Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are pending in the application.
Claim 7 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-4 and 8 is the subject of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al (WO 2018/168905; previously cited; citations refer to US English Equivalent US 2021/0325384) in view of Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Hattori teaches an immunochromatographic apparatus and method (Abstract) comprising:
A nitrite solution or an acid solution for suspending a specimen (Abstract: a specimen with mixed with nitrite or acid solution before it is added to the immunochromatographic test strip; Par. 97: a specimen or a sample prepared using the specimen is contacted and mixed with a nitrite solution, and the specimen is suspended in the nitrite solution);
An immunochromatographic test strip for extracting and measuring a sugar chain antigen in a specimen (Abstract) comprising:
A sample pad to which the specimen mixed with the nitrite or acid solution is added (Abstract)
A label region comprising a labeled antibody obtained by labeling an antibody against the sugar chain antigen (Abstract);
A detection region on which an antibody against the sugar chain antigen is immobilized, wherein an antibody-sugar chain antigen-labeled antibody complex is formed in the detection region to measure the sugar chain antigen (Abstract);
Wherein the immunochromatographic test strip has a region impregnated with the neutralizing reagent, and further has, upstream of the region impregnated with the neutralizing reagent in case the specimen mixed with the nitrite is used, or a region impregnated with the nitrite in case the specimen mixed with the acid solution is used (Abstract).
Hattori teaches that the sample may comprise saliva (Par. 113).
Hattori does not specifically teach that the apparatus and reagents used in the method are provided in a kit. Hattori does not explicitly teach the nitrite or acid solution comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of NaOH, NALC, NaCl, PVA, BSA, and NaBr.
Regarding claim 1, Duvanel teaches a kit comprising an immunochromatographic device and a sample pretreatment solution (Par. 135-138, 174, 177-178).
Duvanel teaches that the addition of a mucolytic agent to the sample pretreatment solution is advantageous, particularly when the sample comprises saliva, and that NALC is a preferred mucolytic agent for sample pretreatment (Par. 177-178: mucolytic pretreatment with NALC, particularly of a saliva sample, degrades mucin aggregates to improve sample migration through the lateral flow assay and decreases non-specific background signal in the assay; Par. 85, 141, 174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Hattori such that the invention comprises a kit which include a sample pretreatment solution and an immunochromatographic test strip, as taught by Duvanel. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because a kit is a useful format for the provision of the materials and reagents needed to perform an assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the provision of materials and reagents required for an immunoassay in the form of a kit is standard practice in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of Hattori in view of Duvanel to further include incorporation of NALC into the sample pretreatment solution taught by Hattori (i.e. the nitrite solution or acid solution used to suspend a sample, as taught by Hattori). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Duvanel teaches that NALC in a sample pretreatment solution is effective for improving sample migration through the test strip and for reducing nonspecific binding and false positive in an immunochromatographic assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both Hattori and Duvanel are directed to immunochromatographic assays which comprise the use of a sample pretreatment solution and which comprise the use of antibodies for detection of a target analyte.
Regarding claim 2, Hattori further teaches the kit wherein the region impregnated with the solid acid reagent or the nitrite is present on the sample pad (Par. 61).
Regarding claim 3, Hattori further teaches the kit wherein the solid acid reagent is selected from the group consisting of malonic acid, maleic acid, citric acid, and tartaric acid (Par. 17: solid acid reagent impregnated on the strip may be selected from the group consisting of malonic acid, malic acid, maleic acid, citric acid, and tartaric acid).
Regarding claim 4, Hattori further teaches the kit wherein the neutralizing reagent is tris(hydroxylmethyl)aminomethane or NaOH (Par. 17).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al (WO 2018/168905; previously cited; citations refer to US English Equivalent US 2021/0325384) in view of Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thieme et al (US 5,871,905; previously cited).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, the teachings of Hattori in view of Duvanel are as stated in the rejection above.
Regarding PVA, Hattori teaches that PVA may be incorporated into the immunochromatographic device to improve reaction conditions, but does not explicitly teach the nitrite solution or acid solution comprising PVA (Par. 17) (i.e. Hattori indicates that PVA is suitable for use with the reagents used in the disclosed invention).
Thieme teaches methods and reagents for pretreatment of immunoassay samples. The invention provides a method of reducing false positives in assays for the detection of an analyte in a fluid sample (Abstract). Thieme teaches that the preferred immunoassay detection method of the invention is a lateral flow immunoassay (Col. 3, Ln. 59-62). Thieme teaches the method comprising preparation of a fluid sample with a pretreatment solution before the sample is applied to the immunochromatographic test strip (Col. 12, Ln. 26-28). Thieme teaches that the pretreatment solution may comprise a diluent which may comprise PVA (Col. 12, last Par.-Col. 13, first Par.: where a diluent is provided, suitable diluents are chosen to be compatible with the analyte and with the target antibodies and/or proteins of the subject assay. Any diluent typically used in immunoassays is suitable. One of skill in the art will appreciate that the diluent can additionally include a protein or other moiety unrelated to the analyte which participates in non-specific binding reactions with the various components of the assay and thereby blocks and prevents non-specific binding. A particularly preferred blocking agent is PVA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Hattori to further include incorporation of PVA into the nitrite solution or acid solution used as a sample pretreatment solution in Hattori. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Thieme teaches that both PVA is advantageous to include in a sample pretreatment solution for the purpose of blocking non-specific binding interactions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both Hattori and Thieme are directed to immunochromatographic detection methods comprising the use of antibodies to detect a particular analyte in a fluid sample, and because PVA is a common blocking agent in the immunoassay and immunochromatographic test strip art.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shida et al (US 2008/0194013 A1; IDS entered) in view of Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, Shida teaches an immunochromatography detection apparatus, method, and kit (Title, Abstract), wherein at least one functional site has at least one of the following functions (a)-(c) provided between the specimen-supply site and the capture reagent site:
A function of pretreating a specimen;
A function of optimizing reaction conditions wherein the analyte contained in the specimen specifically binds to a labeled reagent containing a ligand that specifically binds to the analyte; and
A function of optimizing the reaction conditions wherein a capture reagent specifically binds to the complex of the analyte and the labeled reagent (Par. 8-11).
Specifically, Shida teaches an immunochromatographic test strip for extracting and measuring a sugar chain antigen in a specimen (Par. 8, 81). In detail, the immunochromatographic test strip comprises:
A sample pad to which a specimen mixed with an acid solution is added (Par. 81);
A label region comprising a labeled antibody against a sugar chain antigen (Par. 81);
A detection region on which an antibody against a sugar chain antigen is immobilized, wherein the antibody-antigen complex to be measured is formed (Fig. 7, capture reagent site 4; Par. 8, 83);
The test strip having a region impregnated with neutralizing reagent upstream of the label region (Par. 81); and
A region (located upstream of the neutralizing reagent impregnated region) which is impregnated with solid acid reagent when the specimen is mixed with nitrite or alternatively impregnated with nitrite when specimen is mixed with acid solution (Fig. 6, Par. 82).
Shida teaches that the sample may be a saliva sample (Par. 60).
Shida teaches the kit wherein the region impregnated with the solid acid reagent or the nitrite is present on the sample pad (Par. 82; Fig. 6).
Shida differs from the instant invention in that it does not explicitly teach the nitrite solution or acid solution comprising one or more from the group consisting or: NaOH, NALC, NaCl, PVA, BSA, and NaBr.
Regarding claim 1, Duvanel teaches a kit comprising an immunochromatographic device and a sample pretreatment solution (Par. 135-138, 174, 177-178).
Duvanel teaches that the addition of a mucolytic agent to the sample pretreatment solution is advantageous, particularly when the sample comprises saliva, and that NALC is a preferred mucolytic agent for sample pretreatment (Par. 177-178: mucolytic pretreatment with NALC, particularly of a saliva sample, degrades mucin aggregates to improve sample migration through the lateral flow assay and decreases non-specific background signal in the assay; Par. 85, 141, 174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of Shida to further include incorporation of NALC into the sample pretreatment solution taught by Shida (i.e. the nitrite solution or acid solution used to suspend a sample, as taught by Shida). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Duvanel teaches that NALC in a sample pretreatment solution is effective for improving sample migration through the test strip and for reducing nonspecific binding and false positive in an immunochromatographic assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both Shida and Duvanel are directed to immunochromatographic assays which comprise the use of a sample pretreatment solution and which comprise the use of antibodies for detection of a target analyte.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shida et al (US 2008/0194013 A1; IDS entered) in view of Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zak et al (US 2008/0206849 A1; IDS entered).
Regarding claim 4, Shida does not explicitly teach the kit wherein the neutralizing reagent is tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane or NaOH.
Zak teaches throughout the publication a lateral flow assay device for identifying carbohydrate antigen in a biological sample. Specifically, Zak teaches that “a neutralizing agent is preferred as it allows the pH of the reaction mixture to be optimized which in turn allows for optimization of the assay sensitivity…The neutralizing agent where present is preferably buffered. Many such neutralizing buffers are known in the art, although a preferred one is tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane (TRIS)” (Par. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shida in view of Duvanel wherein a neutralizing reagent is used to neutralize a pH level under acidic conditions for extracting carbohydrate antigens, to include using TRIS to allow the pH of the reaction mixture to be optimized for extracting the carbohydrate antigens as taught by Zak, because Zak teaches that TRIS is known in the art as a neutralizing reagent. One would be motivated to make this modification because Shida is generic regarding the neutralizing reagent used, and one would be motivated to select a proper species of neutralizing reagent for the chosen immunoassay for neutralizing a pH under acidic conditions for extracting a carbohydrate antigen, as taught by Zak. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both Shida and Zak are directed to methods comprising the use of neutralizing reagents for extracting analytes of interest, including carbohydrate antigens.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shida et al (US 2008/0194013 A1; IDS entered) in view of Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thieme et al (US 5,871,905; previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Shida does not explicitly teach the nitrite solution or acid solution comprising PVA.
Thieme teaches methods and reagents for pretreatment of immunoassay samples. The invention provides a method of reducing false positives in assays for the detection of an analyte in a fluid sample (Abstract). Thieme teaches that the preferred immunoassay detection method of the invention is a lateral flow immunoassay (Col. 3, Ln. 59-62). Thieme teaches the method comprising preparation of a fluid sample with a pretreatment solution before the sample is applied to the immunochromatographic test strip (Col. 12, Ln. 26-28). Thieme teaches that the pretreatment solution may comprise a diluent which may comprise PVA (Col. 12, last Par.-Col. 13, first Par.: where a diluent is provided, suitable diluents are chosen to be compatible with the analyte and with the target antibodies and/or proteins of the subject assay. Any diluent typically used in immunoassays is suitable. One of skill in the art will appreciate that the diluent can additionally include a protein or other moiety unrelated to the analyte which participates in non-specific binding reactions with the various components of the assay and thereby blocks and prevents non-specific binding. A particularly preferred blocking agent is PVA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shida to further include incorporation of PVA intro the nitrite solution or acid solution used as a sample pretreatment solution in Shida. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Thieme teaches that PVA is advantageous to include in a sample pretreatment solution for the purpose of blocking non-specific binding interactions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both Shida and Thieme are directed to immunochromatographic detection methods comprising the use of antibodies to detect a particular analyte in a fluid sample, and because PVA is a common blocking agents in the immunoassay art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,235,265 in view of Shida et al (US 2008/0194013 A1; IDS entered) and Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1).
Regarding instant claims 1, reference claim 1 teaches method for measuring a sugar chain antigen using an immunochromatographic test piece, the method comprising:
mix specimen with nitrite solution;
allow solid acid reagent to contact mixture in filtration step to extract antigen in specimen;
neutralize solid acid reagent;
add mixture to immunochromatographic test piece which comprises:
a sample pad
a neutralizing reagent-impregnated non-woven fabric
a label region comprising a dry pad
and a detection region comprising an antibody-immobilized membrane.
Allow mixture to flow through test piece, measure sugar chain antigen
The reference application, Patent ‘265, differs from the instant claims in that the reference claims fail to specifically teach a kit concept and the nitrite or acid solution comprising one or more from the group consisting of: sodium hydroxide, N-acetyl-L-cysteine, and NaBr.
Shida teaches an immunochromatographic test kit which reads on instant claim 1 as described in the 103 rejection above. Shida teaches an immunochromatographic test piece comprising a region impregnated with solid acid reagent which is upstream of a region impregnated with neutralizing reagent which is upstream of a label region which is upstream of a detection region.
Patent ‘265 does not specify the order of parts in the immunochromatographic test strip as in the instant claim. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose the solid acid reagent upstream of the neutralizing reagent and the neutralizing reagent upstream of the labeling region. One would be motivated to dispose the reagents in this order to ensure their proper functioning for extraction of the target sugar chain antigen (i.e. the sample mixed with nitrite solution should contact the acid first for extraction of the antigen; the sample solution should then be neutralized before contacting the label region, as neutralizing the acidic pH ensures more optimal conditions for binding of the target antigen to the label in the label region). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the order of reagents in the antigen extraction reaction is implied by the steps of the method of the reference claim and because Shida teaches a similar immunochromatographic test strip comprising reagents disposed in this order.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the immunochromatographic test strip and the extraction reagents into a user-centric kit, as disclosed by Shida. One would be motivated to make this modification for the purpose of providing a format which ensures that an end user has all materials and reagents needed to run the assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the provision of materials and reagents needed to run an assay in the form of a kit is standard practice in the art.
Shida does not explicitly teach the kit wherein the nitrite or acid solution comprises one or more from the group consisting of: sodium hydroxide, N-acetyl-L-cysteine, and NaBr.
Duvanel teaches a kit comprising an immunochromatographic device and a sample pretreatment solution (Par. 135-138, 174, 177-178).
Duvanel teaches that the addition of a mucolytic agent to the sample pretreatment solution is advantageous, particularly when the sample comprises saliva, and that NALC is a preferred mucolytic agent for sample pretreatment (Par. 177-178: mucolytic pretreatment with NALC, particularly of a saliva sample, degrades mucin aggregates to improve sample migration through the lateral flow assay and decreases non-specific background signal in the assay; Par. 85, 141, 174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of the reference patent to further include incorporation of NALC into the sample pretreatment solution. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Duvanel teaches that NALC in a sample pretreatment solution is effective for improving sample migration through the test strip and for reducing nonspecific binding and false positive in an immunochromatographic assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference patent and Duvanel are directed to immunochromatographic assays which comprise the use of a sample pretreatment solution and which comprise the use of antibodies for detection of a target analyte.
Regarding instant claim 2, Patent ‘265 (claim 11) teaches that the solid acid reagent or nitrite is present on the sample pad.
Regarding instant claim 3, Patent ‘265 (claim 11) teaches the solid acid reagent to be utilized is selected from the group consisting of malonic acid, malic acid, maleic acid, citric acid, and tartaric acid.
Regarding instant claim 4, Patent ‘265 (claim 5) teaches the use of neutralizing reagent tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane or sodium hydroxide.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,235,265 in view of Shida et al (US 2008/0194013 A1; IDS entered) and Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thieme et al (US 5,871,905; previously cited).
The reference claims do not explicitly teach the nitrite solution or acid solution comprising PVA.
Thieme teaches methods and reagents for pretreatment of immunoassay samples. The invention provides a method of reducing false positives in assays for the detection of an analyte in a fluid sample (Abstract). Thieme teaches that the preferred immunoassay detection method of the invention is a lateral flow immunoassay (Col. 3, Ln. 59-62). Thieme teaches the method comprising preparation of a fluid sample with a pretreatment solution before the sample is applied to the immunochromatographic test strip (Col. 12, Ln. 26-28). Thieme teaches that the pretreatment solution may comprise a diluent which may comprise PVA (Col. 12, last Par.-Col. 13, first Par.: where a diluent is provided, suitable diluents are chosen to be compatible with the analyte and with the target antibodies and/or proteins of the subject assay. Any diluent typically used in immunoassays is suitable. One of skill in the art will appreciate that the diluent can additionally include a protein or other moiety unrelated to the analyte which participates in non-specific binding reactions with the various components of the assay and thereby blocks and prevents non-specific binding. A particularly preferred blocking agent is PVA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claim to further include incorporation of PVA intro the nitrite solution or acid solution used as a sample pretreatment solution in the reference invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Thieme teaches that PVA is advantageous to include in a sample pretreatment solution for the purpose of blocking non-specific binding interactions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference claim and Thieme are directed to immunochromatographic detection methods comprising the use of antibodies to detect a particular analyte in a fluid sample, and because PVA is a common blocking agents in the immunoassay art.
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,513 in view of Shida et al (US 2008/0194013 A1; IDS entered), Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1) and Thieme et al (US 5,871,905; previously cited).
Patent ‘513 (claim 1) teaches an immunochromatographic test piece for extracting and measuring a sugar chain antigen in a specimen comprising: a single specimen adding port in a sample pad to which a specimen mixed with nitrite or an acid solution is added, wherein the sample pad is a site located most upstream of the immunochromatographic test piece; a label region comprising a labeled antibody obtained by labeling an antibody against the sugar chain antigen; a detection region on which the antibody against the sugar chain antigen is immobilized, wherein an antibody-sugar chain antigen-labeled antibody complex is formed in the detection region to measure the sugar chain antigen. The immunochromatographic test piece has a region impregnated with a neutralizing reagent upstream of the labeling region; a region impregnated with a solid acid reagent for when the specimen is mixed with nitrite, or alternatively a region impregnated with nitrite when the specimen is mixed with acid solution- wherein the solid acid reagent region or nitrite reagent region is present upstream of the neutralizing reagent region. Claim 1 of Patent ‘513 further teaches formation of a single flow channel of a continuous lateral flow, wherein a resin- made sheet is sandwiched between the solid acid reagent region or the nitrite region and the neutralizing reagent region such that the utilized regions come into partial contact with each other, and the resin-made sheet suppresses the movement of a reagent or the movement of a specimen solution between the regions
Patent ‘513 differs from the instant claims in that Patent ‘513 further includes the formation of a single flow channel and a resin-made sheet sandwiched between the solid acid reagent region or the nitrite region and the neutralizing reagent region, such that the utilized regions come into partial contact with each other and the resin-made sheet suppresses movement of a reagent or of a specimen solution between regions. It is noted that additional components do not distinguish over the instantly claimed apparatus. The term “comprising” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Furthermore, both sets of claims recite the same extraction reagents, solid acid reagents, neutralizing reagents and antibodies against sugar chains of protozoan, fungal, bacterial, or viral origin and are therefore not patentably distinguishable.
Additionally, the reference application, Patent ‘513, differs from the instant claims in that the patent fails to specifically teach a kit concept and the nitrite or acid solution comprising one or more from the group consisting of: sodium hydroxide, N-acetyl-L-cysteine, and NaBr.
Shida teaches an immunochromatographic test kit which reads on instant claim 1 as described in the 103 rejection above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the immunochromatographic test strip and the extraction reagents into a user-centric kit, as disclosed by Shida. One would be motivated to make this modification for the purpose of providing a format which ensures that an end user has all materials and reagents needed to run the assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the provision of materials and reagents needed to run an assay in the form of a kit is standard practice in the art.
Shida does not explicitly teach the kit wherein the nitrite or acid solution comprises one or more from the group consisting of: sodium hydroxide, N-acetyl-L-cysteine, and NaBr.
Duvanel teaches a kit comprising an immunochromatographic device and a sample pretreatment solution (Par. 135-138, 174, 177-178).
Duvanel teaches that the addition of a mucolytic agent to the sample pretreatment solution is advantageous, particularly when the sample comprises saliva, and that NALC is a preferred mucolytic agent for sample pretreatment (Par. 177-178: mucolytic pretreatment with NALC, particularly of a saliva sample, degrades mucin aggregates to improve sample migration through the lateral flow assay and decreases non-specific background signal in the assay; Par. 85, 141, 174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of the reference patent to further include incorporation of NALC into the sample pretreatment solution. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Duvanel teaches that NALC in a sample pretreatment solution is effective for improving sample migration through the test strip and for reducing nonspecific binding and false positive in an immunochromatographic assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference patent and Duvanel are directed to immunochromatographic assays which comprise the use of a sample pretreatment solution and which comprise the use of antibodies for detection of a target analyte.
Regarding instant claim 2, Patent ‘513 (claim 2) teaches that the solid acid reagent or nitrite is present on the sample pad.
Regarding instant claim 3, Patent ‘513 (claim 6) teaches the solid acid reagent to be utilized is selected from the group consisting of malonic acid, malic acid, maleic acid, citric acid, and tartaric acid.
Regarding instant claim 4, Patent ‘513 (claim 7) teaches the use of neutralizing reagent tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane or sodium hydroxide.
Regarding instant claim 8, Thieme teaches methods and reagents for pretreatment of immunoassay samples. The invention provides a method of reducing false positives in assays for the detection of an analyte in a fluid sample (Abstract). Thieme teaches that the preferred immunoassay detection method of the invention is a lateral flow immunoassay (Col. 3, Ln. 59-62). Thieme teaches the method comprising preparation of a fluid sample with a pretreatment solution before the sample is applied to the immunochromatographic test strip (Col. 12, Ln. 26-28). Thieme teaches that the pretreatment solution may comprise a diluent which may comprise PVA (Col. 12, last Par.-Col. 13, first Par.: where a diluent is provided, suitable diluents are chosen to be compatible with the analyte and with the target antibodies and/or proteins of the subject assay. Any diluent typically used in immunoassays is suitable. One of skill in the art will appreciate that the diluent can additionally include a protein or other moiety unrelated to the analyte which participates in non-specific binding reactions with the various components of the assay and thereby blocks and prevents non-specific binding. A particularly preferred blocking agent is PVA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claim to further include incorporation of PVA intro the nitrite solution or acid solution used as a sample pretreatment solution in the reference invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Thieme teaches that PVA is advantageous to include in a sample pretreatment solution for the purpose of blocking non-specific binding interactions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference claim and Thieme are directed to immunochromatographic detection methods comprising the use of antibodies to detect a particular analyte in a fluid sample, and because PVA is a common blocking agents in the immunoassay art.
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1 and 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,013,394 in view of Shida et al (US 2008/0194013 A1; IDS entered), Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1) and Thieme et al (US 5,871,905; previously cited).
Regarding instant claims 1 and 8, see instant claim analysis as disclosed above (Double Patenting rejection over Patent ‘265).
Patent ‘394 (claim 1) teaches an immunochromatographic test piece for extracting and measuring a sugar chain antigen of microorganisms belonging to bacterial genus Streptococcus in a specimen. The immunochromatographic test piece comprises: a sample pad to which a specimen mixed with nitrite or an acid solution is added; a label region comprising a labeled antibody obtained by labeling an antibody against the sugar chain antigen; a detection region on which the antibody against the sugar chain antigen is immobilized, wherein an antibody-sugar chain antigen-labeled antibody complex is formed in the detection region to measure the sugar chain antigen; wherein the immunochromatographic test piece has a region impregnated with a neutralizing reagent upstream of the label region, a region impregnated with a solid acid reagent when the specimen is mixed with nitrite, or alternatively a region impregnated with nitrite when the specimen is mixed with the acid solution- wherein the solid acid reagent region or nitrite reagent region is present upstream of the neutralizing reagent region. Claim 1 of Patent ‘394 further teaches that a material for the region impregnated with the neutralizing reagent is a filter or glass filter having three properties: highly absorbable, highly water-retainable, and being low releasable or continuously releasable; wherein the material for the region Impregnated with the neutralizing agent has a basis weight of 50 to 300 g/m2 and a thickness of 0.21 to 0.8 mm, and which absorbs water in an amount of 30 to 100 µl/cm2 per cm/m2, has a water absorption speed of 1.0 to 2.0 µl/sec, retains water in an amount of 15 to 100 µl/cm2 after a fragment of 1 cm/m2 is allowed to come in a wet state into contact with the detection region and left standing for 5 minutes, and has a liquid spread area of 20 mm2 or smaller after a fragment of 1 cm/m2 is allowed to come in a wet state into contact with a membrane and left standing for 5 minutes; wherein owing to the high water-absorption property and the high water-retainability property of the region impregnated with the neutralizing reagent, the acid solution containing the sugar chain antigen is neutralized; and owing to the low releasable property or the sustained releasable property of the region impregnated with the neutralizing reagent, a remaining acid solution is prevented from arriving at the detection region, or a neutralized test solution is continuously developed to the detection region, so that a non-specific reaction is suppressed.
Patent ‘394 differs from the instant claims in that Patent ‘394 further includes detailed material properties for the region impregnated with the neutralizing reagent to include the disclosed three properties recited as highly absorbable, highly water-retainable, and being low releasable or continuously releasable as well as extensive metrics with regards to material weight, thickness, absorption and absorption speed capabilities. It is noted that additional components do not distinguish over the instantly claimed apparatus. The term “comprising” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Both sets of claims recite the same extraction reagents, solid acid reagents, neutralizing reagents and antibodies against sugar chains of a bacterial microorganism and are therefore not patentably distinguishable.
Patent ‘394 further differs from the instant claims in that the patent fails to specifically teach a kit concept and the nitrite or acid solution comprising one or more from the group consisting of: sodium hydroxide, N-acetyl-L-cysteine, and NaBr.
Shida teaches an immunochromatographic test kit which reads on instant claim 1 as described in the 103 rejection above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the immunochromatographic test strip and the extraction reagents into a user-centric kit, as disclosed by Shida. One would be motivated to make this modification for the purpose of providing a format which ensures that an end user has all materials and reagents needed to run the assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the provision of materials and reagents needed to run an assay in the form of a kit is standard practice in the art.
Shida does not explicitly teach the kit wherein the nitrite or acid solution comprises one or more from the group consisting of: sodium hydroxide, N-acetyl-L-cysteine, and NaBr.
Duvanel teaches a kit comprising an immunochromatographic device and a sample pretreatment solution (Par. 135-138, 174, 177-178).
Duvanel teaches that the addition of a mucolytic agent to the sample pretreatment solution is advantageous, particularly when the sample comprises saliva, and that NALC is a preferred mucolytic agent for sample pretreatment (Par. 177-178: mucolytic pretreatment with NALC, particularly of a saliva sample, degrades mucin aggregates to improve sample migration through the lateral flow assay and decreases non-specific background signal in the assay; Par. 85, 141, 174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of the reference patent to further include incorporation of NALC into the sample pretreatment solution. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Duvanel teaches that NALC in a sample pretreatment solution is effective for improving sample migration through the test strip and for reducing nonspecific binding and false positive in an immunochromatographic assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference patent and Duvanel are directed to immunochromatographic assays which comprise the use of a sample pretreatment solution and which comprise the use of antibodies for detection of a target analyte.
Regarding instant claim 2, Patent ‘394 (claim 6) teaches that the solid acid reagent or nitrite is present on the sample pad.
Regarding instant claim 3, Patent ‘394 (claim 7) teaches the solid acid reagent to be utilized is selected from the group consisting of malonic acid, malic acid, maleic acid, citric acid, and tartaric acid.
Regarding instant claim 4, Patent ‘394 (claim 8) teaches the use of neutralizing reagent tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane or sodium hydroxide.
Regarding instant claim 8, Thieme teaches methods and reagents for pretreatment of immunoassay samples. The invention provides a method of reducing false positives in assays for the detection of an analyte in a fluid sample (Abstract). Thieme teaches that the preferred immunoassay detection method of the invention is a lateral flow immunoassay (Col. 3, Ln. 59-62). Thieme teaches the method comprising preparation of a fluid sample with a pretreatment solution before the sample is applied to the immunochromatographic test strip (Col. 12, Ln. 26-28). Thieme teaches that the pretreatment solution may comprise a diluent which may comprise PVA (Col. 12, last Par.-Col. 13, first Par.: where a diluent is provided, suitable diluents are chosen to be compatible with the analyte and with the target antibodies and/or proteins of the subject assay. Any diluent typically used in immunoassays is suitable. One of skill in the art will appreciate that the diluent can additionally include a protein or other moiety unrelated to the analyte which participates in non-specific binding reactions with the various components of the assay and thereby blocks and prevents non-specific binding. A particularly preferred blocking agent is PVA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claim to further include incorporation of PVA intro the nitrite solution or acid solution used as a sample pretreatment solution in the reference invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Thieme teaches that PVA is advantageous to include in a sample pretreatment solution for the purpose of blocking non-specific binding interactions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference claim and Thieme are directed to immunochromatographic detection methods comprising the use of antibodies to detect a particular analyte in a fluid sample, and because PVA is a common blocking agents in the immunoassay art.
Claims 1-4 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-8 of copending Application No. 17/426,557 in view of Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1) and Thieme et al (US 5,871,905).
17/426,557 (claim 1) teaches an immunochromatographic test strip for extracting and measuring a sugar chain antigen in a specimen, comprising: a sample pad to which the specimen mixed with a nitrite or an acid solution is added; a label region comprising a labeled antibody obtained by labeling an antibody against the sugar chain antigen; and a detection region on which an antibody against the sugar chain antigen is immobilized, wherein an antibody-sugar chain antigen-labeled antibody complex is formed in the detection region to measure the sugar chain antigen, and wherein the immunochromatographic test strip has a region impregnated with a neutralizing reagent upstream of the label region, and a region impregnated with a solid acid reagent when the specimen mixed with the nitrite, or alternatively a region impregnated with nitrite when the specimen mixed with the acid solution- wherein the solid acid reagent region or nitrite reagent region is present upstream of the neutralizing reagent region; Claim 1 of 17/426,557 further teaches a hydrophilic material comprising rayon and having a mass per unit area of 30 g/m2 to 131 g/m2 and a thickness of 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm which is used for the region impregnated with the nitrite or the solid acid reagent. 17/426,557 (claim 8) teaches an immunochromatographic test kit comprising an immunochromatographic test strip and a nitrite or acid solution.
17/426,557 differs from the instant claims in that 17/426,557 further includes details of a hydrophilic material used for the region impregnated with the nitrite or solid acid reagent to include thickness and mass per unit metrics. It is noted that additional components do not distinguish over the instantly claimed apparatus. The term “comprising” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Both sets of claims recite the same extraction reagents, solid acid reagent, neutralizing reagents and antibodies against protozoan, bacterial, fungal, or viral origin and are therefore not patentably distinguishable.
17/426,557 further differs from the instant claims in failing to specifically teach the nitrite or acid solution comprising one or more from the group consisting of: sodium hydroxide, N-acetyl-L-cysteine, and NaBr.
Duvanel teaches a kit comprising an immunochromatographic device and a sample pretreatment solution (Par. 135-138, 174, 177-178).
Duvanel teaches that the addition of a mucolytic agent to the sample pretreatment solution is advantageous, particularly when the sample comprises saliva, and that NALC is a preferred mucolytic agent for sample pretreatment (Par. 177-178: mucolytic pretreatment with NALC, particularly of a saliva sample, degrades mucin aggregates to improve sample migration through the lateral flow assay and decreases non-specific background signal in the assay; Par. 85, 141, 174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of the reference patent to further include incorporation of NALC into the sample pretreatment solution. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Duvanel teaches that NALC in a sample pretreatment solution is effective for improving sample migration through the test strip and for reducing nonspecific binding and false positive in an immunochromatographic assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference patent and Duvanel are directed to immunochromatographic assays which comprise the use of a sample pretreatment solution and which comprise the use of antibodies for detection of a target analyte.
Regarding instant claim 2, 17/426,557 (claim 4) teaches that the solid aid reagent or nitrite is present on the sample pad.
Regarding instant claim 3, 17/426,557 (claim 5) teaches the solid acid reagent to be utilized is selected from the group consisting of malonic acid, malic acid, maleic acid, citric acid, and tartaric acid.
Regarding instant claim 4, 17/426,557 (claim 6) teaches the use of neutralizing reagent tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane or sodium hydroxide.
Regarding instant claim 8, Thieme teaches methods and reagents for pretreatment of immunoassay samples. The invention provides a method of reducing false positives in assays for the detection of an analyte in a fluid sample (Abstract). Thieme teaches that the preferred immunoassay detection method of the invention is a lateral flow immunoassay (Col. 3, Ln. 59-62). Thieme teaches the method comprising preparation of a fluid sample with a pretreatment solution before the sample is applied to the immunochromatographic test strip (Col. 12, Ln. 26-28). Thieme teaches that the pretreatment solution may comprise a diluent which may comprise PVA (Col. 12, last Par.-Col. 13, first Par.: where a diluent is provided, suitable diluents are chosen to be compatible with the analyte and with the target antibodies and/or proteins of the subject assay. Any diluent typically used in immunoassays is suitable. One of skill in the art will appreciate that the diluent can additionally include a protein or other moiety unrelated to the analyte which participates in non-specific binding reactions with the various components of the assay and thereby blocks and prevents non-specific binding. A particularly preferred blocking agent is PVA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claim to further include incorporation of PVA intro the nitrite solution or acid solution used as a sample pretreatment solution in the reference invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Thieme teaches that PVA is advantageous to include in a sample pretreatment solution for the purpose of blocking non-specific binding interactions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference claim and Thieme are directed to immunochromatographic detection methods comprising the use of antibodies to detect a particular analyte in a fluid sample, and because PVA is a common blocking agents in the immunoassay art.
Claims 1-4 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, and 6-10 of copending Application No. 17/426,561 in view of Duvanel et al (US 2009/0305303 A1) and Thieme et al (US 5,871,905; previously cited).
17/426,561 (claim 1) is drawn to an immunochromatographic test strip for extracting and measuring a sugar chain antigen in a specimen, comprising: a sample pad to which the specimen mixed with a nitrite or an acid solution is added, a label region comprising a labeled antibody obtained by labeling an antibody against the sugar chain antigen, and a detection region on which an antibody against the sugar chain antigen is immobilized, wherein an antibody-sugar chain antigen-labeled antibody complex is formed in the detection region to measure the sugar chain antigen, and wherein the immunochromatographic test strip has a region impregnated with a neutralizing reagent upstream of the label region, and further has, upstream of the region impregnated with the neutralizing reagent, a region impregnated with a solid acid reagent when the specimen mixed with nitrite, or alternatively a region impregnated with the nitrite when the specimen mixed with the acid solution. 17/426,561 (claim 10) teaches an immunochromatographic test kit comprising an immunochromatographic test strip and a nitrite or acid solution.
17/426,561 differs from the instant claims in that 17/426,561 further includes details of a non-woven fabric (polyester-polyethylene mixture) which is hydrophobic in material and impregnated with a specific range percentage of a surfactant (polyoxyethylene octyl phenyl ether) in the region impregnated with the nitrite or the solid acid reagent. It is noted that additional components do not distinguish over the instantly claimed apparatus. The term “comprising” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Both sets of claims recite the same extraction reagents, solid acid reagent, neutralizing reagents and antibodies against protozoan, bacterial, fungal, or viral origin and are therefore not patentably distinguishable.
17/426,561 differs from the instant claims in that it does not teach the nitrite solution or acid solution further comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of: sodium hydroxide, N-acetyl-L-cysteine, and NaBr.
Duvanel teaches a kit comprising an immunochromatographic device and a sample pretreatment solution (Par. 135-138, 174, 177-178).
Duvanel teaches that the addition of a mucolytic agent to the sample pretreatment solution is advantageous, particularly when the sample comprises saliva, and that NALC is a preferred mucolytic agent for sample pretreatment (Par. 177-178: mucolytic pretreatment with NALC, particularly of a saliva sample, degrades mucin aggregates to improve sample migration through the lateral flow assay and decreases non-specific background signal in the assay; Par. 85, 141, 174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of the reference patent to further include incorporation of NALC into the sample pretreatment solution. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Duvanel teaches that NALC in a sample pretreatment solution is effective for improving sample migration through the test strip and for reducing nonspecific binding and false positive in an immunochromatographic assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference patent and Duvanel are directed to immunochromatographic assays which comprise the use of a sample pretreatment solution and which comprise the use of antibodies for detection of a target analyte.
Regarding instant claim 2, 17/426,561 (claim 6) teaches that the solid acid reagent or nitrite is present on the sample pad.
Regarding instant claim 3, 17/426,561 (claim 7) teaches the solid acid reagent to be utilized is selected from the group consisting of malonic acid, malic acid, maleic acid, citric acid, and tartaric acid.
Regarding instant claim 4, 17/426,561 (claim 8) teaches the use of neutralizing reagent tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane or sodium hydroxide.
Regarding instant claim 8, Thieme teaches methods and reagents for pretreatment of immunoassay samples. The invention provides a method of reducing false positives in assays for the detection of an analyte in a fluid sample (Abstract). Thieme teaches that the preferred immunoassay detection method of the invention is a lateral flow immunoassay (Col. 3, Ln. 59-62). Thieme teaches the method comprising preparation of a fluid sample with a pretreatment solution before the sample is applied to the immunochromatographic test strip (Col. 12, Ln. 26-28). Thieme teaches that the pretreatment solution may comprise a diluent which may comprise PVA (Col. 12, last Par.-Col. 13, first Par.: where a diluent is provided, suitable diluents are chosen to be compatible with the analyte and with the target antibodies and/or proteins of the subject assay. Any diluent typically used in immunoassays is suitable. One of skill in the art will appreciate that the diluent can additionally include a protein or other moiety unrelated to the analyte which participates in non-specific binding reactions with the various components of the assay and thereby blocks and prevents non-specific binding. A particularly preferred blocking agent is PVA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of the reference claim to further include incorporation of PVA intro the nitrite solution or acid solution used as a sample pretreatment solution in the reference invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification because Thieme teaches that PVA is advantageous to include in a sample pretreatment solution for the purpose of blocking non-specific binding interactions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because both the reference claim and Thieme are directed to immunochromatographic detection methods comprising the use of antibodies to detect a particular analyte in a fluid sample, and because PVA is a common blocking agents in the immunoassay art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5 May 2026 have been fully considered.
The previous claim objections and 112(b) rejections have been overcome by amendment and are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previous 103 rejections are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims, and the previous 103 rejections are withdrawn. New grounds of 103 rejections which address the amended claims are provided above.
New grounds of double patenting rejection as necessitated by amendment are presented below.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLIS FOLLETT LUSI/Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/CHRISTOPHER L CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677