Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification as originally filed does not provide support for low melting point bicomponent fibers. It provides support for low melting fibers but those are listed as an alternative to bicomponent fibers. See page 3, lines 16-27.
Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low melting point bicomponent fiber” in claims 1 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low melting point bicomponent fibers” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what values would be considered a low melting point. Further, it is not clear whether only one component of the bicomponent fiber should have a low melting point or if both should have a low melting point. The claimed structure is not clear.
Claims 1, 3-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 17/426,687 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims a cleaning article comprising a filler and a wrapping surrounding the filler.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9, 10, 15, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Macedo et al, U.S. Patent No. 2005/0276827 in view of Dooley et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0335221.
Macedo teaches nonwovens which are suitable for use in cleaning articles from methods including carding/garneting, airlaying, wetlaying, spunbonding, meltblowing, vertical lapping and combinations thereof. See paragraphs 0020, 0026. Macedo teaches that the nonwovens can be bonded by thermal bonding. See paragraph 0026.
Macedo differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose providing a wrapping layer and does not teach incorporating bicomponent fibers to facilitate thermal bonding.
However, Dooley teaches a cleaning product. The product includes an absorbent core and a wrap layer, (which is also sometimes called a liner layer in Dooley). See paragraph 0006. The absorbent core comprises nonwovens which are bonded by a bicomponent fibers. See paragraph 0012. The liner layer can be a nonwoven layer. See paragraph 0008.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed bicomponent fibers to facilitate thermal bonding in the structure of Macedo. It further would have been obvious to have provided a wrapper as taught by Dooley to provide increased absorption, wicking and scrubbing properties to the cleaning product.
Macedo in view of Dooley does not clearly teach the number of food panels cleaned in a number of cycles or the Schiefer scratch rating.
However, once the material of Macedo was modified to include a wrapper as taught by Dooley, it is reasonable to expect that the structure would have the claimed properties, since like materials must have like properties, or, in the alternative to have selected suitable materials for the outer and inner portions which provided the optimum cleaning and scratch properties to the cleaning pad.
Claim(s) 10, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macedo in view of Dooley as applied to claims above, and further in view of Brown et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,513,184,
Macedo in view of Dooley does not clearly disclose the denier of the fibers of the filler or the particularly claimed materials which can be sustainable.
However, Brown discloses a cleaning sheet. The cleaning sheet comprises a base layer and an outer layer which covers the base layer. See col. 1, lines 44-50. The base layer can be a layer comprising entangled fibers, (see col. 4, lines 63-67). The cores can be formed from nonwovens such as meltblowns, spunbondeds or bonded carded webs. See col. 5, lines 4-20. The nonwoven can have a basis weight of 30-100 gsm. See col. 7, lines 12-16. The structure can further comprise an outer net or web which corresponds to a scrim or mesh. See col. 7, lines 33-43. The fibers can have a denier of 1-6 denier. See col. 7, lines 44-49. The fibers can be thermoplastic materials, semi synthetic fibers, regenerated cellulose fibers and natural fibers, as well as mixtures thereof. See col. 8, lines 22-31. At least the cellulose and natural fibers would be sustainable fibers. The material is capable of being used in household cleaning applications or cosmetic cleaning applications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have selected materials and amounts as taught by Brown in view of their art recognized suitability for this intended purpose.
Claim(s) 7-8, 11-14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macedo et al, U.S. Patent Application No. 2005/0276826 in view of Dooley as set forth above, and further in view of Haq et al, U.S. Patent No. 4,603,069.
Macedo in view of Dooley discloses a cleaning material as set forth above.
Macedo in view of Dooley differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose superabsorbent, the amount the superabsorbent can absorb or the claimed density or the claimed compression
However, Haq discloses a cleaning article comprising two outer sheets which are bonded together and which encase a core material. See col. 1, lines 64-68. The core material can be a highly absorbent material, which has an absorbency of at least 5 times its own weight and preferably at least 40 times its own weight in liquid. See col. 2, lines 24-27; col. 3, lines 57-68. The core can have a density of 0.03-0.08g/cc. See col. 4, lines 8-10. The outer layers can be nonwoven fabrics. See col. 3, lines 24-35. The outer sheets at least partially surround the core material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have provided superabsorbents having the absorbency as taught in Haq in order to enable the material of Macedo to absorb many times its weight in liquid. It further would have been obvious to have selected a density as taught by Haq in order to provide a material having a density suitable for use as the core of a cleaning material.
With regard to the claimed compression, it would have been obvious to have selected the degree of compression and resiliency which provided the best cleaning properties.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 8/4/26 have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the previous rejections. New rejections are set forth in view of the amended claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789