DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. Therefore, the Examiner provides a new Non-Final rejection based on Luo et al. (US 2018/0146469 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 2017/0030758 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23, 28, 30, 42, and 44-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2018/0146469 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 2017/0030758 A).
Regarding claim 21, Luo discloses An operation method of a first communication node in a wireless local area network (LAN) communication system, the operation method comprising:
transmitting a frame after successfully performing a channel access procedure ([0004]: AP transmits data when the channel contention succeeds. [0014]: a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) includes RTS. Fig. 10, [0120]: AP sends RTS);
transmitting a trigger frame to one or more second communication nodes after the transmission of the frame(Fig. 10, [0120]-[0123]: after the AP transmits the RTS, the AP transmits trigger frame (1-3) including UL scheduling information for UL MU during a TXOP);
in response to the trigger frame, receiving data frames from at least one second communication node among the one or more second communication nodes (Fig. 10: AP receives UL MU 1-3 from STAs 1-3);
wherein the trigger frame includes one or more identifiers indicating the one or more second communication nodes (Fig. 10: trigger frame (1-3) includes identifiers indicating the STAs 1-3); and
wherein the first communication node transmits the trigger frame (Fig. 10: AP transmits trigger frame (1-3)), the trigger frame being operative to cause third communication node(s), whose identifiers are not included in the trigger frame and which receive the trigger frame, to set a network allocation vector (NAV) ([0120]: 802.11ax PPDU, such as an RTS, causes stations to set a current NAV value. [0063], [0068], [0072], [0097]-[0098]: after receiving a 11ax PPDU, determine whether the receiver address of the PPDU is not the address of the node itself and update the current NAV value. Based on the cited paragraphs and in view of Fig. 10 and [0123], trigger frame (1-3) causes STA 4 to set its NAV within a TXOP corresponding to a NAV set by the RTS of the AP),
Luo does not disclose, but Hyun discloses the trigger frame including configuration information of a data transmission period (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions during L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame); and
in response to the trigger frame, [the first communication node is] receiving data frames from at least one second communication node among the one or more second communication nodes at different times during the data transmission period (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 15-17: after the AP transmits a trigger frame, the AP receives UL MU transmissions from a plurality of STAs at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx duration), and
[cause third communication node(s)] to set a NAV only for a duration of the data transmission period established by the trigger frame (pg. 45 paragraph 15: another STA receives a NAV value which prohibits the another STA from accessing the medium for a period during which the medium is scheduled to be used by an authorized STA to transmit a frame. Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions during L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame. The L-SIG UL Tx duration is within a TXOP); and
wherein the data transmission period is shorter in time than the TXOP (Fig. 18: L-SIG UL Tx duration is shorter in time than the TXOP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (1) program the AP, as taught by Luo, to transmit a trigger frame indicating L-SIG UL Tx duration for scheduling UL MU transmission to STAs, as taught by Hyun, and (2) program the STAs 1-3, as taught by Luo, to transmit UL MU transmissions at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun, and (3) program STA 4, as taught by Luo, to set a NAV for a period during which the medium is scheduled to be used by authorized STAs to transmit UL MU transmissions, i.e., L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun.
Doing so provides an UL MU transmission protection mechanism (Hyun: pg. 45 paragraph 15 and pg. 48 paragraphs 13 and 17).
Regarding claim 28, Luo discloses An operation method of a first communication node in a wireless local area network (LAN) communication system, the operation method comprising:
transmitting a frame after successfully performing a channel access procedure ([0004]: AP transmits data when the channel contention succeeds. [0014]: a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) includes RTS. Fig. 10, [0120]: AP sends RTS);
transmitting a trigger frame to one or more second communication nodes after the transmission of the frame, (Fig. 10, [0120]-[0123]: after the AP transmits the RTS, the AP transmits trigger frame (1-3) including UL scheduling information for UL MU during a TXOP);
wherein the trigger frame includes one or more identifiers indicating the one or more second communication nodes (Fig. 10: the trigger frame (1-3) includes identifiers indicating the STAs 1-3); and
wherein at least one second communication node among the one or more second communication nodes transmits data frames to one or more third communication nodes other than the first communication node at different times during the data transmission period (This limitations recites an action performed by a second communication node different than the claimed first communication node that the method is directed to. According to MPEP 2111.04 I., "wherein" clauses may raise a question as to the limiting effect of claim language. Claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. As applied to claim 28, the wherein clause recited above does not affect the structural configuration or functionality of the claimed first communication node because the limitation of the wherein clause recites functionality performed by a second communication node and is not an action that the claimed first communication node performs. The operations performed by the claimed first communication node do not rely on the existence of the performance by a second communication node. Thus, the limitation of the wherein clause is not given patentable weight in determining whether the claim is rejectable in view of prior art); and
wherein the first communication node transmits the trigger frame (Fig. 10: AP transmits trigger frame (1-3)), the trigger frame being operative to cause third communication node(s), whose identifiers are not included in the trigger frame and which receive the trigger frame, to set a network allocation vector (NAV) ([0120]: 802.11ax PPDU, such as an RTS, causes stations to set a current NAV value. [0063], [0068], [0072], [0097]-[0098]: after receiving a 11ax PPDU, determine whether the receiver address of the PPDU is not the address of the node itself and update the current NAV value. Based on the cited paragraphs and in view of Fig. 10 and [0123], trigger frame (1-3) causes STA 4 to set its NAV within a TXOP corresponding to a NAV set by the RTS of the AP),
Luo does not disclose, but Hyun discloses the trigger frame including configuration information of a data transmission period (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions during L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame); and
[cause third communication node(s)] to set a NAV only for a duration of the data transmission period established by the trigger frame (pg. 45 paragraph 15: another STA receives a NAV value which prohibits the another STA from accessing the medium for a period during which the medium is scheduled to be used by an authorized STA to transmit a frame. Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions during L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame. The L-SIG UL Tx duration is within a TXOP); and
wherein the data transmission period is shorter in time than the TXOP (Fig. 18: L-SIG UL Tx duration is shorter in time than the TXOP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (1) program the AP, as taught by Luo, to transmit a trigger frame indicating L-SIG UL Tx duration for scheduling UL MU transmission to STAs, as taught by Hyun, and (2) program the STAs 1-3, as taught by Luo, to transmit UL MU transmissions at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun, and (3) program STA 4, as taught by Luo, to set a NAV for a period during which the medium is scheduled to be used by authorized STAs to transmit UL MU transmissions, i.e., L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun.
Doing so provides an UL MU transmission protection mechanism (Hyun: pg. 45 paragraph 15 and pg. 48 paragraphs 13 and 17).
Regarding claim(s) 23 and 30, Luo in view of Hyun discloses all features of claim(s) 21 and 28 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Cariou discloses wherein a time resource for transmitting acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) information for the data frame(s) is included within the data transmission period (Fig. 18, pg. 49 paragraph 1: AP transmits a BA frame for the reception of UL MU transmissions within the L-SIG UL Tx duration. Note that Fig. 18 and pg. 48 paragraphs 16-17 disclose the UL MU transmissions are transmitted over different time resources in the L-SIG UL Tx duration. Therefore, the M-STA BA frame is also transmitted on a time resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the AP, as taught by Luo, to transmit a M-STA BA frame for receiving UL MU transmissions on a time resource within the L-SIG UL Tx duration, as taught by Hyun.
Doing so allows the AP to provide positive or negative acknowledgement in response to receiving the UL MU transmissions (Hyun: Fig. 1, pg. 49 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim(s) 42 and 44, Luo in view of Hyun discloses all features of claim(s) 21 and 28 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Zhou discloses wherein the trigger frame further includes at least one of a number of time slots allocated to the one or more second communication nodes, a time slot allocated to each of the one or more second communication nodes, or an interval between the time slots (pg. 48 paragraph 16: the trigger frame includes time domain resource allocation information for each of the plurality of STAs, i.e., slot section length and slot number, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trigger frame, as taught by Luo, to include time domain resource allocation information for each of the plurality of STAs, i.e., slot section length and slot number, etc., as taught by Hyun.
Doing so allows the plurality of STAs to transmit their respective UL PPDUs on a same frequency resource using the allocated time domain resources (Hyun: pg. 48 paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 45, Luo discloses An operation method of a third communication node in a wireless local area network (LAN) communication system, the operation method comprising:
receiving a frame from a first communication node ([0004]: AP transmits data when the channel contention succeeds. [0014]: a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) includes RTS. Fig. 10, [0120]: STA 4 receives, from the AP, RTS);
receiving a trigger frame from the first communication node, the trigger frame including one or more identifiers indicating the one or more second communication nodes excluding an identifier of the third communication node (Fig. 10, [0120]-[0123]: STA 4 receives, from the AP, trigger frame (1-3) including UL scheduling information for UL MU between STAs 1-3 and AP during a TXOP. The trigger frame (1-3) includes identifiers indicating the STAs 1-3 and not STA 4); and
setting a network allocation vector (NAV) ([0120]: 802.11ax PPDU, such as an RTS, causes stations to set a current NAV value. [0063], [0068], [0072], [0097]-[0098]: after receiving a 11ax PPDU, determine whether the receiver address of the PPDU is not the address of the node itself and update the current NAV value. Based on the cited paragraphs and in view of Fig. 10 and [0123], trigger frame (1-3) causes STA 4 to set its NAV within a TXOP corresponding to a NAV set by the RTS of the AP),
Luo does not disclose, but Hyun discloses the trigger frame including … information on a data transmission period for communication at different times between the first communication node and the one or more second communication nodes (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame); and
[third communication node is] setting a NAV only for a duration of the data transmission period established by the trigger frame (pg. 45 paragraph 15: another STA receives a NAV value which prohibits the another STA from accessing the medium for a period during which the medium is scheduled to be used by an authorized STA to transmit a frame. Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions during L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame. The L-SIG UL Tx duration is within a TXOP); and
wherein the data transmission period is shorter in time than the TXOP (Fig. 18: L-SIG UL Tx duration is shorter in time than the TXOP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (1) program the AP, as taught by Luo, to transmit a trigger frame indicating L-SIG UL Tx duration for scheduling UL MU transmission to STAs, as taught by Hyun, and (2) program the STAs 1-3, as taught by Luo, to transmit UL MU transmissions at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun, and (3) program STA 4, as taught by Luo, to set a NAV for a period during which the medium is scheduled to be used by authorized STAs to transmit UL MU transmissions, i.e., L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun.
Doing so provides an UL MU transmission protection mechanism (Hyun: pg. 45 paragraph 15 and pg. 48 paragraphs 13 and 17).
Claim(s) 22, 29, 41, 43, 46, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2018/0146469 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 2017/0030758 A) and Son et al. (US 2019/0306920 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 22, 29, and 46, Luo in view of Hyun discloses all features of claim(s) 21, 28, and 45 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Son discloses wherein an interval between the frame and the trigger frame is a predetermined interval (Fig. 20: the interval between the MU-RTS and the trigger frame is a predetermined interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RTS and the trigger frame, as taught by Luo, to be separated by a predetermined interval, as taught by Son.
Doing so allows the AP to transmit the trigger frame to an outdoor STA that is located far away from the AP and located in the open space where the change of channel delay time is significant (Son: [0195]).
Regarding claim(s) 41, 43, and 47, Luo in view of Hyun and Son discloses all features of claim(s) 22, 29, and 46 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Son discloses wherein the predetermined interval is a short inter-frame space (SIFS) or a reduced inter-frame space (RIFS) (Fig. 20: the predetermined interval includes SIFS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RTS and the trigger frame, as taught by Luo, to be separated by a predetermined interval including an SIFS, as taught by Son.
Doing so allows the AP to transmit the trigger frame to an outdoor STA that is located far away from the AP and located in the open space where the change of channel delay time is significant (Son: [0195]).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov