certain MS situation with a certain MHC allele)…. (P. 9, Para. 2).
An "autoimmune disorder" herein is a disease or disorder arising from and directed against an individual's own tissues or a co-segregate or manifestation thereof or resulting condition therefrom. Examples of autoimmune diseases or disorders include, but are not limited to…amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS; Lou Gehrig’s disease)…. (p. 12, last para.; p. 14, line 8).
The B cells of the present invention can be administered to mammals, namely humans and livestock, by numerous routes, such as intravenously, subcutaneously or intramuscularly.… The dose administered may be between about 1,000 and about 1000,000,000 cells per dose, or other amounts understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to be therapeutically effective as a therapy to treat or prevent symptoms of unwanted immune reactions (p. 15, last para. to p. 16, para. 1).
It is noted that the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123).
Here, Fillatreau expressly teaches the treatment of an autoimmune disease by administering isolated modified B cells to the subject in an amount including about 1,000 to about 1x109 B cells, which is a therapeutically effective amount, and specifically notes that an autoimmune disease treated by the method includes ALS. As Fillatreau et al. expressly teach that ALS is an autoimmune disease treatable by the administration of the B cells of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the B cells to treat a subject having ALS, and at minimum would have been obvious to try, given the express teachings to treat ALS. Thus, there is no undue experimentation required.
With regard to Applicant’s argument that Fillatreau lacks a reasonable expectation of success in treating ALS, as evidence that the treatment is effective in EAE does not establish that the treatment would also be effective in ALS; as discussed previously, Fillatreau expressly teaches that ALS is treatable using the B cells of the invention. Further, it can be seen in the art that treatments for EAE, which is the experimental model used for MS, and MS itself, have been successful for treatment of both ALS and EAE/MS. For example, injection of therapeutic quantities of cultured adults stem cells into MS and ALS patients resulted in a stabilization of the condition and some functional improvement in MS patients, and a lesser degree of deterioration in ALS patients (see Art of Record: Karusis). Further, Gilenya, a drug approved for treatment of MS was researched for treatment of ALS, where treatment provided significant extension of survival and improvement of symptoms in ALS (see Art of Record: Flavell). As it is known in the art that both MS and ALS can be successfully treated with the same treatments, one would have had a reasonable expectation that administration of the B cells as taught by Fillatreau, and shown to be effective for the animal model of MS, would likely successfully treat ALS. Especially as Fillatreau expressly teaches that ALS is one of the immune diseases treatable with the taught B cells.
For the forgoing reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Art of Record:
Karussis et al., Safety and Immunological Effects of Mesenchymal Stem Cell Transplantation in Patients With Multiple Sclerosis and Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Arch Neurol, (2010), 67(10), pp. 1187-1194.
Flavell, Gilenya (Fingolimod), Sept. 13, 2017, available at: alsnewstoday.com/gilenya-fingolimod/.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER M.H. TICHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653