DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 17-19 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20180120296 A), in view of Hashi et al. (WO 2018235590 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 22-23
Lee discloses a composition comprising 30 to 50 wt % conductive metal nanoparticles, 40 to 60 wt % of a solvent containing glycerol (i.e. second non-aqueous polar protic solvent), and 2 to 10 wt % of a binder (claim 1).
Lee discloses that the solvent can be a 4:1 mixture of glycerol and ethylene glycol (i.e., first non-aqueous polar protic solvent) (example 2), making the glycerol present in an amount of greater than 11 wt %.
Lee does not disclose the presence of water, methanol, ethanol, 1-propanol or 2-propanol or any other solvents in example 2.
Although, Lee, does not disclose the use of propylene glycol, Lee does disclose the use of ethylene glycol. However, Hashi discloses that as a solvent for a conductive ink that ethylene glycol and propylene glycol are functionally equivalent (solvents). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Lee by substituting propylene glycol for ethylene glycol, with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful ink, as suggested by Hashi.
The sheet resistance is a property of the ink, and when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claims 17-19
Lee discloses the use of silver nanoparticles having a size of about 50 nm (example 1).
Regarding claims 24-25
Lee discloses that the metal nanoparticles may be gold or copper (claim 3).
Although, Lee, does not disclose the use of propylene glycol, Lee does disclose the use of ethylene glycol. However, Hashi discloses that as a solvent for a conductive ink that ethylene glycol and propylene glycol are functionally equivalent (solvents). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Lee by substituting propylene glycol for ethylene glycol, with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful ink, as suggested by Hashi.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20180120296 A), in view of Hashi et al. (WO 2018235590 A1), as applied to claims 1, 9, 17-19 and 22-25 above, in view of Hu et al. (CN-107446413-A).
Regarding claim 28
Lee discloses the use of polyvinylpyrrolidone (claims) but does not disclose the viscosity grade thereof. However, Hu also directed to conductive inks discloses that the K grade of pyrrolidone is preferably PVP K-30 (Equivalent Abstract). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention toad to the teachings of Lee by using K-30 polyvinylpyrrolidone, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful conductive ink, as suggested by Hu.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art ejections.
Applicants argue that the references do not teach the sheet resistance. While this may be true it is not persuasive as this is a property of the compositions, and it cannot be determined by examiner if the composition of the reference(s) would meet this limitation, this shifting the burden to the applicants.
Applicants argue that Lee and Hashi fail to disclose the K grade of the polyvinylpyrrolidone. While this may be true it is not persuasive as a new reference is brought into show what he K grade of the polyvinylpyrrolidone is.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734