DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 with respect to claim(s) 21, 28, and 45 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection under 103 based on Luo et al. (US 2018/0146469 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 2017/0030758 A) and new reference Xing et al. (US 2018/0279369 A1). Applicant’s argument: On pg. 8, Applicant argues that Hyun does not disclose “the first communication node transmits the trigger frame, the trigger frame being operative to cause a third communication node that receives the trigger frame to determine whether an identifier of the third communication node is included in the trigger frame, and in response to determining that the identifier of the third communication node is not included in the trigger frame, to set a network allocation vector (NAV) only for a duration of the data transmission period established by the trigger frame within a transmission opportunity (TXOP) corresponding to a NAV set by the frame of the first communication node, wherein the data transmission period is shorter in time than the TXOP.” Examiner’s response: In view of the amendment and argument, Examiner submits that Luo teaches the first communication node transmits the trigger frame (Fig. 10: AP transmits trigger frame (1-3)), the trigger frame being operative to cause a third communication node that receives the trigger frame to determine whether an identifier of the third communication node is included in the trigger frame, and in response to determining that the identifier of the third communication node is not included in the trigger frame, to set a network allocation vector (NAV) ([0120]: 802.11ax PPDU, such as an RTS, causes stations to set a current NAV value. [0068], [0097]-[0098]: after receiving a 11ax PPDU, determine that the receiver address of the receiving node is not included in the 11ax PPDU / RTS, and update the current NAV value. Based on the cited paragraphs and in view of Fig. 10 and [0123], trigger frame (1-3) causes STA 4 to set its NAV within a TXOP corresponding to a NAV set by the TF / RTS of the AP), . Xing discloses a trigger frame that causes a third communication node to set a NAV only for a duration of the data transmission period established by the trigger frame ([0167], [0173]: The receiving address of the MU-RTS frame / Trigger frame is a broadcast address, and carries appointment duration (Duration) information, and the broadcast address is not equal to the address of the STA1, then the STA1 checks a NAV timer not updated by the Duration of the MU-RTS / Trigger before updating the NAV according to the Duration. [0003] the virtual carrier sensing refers to that the receiving and sending terminals send a wireless frame which carries a channel time (Duration) needing to be appointed for a subsequent transmission, other stations maintain a network allocation vector (NAV) locally according to the received appointment duration). Hyun discloses wherein the data transmission period is shorter in time than the TXOP (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions during L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame, where L-SIG UL Tx duration is shorter in time than the TXOP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23, 28, 30, 42, and 44-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2018/0146469 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 2017/0030758 A) and Xing et al. (US 2018/0279369 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Luo discloses An operation method of a first communication node in a wireless local area network (LAN) communication system, the operation method comprising:
transmitting a frame after successfully performing a channel access procedure ([0004]: AP transmits data when the channel contention succeeds. [0014]: a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) includes RTS. Fig. 10, [0120]: AP sends RTS);
transmitting a trigger frame to one or more second communication nodes after the transmission of the frame(Fig. 10, [0120]-[0123]: after the AP transmits the RTS, the AP transmits trigger frame (1-3) including UL scheduling information for UL MU during a TXOP); and
in response to the trigger frame, receiving data frames from at least one second communication node among the one or more second communication nodes (Fig. 10: AP receives UL MU 1-3 from STAs 1-3);
wherein the trigger frame includes one or more identifiers indicating the one or more second communication nodes (Fig. 10: trigger frame (1-3) includes identifiers indicating the STAs 1-3); and
wherein the first communication node transmits the trigger frame (Fig. 10: AP transmits trigger frame (1-3)), the trigger frame being operative to cause a third communication node that receives the trigger frame to determine whether an identifier of the third communication node is included in the trigger frame, and in response to determining that the identifier of the third communication node is not included in the trigger frame, to set a network allocation vector (NAV) ([0120]: 802.11ax PPDU, such as an RTS, causes stations to set a current NAV value. [0068], [0097]-[0098]: after receiving a 11ax PPDU, determine that the receiver address of the receiving node is not included in the 11ax PPDU / RTS, and update the current NAV value. Based on the cited paragraphs and in view of Fig. 10 and [0123], trigger frame (1-3) causes STA 4 to set its NAV within a TXOP corresponding to a NAV set by the TF / RTS of the AP),
Luo does not disclose, but Hyun discloses the trigger frame including configuration information of a data transmission period (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions during L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame); and
in response to the trigger frame, [the first communication node is] receiving data frames from at least one second communication node among the one or more second communication nodes at different times during the data transmission period (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 15-17: after the AP transmits a trigger frame, the AP receives UL MU transmissions from a plurality of STAs at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx duration), and
wherein the data transmission period is shorter in time than the TXOP (Fig. 18: L-SIG UL Tx duration is shorter in time than the TXOP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (1) program the AP, as taught by Luo, to transmit a trigger frame indicating L-SIG UL Tx duration for scheduling UL MU transmission to STAs, as taught by Hyun, and (2) program the STAs 1-3, as taught by Luo, to transmit UL MU transmissions at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun.
Doing so provides an UL MU transmission protection mechanism (Hyun: pg. 45 paragraph 15 and pg. 48 paragraphs 13 and 17).
Luo does not disclose, but Xing discloses a trigger frame that causes a third communication node to set a NAV only for a duration of the data transmission period established by the trigger frame ([0167], [0173]: The receiving address of the MU-RTS frame / Trigger frame is a broadcast address, and carries appointment duration (Duration) information, and the broadcast address is not equal to the address of the STA1, then the STA1 checks a NAV timer not updated by the Duration of the MU-RTS / Trigger before updating the NAV according to the Duration. [0003] the virtual carrier sensing refers to that the receiving and sending terminals send a wireless frame which carries a channel time (Duration) needing to be appointed for a subsequent transmission, other stations maintain a network allocation vector (NAV) locally according to the received appointment duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the STA 4, as taught by Luo, to update a NAV according to a duration carried in a MU-RTS frame / Trigger frame and appointed for subsequent transmission, as taught by Xing.
Doing so allows the STA to update its NAV according to the duration that is needed to be appointed for subsequent transmission (Xing: [0003], [0167], [0173]).
Regarding claim 28, Luo discloses An operation method of a first communication node in a wireless local area network (LAN) communication system, the operation method comprising:
transmitting a frame after successfully performing a channel access procedure ([0004]: AP transmits data when the channel contention succeeds. [0014]: a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) includes RTS. Fig. 10, [0120]: AP sends RTS);
transmitting a trigger frame to one or more second communication nodes after the transmission of the frame, (Fig. 10, [0120]-[0123]: after the AP transmits the RTS, the AP transmits trigger frame (1-3) including UL scheduling information for UL MU during a TXOP);
wherein the trigger frame includes one or more identifiers indicating the one or more second communication nodes (Fig. 10: the trigger frame (1-3) includes identifiers indicating the STAs 1-3); and
wherein at least one second communication node among the one or more second communication nodes transmits data frames to one or more fourth communication nodes other than the first communication node at different times during the data transmission period (This limitations recites an action performed by a fourth communication node different than the claimed first communication node that the method is directed to. According to MPEP 2111.04 I., "wherein" clauses may raise a question as to the limiting effect of claim language. Claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. As applied to claim 28, the wherein clause recited above does not affect the structural configuration or functionality of the claimed first communication node because the limitation of the wherein clause recites functionality performed by a fourth communication node and is not an action that the claimed first communication node performs. The operations performed by the claimed first communication node do not rely on the existence of the performance by a fourth communication node. Thus, the limitation of the wherein clause is not given patentable weight in determining whether the claim is rejectable in view of prior art); and
wherein the first communication node transmits the trigger frame (Fig. 10: AP transmits trigger frame (1-3)), the trigger frame being operative to cause a third communication node that receives the trigger frame to determine whether an identifier of the third communication node is included in the trigger frame, and in response to determining that the identifier of the third communication node is not included in the trigger frame, to set a network allocation vector (NAV) ([0120]: 802.11ax PPDU, such as an RTS, causes stations to set a current NAV value. [0068], [0097]-[0098]: after receiving a 11ax PPDU, determine that the receiver address of the receiving node is not included in the 11ax PPDU / RTS, and update the current NAV value. Based on the cited paragraphs and in view of Fig. 10 and [0123], trigger frame (1-3) causes STA 4 to set its NAV within a TXOP corresponding to a NAV set by the TF / RTS of the AP),
Luo does not disclose, but Hyun discloses the trigger frame including configuration information of a data transmission period (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions during L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame); and
wherein the data transmission period is shorter in time than the TXOP (Fig. 18: L-SIG UL Tx duration is shorter in time than the TXOP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (1) program the AP, as taught by Luo, to transmit a trigger frame indicating L-SIG UL Tx duration for scheduling UL MU transmission to STAs, as taught by Hyun, and (2) program the STAs 1-3, as taught by Luo, to transmit UL MU transmissions at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun.
Doing so provides an UL MU transmission protection mechanism (Hyun: pg. 45 paragraph 15 and pg. 48 paragraphs 13 and 17).
Luo does not disclose, but Xing discloses a trigger frame that causes a third communication node to set a NAV only for a duration of the data transmission period established by the trigger frame ([0167], [0173]: The receiving address of the MU-RTS frame / Trigger frame is a broadcast address, and carries appointment duration (Duration) information, and the broadcast address is not equal to the address of the STA1, then the STA1 checks a NAV timer not updated by the Duration of the MU-RTS / Trigger before updating the NAV according to the Duration. [0003] the virtual carrier sensing refers to that the receiving and sending terminals send a wireless frame which carries a channel time (Duration) needing to be appointed for a subsequent transmission, other stations maintain a network allocation vector (NAV) locally according to the received appointment duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the STA 4, as taught by Luo, to update a NAV according to a duration carried in a MU-RTS frame / Trigger frame and appointed for subsequent transmission, as taught by Xing.
Doing so allows the STA to update its NAV according to the duration that is needed to be appointed for subsequent transmission (Xing: [0003], [0167], [0173]).
Regarding claim(s) 23 and 30, Luo in view of Hyun and Xing discloses all features of claim(s) 21 and 28 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Hyun discloses wherein a time resource for transmitting acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) information for the data frame(s) is included within the data transmission period (Fig. 18, pg. 49 paragraph 1: AP transmits a BA frame for the reception of UL MU transmissions within the L-SIG UL Tx duration. Note that Fig. 18 and pg. 48 paragraphs 16-17 disclose the UL MU transmissions are transmitted over different time resources in the L-SIG UL Tx duration. Therefore, the M-STA BA frame is also transmitted on a time resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the AP, as taught by Luo, to transmit a M-STA BA frame for receiving UL MU transmissions on a time resource within the L-SIG UL Tx duration, as taught by Hyun.
Doing so allows the AP to provide positive or negative acknowledgement in response to receiving the UL MU transmissions (Hyun: Fig. 1, pg. 49 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim(s) 42 and 44, Luo in view of Hyun and Xing discloses all features of claim(s) 21 and 28 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Hyun discloses wherein the trigger frame further includes at least one of a number of time slots allocated to the one or more second communication nodes, a time slot allocated to each of the one or more second communication nodes, or an interval between the time slots (pg. 48 paragraph 16: the trigger frame includes time domain resource allocation information for each of the plurality of STAs, i.e., slot section length and slot number, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trigger frame, as taught by Luo, to include time domain resource allocation information for each of the plurality of STAs, i.e., slot section length and slot number, etc., as taught by Hyun.
Doing so allows the plurality of STAs to transmit their respective UL PPDUs on a same frequency resource using the allocated time domain resources (Hyun: pg. 48 paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 45, Luo discloses An operation method of a third communication node in a wireless local area network (LAN) communication system, the operation method comprising:
receiving a frame from a first communication node ([0004]: AP transmits data when the channel contention succeeds. [0014]: a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) includes RTS. Fig. 10, [0120]: STA 4 receives, from the AP, RTS);
receiving a trigger frame from the first communication node, the trigger frame including one or more identifiers indicating the one or more second communication nodes excluding an identifier of the third communication node (Fig. 10, [0120]-[0123]: STA 4 receives, from the AP, trigger frame (1-3) including UL scheduling information for UL MU between STAs 1-3 and AP during a TXOP. The trigger frame (1-3) includes identifiers indicating the STAs 1-3 and not STA 4); and
in response to determining that the identifier of the third communication node is not included in the trigger frame, setting a network allocation vector (NAV) ([0120]: 802.11ax PPDU, such as an RTS, causes stations to set a current NAV value. [0068], [0097]-[0098]: after receiving a 11ax PPDU, determine that the receiver address of the receiving node is not included in the 11ax PPDU / RTS, and update the current NAV value. Based on the cited paragraphs and in view of Fig. 10 and [0123], trigger frame (1-3) causes STA 4 to set its NAV within a TXOP corresponding to a NAV set by the TF / RTS of the AP),
Luo does not disclose, but Hyun discloses the trigger frame including … information on a data transmission period for communication at different times between the first communication node and the one or more second communication nodes (Fig. 18, pg. 48 paragraphs 12-13 and 15-17: STAs1-4 are scheduled to transmit UL MU transmissions at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx duration indicated in the trigger frame); and
wherein the data transmission period is shorter in time than the TXOP (Fig. 18: L-SIG UL Tx duration is shorter in time than the TXOP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (1) program the AP, as taught by Luo, to transmit a trigger frame indicating L-SIG UL Tx duration for scheduling UL MU transmission to STAs, as taught by Hyun, and (2) program the STAs 1-3, as taught by Luo, to transmit UL MU transmissions at different time resources during an L-SIG UL Tx indicated in the trigger frame, as taught by Hyun.
Doing so provides an UL MU transmission protection mechanism (Hyun: pg. 45 paragraph 15 and pg. 48 paragraphs 13 and 17).
Luo does not disclose, but Xing discloses a third communication node sets a NAV only for a duration of the data transmission period established by the trigger frame ([0167], [0173]: The receiving address of the MU-RTS frame / Trigger frame is a broadcast address, and carries appointment duration (Duration) information, and the broadcast address is not equal to the address of the STA1, then the STA1 checks a NAV timer not updated by the Duration of the MU-RTS / Trigger before updating the NAV according to the Duration. [0003] the virtual carrier sensing refers to that the receiving and sending terminals send a wireless frame which carries a channel time (Duration) needing to be appointed for a subsequent transmission, other stations maintain a network allocation vector (NAV) locally according to the received appointment duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the STA 4, as taught by Luo, to update a NAV according to a duration carried in a MU-RTS frame / Trigger frame and appointed for subsequent transmission, as taught by Xing.
Doing so allows the STA to update its NAV according to the duration that is needed to be appointed for subsequent transmission (Xing: [0003], [0167], [0173]).
Claim(s) 22, 29, 41, 43, 46, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2018/0146469 A1) in view of Hyun et al. (KR 2017/0030758 A), Xing et al. (US 2018/0279369 A1), and Son et al. (US 2019/0306920 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 22, 29, and 46, Luo in view of Hyun and Xing discloses all features of claim(s) 21, 28, and 45 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Son discloses wherein an interval between the frame and the trigger frame is a predetermined interval (Fig. 20: the interval between the MU-RTS and the trigger frame is a predetermined interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RTS and the trigger frame, as taught by Luo, to be separated by a predetermined interval, as taught by Son.
Doing so allows the AP to transmit the trigger frame to an outdoor STA that is located far away from the AP and located in the open space where the change of channel delay time is significant (Son: [0195]).
Regarding claim(s) 41, 43, and 47, Luo in view of Hyun, Xing, and Son discloses all features of claim(s) 22, 29, and 46 as outlined above.
Luo does not disclose, but Son discloses wherein the predetermined interval is a short inter-frame space (SIFS) or a reduced inter-frame space (RIFS) (Fig. 20: the predetermined interval includes SIFS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RTS and the trigger frame, as taught by Luo, to be separated by a predetermined interval including an SIFS, as taught by Son.
Doing so allows the AP to transmit the trigger frame to an outdoor STA that is located far away from the AP and located in the open space where the change of channel delay time is significant (Son: [0195]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov