DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 13th August, 2025.
Claim 1 was amended; claims 8 and 10 are cancelled; no new Claims were added; therefore, claims 1-7 and 9 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13th August, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The response to argument is addressed below.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding to ambient light cited in Liu (see page 7), applicant argued that the ambient light in Liu can not only be a strong light but also a weak light. As disclosed in claim 1 of current case, the pixel control circuit detects a strong background light such that it reduces a gain coefficient of a corresponding ultra-sensitive photodetector to avoid the interference of the strong background light. Here, in paragraph [0091], Liu disclosed that because ambient light noise is directly proportional to APD’s gain to the power of two thirds (i.e., ambient light noise ~gain ^ (2/3)), reducing the APD gain can reduce the portion of ambient light noise in the total noise. Such that, when ambient light is determined to be the dominant source (e.g., over 50%) of noise, it is observed here that reducing the APD gain can increase the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR or the LIDA system), because it can reduce the level of ambient light noise, avoiding such noise to falsely trigger the comparator module. [0092], when the ambient light is determined by the MCU to be the dominant source of the noise (equivalent to the pixel control circuit detects the strong background light), the MCU can choose to perform and/or prioritize the reduction of the APD gain (equivalent to reduce the gain coefficient) for reducing possible interference (equivalent to avoid the interference of the strong background light) from the noise. Furthermore, in paragraph [0089], Liu disclosed that the introduced techniques are similarly applicable for dynamically control any types of gains of suitable photodetectors in the light sensing module implies that the dynamically adjusts the gain of the photodetector by MCU can be used in any kind of photodetector. Therefore, the prior art based on Liu satisfied the claim 1 limitation of the current case.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding to the change of the gain of APD cited in Liu (see page 7), applicant argued that the change of the gain of APD is actually a change of the voltage of MCU. That is the gain in Liu refers to a typically electrical or analog value. In the present application, the pixel control circuit is configured to generate a trigger signal (digital signal). However, it is not clear what kind of “gain” is stated in the claim. Based on Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), examiner interprets the “gain” of claim 1 is any kind of gain change regardless the type such as electrical, analog or digital signal. As the result, the prior art based on Liu satisfied the claim 1 limitation of the current case.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding to no reason for applicant to combine Finkelstein and Liu in the present application (see page 8), applicant argued that the present application adopts a laser diode and further limits the specific type of laser diode. In contrast, at least Finkelstein and Liu adopt an avalanche photodiode (APD) device. There is no reason for applicant to combine Finkelstein and Liu in the present application. However, Finkelstein disclosed a high value quenching resistor ensures a fast avalanche quenching with minimum current flowing whenever the diode is not being quenched; a second smaller resistor is used for an ultra-fast recharge (Finkelstein; FIG. 6, Paragraph [0075]). The reason for combining with Yoo’s invention is such that quickly quenched to prevent damage to the p-n junction and the pn junction is then reactivated by recharging the junction in excess of its breakdown voltage which provide a benefits as reduced dark current, lower jitter, shorter dead time and improved spatial resolution (Finkelstein; Paragraphs [0005], [0075]). Furthermore, Liu teaches dynamically adjust the gain of APD based on strong background noise. The reason for combing with Yoo’s invention is the comparator circuitry is able to filter out noise signals derived from ambient light while the gain control circuitry is able to adjust the gain based on noise level from ambient light (Liu; Paragraphs [0081], [0082] and [0090]-[0092]). Predictably, both of these features allow for improvements to the systems signal-to-noise ratio, and thus improve detection results (Liu; Paragraphs [0081], [0082] and [0090]-[0092]). Besides, both Finkelstein and Liu are disclosed the modified of the receiver module which is not related to the transmitter module as stated in the argument “ the present application adopts a laser diode and further limits the specific type of laser diode”. Therefore, examiner provides the reason for combining both Finkelstein and Liu with Yoo modified in view of Kim and Kovacovsky with a reasonable expectation of success.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US 20200200877 A1, hereinafter “Yoo”), modified in view of Kim et al. (US 20190079166 A1, hereinafter “Kim”), in view of Finkelstein et al. (US 20090315135 A1, hereinafter “Finkelstein”), in view of Kovacovsky et al. (US 20170180703 A1, hereinafter “Kovacovsky”), in view of Liu et al. (US 20180284229 A1, hereinafter “Liu”), in view of Jang et al. (US 20200025893 A1, hereinafter “Jang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo teaches a lidar comprising:
a transmitter module comprising a laser diode (Yoo; FIGS. 2, 4A, and 6, illumination unit 10 and transmitter unit 21, Paragraphs [0031], [0055], and [0093]. The illumination unit includes a laser diode.) and a laser driver connected to the laser diode (Yoo; FIG. 6, illumination unit 10 and laser control unit 61, [0093] and [0096]), wherein the laser driver causes the laser diode to emit laser light to a target when the laser driver receives an emission laser signal (Yoo; FIGS. 2, 4A, and 6, illumination unit 10, transmitter unit 21, system controller 23, and laser control unit 61, Paragraphs [0031], [0053], [0055], [0093], and [0096]);
a receiver monolithic module (Yoo; FIGS. 2 and 4A, photodetector array 15, receiver unit 22, and receiver circuit 24, Paragraphs [0054]) comprising:
[…];
a digital signal processor and storage module, comprising a storage unit for receiving and storing [a] time difference (Yoo; FIG. 2, system controller 23, Paragraphs [0027], [0053], [0058], [0059]. The system controller is able to store topographical data, which is derived from time difference data. Thus, the storage effectively stores time difference data.), and a digital signal processor for converting the time difference into 3D point cloud data including distance information (Yoo; FIG. 2, system controller 23, Paragraphs [0027] and [0053]); and
an output interface module for outputting the 3D point cloud data to the outside (Yoo; FIGS. 2 and 6, system controller 23 and processing and transfer unit 63, Paragraphs [0027], [0053], [0093], and [0098]); as well as
a coordination circuit module connected to the transmitter module and the receiver monolithic module (Yoo; FIG. 2, transmitter unit 21, receiver unit 22, system controller 23, receiver circuit 24, Paragraphs [0053]-[0055]), which comprises a timing control module for emitting the emission laser signal (Yoo; FIG. 2, transmitter unit 21, receiver unit 22, system controller 23, receiver circuit 24, Paragraphs [0053]-[0055]. The system control module sends a trigger signal to the illumination source.);
wherein the components of the transmitter module, the receiver monolithic module and the coordination circuit module are all solid-state electronic components or micro-electromechanical components (Yoo; FIGS. 1 and 2, illumination unit 10, photodetector array 15, transmitter unit 21, receiver unit 22, system controller 23, receiver circuit 24, Paragraphs [0031], [0042], [0053]-[0055]. The illumination unit, receiver unit, and system controller are all composed of solid-state electronics.).
Yoo et al. fails to teach […]: [the receive monolithic module comprising]: an ultra-sensitive photodetector pixel array and pixel control circuit, comprising a pixel array consisted of a plurality of pixels each containing one or more ultra-sensitive photodetectors for receiving laser echo reflected from the target, and a pixel control circuit for generating corresponding trigger signal;
a pixel-level time-to-digital converter array comprising a plurality of time-to-digital converters each receiving the emission laser signal as a start signal, the corresponding trigger signal of the pixel control circuit as a termination signal, and a high-speed clock signal as a reference, and then generating time difference between the termination signal and the start signal.
wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit:
wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; when the pixel control circuit detects a strong background light, it reduces a gain coefficient of a corresponding ultra-sensitive photodetector of the multiple ultra-sensitive photodetectors to avoid the interference of the strong background light, the pixel control circuit or the logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector, wherein the laser diode includes one of the following: a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL). a -surface emitting laser (SEL) diode, or an edge emitting laser (EEL) diode.
Kim does teach a lidar apparatus including a plurality of individual SPADs in an array, which function as individual pixels, for receiving reflected light signals (Kim; FIG. 2, light detection elements 122, Paragraphs [0037]-[0039]), and circuitry including a plurality of peak detectors which output pulse signals triggered by the light incident upon the light detectors (Kim; FIGS. 2 and 4, light detection elements 122, current-to-voltage conversion circuits 123, amplifiers 124, peak detectors 125, and light identifier 130, Paragraphs [0049], [0051], and [0054]), wherein the system also includes a plurality of TDCs matched to respective light detection elements, and thus at a pixel level, which begin measurements with the emission of the light signal, (Kim; FIGS. 4 and 5, light source 110, light detection elements 122, light identifier 130, and time counters 131, Paragraphs [0056], [0060], and [0061]), wherein these TDCs measure receives a clock signal and calculates a time difference based on the number of cycles in the clock signal between the emission time of the light and time it receives the pulse signal from the peak detectors (Kim; FIGS. 4 and 5, light source 110, light detection elements 122, peak detectors 125, light identifier 130, and time counters 131, Paragraphs [0056], [0060], and [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the lidar device taught by Yoo with the receiving system taught by Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the SPAD detectors will predictably be able detect even weak return signals and the use of pixel level measurement circuitry means that each individual detector can be predictably read out in parallel. This yields the predictable advantages of detecting signals which otherwise might have been missed due to lack of detector sensitivity or rationing of measurement circuitry.
However, Yoo as modified in view of Kim still does not teach
wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit:
wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; when the pixel control circuit detects a strong background light, it reduces a gain coefficient of a corresponding ultra-sensitive photodetector of the multiple ultra-sensitive photodetectors to avoid the interference of the strong background light, the pixel control circuit or the logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector, wherein the laser diode includes one of the following: a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL). a -surface emitting laser (SEL) diode, or an edge emitting laser (EEL) diode.
Finkelstein teaches, wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit (Finkelstein; FIG. 6, Paragraph [0075], a high value quenching resistor ensures a fast avalanche quenching with minimum current flowing whenever the diode is not being quenched; a second smaller resistor is used for an ultra-fast recharge):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the lidar device taught by Yoo to include the receiving system taught by Kim and include wherein each ultraensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit taught by Finkelstein with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit allows the avalanche is quickly quenched to prevent damage to the p-n junction and the pn junction is then reactivated by recharging the junction in excess of its breakdown voltage which provide a benefits as reduced dark current, lower jitter, shorter dead time and improved spatial resolution (Finkelstein; Paragraphs [0005], [0075]).
Nevertheless, Yoo as modified in view of Kim and Finkelstein still does not teach
wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; when the pixel control circuit detects a strong background light, it reduces a gain coefficient of a corresponding ultra-sensitive photodetector of the multiple ultra-sensitive photodetectors to avoid the interference of the strong background light, the pixel control circuit or the logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector, wherein the laser diode includes one of the following: a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL). a -surface emitting laser (SEL) diode, or an edge emitting laser (EEL) diode.
Kovacovsky further teaches, wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit (Kovacovsky; FIGS. 11, Paragraph [0058], conceptual diagrams of a superpixel in which each pixel has multiple storage devices. The same transfer gates are employed for superpixel modulation and curtain modulation); the pixel control circuit or logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector (Kovacovsky; FIGS. 11, Paragraph [0050], the curtain modulation may suppress the effect of ambient light and may thus improve SNR and the accuracy of data that is acquired by superpixel modulation in a single camera frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the lidar device taught by Yoo to include the receiving system taught by Kim include wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit taught by Finkelstein and further include wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; the pixel control circuit or logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector taught by Kovacovsky with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for introducing wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; the pixel control circuit or the logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector is to form a superpixel with circuit to suppress the effect of ambient light, further improve SNR and the accuracy of data that is acquired by superpixel modulation in a single camera frame. This may yield more accurate 3D scanning of an object, even when the object is moving (Kovacovsky; FIGS. 11, Paragraph [0050]).
Still, Yoo as modified in view of Kim, Finkelstein and Kovacovsky still does not teach
when the pixel control circuit detects a strong background light, it reduces a gain coefficient of a corresponding ultra-sensitive photodetector of the multiple ultra-sensitive photodetectors to avoid the interference of the strong background light.
wherein the laser diode includes one of the following: a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL). a -surface emitting laser (SEL) diode, or an edge emitting laser (EEL) diode.
However, Liu does teach a system which lowers the gain of photodiodes, similar to the photodiodes taught by Kim et al., based on excessive noise from ambient light (Liu; FIGS. 3 and 11, dynamic gain adjustment circuit 324, main control unit (MCU) 360, and light sensing module 1100, Paragraphs [0057] and [0087]-[0092]), and a comparator circuit used to filter out noise from ambient light, which will remove potential measurement errors from ambient light and improve signal-to-noise ratio by reducing noise from ambient light (Liu; FIGS. 3, 8, and 9, comparator modules 340 and 900, main control unit (MCU) 360, and triggering threshold 806, Paragraphs [0056], [0059], and [0079]-[0083]); (please also see response to argument section above, point 2, regarding ambiance light and point 3, regarding gain).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the lidar device taught by Yoo to include the receiving system taught by Kim include wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit taught by Finkelstein include wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; the pixel control circuit or the logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector taught by Kovacovsky and include the gain control and comparator circuitry taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the comparator circuitry is able to filter out noise signals derived from ambient light while the gain control circuitry is able to adjust the gain based on noise level from ambient light (Liu; Paragraphs [0081], [0082] and [0090]-[0092]). Predictably, both of these features allow for improvements to the systems signal-to-noise ratio, and thus improve detection results (Liu; Paragraphs [0081], [0082] and [0090]-[0092]); (please also see response to argument section above, point 2, regarding ambiance light and point 3, regarding gain).
Again, Yoo as modified in view of Kim, Finkelstein, Kovacovsky and Liu still does not teach
wherein the laser diode includes one of the following: a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL). a -surface emitting laser (SEL) diode, or an edge emitting laser (EEL) diode.
However, Jang does teach the use of VCSELs as the light source for a lidar device, similar to the one taught by Yoo et al. (Jang; FIG. 31, laser emitting unit 100, Paragraph [0124] and [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the lidar device taught by Yoo to include the receiving system taught by Kim include wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit taught by Finkelstein include wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; the pixel control circuit or the logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector taught by Kovacovsky and include the gain control and comparator circuitry taught by Liu and include the VCSEL light source taught by Jang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that VCSELs are easy to mass produce and small in size (Jang; Paragraph [0003]). Predictably, by using them in the system it will reduce overall manufacturing complexity and allow for more compact designs of the lidar device.
Regarding claim 2, Yoo as modified teaches the lidar device as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
a transmitting optical path module (Yoo; FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A, MEMS mirror 12 and MEMS driver 25, Paragraphs [0035]-[0037] and [0055]) comprising:
a beam control component for beam controlling the laser light emitted by the laser diode (Yoo; FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A, MEMS mirror 12 and MEMS driver 25, Paragraphs [0035]-[0037] and [0055]); and
a beam control circuit connected to the beam control component, for adjusting the field-of-view or direction of the beam control component (Yoo; FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A, MEMS mirror 12 and MEMS driver 25, Paragraphs [0035]-[0037] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo as modified teaches the lidar device as recited in claim 2, characterized in that, the coordination circuit module further comprises a coordination control processor module for executing a software module (Yoo; FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A, MEMS mirror 12, system controller 23, and MEMS driver 25, Paragraphs [0035]-[0037], [0053], [0055], [0109], and [0110]. All processes described in this invention can be performed hardware implementing instructions from software modules.), wherein the software module is used to control the beam control circuit to perform beam control (Yoo; FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A, MEMS mirror 12, system controller 23, and MEMS driver 25, Paragraphs [0035]-[0037], [0053], [0055], [0109], and [0110]. One such process is the controlling of the MEMs mirror.) and also control the timing of the timing control module to emit the emission laser signal (Yoo; FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A, illumination unit 10, transmitter unit 21, and system controller 23, Paragraphs [0031], [0053], [0055], [0109], and [0110]. Another process is controlling the emitting of light from the illumination unit, and thus its timing.), so that the transmitting optical path module scans one aspect (Yoo; FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A, illumination unit 10, MEMS mirror 12, transmitter unit 21, system controller 23, and MEMS driver 25, Paragraphs [0025], [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0053], [0055], [0058], [0109], and [0110]. The system controller directs the transmitter unit to scan aspects of the environment, such as objects or road surfaces.).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo as modified teaches the lidar device as recited in claim 2, characterized in that, the beam control component includes one of the following:
A micro-electromechanical component, an optical phased array component or a diffractive optical element (Yoo; FIGS. 1, 2, and 4A, MEMS mirror 12 and MEMS driver 25, Paragraphs [0035]-[0037] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo as modified teaches the lidar device as recited in claim 1, further comprising optical path modules, for transmitting the laser light emitted by the laser diode to the target (Yoo; FIGS. 1 and 7, illumination unit 10 and transmitter optics 11, Paragraphs [0029], [0031], and [0104]), and for collecting the laser echo reflected by the target and then transmitting it to the ultra-sensitive photodetector pixel array and pixel control circuit (Yoo; FIGS. 1 and 4A, primary optics 14 and optical receiver 15, Paragraphs [0029], [0039], and [0051]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, modified in view of Kim, in view of Finkelstein, in view of Kovacovsky, in view of Liu, and in view of Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Plank et al. (US 20200300986 A1, hereinafter “Plank”).
Regarding claim 6, Yoo as modified teaches the lidar device as recited in claim 1, characterized in that, the coordination circuit module further comprises a coordination control processor module for executing a software module (Yoo; FIG. 2, system controller 23, Paragraphs [0053], [0055], [0109], and [0110]. All processes described in this invention can be performed hardware implementing instructions from software modules).
This combination fails to teach wherein the software module is used to control a modulation mode used by the laser driver and a demodulation mode used by the digital signal processor and storage module.
However, Plank does teach a system which applies modulation to outgoing light signals and demodulation to received light signals based on software control, for an optical ranging system similar to the one taught by Yoo et al. (Plank; FIGS. 1, 5, and 6, light sources 110 and 624, pixel array 135, modulation signal 137, blocks 510 and 520, sensor 604, and control circuitry 612, Paragraphs [0015], [0016], [0032], [0033], [0039]-[0041], [0044], and [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the lidar device taught by Yoo to include the receiving system taught by Kim include wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit taught by Finkelstein include wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; the pixel control circuit or the logic control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector taught by Kovacovsky and include the gain control and comparator circuitry taught by Liu and include the VCSEL light source taught by Jang and include the software controlled modulation and demodulation of optical signals taught by Plank with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that by controlling the modulation of the light, the system is able to distinguish the returning light signals from other light sources based on the modulation. Predictably, this allows the system to avoid making false measurements based on received light from other sources.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, modified in view of Kim, in view of Finkelstein, in view of Kovacovsky, in view of Liu, in view of Jang, and in view of Plank as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Imaki et al. (US 20150241461 A1, hereinafter “Imaki”).
Regarding claim 7, Yoo as modified teaches the lidar device as recited in claim 6.
This combination fails to teach [the lidar device of claim 6] characterized in that, the modulation mode of the laser driver includes one of the following: a pulse mode with adjustable pulse width, or a continuous wave (CW) mode emitted with a triangular wave, a sine wave, or a square wave.
However, Imaki does teach a laser ranging system which adjusts its modulation signal to adjust the pulse width of emitted signals (Imaki; FIG. 1, pulse modulator 3 and coherence length measurement device 10, Paragraphs [0059], [0079], and [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the lidar device taught by Yoo to include the receiving system taught by Kim include wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit taught by Finkelstein include wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; the pixel control circuit or the logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector taught by Kovacovsky and include the gain control and comparator circuitry taught by Liu, include the VCSEL light source taught by Jang, include the software controlled modulation and demodulation of optical signals taught by Plank and include the adjustable pulse widths taught by Imaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that by lowering the pulse widths the system can predictably improve heterodyne efficiency, but also lower the light reception power (Imaki; Paragraph [0078]). Thus, by allowing the system to control the pulse length, the designer or user can predictably balance these concerns based what is necessary for measuring distance in the current environment.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, modified in view of Kim, in view of Finkelstein, in view of Kovacovsky, in view of Liu, and in view of Jang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song (US 20190331775 A1, hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding claim 9, Yoo as modified teaches the lidar device as recited in claim 1.
This combination fails to teach [the lidar device of claim 1] characterized in that, the transmitter module, the receiver monolithic module and the coordination circuit module are all installed on the same circuit board.
However, Song does teach mounting an entire lidar unit, including the transmitter, receiver and controller, onto a singular chip, and thus would be inherently capable of being mounted on the same circuit board (Song; FIG. 1, LiDAR device 101, laser emitting unit 104, laser pulse scanner 105, controlling unit 107, and laser pulse receiving unit 109, Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the lidar device taught by Yoo to include the receiving system taught by Kim include wherein each ultra-sensitive photodetector further contains a high-speed quench and reset circuit taught by Finkelstein include wherein multiple ultrasensitive photodetectors are combined into a larger logical pixel, which is corresponding to a logical pixel control circuit; the pixel control circuit or the logic pixel control circuit includes a sunlight background light shielding circuit for filtering measurement errors and system signal-to-noise ratio attenuation caused by the strong background light triggering the ultra-sensitive photodetector taught by Kovacovsky and include the gain control and comparator circuitry taught by Liu, include the VCSEL light source taught by Jang and include the single chip lidar design taught by Song with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that by placing each of the components on a singular chip, the system as a whole will be compact in design, predictably allowing for it to be integrated into a wider range of electronics.
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 4100