Election/Restrictions
Claims 4, 10, 13, 14 and 24-26 remain in the application as withdrawn. Claims 4, 10, 13 and 14 appear would be in condition for rejoinder. However, claims 24-26, may not be in condition for rejoinder because of a possible 112 rejection in regards to “a slug” being a double inclusion.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the slug must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-12, 15-19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The disclosure does not provide sufficient disclosure of the slug for one skilled in the art to understand it’s formation and resulting structure. While disclosure describes there can be a punched out slug it is only found in the summary (p.[0020] and [0029]) without there being any detail as how or where it is formed nor its resulting structure.
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-12, 15-19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Again in regards to the slug added to the claims by the amendment, it is unclear if it is intended to be positively recited, and in which claims, or it is merely a recitation of intended use. In claim 1, it is introduced as only adapted to be formed. Then in dependent claim 17, which introduces the combination with the workpiece, it is still only included a adapted to be formed and is then also unclear if “a slug” is introducing another slug or referring back to the same slug introduced in claims 1. And while withdrawn, claims 24, again introduces as “a slug”. So generally, the meets and bounds of the slug and its’ relation to the fastening unit is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-12, 15-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Humpert (US 2006/0159545). Humpert discloses a fastening unit (11) for fastening to a workpiece (10) comprising: a rivet element (14) and a separate reshaping element (12) coupled coaxially to the rivet element in a free state by a means of a reshaping section which has a coupling section (18) plugged into a recess (48) of a rivet section (42). The rivet element is ring shaped (Fig. 3). The reshaping element has a reshaping section with a curved surface (22) diverging outward and a support section (58) remote from the reshaping section for axially supporting the fastening unit at a workpiece abutment. The support section is supporting the reshaping element on the abutment such that an axial movement of the rivet element relative to the reshaping element the rivet section is reshaped radially outward by the reshaping section to fasten the fastening unit to the workpiece (Fig. 7). The outer contour of the reshaping element does not project beyond the rivet section (Fig. 4); the self-punching is recitation of intended use; the support section includes an elevated portion (36); the reshaping element includes a functional section in the form of an external thread (16); and the reshaping section includes axial ribs (24) to provide security against rotation. Humpert additionally discloses the fastening unit in combination with a sheet metal part (Fig. 18) with a prefabricated opening (110) where a reshaped section of the rivet section engages a backside of the workpiece. The regards to the slug, it is interpreted as an intended use for the fastening unit since it is prefaced by “adapted to” where the fastening unit of Humpert would be capable of forming a slug.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-6, 9, 11-12, 17-19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodgers (US 3,078,002). In considering the embodiment shown in Figs. 8-9, Rogers discloses component assembly comprising: a hollow workpiece (6) including a sheet metal part (3; paragraph bridging columns 1 and 2) and an abutment formed on the workpiece (5); and a fastening unit (1) for fastening to a workpiece. The fastening unit comprising: a rivet element (60) and a separate reshaping element (67) coupled coaxially to the rivet element. The rivet element is ring shaped with a rivet section (64). The reshaping element has a reshaping surface (68) diverging radially outward, and a support surface (71) remote from the reshaping surface axially supporting the fastening unit at the abutment and the rivet is reshaped to have a portion engage behind the workpiece (Fig. 9). The support surface includes a projection (70); and the reshaping section includes a coupling section plugged into a recess of the rivet reshaping section as pointed to below. The regards to the slug, it is interpreted as an intended use for the fastening unit since it is prefaced by “adapted to” where the fastening unit of Rogers would be capable of forming a slug.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-12, 15-19, 21 and 23 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Humpert and/or Rogers as applied above, and further in view of Ghiran (US 7,179,033). Neither Humpert not Rogers discloses the workpiece is deformed so a slug of the workpiece is clamped between the fastening unit and workpiece. Ghiran discloses a fastening unit (10) in combination with a workpiece (22) where the fastening unit deforms the workpiece (p.[22]) to form a slug (56) between the fastening unit and workpiece (p.[29]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to form a slug between the fastening unit and workpiece of either Humpert and/or Rogers as disclosed in Ghiran in order for the slug to remain integral with the workpiece and for it not to be floating around which may cause problems.
Response to Remarks
The new grounds of rejection address the introduction of the slug so no further reply in regards thereto is believed necessary.
Applicant additionally argues in regards to Humpert (US 2006/0159545) that Humpert does not disclose the forming section and support section spaced apart from one another. Applicant argues that in Humpert both the support section and reshaping section are formed at the same head end. In response, the examiner disagrees because the head has a first end anticipating the support section (58) and a second end spaced from (remote from) the first end anticipating the reshaping section (22). And, there in nothing claimed which precludes the inclusion of the holt element extending from the reshaping section.
Conclusion
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675