DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA e present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions.
Status of the Application
Claims 1-11 and 18 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits in response to the amendment filed 12/12/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) because required hatching is missing from Fig. 5.
Claim Interpretation
For the purpose of applying prior art the following broadest reasonable interpretations are applied. The disclosure does not set forth uncommon, special, or otherwise explicit definitions for terms for which the following aforementioned broadest reasonable interpretations are provided. These broadest reasonable interpretations do not appear inconsistent with Applicant’s disclosure.
Broadest Reasonable Interpretations
In regards to claim 1, the term switch is interpreted as: “a device to turn electric current […] on […]”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As per claim 1, there appears no support in the application as originally filed for the limitation “[…] a load/unload switch configured to allow selection of a load position […] wherein the load position is configured to cause the dispensing device to come into operable contact with the […] cartridge […]”.
Claims 2-11 and 18 depend from claim 1 and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claims 1-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, the limitation “the gel bait cartridge” lacks antecedent basis in the claims. For the purpose of applying prior art “the gel bait cartridge” is interpreted as “the cartridge” and therefore refers to the previously recited “cartridge”.
Further as per claim 1, the limitation “the applicator” has unclear antecedent basis. It is not clear if “t he applicator” is intended to refer to the “product applicator” of the preamble. For the purpose of applying prior art “the applicator” is interpreted as “the product applicator”.
As per claims 2 and 4, the limitation “the product cartridge” lacks antecedent basis in the claims. For the purpose of applying prior art “the product cartridge” is interpreted as “the cartridge”.
As per claims 5, 6, and 11, the limitation “said applicator” has unclear antecedent basis. It is not clear if “said applicator” is intended to refer to the “product applicator” of the preamble. For the purpose of applying prior art “said applicator” is interpreted as “said product applicator”.
As per claim 18, the limitation “the least one power source” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
Further as per claim 18, the limitation “the least one power source electrically connected to the at least one circuit board” is ambiguous. The use of the limitation here is confusing, as it appears as second recital of such included already in claim 5 – from which claim 18 depends.
Claims 2-1 and 18 depend from claim 1 and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
As per claim 4, the limitation of claim 4 “the dispensing device is operatively connected to the product cartridge” does not appear to further limit claim 1 which requires “a dispensing device operatively attached to the dispensing force, and functionally connected to the cartridge and configured to push or draw product from the cartridge”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5341958 to Bayat et al in view of US 20160169446 to Peters et al.
As per claims 1, 3, and 4, and as the examiner can understand the claims, Bayat discloses a product applicator comprising:
a housing (11, 12, 31) having a first end and a second end (Fig. 1), and configured for releasably attaching a cartridge (Col. 2, ln. 58-60);
a dispensing force (24);
a dispensing device (16) operatively attached to the dispensing force (Fig. 1), and functionally connected to the cartridge and configured to push product from the cartridge onto a target (Col. 2, Ln. 48-53);
at least one power source (32);
a load/unload switch (37) configured to allow selection of a load position (F) and an unload position (R) and configured for pushing or pulling the dispensing device towards or away from the cartridge (switch 37 “provides for manually stopping and reversing the direction of the motor” Col. 2, Ln. 36-40; The switch 37, in combination with a trigger 33, is configured to allow selection of a “load position” and an “unload position” and for pushing or pulling the dispensing device towards or away from the cartridge), wherein the unload position is configured to cause the dispensing device to retract (Col. 2, Ln. 36-40).
a dispensing switch (33) operatively attached to the dispensing force, wherein the dispensing switch activates the dispensing force to dispense product (Col. 2, Ln. 32-36).
Bayat does not disclose: the load position is configured to cause the dispensing device to come into operable contact with the gel bait cartridge; at least one data operator electrically connected to the power source, wherein the product applicator is controlled at least in part by the at least one data operator.
In regards to the limitation requiring the load position configured to the dispensing device to come into operable contact with the cartridge, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to use a cartridge with the product applicator that is shorter than the full length of the tube holder, e.g. such that in a fully retracted state, the plunger is outside of the cartridge (see Figure A, below), for reasons including to dispense material from a cartridge manufactured in a length smaller than the full length of the tube holder.
Figure A: US 5341958, Fig. 1 - annotated
Bayat in combination with the aforementioned modification still does not explicitly disclose “the load position configured to the dispensing device to come into operable contact with the cartridge”, however, However, it has been held that: a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations; a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art; and, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP §2114(II). In addition, functional claim language that is not limited to a specific structure covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. Therefore, if the prior art discloses a device that can inherently perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 may be appropriate. See MPEP §2114(IV). Furthermore, when the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP §2112.01(I). Bayat in combination with a short cartridge as set forth above, discloses the claimed structure and is capable being used such that the load/unload switch 37, in combination with the trigger 33, is configured to select a load position wherein “the load position configured to the dispensing device to come into operable contact with the cartridge”.
In regards to the limitation requiring “at least one data operator electrically connected to the power source, wherein the product applicator is controlled at least in part by the at least one data operator”, Peters teaches a product applicator comprising a first data operator comprising an App running on an external mobile device wherein the product applicator is controlled remotely by the App running on a mobile device ([0024]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Bayat to remotely communicate with an App on a mobile to device, like taught by Peters, to remotely control the applicator with the mobile device.
As per claim 2, and as the examiner can understand the claim, Bayat further discloses the product applicator further comprising the product cartridge releasably attached to the housing (Col. 2, ln. 58-60).
As per claim 11, and as the examiner can understand the claim, Peters further discloses the product applicator having a data screen being configured to display data received from said App ([0024]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Bayat according to the aforementioned teachings from Peters to provide visual notification on the product applicator of information input through the App on the external device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5341958 to Bayat et al in view of US 20160169446 to Peters et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20130020350 to Gardos et al in view of US 10758935 to Beebe.
As per claim 5, and as the examiner can understand the claim, Bayat further discloses:
the housing further comprises a handle (31);
the at least one power source is a battery pack (Col. 2, ¶ 4);
the dispensing device is a plunger assembly (16, 17) operatively attached to said motor (Col. 2, ¶ 3; Fig. 1).
The Bayat-Peters combination does not disclose: at least one circuit board; an on/off switch supported on said at least one circuit board; the battery pack electrically connected to said at least one circuit board circuit board; and, the particular type of motor.
Gardos teaches a product applicator comprising: at least one circuit board (123); an on/off switch ([0034]-[0035]) supported on said at least one circuit board (PG. 3, [0026], Ln. 15-20); and, wherein the at least one power source is a battery pack electrically connected to said at least one circuit board circuit board ([0027]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively file: to modify the Bayat-Peters combination to provide an on/off switch like taught by Gardos for reasons including to provide the switch as a safety mechanism to prevent inadvertent driving of the plunger by accidentally hitting the trigger alone; to further modify the aforementioned Bayat-Peters-Gardos combination with the teaching from Gardos of a circuit board, and wherein an on/off switch and a battery are electrically connected to the circuit board for reasons including to simplify and consolidate the wiring into a small form and allow quick replacement of the power source.
In regards to the limitation requiring the motor to be a “stepper motor”, Beebe teaches a product applicator comprising a stepper motor (404) driving a dispensing device (414; Col. 12, ¶ 3). In view of the silence in the aforementioned Bayat-Peters-Gardos combination regarding the type of motor, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application as effectively filed to provide the motor of the aforementioned Bayat-Peters-Gardos combination according to the aforementioned teachings from Beebe, i.e. as a “stepper” motor.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5341958 to Bayat et al in view of US 20160169446 to Peters et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20130020350 to Gardos
As per claim 9, the Bayat-Peters combination discloses the claimed invention except for an aiming light. Gardos teaches a product applicator comprising an aiming light (119). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Bayat-Peters combination with an aiming light like taught by Gardos for reasons including to illuminate darkness.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5341958 to Bayat et al in view of US 20160169446 to Peters et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 10894272 to Clemens et al.
As per claims 6-8, and as the examiner can understand the claims, the Bayat-Peters combination discloses the claimed invention except for the cartridge comprising an RFID tag ([0049]) that allows for the cartridge to be identified using devices capable of reading RFIDs.
Victor teaches a product applicator comprising cartridge (Fig. 5) attached to an applicator (Col. 5, ¶ 7) and the cartridge comprising a RFID tag (94; Fig. Fig. 5) that sends an RFID signal that is readable by a RFID antenna (26 a-c) that is functionally attached to said applicator (Col. 12, ¶ 2-6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Bayat-Peters combination according to the aforementioned teachings from Victor to provide an RFID tag on the cartridge and an RFID antennae functionally attached to the applicator of the Bayat-Peters combination for identifying the cartridge received in the applicator of the Bayat-Peters combination.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5341958 to Bayat et al in view of US 20160169446 to Peters et al in view of US 20130020350 to Gardos et al as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Official Notice.
As per claim 18, and as the examiner can understand the claim, the Bayat-Peters-Gardos combination discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one circuit board electrically connecting the trigger and load/unload switch and the dispensing force to the at least one power source. The Office makes Official Notice that it is old and well known to provide a circuit board for connecting all electrical actuating switches and electrically driven components to a battery and it therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Bayat-Peters-Gardos combination such that the circuit board connects all electrical actuating switches and electrically driven components, including the trigger and load/unload switch to the battery for reasons including to simplify and consolidate the wiring into a small form and to allow quick replacement of the power source.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5871299 to Lai in view of US 5341958 to Bayat et al in view of US 20160169446 to Peters et al.
As per claim 1, Lai discloses a product applicator (Fig. 1-6) comprising:
a housing (10, 11) having a first end and a second end (Fig. 1), and configured for releasably attaching a cartridge (110);
a dispensing force (25);
a dispensing device (13, 24) operatively attached to the dispensing force (Fig. 3), and functionally connected to the cartridge and configured to push or draw product from the cartridge onto a target (Col. 3, ¶ 2);
at least one power source (30); and,
a dispensing switch (18) operatively attached to the dispensing force, wherein the dispensing switch activates the dispensing force to dispense product (Col. 3, Ln. 5-7).
Lai does not disclose:
a load/unload switch configured to allow selection of a load position and an unload position and configured for pushing or pulling the dispensing device towards or away from the cartridge, wherein the load position is configured to cause the dispensing device to come into operable contact with the gel bait cartridge and the unload position is configured to cause the dispensing device to retract; and, at least one data operator electrically connected to the power source, wherein the applicator is controlled at least in part by the at least one data operator.
In regards to the claimed load/unload switch, Bayat teaches a load/unload switch (37) configured to allow selection of a load position (F) and an unload position (R) and configured for pushing or pulling the dispensing device towards or away from the cartridge (switch 37 “provides for manually stopping and reversing the direction of the motor” Col. 2, Ln. 36-40; The switch 37, in combination with a trigger 33, is configured to allow selection of a “load position” and an “unload position” and for pushing or pulling the dispensing device towards or away from the cartridge), wherein the unload position is configured to cause the dispensing device to retract (Col. 2, Ln. 36-40). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Lai according to the aforementioned teachings from Bayat for reasons including to provide for motorized retraction of the dispensing device.
In regards to the limitation requiring “at least one data operator electrically connected to the power source, wherein the product applicator is controlled at least in part by the at least one data operator”, Peters teaches a product applicator comprising a first data operator comprising an App running on an external mobile device wherein the product applicator is controlled remotely by the App running on a mobile device ([0024]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Lai-Bayat combination to remotely communicate with an App on a mobile to device, like taught by Peters, to remotely control the applicator with the mobile device.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5871299 to Lai in view of US 5341958 to Bayat et al in view of US 20160169446 to Peters et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20130020350 to Gardos et al in view of US 10758935 to Beebe.
As per claim 5, and as the examiner can understand the claim, Lai further discloses:
the housing further comprises a handle (101);
the at least one power source is a battery pack (Col. 2, ln. 29-31);
the dispensing device is a plunger assembly (13, 24) operatively attached to said motor (Fig. 2-3).
The Lai-Bayat-Peters combination does not disclose: at least one circuit board; an on/off switch supported on said at least one circuit board; the battery pack electrically connected to said at least one circuit board circuit board; and, the particular type of motor.
Gardos teaches a product applicator comprising: at least one circuit board (123); an on/off switch ([0034]-[0035]) supported on said at least one circuit board (PG. 3, [0026], Ln. 15-20); and, wherein the at least one power source is a battery pack electrically connected to said at least one circuit board circuit board ([0027]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed: to modify the Lai-Bayat-Peters combination to provide an on/off switch like taught by Gardos for reasons including to provide the switch as a safety mechanism to prevent inadvertent driving of the plunger by accidentally hitting the trigger alone; to further modify the aforementioned Lai-Bayat-Peters-Gardos combination with the teaching from Gardos of a circuit board, and wherein an on/off switch and a battery are electrically connected to the circuit board for reasons including to simplify and consolidate the wiring into a small form and allow quick replacement of the power source.
In regards to the limitation requiring the motor to be a “stepper motor”, Beebe teaches a product applicator comprising a stepper motor (404) driving a dispensing device (414; Col. 12, ¶ 3). In view of the silence in the aforementioned Lai-Bayat-Peters-Gardos combination regarding the type of motor, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application as effectively filed to provide the motor of the aforementioned Lai-Bayat-Peters-Gardos combination according to the aforementioned teachings from Beebe, i.e. as a “stepper” motor.
As per claim 10, the aforementioned Lai-Bayat-Peters-Gardos-Beebe combination discloses the claimed invention except for the particular claimed plunger assembly. Gardos further teaches a plunger assembly including: a plunger (103, 104); a plunger nut (105) attached to plunger (Fig. 2-3); and, a lead screw (106) attached to said motor (Fig. 2-3) and attached to said plunger nut (Fig. 2-3); wherein said lead screw extends into said plunger (Fig. 2-3). It would have been obvious for It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to modify the plunger assembly of the aforementioned Lai-Bayat-Peters-Gardos-Beebe combination to be the plunger assembly of Gardos since doing so would be an obvious substitution of one known motor-driven plunger assembly for another known motor-driven plunger assembly, with the expected results that the substituted motor-driven plunger assembly would function to drive a plunger.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the claim rejections the remarks filed 12/12/15 have been fully considered, but are moot because they do not apply to the grounds of rejection contained in this office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in FORM PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Paul Durand, can be reached at (571) 272-4459.
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Data Portal (PDP). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PDP) system. For more information about the PDP system, see https://opsg-portal.uspto.gov/OPSGPortal/. Should you have questions on access to the PDP system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/R.A.G/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 January 12, 2026